Dimension Films | Release Date: April 1, 2005
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1067 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
923
Mixed:
63
Negative:
81
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
KhushbuD.Apr 2, 2005
Simply amazing!!! Right from the very first scene till the end. I do sniff a sequel to this in future. But it is a must watch for those who are fan of Quentin's.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
eriKApr 2, 2005
No critisizing or discussing the adaptation since it was almost a flawless transfer. The only weaknesses stem from the source material then, and Big Fat Kill had too many weaknesses already. The film could only have been better in my mind if No critisizing or discussing the adaptation since it was almost a flawless transfer. The only weaknesses stem from the source material then, and Big Fat Kill had too many weaknesses already. The film could only have been better in my mind if it hadn't included that story. Otherwise seeing one of my favorite stories of all time (Marv's) put on screen so perfectly leaves me without words to describe it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HadesApr 2, 2005
It really pains me to NOT be able to give Sin City a higher score than this, as I'd anticipated its release for quite some time now. Unfortunately, now that my experience with it has come and gone I can honestly say I was less than It really pains me to NOT be able to give Sin City a higher score than this, as I'd anticipated its release for quite some time now. Unfortunately, now that my experience with it has come and gone I can honestly say I was less than impressed overall. The visuals, of course, are enthralling, however, they seem somewhat sparingly used to their full effect. That may add to the enticement they provide by only giving you small doses, but I felt they could have explored the possibilities a bit more (a clever scene with Del Toro's character, which exhibits how tantalizing the color/black and white pairings ~could~ have been, is a fine example, as is the Yellow Bastard character..) Granted, the film succeeds on being incredibly unique. However.. as others have said.. once you've acquired the taste for Sin City, you'll likely leave the theater disgusted. The content of the film is simply too overwhelming to want to experience more than once. I admire morbid humor, and am entertained by violence when it is stylistically presented. Unfortunately, Sin City pissed on the line before leaping over it head-first, all while flipping me off and pumping me full of lead. A bit extreme. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexMApr 21, 2005
I am not going to repeat what many critics and other have said about this great movie. What are these people who trash the movie on?? The violence?? I've seen worse and being exposed to Raiders of the Lost Ark in the theatre at 9 years I am not going to repeat what many critics and other have said about this great movie. What are these people who trash the movie on?? The violence?? I've seen worse and being exposed to Raiders of the Lost Ark in the theatre at 9 years old started the desensitization. Great movie, should have been rated R!! Austin Powers anyone?? After the year to year blitzkreig of PG13 movies, it was great to have something i wanted to see rated R and have it be great. There's a reason Ben Stiller is in countless movies, there are sequels to movies like Bad Boys, and why Anchorman was made. There are people out there who like those kind of movies. So as long as those kinds of films are being made, I do hope more great R rated movies will be made as well. Just a question. Why the hell is Batman Begins PG13?!?! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobB.Apr 2, 2005
Best Movie Ever!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
IdekO.Apr 2, 2005
The look is original -that is the only reason I'm not giving it a zero. Seeing as how this is based on a comic book, I suppose the dialogue ought to be rather trite - it is. And it is delivered by cookie cutter characters. The whole The look is original -that is the only reason I'm not giving it a zero. Seeing as how this is based on a comic book, I suppose the dialogue ought to be rather trite - it is. And it is delivered by cookie cutter characters. The whole movie seems to be the brainchild of some 13 year old. Constant violence and random nudity with no real story to make any of it meaningful. There are three main segments, and the "plot" in each of them is basically person A needs to kill person B because person B hurt/killed person C. Oh, and if anyone gets in the way, they'll be killed too. I do not automatically label all movie violence as bad, but I found this movie very redundant and pointless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonaldTApr 25, 2005
Knew the storyline - knew the spoilers - knew all about the gore - expected it to suck. Still went to see it because a friend wanted to. Have to say I really enjoyed it. If you're not put off by excessive violence, give it a chance. I Knew the storyline - knew the spoilers - knew all about the gore - expected it to suck. Still went to see it because a friend wanted to. Have to say I really enjoyed it. If you're not put off by excessive violence, give it a chance. I think this film easily falls into the "love it or hate it" category. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewF.Apr 3, 2005
I really enjoyed this movie. Mind you, if you are the queasy type, you might want to think twice about seeing this movie. As with other Tarantino inspired flicks, the blood flows freely. This movie had me saying "wow" through-out. Great Job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomC.Apr 3, 2005
Style over substance wasn't mean to be a creedo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
H.CarterApr 3, 2005
