Sin City

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 904 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 904

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. JoshE.
    Apr 3, 2005
    3
    Wow. I really do not like Robert Roddriguez at all. This film is robotic in more ways than I could possibly relate. The acting is mechanical and painful to watch with the exception of a paltry few scenes that were either directed by Tarantino or had Rodriguez "snoozing" on the job. The violence, or more pointedly the gore, is so relentless that it becomes tiresome in the first few Wow. I really do not like Robert Roddriguez at all. This film is robotic in more ways than I could possibly relate. The acting is mechanical and painful to watch with the exception of a paltry few scenes that were either directed by Tarantino or had Rodriguez "snoozing" on the job. The violence, or more pointedly the gore, is so relentless that it becomes tiresome in the first few minutes. The gimmicky use of color is inconsistent. The utterly literal translation of the single frames in the original books, into extended live scenes, removes the impact that much of the imagery had. I enjoyed the books immensely, but this film is no representation of them and my already incredibly low opinion of Robert Rodriguez as a "pioneering" filmmaker is only smacked out of the park. Dare I say this film is offensively bad? Yes! Expand
  2. HenryN.
    Apr 4, 2005
    8
    This movie gave me a sick, perverted thrill and I loved every minute of it. It's the cinematic equivilent of smoking a crack rock where the high lasts 2 and a half hours. You know it's wrong, you know you shouldn't be doing it, but man, it sure feels good.
  3. Dookie
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    Amazing movie! The characters are great, the way it was shot was beautiful, and the story is a lot of fun!
  4. R.H.
    Apr 5, 2005
    9
    Most interesting movie in a while, thanks for actually making the movie feel like a comic book. Eye candy and everything...only problem with the movie...3 similar stories...haven't read the series though.
  5. SteveK.
    Apr 6, 2005
    3
    I could stand the ridiculous violence in Kill Bill. But in this movie it's just too much. It relishes in the violence to the point that it becomes sadistic mayhem for the sake of sadistic mayhem. It doesn't move the story. Shocking, over-the-top violence can be used in moderation to tell a story, but all it does is dull down this dark, sordid thing that passes for a movie. I could stand the ridiculous violence in Kill Bill. But in this movie it's just too much. It relishes in the violence to the point that it becomes sadistic mayhem for the sake of sadistic mayhem. It doesn't move the story. Shocking, over-the-top violence can be used in moderation to tell a story, but all it does is dull down this dark, sordid thing that passes for a movie. I've seen one decapitation, limb chopping, eye-gouging too many. Think about the title a bit. If you don't relish in "sin" and find it amusing or funny, then don't watch this dark, dismal mess. You're going to need a good sense of humor about sadistic and brutal violence to enjoy "Sin City". Expand
  6. EdwardR.
    Apr 6, 2005
    9
    I thought Sin City was wonderfully original in form - to tell the truth I sitll have no idea what it was about - the beginning and end? Huh? But I really found myself continually intrigued and entertained - and I laughed when I should have been gasping in horror - sicko that I am - two severed limbs up for me [and one hongry dawg].
  7. HenryT.
    Apr 8, 2005
    10
    Fantastic visuals as well as killer acting, combine to make this a masterpiece!
  8. nlarrabee
    May 10, 2005
    10
    Bad Ass!!
  9. RogerM.
    May 1, 2005
    10
    Totally, totally cool. you like the books you like this. Nice one.
  10. MatthewA.
    May 12, 2005
    4
    I was exicted when I went into the movie and kind of bummed out when I left the theatre. I liked the way the trailers to the movie potrayed it. But it came out to be something that I obviously overlooked. The dialogue was horrible two many big actors that didnt add to there roles more than just played them just to be in a movie. The way the went from scene to scene was too unothodox to I was exicted when I went into the movie and kind of bummed out when I left the theatre. I liked the way the trailers to the movie potrayed it. But it came out to be something that I obviously overlooked. The dialogue was horrible two many big actors that didnt add to there roles more than just played them just to be in a movie. The way the went from scene to scene was too unothodox to follow in any decernable order beside of which actor was on the screen. definilty was a great idea made into to a poorly acted series of shortfilms slapped together to fill time. Expand
  11. billyb.
    May 17, 2005
    10
    It's ganged out!
  12. EricS.
    May 18, 2005
    2
    Film noirs are indeed alive and well ("Minority Report" is a magical example), but "Sin City" is just not a very good noir. It is not compelling, and thinks it can substitute style for substance and get away with it. I'm thrilled that "Sin City" used an ingeniously awkward color pallette, but that is ALL it has going for it.
  13. AliciaS.
    May 25, 2005
    10
    The movie is fantastic and It has to be seen as a comic books on screen...special mention to Mickey Rourke which is excellent and has its best acting as he does when director gives him a chance..I hope this will boost his career he merit it.