I think if you don't get this movie, just like Pulp Fiction, you're really going to hate it. But so far, I think it's safe to say that a majority of people get it (like most people did with Pulp Fiction). The Neo-Noir, ultra I think if you don't get this movie, just like Pulp Fiction, you're really going to hate it. But so far, I think it's safe to say that a majority of people get it (like most people did with Pulp Fiction). The Neo-Noir, ultra stylized, ultra-violent theme is translated perfectly from Frank Miller's graphic novels. There are underlying stories here that literally are Shakespearean (King Lear) as well as just a straight love of 50s Film Noir. It's great to see someone (Robert Rodriguez) swing for the fences and actually hit a home run. Easily one of the better movies I've seen in quite some time. Bravo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DevinApr 3, 2005
Great acting, directing, cast, visuals, and audio. It followed the comic books almost word for word, which I liked. Overall a very good movie hands down one of my favorite.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanH.Apr 3, 2005
As a reader of the graphic novel I have to say that this movie is the best comic book movie ever made because it stays so true to the books themselves. Everyone who gives this movie a bad review has no respect for both art forms (film and As a reader of the graphic novel I have to say that this movie is the best comic book movie ever made because it stays so true to the books themselves. Everyone who gives this movie a bad review has no respect for both art forms (film and comics) nor do they have respect for fantasy itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TYApr 3, 2005
Great to look at, boring to listen to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DillB.Apr 3, 2005
This has to be one of the best movies I have ever seen. With its visuals and its huge cast with the fantastic stories mixed in with some of the most grusome visuals that you will ever see, I would have to say that this movie is perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieB.Apr 4, 2005
This movie is amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JamesB.Apr 4, 2005
It was creative and I liked the styling used with the black and white filming and splashes of color. Having reflected on the content, I am left with a lot of questions and wondermeant as to why certain things were done the way they were and It was creative and I liked the styling used with the black and white filming and splashes of color. Having reflected on the content, I am left with a lot of questions and wondermeant as to why certain things were done the way they were and for what purpose. Intermingling a number of story lines was just confusing unlike what was done in "Pulp Fiction" (which pulled it off and succeeded). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TerryD.Apr 4, 2005
Most perfect adaptation from paper to screen ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianS.Apr 4, 2005
Those saying that this movie limits it's audience because of the styling, well no kidding. It was made for the fans of the series and pretty much for no one else. It's a direct adaptation of the series and that is because you cant Those saying that this movie limits it's audience because of the styling, well no kidding. It was made for the fans of the series and pretty much for no one else. It's a direct adaptation of the series and that is because you cant make a faithful comic book movie and at the same time have it be good for all naive audiences. It's either one or the other, this time someone finally chose to make a faithful rendition of a graphic novel. The movie was by far the best adaptation of a graphic novel to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisH.Apr 5, 2005
Excellent realization of Miller's comic on film. The plot could have had more depth but the surface and the texture is really what the film is all about. Bravo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TonyB.Apr 5, 2005
I think all the issues of this movie stem from the fact that it should have been a trilogy...or just less story. The movie has three distinct parts...three story arcs...and none of them are done that well. If they had sat down, and told just I think all the issues of this movie stem from the fact that it should have been a trilogy...or just less story. The movie has three distinct parts...three story arcs...and none of them are done that well. If they had sat down, and told just one of the stories, in full detail I think it could have been a really good movie. But instead, you feel rushed through the stories like the point isn't to hear a story, but to see a visual concept. It's almost like they said, "I can do this cool visual trick. Wnat me to prove it? I'll show you how I can do it with three different stories" And they made a movie. I know this is a film for the fans, and while I've never been a comic fan, I can appreciate the way they tell stories...but this movie just comes out like it has to tell of every event in the Sin City story line, and it has to do it in two hours. That's why everyone complains of too much violence and too much T&A. Becuase it's got 3 stories worth of both. I really think they should have just calmed down, and told one story, and done it fully and completely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DwightV.Apr 6, 2005
Whoa this movie is awesome. It was unpredictable, funny and crazy. It's one of those movies you have to watch twice to get what it's about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PonR.Apr 6, 2005
Sin City was way more than I expected. It's powerful and provocative without being either a feel good movie or morbidly Se7en-esque. Nitty, gritty, Machiavellian, Darwinian. I was never big on noir, but this film does for the genre what Sin City was way more than I expected. It's powerful and provocative without being either a feel good movie or morbidly Se7en-esque. Nitty, gritty, Machiavellian, Darwinian. I was never big on noir, but this film does for the genre what Star Wars (the original trilogy) did for sci-fi. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JosephC.Apr 7, 2005
I have read and watched Science Fiction and Graphic Novels and associated films since I was 13, WAY long ago. It amazes me that anyone sees Sin City as anything but dreck. Dark, demoralizing, confused, gratuitously violent, it makes Kill I have read and watched Science Fiction and Graphic Novels and associated films since I was 13, WAY long ago. It amazes me that anyone sees Sin City as anything but dreck. Dark, demoralizing, confused, gratuitously violent, it makes Kill Bill v.1 a Nursery tail. Women are treated with contempt, people exist to kill or be killed. It makes Clockwork Orange into a light-hearted romp, and, as usual, spits at anything in a position that would otherwise be held in honor. Police, the religious, government, anything is held in contempt and the characters do not even act consistently. Eeeeeuuuuuuuuuu. Where is the Pepto Bismo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MisterThomYorkeApr 7, 2005
[***SPOILERS***] Warning Spoilers: To answer Edward's question: Josh Hartnett's character at the beginning and end was a hitman. That's why he killed the woman at the beginning (he was "going to cash her check tomorrow"), and[***SPOILERS***] Warning Spoilers: To answer Edward's question: Josh Hartnett's character at the beginning and end was a hitman. That's why he killed the woman at the beginning (he was "going to cash her check tomorrow"), and at the end he was hired by the hookers to kill that chick for betraying them. She looked scared because she knew who he was and what he was there to do. Great movie if you ask me. Reminded me of "The Maxx" cartoon from MTV a few years back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeffL.Apr 7, 2005
Pulp Fiction meets Tales From the Crypt (meets Sam Fuller, Stan Lee, David Lynch, and God-knows-who-else) in this ambitious, visually stunning realization of Frank Miller's graphic novels set in a dark, blood-soaked, noirish city Pulp Fiction meets Tales From the Crypt (meets Sam Fuller, Stan Lee, David Lynch, and God-knows-who-else) in this ambitious, visually stunning realization of Frank Miller's graphic novels set in a dark, blood-soaked, noirish city populated by world-weary cops, bad-ass crooks, hookers without hearts of gold, corrupt clergymen, and the occasional cannibal. Director Robert Rodriguez's astonishing panel-by-panel recreation of Miller's work (he even controversially credits Miller as co-director) is unlike anything else ever filmed; its rich black-and-white images punctuated by well-chosen splashes of color (green eyes, splatters of red blood, even a bad guy who's a literal Yellow Bastard.) But for all of Rodriguez's inventiveness and visual dazzle, I was only truly knocked out by one of the film's intertwining stories: the one featuring Mickey Rourke in a sensational comeback performance as Marv, a seemingly indestructible tough guy with a Rondo Hatton face who wakes up to discover that the dame he loves was murdered even as he slept next to her. It's a classic noir situation that escalates to dizzyingly over-the-top comic heights (involving the aforementioned cannibal, whose brilliant casting I shall not give away) without losing our basic sympathy for Marv. The other segments are just as visually arresting, but I grew a bit worn down by their weaker stories and characters, which made the film's 126 minutes seem long despite the frenetic pace and tons of sex and violence. The best comic book movies - Superman II, the 1989 Batman, both Spider-Man movies, even Road to Perdition - may not recreate their creators' work in quite so literal a fashion, but their emotional core and well-modulated perfomances still make them more engaging and rewarding films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GnarlesApr 7, 2005
To my astonishment, I didn't enjoy Sin City at all. All my friends love it, and most critics, and usually that means it's a shoe-in for me to like it too. But I didn't. I loved the look of the movie initially, but the seams To my astonishment, I didn't enjoy Sin City at all. All my friends love it, and most critics, and usually that means it's a shoe-in for me to like it too. But I didn't. I loved the look of the movie initially, but the seams soon begin to show, and the car cashes looked like something out of a PS2 game, complete with rubbery CGI. The dialogue obviously was trying for a noir feel, but the writers lacked the conviction and talent to really pull it off, and it sounded jokey and near-parodic at times. Anyone who thinks this movie has great and "authentic" writing would do well to watch a real noir film sometime. And finally, the movie was long, boring, and cruel. Normally I love violence in movies. I can watch Kill Bill and Natural Born Killers on a continuous loop. But in those films, the violence had an undercurrent of humanity or satire, of purpose. It had a point. In Sin City, the violence exists so that there can be violence, and that's it. It's so extreme at times that it's laughable. The story, meanwhile, is much re-used noir cliches jammed into a Pulp Fiction circular story crucible. Feh. There were good things about Sin City, though. There were a lot of hot babes, many of them naked, and the movie was occasionally really funny and thrilling. Also, Mickey Rourke and Elijah Wood were sensational. If only that were enough. What a waste! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WhoC.Apr 8, 2005
What is the problem...It's just a movie based on a comic! Was it entertaining?..Yes!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
johnp.Apr 8, 2005
Almost everything you need in a movie is in this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GaborA.Apr 8, 2005
(7.5) I knew the directing was going to be top notch walking in. It would come down to the story and dialogue. In that respect it was a mixed bag. Some of the plot was clever other stories where ridiculous. Some dialogue witty or poetic (7.5) I knew the directing was going to be top notch walking in. It would come down to the story and dialogue. In that respect it was a mixed bag. Some of the plot was clever other stories where ridiculous. Some dialogue witty or poetic other times laughably corny. Then again Mickey Rourke is in it and hes the freaking man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MichaelL.Apr 8, 2005