  14. Mobius
    May 31, 2005
    10
    Dont look at this film as a movie but as a animated graphic novel, if you dont know what a graphic novel is then go down to your local book store and find one and then read it. once you have done that you will then understand the film and how the director has done the impossible. remember it a film of a book and it is totally faithfull to the book. 10/10
  15. KenG
    May 6, 2005
    10
    The best ultra-violent movie to come out of Hollywood since "Natural Born Killers". It is twisted, dark, disturbed. perverted, and something of a masterpiece
  16. JayL.
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    This movie is one of the most stunningly original and entertaining films of the new millenium. Many have tried to compare Rodriguez's "Sin City" to Tarantino's "Kill Bill," but this is a silly comparison because "Sin City" is not about the stylized action and non-stop violence that made "Kill Bill" great. Instead, "Sin City" focuses on creating a mode that hasn't been This movie is one of the most stunningly original and entertaining films of the new millenium. Many have tried to compare Rodriguez's "Sin City" to Tarantino's "Kill Bill," but this is a silly comparison because "Sin City" is not about the stylized action and non-stop violence that made "Kill Bill" great. Instead, "Sin City" focuses on creating a mode that hasn't been achieved since the 1940's, and then blowing it up like a bike tire to reflect modern day taste. The result is a movie with the action and speacial affects of modern day movies, with the slick, cool, and smokey feel of numerous Humphrey Bogart movies. It's "The Maltese Falcon" for people with short attention spans. Expand
  17. pombom
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    Amazing.
  18. antonib.
    Jul 17, 2005
    2
    Taking into consideration the level of violence, this is a movie for sick minds who enjoy strong sadism.
  19. hugho
    Jul 18, 2005
    10
    Pefect. one of the best movies of the year. definatly in my top 5 ever. kill bill reminiscent, stylisticaly worked to beautifuly stun. awsome, intelligent, atmoshpehere.
  20. AndrewA
    Aug 18, 2005
    9
    Excellent. The only thing bad i can say about it is that the commentary gets a little annoying, but for the most part it fits perfectly with the movie.
  21. RafaS.
    Aug 19, 2005
    10
    One of the best movies i've ever seen.
  22. NickH
    Aug 21, 2005
    10
    Amazing direction? Check. Lush, wonderful style? Check. Great, overblown comic-ish acting? Double check. Ability to make nancy boys cry to their conservative mamas? TRIPLE CHECK! This is hands down one of the best movies of the past two years. This is one of the few movies I've seen that doesn't leave me checking my watch at the 2 hour 10 minute mark. This is the movie to beat. Amazing direction? Check. Lush, wonderful style? Check. Great, overblown comic-ish acting? Double check. Ability to make nancy boys cry to their conservative mamas? TRIPLE CHECK! This is hands down one of the best movies of the past two years. This is one of the few movies I've seen that doesn't leave me checking my watch at the 2 hour 10 minute mark. This is the movie to beat. I doubt any movies - any time soon - will come along and beat this movie in terms of style or the ability to grip an audience. And until Tarantino (he didn't direct all but one scene in this - Roderiguez and Miller where in charge and did a great job) makes his next movie... no film will leave so many people whimpering to their moms about the sick nature of the film. I guess some people who see this movie - here's looking at you Brain G - don't understand that it's not told chronologically. You need a cue on the screen? You need to see: "This is part Three, which happens at the same time as part One" I guess? It's a "new classic" and deserves to be treated as such. If you actually don't "get" it... Don't rant about it. **Apparently movies need to be rated on IQ rather than age. Some people just don't get movies that are above their heads. Seriously. Expand
  23. marshallm.
    Aug 22, 2005
    9
    Visually amazing! the ending felt a little abrupt, but still, a work of twisted art.
  24. BillJ.
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    Wow! Best movie I've seen in a while. It is what it is.
  25. DaveF
    Aug 29, 2005
    9
    Quite possibly the definitive guy movie. Beneath the misogynistic, teenage-fantasy grime beats a chivalrous heart. It's a riveting, blood-spattered nightmare, and you've seen it all before but never quite like this. At times Sin City is too sicko for its own good, such as the scene that Tarentino himself directed (a dead guy talking out of his slashed throat) but the dialog is Quite possibly the definitive guy movie. Beneath the misogynistic, teenage-fantasy grime beats a chivalrous heart. It's a riveting, blood-spattered nightmare, and you've seen it all before but never quite like this. At times Sin City is too sicko for its own good, such as the scene that Tarentino himself directed (a dead guy talking out of his slashed throat) but the dialog is sharp and the hookers add some amusing B-movie comic relief. But wow, if your girlfriend is a feminist...just tell her you went to see Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. Expand