I'm giving "Sin City" a generous 4. Because it looked fantastic. Because it sometimes made me laugh. Because, at times, it looked like "Chicago" with a buzz saw. But, ultimately, it was an endless parade of sadistic violence, nothing I'm giving "Sin City" a generous 4. Because it looked fantastic. Because it sometimes made me laugh. Because, at times, it looked like "Chicago" with a buzz saw. But, ultimately, it was an endless parade of sadistic violence, nothing more. Sorry, you 'critics' who call this genius, but any high school boy could write this screenplay. And that in and of itself makes me hate this film. It isn't even remotely intellectually challenging. It isn't morally challenging. It simply throws graphic images at you faster than a music video, and helps to sink culture deeper and deeper into the pit of stupidity. When I read reviews of "Psycho" by 20-somethings ("...so boring and slow!"), it makes me cringe, and it makes me cringe to realize they think "Sin City" is genius filmmaking. And, lastly, what is with the R rating? Almodovar's "Bad Education" got an NC-17 because two men simulated having sex. "Sin City" shows dismemberment, endless stabings and impalings, every type of torture imaginable...and the the ratings board thinks it's family fare. Our culture is sicker than "Sin City" could ever hope to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MiKEMay 1, 2005
Yes, the movie does have style. Amazing special effects, great actors. And yet it doesnt work. This isnt a movie, it felt like a pointless comic book. with over the top violence that kept shocking people to forget the movie had such a weak story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WongitMay 1, 2005
Amazing. One spectacular looking film. Great casting, great characters, great dialogue. The Characters really fit into their roles. Great action scenes, violent to the max. One hell of a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaunB.May 12, 2005
Visually one of the most impresive films I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewB.May 19, 2005
The best movie in 2005 so far. One of the very few movies, if any, to go into the characters' internal conflicts and thoughts, giving SIn City an unusual style. The unique visual detail and characters communicating more to the screen The best movie in 2005 so far. One of the very few movies, if any, to go into the characters' internal conflicts and thoughts, giving SIn City an unusual style. The unique visual detail and characters communicating more to the screen rather than to each other breaks most rules of how movies are made. It sort of has that Pulp Fiction storyline to it where it may be hard to understand by some, but loved by others. Fortunately, this, for me, was one of the greats. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HeatherP.May 6, 2005
I was told you would love this movie even if you never read the comics. This is NOT true. My husband and I walked out of the movie (which I have only ever done once before) after 70 min. because we were still baffled and didn't care to I was told you would love this movie even if you never read the comics. This is NOT true. My husband and I walked out of the movie (which I have only ever done once before) after 70 min. because we were still baffled and didn't care to figure it out. While the movie is the most comic like representation brought to the screen, its story was confusing and unentertaining. I really feel the flashy graphics and special effects were what the critics were interested in, and not the story line. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChrisR.May 7, 2005
Sin City --- mmmmm, hard to classify this movie. It's based on a comic book series (I think) and it certainly takes on that flavor. It is shot in black and white, with just a splash of color (mostly red) here and there for effect. Sin City --- mmmmm, hard to classify this movie. It's based on a comic book series (I think) and it certainly takes on that flavor. It is shot in black and white, with just a splash of color (mostly red) here and there for effect. Sometimes you could almost see the individual frames of a comic strip arranged in four panels across the screen. The movie itself is divided into different segments ... I'm not sure I followed the logic of it all. It is an "action pack" fantasy --- cops vs. robbers, good vs. evil, old vs. young, beauty vs. beast, with helpings of swindling hookers, crooked politicians and corrupted clergymen to add spice. There is just enough dialogue to connect one action scene to the next. Saw a lot of reviews raving about this movie. Frankly, the film reminded me of a comic book written for 12-13 year old boys. It is purposely melodramatic and the violence intentionally exaggerated; the fight scenes reminded me of the confrontations in the old "Batman" TV series, lacking only the "Pow", and "Wham", etc., in message panels. The photography is unique and a bit hard to describe ... if you saw Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow, it is like that. Anyway, despite general overall raves by the critics, I was not impressed. I give it a 5.00 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
evee.Jun 12, 2005
Gritty, stylish and ultra-violent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrisSJun 14, 2005
Superb movie. Great entertainment and filming technique. When it comes to the violence: It underlines the mentality of the city and makes the movie complete.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RJS.Jun 5, 2005
Definitely the first best movie of 2005.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AleksiJun 5, 2005
It's perfect. Every frame of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GarethC.Jun 6, 2005
This movie has a real WOW factor. The artwork and the characters bring a graphic novel to life. And graphic it is! There is a generous helping of violence, which can get a bit much, but you get consumed by great action and cool storytelling! This movie has a real WOW factor. The artwork and the characters bring a graphic novel to life. And graphic it is! There is a generous helping of violence, which can get a bit much, but you get consumed by great action and cool storytelling! If you can stomach the violence, you'll love this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TheElusivePossomJun 7, 2005
Here lies an example of such an imaginative context such as graphic novel to film conversion can work sublimely. I saw this film, having no idea of the plot or its comic book background, and was blown away. The use of a black-and-white Here lies an example of such an imaginative context such as graphic novel to film conversion can work sublimely. I saw this film, having no idea of the plot or its comic book background, and was blown away. The use of a black-and-white pallette, with splashes of colour where appropriate, is truly masterful in enhancing the mood of the movie. The progression is action-packed, and the characters instantly likeable (Elijah Wood's role as Kevin is particularly imaginative). There are plenty of plot twists thrown into the mix, and a few loose ends that I can only imagine will be tied up in the sequal in 2007. Other points of merit include the OTT and occasionally cringeworthy for level (hold on to your nuts) and I can't think of another movie featuring as many gorgeous women, whom frequently appear nude, exposing the perfection of their bodacious fruit. Incredible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
robs.Jul 10, 2005
Disgustingly useless, trash.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonydannieJul 12, 2005
By Far Robert Rodrguez best film that he has ever been involved in. I never heard of Frank Miller up until now. But hey I love this mans style. The film opening scene grabbed me and the film never let me loose. The stories were all great. By Far Robert Rodrguez best film that he has ever been involved in. I never heard of Frank Miller up until now. But hey I love this mans style. The film opening scene grabbed me and the film never let me loose. The stories were all great. And the photography was beyond words. This movie is definitely one of the best films of the year. And Rourke's acting..... oscar worthy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonH.Jul 15, 2005
I was never a comics fan, but loved this movie. I am however, a Robert Rodriguez fan, and like his other works, this movie is carried off with gusto and panache. The visual style is orignial and compelling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuliaJul 23, 2005
I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie! I love this movie!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobbyT.Aug 16, 2005
Film noir n. -A movie characterized by low-key lighting, a bleak urban setting, and corrupt, cynical characters. -The genre or style of such movies. [French : black] check, check, check.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JAAug 17, 2005
Amazing, wholly orginal movie -- a real breathe of fresh air. If only more directors could be this creative. The only downside is that the movie gets a bit repetitive during the second act. As the guy from Rolling Stone said: "Too much of a Amazing, wholly orginal movie -- a real breathe of fresh air. If only more directors could be this creative. The only downside is that the movie gets a bit repetitive during the second act. As the guy from Rolling Stone said: "Too much of a good thing." And indeed, it is good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyC.Aug 18, 2005
This movie was great. It was exciting and the visuals were great. The fact that all of the live action was filmed on a green is not even apparent. The actors' actions are believable. The characters are memorable and this movie begs to This movie was great. It was exciting and the visuals were great. The fact that all of the live action was filmed on a green is not even apparent. The actors' actions are believable. The characters are memorable and this movie begs to be watch more than once. The film is "film noir" at it's absolute greatest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JeffJ.Aug 2, 2005
This movie made me physically ill. It is deeply sick. Yes, the stylistic technique is great and the acting is (mostly) good, but how many graphic scenes of sadistic torture and gory violence can you watch without wanting some meaning or This movie made me physically ill. It is deeply sick. Yes, the stylistic technique is great and the acting is (mostly) good, but how many graphic scenes of sadistic torture and gory violence can you watch without wanting some meaning or character development? This is not social commentary, it's a snuff film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JWAug 23, 2005
Frickin Amazing!!!! A couple of bad lines and bad props (the gold eye) wont even make you flinch. This is the closest think to true piece of art I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
davidb.Aug 9, 2005
Left early. One of the most wosrt moments of cinema I've ever experienced; the violence was over the top and was there to support a weakly written script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonLSep 2, 2005
One of the best movies I have ever seen. It was amazingly directed and so unique. The fact that there is so many hotty's in it helps, but it was the visual aspect that really impressed me. This movie in 100% getting bought.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamX.Apr 1, 2006
The film has an excellent atmosphere and feel. The film-noir style which is achieved makes the movie all the more brilliant. It is a seamless adaptation of some of Frank Miller's comic books. Unless you're squeamish and can't The film has an excellent atmosphere and feel. The film-noir style which is achieved makes the movie all the more brilliant. It is a seamless adaptation of some of Frank Miller's comic books. Unless you're squeamish and can't stand the sight of blood and gore, it's a must-see. The dialogue is delivered smoothly and effectively. The film defines 'cool', not by the strippers and hard-men, but by their surroundings, the musical score, the monochorome~colour effects employed and visual style. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClarisseP.Jun 12, 2006
One of the best movie ever made ! I can't wait to see Sin City 2!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MiguelO.Jul 3, 2006
The best movie that tells diffrent life stories throug the eyes of others who try to survive the wild life in Sin City. This movie has great fighting scenes and great effects. Robert Rodriguez really outdone himself in this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TylerC.Aug 20, 2006
This movie was terrible from beginning to end. Unfortunately I watched the whole movie because I believed it would redeem itself There was no humor in it and the violence was offensive. It was completely awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RayoMar 10, 2007
If you dont appreciate and really love this movie you are pathetic, maybe you know it or maybe you dont, but trust me... you are, either that or your IQ is waaaay too low.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimA.May 4, 2007