  26. BrianG.
    Aug 8, 2005
    0
    This movie was absolutely appalling. The plot goes nowhere, with characters who die and come back to life, repeating the same scene twice. I continuted to wait for a good fight scene, only to find people's heads torn off, cannibalisim and no characters whom a viewer becomes partial to. Black and white did not serve this movie well. If you're looking for extreme violence with no This movie was absolutely appalling. The plot goes nowhere, with characters who die and come back to life, repeating the same scene twice. I continuted to wait for a good fight scene, only to find people's heads torn off, cannibalisim and no characters whom a viewer becomes partial to. Black and white did not serve this movie well. If you're looking for extreme violence with no plot at all, I would advise watching Wrestle Mania. It's almost as faked as this movie. Almost. Expand
  27. Rick
    Sep 1, 2005
    9
    The styleized graphics of the movie make the whole seem better. Whie the movie had no main characters it still seems to flow very well. i beileve future movies in this series will be better. A good first try but a better cast will make a better movie then what was here. The action while exciting left much to be desired except with the yellow bastard. A must see if you like any of these The styleized graphics of the movie make the whole seem better. Whie the movie had no main characters it still seems to flow very well. i beileve future movies in this series will be better. A good first try but a better cast will make a better movie then what was here. The action while exciting left much to be desired except with the yellow bastard. A must see if you like any of these directors or this style of movie but not if your looking for the next revolutionary movie. Expand
  28. JerryP.
    Jan 13, 2006
    10
    Its an awsome movie i love the story and the look of the movie..i give it two thumbs up as they would say.
  29. ZackL.
    Jan 20, 2006
    9
    It's brilliant! Absolutely brilliant! Please don't hesitate to watch this amazing film!
  30. JoeB.
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    One of the best movies in recent years. Frank Miller's graphic novels certainly come alive very well in this adaptation, and the unrealistic violence (and the people that survive said violence) does serve a purpose thematically. Brilliant.
  31. MattheC.
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    I first got into the graphic novels and then took a look at the film, having most comic book adaptations being nothing like the original graphic novels I wasn't expecting to much from this...but I was wrong. Oh, so wrong! For fans of the novels this is will blow them away, the shots in the film are identical to the books (although some scenes hav been cut from it, it is still I first got into the graphic novels and then took a look at the film, having most comic book adaptations being nothing like the original graphic novels I wasn't expecting to much from this...but I was wrong. Oh, so wrong! For fans of the novels this is will blow them away, the shots in the film are identical to the books (although some scenes hav been cut from it, it is still astonishing. But they have been put back in in the Recut, Uncut, and Extended edition). The greatest film achievement of the 21st century so far! Friggin' loved it! Expand
  32. CharlieN.
    May 17, 2006
    10
    One of my favorite films of all time, and by far the greatest comic book based movie ever made!
  33. KC
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    it's seriously an excellent show, and honestly a piece of art to me. The critiques that gave ridiculous scores are probably just either offended by the gore, or are too shallow minded to appreciate. It's a artfully composed storyboard with effects that were never used before, I wasn't even a reader let alone fan of the novel and I swear to god this is one of the movies I it's seriously an excellent show, and honestly a piece of art to me. The critiques that gave ridiculous scores are probably just either offended by the gore, or are too shallow minded to appreciate. It's a artfully composed storyboard with effects that were never used before, I wasn't even a reader let alone fan of the novel and I swear to god this is one of the movies I keep next to my player anytime. I would honestly give Sin City 12 points if it were possible. Expand
  34. RodneyM.
    Jan 29, 2007
    0
    Could this movie be any more corny? The whole black & white drama thing didn't display any emotion and I've seen better CGI in a PS2 game. See anything but this.
  35. MattF.
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    I've read some of the Sin City comics and Rodriguez did a masterful job of adapting it to film. And who the f.ck are the Charlotte Observer and Seattle Post Intelligencer? What does the MPAA's rating system have sh.t to do with the movie?
  36. ZachO.
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    One of my top ten favorite movies of all time. Movie snobs and those that are easily offended by occasional nudity or heavy gore stay away.
  37. MrBlonde
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    This movie is awesome. I love how douchebag critics try to say this film rips of Pulp Fiction, but the Sin City novels came out before hand. Mickey Rourke should have gotten an oscar nomination for his portrayal of Marv. This film is balls on true to the comics.
  38. JohnB.
    May 12, 2007
    9
    Ok, I'm a sucker for movies this stylistic. It's an utterly cliche yet original piece of visual genius.
  39. JonathanR
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    The movie could actually be described as art. The extreme violence was put in the way it was to portray the crooks in America. BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!
  40. JeremyE
    Feb 22, 2009
    7
    it looks cool, but it feels dark in an unnecessary way. the plot is so twisted that it makes the movie unenjoyable
  41. R.Lopez
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Sin City, how can you describe it? Well one word comes to mind. Outstanding! Sin City is a visual stunning and amazingly well made film with a cast of big screens favorites driving this film. Sin City tells three different stories from the graphic novels themselves. The first follows the big juggernaut Marv(played by Mickey Rourke, who is fantastic here.) Marv is on a man hunt to find the Sin City, how can you describe it? Well one word comes to mind. Outstanding! Sin City is a visual stunning and amazingly well made film with a cast of big screens favorites driving this film. Sin City tells three different stories from the graphic novels themselves. The first follows the big juggernaut Marv(played by Mickey Rourke, who is fantastic here.) Marv is on a man hunt to find the men responsible for the death of the women he loved. The second story follows Dwight McCarthy, a killer trying to find peace form his old life, but as fate has it he's drawn back in when a mad dog cop ( played by Benicio Del Toro.) who is trying to make a mess out of things for Dwight's new girl and the girls of old town. Soon Dwight get's caught up in a murder and a cover-up bigger than him. Can he and the girls of old town save their home? The finally and best story in the film is that of falsely accused detective Hartigan, who while trying to save a little girls life is instead accused of the crimes of another. Now it's been eight years and Hartigan just wants to move on, but somebody won't let the past stay dead. Hartigan has one last job to do, and that is protecting the only person who means anything to him. With that said Frank Miller and Robert Rodriguez tell these stories in such a way that they seem like your reading the graphic novel but in actuality your watching a film. No movie has ever caught the fell of a series of books so well before. This movies was nothing but an experiment that exceeded beyond anyone's expectation's, Sin City is without saying a true black& white masterpiece. Expand
  42. AlexH.
    May 8, 2009
    10
    "Sin City" is a perfect comic book adaption that looks exactly like the comic book, and keeps the audience on the edge of their seat the whole time through Mickey Rourke's performance, Clive Owen's action and Bruce Willis' suspense.
  43. jeffg.
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    It was pure excellence.
  44. sarahr.
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    Captivating from beginning to end, the visual effects were amazing.
  45. [Anonymous]
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    A pure, dangerous, exilerating roller coaster ride of excess. Booze, Broads and Bullets, at their best.
  46. DarthR.
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    This movie it's a dream come true.
  47. DanH.
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    A great movie!!!!!
  48. DanB.
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    Great visuals. Great adaptation of Frank Miller's Sin City grpahic novels.
  49. GaryM.
    Mar 31, 2005
    9
    Pretty good movie. Best movie based on a graphic (or illustrated) novel, in my opinion. If you liked the books, you'll like the movie. If you like the movie, you'll probably go out and buy the books. I highly recommend this movie.
  50. pombom
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    Amazing.
  51. BP
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    A remarkable movie, true to its comic book origins and film noir inspirations. Visually stunning and sexy, this movie never slows its pace. Exagerated comic book violence and pacing are offset by realisticly emotional and moral/immoral characters hidden behind, often, grotesque masks. Repelling, exciting, humorous, metaphorical...lots of artsy terms can be thrown at this movie. Most A remarkable movie, true to its comic book origins and film noir inspirations. Visually stunning and sexy, this movie never slows its pace. Exagerated comic book violence and pacing are offset by realisticly emotional and moral/immoral characters hidden behind, often, grotesque masks. Repelling, exciting, humorous, metaphorical...lots of artsy terms can be thrown at this movie. Most should fit. The only negative about this movie was the performance by Michael Madsen who appeared to be reading his lines as if he were asleep. Otherwise, this is a perfect movie. Expand
  52. PatrickB.
    Apr 13, 2005
    3
    This movie seems to polarize. Not a lot of sixes or sevens. Yeah, I'm giving it a low rating for content. Terribly violent to the point of pornography (the next frontier in entertainment I bet; people being dismembered for its "entertainment" value). Totally gross and totally with redemption. Even the heroes are sick. I dunno...when our culture finds this stuff entertaining, makes me This movie seems to polarize. Not a lot of sixes or sevens. Yeah, I'm giving it a low rating for content. Terribly violent to the point of pornography (the next frontier in entertainment I bet; people being dismembered for its "entertainment" value). Totally gross and totally with redemption. Even the heroes are sick. I dunno...when our culture finds this stuff entertaining, makes me cringe. No way should be an R...how do you not label this NC-17???? MPAA should just put a collection plate in front the studios cuz they're definitely taking payoff these days. Screw em. Technically the movie is brilliant. If only they'd put this ceative brilliance to the Batman franchise...sigh... Expand
  53. GodComplex
    Apr 14, 2005
    7
    Highly stylized, flashy, excellent camera work. This movie felt like you were watching a comic, which not all "comic-based" movies have captured yet. Even the X-Men movies fall short with the comic book "feel" to them. It had better.more action than Kill Bill. It had a wooden diolouge still...but better than Kill Bill too. Over all it's worth checking out.