This film is the perfect example of a perfect acting and directing. At first I believed that it would be one more usual movie which is totally different from the comic but when I saw it I changed my mind completely. The transfer from the This film is the perfect example of a perfect acting and directing. At first I believed that it would be one more usual movie which is totally different from the comic but when I saw it I changed my mind completely. The transfer from the comic is excellent and as fantastic is the comic so fantastic is the movie. Frank Miller remains the best! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonmous]Jun 30, 2007
To say this movie is just visually appealing is wrong. Everything is appealing. This movie took me on a ride to and what I saw I was not disappointed with. Wow
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristosN.Oct 15, 2005
Just amazing... I'm stunned... The cinematography is unbelievable! One of the best movies I've seen in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
weepstahDec 22, 2005
Without question, the best movie adaptation of a comic book ever made (to this point). The section with Clive Owen is the weakest. Mickry Rourke gives an amazing performance. Not for the faint of heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesMDec 7, 2005
Practically perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattW.Apr 11, 2005
Great movie with lots of humor. Even if you have never read the graphic novels, you wont be lost at all. Although violent, like the books, it is still a great movie with awesome acting. Go and see this immediately.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FeydK.Apr 11, 2005
This film is the best film so far of 2005 for a multitude of reasons, among which are its nearly flawless amalgamation of Frank Miller's gritty pulp sensibilities and post-modern film noir; its willingness to champion the cause of This film is the best film so far of 2005 for a multitude of reasons, among which are its nearly flawless amalgamation of Frank Miller's gritty pulp sensibilities and post-modern film noir; its willingness to champion the cause of experimental filmmaking; and its possession of an extended middle finger toward the we-gotta-please-everybody, receipt-counting, box-office-dollar obsessed weasels that too often make the artistic decisions in present-day Hollywood. Unlike pre-fab, PG -13 flotsam like, say, the Scorpion King, Sin City has balls. As for the those who critisize Sin City for being juvenile, nihilistic, expliotative or two-dimensional, I would say this: You don't critisize an artistic work in a given medium as being faithful to that very medium, you critisize it in terms of how well it reflects its chosen medium. You don't say that Beethoven or Mozart are of no importance because they continually compose music in the same four-movement style, and show their limitations by always using violins and bassoons; you judge them by how effectively they utilize the medium they've chosen or how well they innovate upon the established conventions of their medium. Calling Sin City (a film that is noir reimagined) nihilistic or mysogynist is like saying that Monet sucks because his pictures are blurry. So...don't listen to whiny, art house bores. See this film! Mickey Rourke is a standout here, and the film is everything a forties-emulating, Sam Spade-loving, Frank Miller-digging, post-modern film noir should be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TonyLApr 11, 2005
This film made me feel icky afterwards. I liked Kill Bill, but Sin City was just depressing to me. I thought the scene with the dog was way over the top.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MorganM.Apr 11, 2005
Simply amazing. Every portion of the film was shot perfectly and kept me entertained the whole movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChimpApr 10, 2005
Amazing film technique. The characters-especially Mickey Rourke's character- are amazing too. But yes, it is incredibly viiolent. And while the first two big stories were very good, I didn't like the Bruce Willis/Jessica Alba one Amazing film technique. The characters-especially Mickey Rourke's character- are amazing too. But yes, it is incredibly viiolent. And while the first two big stories were very good, I didn't like the Bruce Willis/Jessica Alba one as much. Still an amazing movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AngelaB.Apr 10, 2005
This movie is violent and filled with things completely unappropriate for children but if you look at it as a movie (which is the way it was meant to be viewed as) you will probably love it. It shows the story of three different characters This movie is violent and filled with things completely unappropriate for children but if you look at it as a movie (which is the way it was meant to be viewed as) you will probably love it. It shows the story of three different characters and is visually awesome. However, if violence bothers you i would recommend that you see something else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobP.Apr 1, 2005
Wow, 2 hours that don't let go and show what bigger than life can mean on the screen. It seems that Robert Rodriguez is reinventing movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BradJ.Apr 1, 2005
Absolutely stunning. A perfect adaptation of Frank Miller's ugly, blood soaked, and violent comics. Visually astonishing, well acted (for its type), beautiful in all ways but one: someone massively fouled up on the soundtrack. The Absolutely stunning. A perfect adaptation of Frank Miller's ugly, blood soaked, and violent comics. Visually astonishing, well acted (for its type), beautiful in all ways but one: someone massively fouled up on the soundtrack. The throbbing music from the previews is nowhere to be heard and what was in the movie was so mediocre that I can't even remember it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeMApr 10, 2005