  54. violenceisfun
    Apr 14, 2005
    8
    It was trashy, violent, sadistic, child-rapist, catholic-bashing garbage! Thus I enjoyed it! I am sick and loving it!
  55. dw
    Apr 15, 2005
    2
    Stupid. I really wanted to love the stylistic audacity of this movie, but the script is just so stunningly unintelligent, inhuman, confused and boring. All this effort and all this hoopla for such meager storytelling. The fact that so many critics and fans have fallen for this movie is like one of those modern art pieces where a guy fills an aquarium with pig blood or something and Stupid. I really wanted to love the stylistic audacity of this movie, but the script is just so stunningly unintelligent, inhuman, confused and boring. All this effort and all this hoopla for such meager storytelling. The fact that so many critics and fans have fallen for this movie is like one of those modern art pieces where a guy fills an aquarium with pig blood or something and everybody says "Ooo, it got a reaction out of me. That must mean it's art." PS: Poor Benicio del Toro. The best actor who never does movies approximating his talent. Expand
  56. eyebrow
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    Pros: the best movie of 2005, awesome violent scenes. sexy women. cons: plot got confusing, but just for a minute before i realized it. overview: If you're a religoud freak who thinks that looking at bear breasts in a sin, then watch this movie; it'll set you straight.
  57. PaulF.
    Apr 17, 2005
    6
    The movie in short could be said a tribute to gratuitous violence. In my opinion this movie should be rated x for violence or at least NR. I could not believe it but I saw six year olds in the theather. The movie way fantastic for special effects, and not bad either for acting, there many big names in the credits. The weakest point about this movie is that it had no moral redeaming The movie in short could be said a tribute to gratuitous violence. In my opinion this movie should be rated x for violence or at least NR. I could not believe it but I saw six year olds in the theather. The movie way fantastic for special effects, and not bad either for acting, there many big names in the credits. The weakest point about this movie is that it had no moral redeaming quality. It was one scene after another about, vengeance, violence, sex, prostitution, murder, cannibalism, child rape, torture, etc. By the first have of the movie you more than get the point, but two hours of it was a bit much. Though I found this movie interesting in many aspects and will not soon forget it I went to sleep wanting to forget its dark images but had trouble doing so. People asks yourself what do you want you mind filled with, images of heaven or hell? Expand
  58. jacks.
    Apr 18, 2005
    0
    So grossly violent and disgusting , I would have walked out but I was with others.
  59. SomePerson
    Apr 21, 2005
    10
    This film is downright incredible. I cannot say anything bad about this amazing film! All the actors are superb, it is great from the beginning to end, and gets better the more you watch it.
  60. KenK.
    Apr 21, 2005
    10
    Most amazing movie ever!!!!! This movie can only be appreciated if you look upon it as a comedy, for you will be disappointed if you are looking for a serious drama.
  61. ArpitS.
    Apr 22, 2005
    9
    Hmmmm.... Where should I begin? Be it the glorification of splitting guts, or be it the grim issue of cannibalism. Sin City pumps the blood to your vains with its amazing scenes, entrance to the exit and everything else in the middle. This movie will even make Hannibal Lector feel woozy. But its all for the good!!
  62. patrickt.
    Jun 15, 2005
    5
    I can't believe I'm even giving this movie a 5. The only reasons I am are: 1) This movie has supreme and utterly original style, and 2) Mickey Rourke's performance. Otherwise, this movie is sick and pointless. Some would claim there's a message in Sin City that the "good guys" are often the "bad guys," and vice versa. But, c'mon, this movie is really all about I can't believe I'm even giving this movie a 5. The only reasons I am are: 1) This movie has supreme and utterly original style, and 2) Mickey Rourke's performance. Otherwise, this movie is sick and pointless. Some would claim there's a message in Sin City that the "good guys" are often the "bad guys," and vice versa. But, c'mon, this movie is really all about exploiting over-the-top violence. While the style has some intellectually stimulating moments, there's nothing at all here to stimulate the emotions, because ultimately there's not one iota of humanity to identify with (with the mild exception of Rourke's portrayal, which is all the more remarkable from beneath his monstrous exterior -- problem is that the story he's involved in is sappy crap). Expand
  63. JavierU.
    Jun 21, 2005
    10
    Mickey Rourke. the best performance, "... you give me any names..." Original style, risky, reality do not have to be the center. Focus on people and their mind, their conflicts.
  64. billym.
    Jun 22, 2005
    10
    This is the tight ganged out best movie ever. read the books though. big frank miller. in the house. the cast is the straight up money. so many hot chicks. big pimpin.
  65. chrisb.
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    Great movie, an intense new look at neo-noir for sure.
  66. james
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    Awsome plots.
  67. BrutusO.
    Jul 28, 2005
    10
    Pretty flawless attempt to convert the source material. Yes, it is insanely violent and exalts the underbelly of a profoundly disturbed society. But it is supposed to. Rourke (who I have never liked) is magnificent. Bencio Del Toro is excellent as well in a ghoulish role. Better than Pulp Fiction, and just about everything else this year as well. The cinematography is astounding.
  68. MarcP
    Aug 16, 2005
    10
    Simply awesome, unique. Pure perfection in every frame. I've never seen any film like this one in my whole life, and trust me, I saw a few. Maybe it's the end of the cinema as we know it... But i'm feel fine. Very much better than fine. Thank You, Frank. Thank you, Robert.
  69. CDung
    Aug 21, 2005
    3
    This movie gets a 3. 1 for Mickey Rourke's character, 2 for Elijah Wood's character and 3 for Miho. The rest excessive style over substance. There is no substance actually. The dialogue is horrible. The writing is juvenille as is the world of the story. Perhaps it was best left between the pages of a comic book for some kid with delusions of grandeur to take in. It is the This movie gets a 3. 1 for Mickey Rourke's character, 2 for Elijah Wood's character and 3 for Miho. The rest excessive style over substance. There is no substance actually. The dialogue is horrible. The writing is juvenille as is the world of the story. Perhaps it was best left between the pages of a comic book for some kid with delusions of grandeur to take in. It is the greatest hits of all pubescent male fantasies come to life only to die again and die some more and then he gets killed and then her and then him, now back to her and then someone else. It's killing and torture just for kicks and if you like that, then you'll love this film. Expand
  70. CodyK.
    Aug 26, 2005
    7
    Sin City is a very unique movie. The violence is not nearly as disturbing as it is interesting; due to the stylized palette and lighting in the movie. The dialog translates very well in a comic book format, but hardly any of the actors were able to pull it off
  71. TimS
    Sep 26, 2005
    10
    The only really succesful comic book to film adaptation i've ever seen. I really loved the color theme of the movie, the acting was generally good (especially Rodriguez!) and the movie had some kind of feeling of originality.
  72. JoshuaH.
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    My new number 1 favorite movie. It will probably fill that spot for years to come. Definitely a must-see for everyone. Even if you're too young to watch an R movie, just make sure your parents buy you the dvd on your 17th birthday. But then again, they should already own it by now.
  73. JackC.
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    This movie is simply amazing, word for word from the critically acclaimed comics of Frank Miller, possibly the best comic writer of the modern age, the black and white noir style is also from the comic and brilliantly used. The stories are great, the characters are perfectly developed and interesting. This movie brigs to life in an amazing way some of the best comics ever written andThis movie is simply amazing, word for word from the critically acclaimed comics of Frank Miller, possibly the best comic writer of the modern age, the black and white noir style is also from the comic and brilliantly used. The stories are great, the characters are perfectly developed and interesting. This movie brigs to life in an amazing way some of the best comics ever written and remains to be my favourite movie. Expand
  74. BrianD.
    Dec 28, 2005
    10
    Probably the best movie I have seen in the last 5 years. A great take on the comic book series and the fact they used all original dialoge from the graphic novels was an added bounus. To Brian G.- the characters reappear because some scenes overlap. To t w- I watched resevoir dogs not more than 2 hours ago and it wasnt half as good.
  75. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    a action packed movie that feels original and is well acted . ive never read the comic of sin city but its some thing that is deffinitly different . a big cast of named actors bring this thing to life . its 3 different storys that mildly inetrtwine with each other . its bloody, gory ,faced paced , over the top , and action packed , cheesy and enjoyable.