The environments are extremely well-done and convey the dark and grimy city very well. The dialogue is... fitting for the noir-style that the movie was meant to portray, but still a little low-rate. The violence is over-the-top and, I The environments are extremely well-done and convey the dark and grimy city very well. The dialogue is... fitting for the noir-style that the movie was meant to portray, but still a little low-rate. The violence is over-the-top and, I believe it's supposed to show how little violence solves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthieuR.Apr 11, 2005
I disagree with Keith, who said that in movies you should never be aware that you are watching a movie. Such a traditional, realist interpretation is valid, but is far from the only one. By calling attention to the act of filming, the I disagree with Keith, who said that in movies you should never be aware that you are watching a movie. Such a traditional, realist interpretation is valid, but is far from the only one. By calling attention to the act of filming, the director(s) open up cinema to new interpretations, revisions and dimensions. Should every single photograph or painting be realistic and accurate? Of course not, that's just one way of playing with the representations of reality. Tell that to Monet! As far as the film, I really liked it, but the different stories were uneven. I loved the Mickey Rourke short, but couldn't care less for the Clive Owen part of the film; not that he was bad, mind you, but the story just didn't appeal to me. That said, this was a very fun, creative film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbearApr 1, 2005
The seattle post can suck it along with any one who says this movie is bad and cliche. the visuals are amazing along with the way the made this awsome comic book come alive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TomMApr 12, 2005
Ok I seem to be in minority here I know and despite the look of the film which was awsome this film left me feeling dirty my buddy I went with gave it a 10 and we usually agree on films, but not this one. Just not my type of movie I guess.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LeeF.Apr 1, 2005
Interesting to look at, boring as hell otherwise. Lasted way too long to be a parody. For adolescent boys of every age.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShawnS.Apr 1, 2005
I LOVE THIS FILM!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveB.Apr 1, 2005
One of the better movies so far this year. Stays faithful to the spirit of the graphic novels and brings Frank Miller's genius to the big screen at last! Eye-popping action sequences and great dialogue. The most fun i've had at the One of the better movies so far this year. Stays faithful to the spirit of the graphic novels and brings Frank Miller's genius to the big screen at last! Eye-popping action sequences and great dialogue. The most fun i've had at the movies this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanM.Apr 10, 2005
Pastiche plus.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JessW.Apr 13, 2005
I loved the film noir feeling, but beyond that, the film was horrific and raunchy. They went a little overboard; it could have been incredible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SuzanF.Apr 13, 2005
Fantastic, visual and inovative.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdwardTM.Apr 13, 2005
Brilliant. Not an adaptation of comic books but a comic book on film, I have never seen anything like it. The visuals stayed with me for days and days afterward. Violent, yes. Bizarre, definitely. But as original and unique as anything I Brilliant. Not an adaptation of comic books but a comic book on film, I have never seen anything like it. The visuals stayed with me for days and days afterward. Violent, yes. Bizarre, definitely. But as original and unique as anything I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. This is the kind of originilaity that Quentin Taratino was hoping for in "Pulp Fiction," but (unbeknownst to most viewers who simply rode the wave of popular appeal), he simply did not accomplish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DamonO.Apr 14, 2005
I found the film to be somewhat interesting, but unbelievably gruesome. I was also disappointed in the dialogue and overall character interaction, which obviously follows that of the novels as opposed to the smart dialogue more common in I found the film to be somewhat interesting, but unbelievably gruesome. I was also disappointed in the dialogue and overall character interaction, which obviously follows that of the novels as opposed to the smart dialogue more common in Tarantino movies. While I'm not opposed to senseless violence for its own sake, I have to say I'm surprised that fundamentalist groups aren't up in arms over this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Mike&HilaryBilodeauApr 16, 2005
WOW!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RusselS.Apr 17, 2005
One of the best comic book adaptions I've ever seen. It was like watching a living comic book. And that's what I think turned off a lot of people to this movie. They didn't understand what was going on. Accept this movie for One of the best comic book adaptions I've ever seen. It was like watching a living comic book. And that's what I think turned off a lot of people to this movie. They didn't understand what was going on. Accept this movie for what it is, and don't compare it to something it isnt. The sex and violence and taboo issues are off the charts. Sad to say it, but in this day and age, if it's not controversial, it's not worth talking about. This movie touched on a lot of sensitive issues, and gave them all the middle finger. It's brash, it's harsh, it's sometimes hard to digest, but that's why it's so good. This movie challenges you to accept it for what it is. And I don't agree with people saying how it's the most violent thing they've ever seen. Watch the news. Atleast when watching Sin City, you know everything is stylized and make believe. As for the visuals, they were completely stunning! Each shot of this movie, individually, is wonderfully framed and composed, and a work of art. It's funny how you either hate this movie, or love it. I, personally, loved this movie. I've seen it 4 four times already, and will probably watch it countless more times after it comes out on dvd!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KatyN.Apr 19, 2005