  76. Apr 11, 2011
    8
    I love this movie. All the story to this movie are awesome. This movie was kind of confusing at first. This movie is a very interested one. Very different from all the other movies. The storyline i really fine but confusing. I think everybody would love this movie. It might start of bored to some people. Everybody might not like all the stories in this movie but there are more than one soI love this movie. All the story to this movie are awesome. This movie was kind of confusing at first. This movie is a very interested one. Very different from all the other movies. The storyline i really fine but confusing. I think everybody would love this movie. It might start of bored to some people. Everybody might not like all the stories in this movie but there are more than one so I think everybody would find some story they like. Expand
  77. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    Comparing three seemingly undying men trying to do the right thing in a web of corruption, sickness, violence, and revenge. Great filmmaking. --------
  78. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    Ang Lee tried to make the abysmal Hulk look like it was a live comic book and failed miserably; Sin City was the one that did it to near perfection. If you take a decent comic book and a full on gynormous fan as the director, you get something different and engaging on the screen. Robert Rodriguez took Frank Millers popular comic and must have looked up and down from his worn copy to theAng Lee tried to make the abysmal Hulk look like it was a live comic book and failed miserably; Sin City was the one that did it to near perfection. If you take a decent comic book and a full on gynormous fan as the director, you get something different and engaging on the screen. Robert Rodriguez took Frank Millers popular comic and must have looked up and down from his worn copy to the camera before every shot. He found a cast that matched the books characters and if he didnâ Expand
  79. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    This didn't affected me too much while i was watching but after a 2 or 3 days, i noticed that i kept thinking about this and then i realized how an epic experience this movie was. I actually watched it because of Jessica Alba, but i couldn't believe it would be that good. Comments? Come on guys, if you give this movie anything lower than 5, then it is your problem. Cast is already fullThis didn't affected me too much while i was watching but after a 2 or 3 days, i noticed that i kept thinking about this and then i realized how an epic experience this movie was. I actually watched it because of Jessica Alba, but i couldn't believe it would be that good. Comments? Come on guys, if you give this movie anything lower than 5, then it is your problem. Cast is already full with stars: Jessica, Bruce Willis, Clive Owen, Mickey Rourke and even Michael Clarke Duncan bro...Noir Crime movies is not something seen common in Hollywood (i dont even remember another Noir Crime other than Max Payne Movie) Watch it and you will love it... Expand
  80. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    Another breakthrough in cinema comes in the form of Sin City, a film brimming with so much drama, flare, excitement and beauty that it will ultimately be one of the defining, unforgettable and dramatic pieces of modern cinema that explores and discovers new ground, and brings the comic to movie adaption scenario to a whole new level. The film is told through various stories based on FrankAnother breakthrough in cinema comes in the form of Sin City, a film brimming with so much drama, flare, excitement and beauty that it will ultimately be one of the defining, unforgettable and dramatic pieces of modern cinema that explores and discovers new ground, and brings the comic to movie adaption scenario to a whole new level. The film is told through various stories based on Frank Millar's comic book series, the man who also directed the film along with Robert Rodriguez, and a special credit for Quentin Tarantino, along with an ensemble cast that have the pleasure of taking part in such a unique film.
    We have Bruce Willis playing an ageing cop with heart problems, who struggles to do his duty, while in another story we have a heavily make-upped Mickey Rourke playing Marv, a man on the hunt for the person who killed his mistress in the night, and he will not let anyone stand in his way, good or bad. The large cast which also includes Jessica Alba, Josh Hartnett, the late Brittany Murphy, Elijah Wood and Michael Madsen, all play very versatile and intriguing parts, and to my understanding this is more a "translation" than an adaption, as it is very close to the comics. These actors and actresses really throw themselves into the roles, particularly Mickey Rourke as the larger than life Marv, and also Clive Owen, a mysterious man helping out a town of prostitutes.
    The statement of the film and its faithful translation of the comic series is visually true on screen, when we see the graphic content and the neo-noir effect used entirely throughout the film, where it is predominately black and white save for certain colours such as blood and lipstick.
    This unique and edgy form of filming is magnificent and full of gore, with an exaggerated and out of this world form of violence. Its a real delight when a film like this comes along, combining the power of technology and of course, the imagination, to create a very singular and unorthodox film that never quits being surprising, innovative and most of all, fun.
    The film is one of historical significance in terms of its groundbreaking style of filming, but it is also well written and can be summed up in various aways, a crime film, a thriller but also a very brutal and imaginative tale, a must see for comic book and film fans alike.
    Expand
  81. Oct 23, 2014
    8
    Well acted, Interesting story, and entertaining from start to finish. One of few original films to actually live up to the hype and is definitely a must watch.
  82. Jul 26, 2012
    10
    "Sin City" is much more than a gory, stylized flick, it actually has a story and plot and, well, everything else. Shot in a gritty black and white background with highlighted shades of red and yellow, this is one hell of a movie. And believe me, it has such style.
  83. Sep 1, 2014
    2
    Just because Sin City is derived from a graphic novel does not necessarily mean I wish for the film to appear as exactly such. The visuals were mediocre alongside its choppy script.
  84. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    Easily one of the best comic book movies is so goddamn awesome so many awesome characters and such an amazing setting worth all the moneys 10/10 so much goddamn good
  85. Aug 13, 2012
    8
    Sin City, based on the graphic novels, is a thrilling ride through the dirt and muck that corrupts and influences even the most upright of men. Its visually unique style emphasizes the morally grey nature of violence and sin, when evil men often dig their own graves.