Artistic, brutal, pulpy, clever, heartfelt. This is just the right kind of role for Bruce Willis ... fits him as well as Butch did in Pulp Fiction. Mickey Roarke was WOW, and Clive Owen did the tongue-in-cheek bit like a master. And EW, how Artistic, brutal, pulpy, clever, heartfelt. This is just the right kind of role for Bruce Willis ... fits him as well as Butch did in Pulp Fiction. Mickey Roarke was WOW, and Clive Owen did the tongue-in-cheek bit like a master. And EW, how creepy can Elijah Wood possibly be?!?! I don't read comics, so I don't know anything about Frank Miller, but this film was literally a work of art, defying conventions and entertaining. Do NOT take the kiddies, though. And don't see it if violence makes you squeamish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WakoJakoApr 21, 2005
AWESOME. JUST AWESOME. Best movie this year so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MikeK.Apr 2, 2005
I want to give this movie a 10 for the visuals, and for creating a seamless pulp universe, and for being something new. Also, the pacing is perfect, the performances mostly spot-on, and its funny. It sucks you in and kicks your ass. I also I want to give this movie a 10 for the visuals, and for creating a seamless pulp universe, and for being something new. Also, the pacing is perfect, the performances mostly spot-on, and its funny. It sucks you in and kicks your ass. I also wanted to give it a 0 for being disgusting and horiffic, for leaving me with a queasy feeling and a bitter taste, and for showing me the same 45 minute movie 3 times in a row. Conflicted, violent hero avenges murdered woman mutilating (horriffically) a cannibalistic serial killer with connections; conflicted, violent hero protects women (prostitutes) from mafia; conflicted violent hero protects girl from pediphile rapist (with connections) who he horriffically mutilates. Apparently the 8 million stories in Sin City are all slight variations of one. So I give Sin City a 6, averaging the two together and adding a point for Mickey Rourke's Marv, cause he deserves it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidG.Apr 2, 2005
I had an ear-to-ear grin the whole time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SkullApr 22, 2005
Anyone that gave this movie a low rating, for its gratuitous violence, is either a right wing religious fundamentalist or a member of the Brady Bunch Moralistic Brigade. Either way, sometimes you have to look beyond the grit to find the Anyone that gave this movie a low rating, for its gratuitous violence, is either a right wing religious fundamentalist or a member of the Brady Bunch Moralistic Brigade. Either way, sometimes you have to look beyond the grit to find the beauty. Apparently none of the low raters live on Earth. Whereas this is purely fictional, horrors that take place in the movie occur everyday in places like Iraq and Afghanistan. They say life dictates art. Why don Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JoeU.Apr 22, 2005
Another example of an American movie with values based on stile, cinematography, special effects, and star power, but not on inspiration, or a compelling story. Worst, it was very boring. So boring, that it has the dubious distinction of Another example of an American movie with values based on stile, cinematography, special effects, and star power, but not on inspiration, or a compelling story. Worst, it was very boring. So boring, that it has the dubious distinction of being one of only three movies ever in my life, that I couldn't make to the end. I give it two points for style and cinematography. Zero for inspiration, story, or even entertainment value. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanBApr 22, 2005
Visually great, like everyone says - but once you get over the visuals, you are left with characters and story, and that leaves some to be desired. It gets a little monotonous as points, despite all the action... still, something about the Visually great, like everyone says - but once you get over the visuals, you are left with characters and story, and that leaves some to be desired. It gets a little monotonous as points, despite all the action... still, something about the whole thing works well enough... it's not bad. Probably would've been better as a series of short films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DianneT.Apr 2, 2005
This movie restored my faith in American filmmaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichB.Apr 23, 2005
I love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidM.Apr 25, 2005
One of the most mindnumbingly bad moments of cinema I've ever experienced. We walked out after an hour of the idiotic voice-overs and senseless (teen level-inspired) violence. That's one hour of my life gone forever. Absolutely One of the most mindnumbingly bad moments of cinema I've ever experienced. We walked out after an hour of the idiotic voice-overs and senseless (teen level-inspired) violence. That's one hour of my life gone forever. Absolutely hideous -- the worst! Avoid at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillP.Apr 25, 2005
Amazing work and genious cinemaphotography!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RichardS.Apr 28, 2005
The three stories were intertwined, but they were not chronologicaly placed. Lots of sexy women and violence and I laughed in quite a few places, particularly because of Mickey Rourke's character, who was fantastic. Im suprised of the The three stories were intertwined, but they were not chronologicaly placed. Lots of sexy women and violence and I laughed in quite a few places, particularly because of Mickey Rourke's character, who was fantastic. Im suprised of the flat acting of Bruce Willis's partner. Benicio Del Toro was a very good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AustinA.Apr 29, 2005
A good story gone awry with over-the-top senseless voilence and bloodshed. Not bad, just sickeningly gory.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseH.Apr 3, 2005
Best movie i've seen since the matrix.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PierreM.Apr 3, 2005
I got bored about 2 minutes into the movie. The stories don't tie together, and the acting is full of ridiculous one liners. It was a total waste of $9 and 2 hours.
0 of 0 users found this helpful