  86. Jul 24, 2013
    9
    One my favorite comic adapts. I still think its one of the best. Great black and white noir look mixed with fantasy elements. Each character almost more over the top than the next. The only thing is I thought they should have done the long goodbye last because it was strongest of the stories and the best performances are in that story. The other stories are good but nothing quietOne my favorite comic adapts. I still think its one of the best. Great black and white noir look mixed with fantasy elements. Each character almost more over the top than the next. The only thing is I thought they should have done the long goodbye last because it was strongest of the stories and the best performances are in that story. The other stories are good but nothing quiet lives up to Mickey Rourke's turn as the revenge for the hooker with a heart gold..Goldy... Expand
  87. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    Extreme brutality and violence, visually-arresting cinematography, and nothing short of pure genius. Remarkable crime thriller neo-noir based on Frank Miller's graphic comic novel series. Directed by Robert Rodriguez and Frank Miller, there wasn't a screenplay written for the film, and instead they approached the filming as a translation. This isn't an adaptation of a comic book, it's likeExtreme brutality and violence, visually-arresting cinematography, and nothing short of pure genius. Remarkable crime thriller neo-noir based on Frank Miller's graphic comic novel series. Directed by Robert Rodriguez and Frank Miller, there wasn't a screenplay written for the film, and instead they approached the filming as a translation. This isn't an adaptation of a comic book, it's like a comic book brought to life and pumped with steroids. The movie is based on three of the "Sin City" stories which works perfectly for a two hour film. There are big time actors in the movie (Bruce Willis, Clive Owen, Mickey Rourke), but there is no lead role so much as actors who dominate the foreground and then move on. Fully digital, live action picture incorporating a technique of colorization while filmed in black and white. To say that this is the best comic book to movie adaptation I've ever seen would be an understatement. Expand
  88. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Its on my list for one of the best movies of all time, Sin City grabs audiences in on all levels whether its humor or its satisfying style of thrilling violence. Rodriguez at his absolute best.
  89. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    This is a rather unique film that some will not like, but according to most everyone has loved it! It's very creative and visually looks stunning, and is lead by a strong all-star cast. We follow three 'heroes' with interwoven stories all in Sin City itself, each with their own strong points. The graphics are what make this film unique as well as the selective choice for the colour ofThis is a rather unique film that some will not like, but according to most everyone has loved it! It's very creative and visually looks stunning, and is lead by a strong all-star cast. We follow three 'heroes' with interwoven stories all in Sin City itself, each with their own strong points. The graphics are what make this film unique as well as the selective choice for the colour of blood, etc. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed it and those with a open mind should do the same Expand
  90. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    This film is extremely disturbing: the violence is gruesome, the plot is dark, and a lot of the scenes/themes are vile, but that's what a graphic novel is! Despite loving the direction of the film, I was heavily disturbed (in particularly the Last Jessica Alba scene), but while I was ringing at the horrific images all I could think was how generally excellent this film is.
  91. Sep 7, 2014
    8
    Ah, a fun graphic novel/neon noir film at its finest. "Sin City" is filled with 3 interesting stories of revenge, vengeance and all in between. While some of the stories were better than others, the entertaining factor still remains throughout the whole film. The characters are not only great, but present great narratives as well. Bruce Willis, Mickey Rourke and Clive Owen really holdAh, a fun graphic novel/neon noir film at its finest. "Sin City" is filled with 3 interesting stories of revenge, vengeance and all in between. While some of the stories were better than others, the entertaining factor still remains throughout the whole film. The characters are not only great, but present great narratives as well. Bruce Willis, Mickey Rourke and Clive Owen really hold their own ground in each of their stories. Even the visuals are a marvel to watch. It's just like reading the pages from the graphic novel. Even though the multiple credits annoyed me and some parts of some of the stories were lacking, it's still a bloody good time! I give it an A-! Expand
  92. May 15, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Comic book movies have usually been the big hitters, like Batman, Superman, and the Marvel heroes. Today is the exception with Sin city. I never heard of it, and I never knew that this was based off a comic book, in fact the menu for the DVD tells you by itself. Not that I'm judging it differently now that I know it was based off a comic, but I can definitely see nods and ideas that comics themselves would take. Sin city is the dark noir; add salt and salt, view of three people: a cop, I think a detective, and a loser; persay. Each tale is told well in their own way, showing off the grittiness of the everyday city some us walk through everyday; if you lived in Chicago at least, and is told by unique and interesting people. Bruce wills plays a cop; stop me if you heard this before, and is hunting down a serial pedophile, he does good in not making his role too extreme or boring, just the right I'd say. Mickey Rourk does an awesome job of playing the bad ass Marv, I said earlier that he was a loser, but that was only figuratively. The last I guy I don't know, he's okay he definitely sells me on the character he's trying to play, but his monotone voice is rather boring. The stories are divided well and purposely don't tie into each other, which is good so that it doesn't get confusing. I mean a character will see another one from another tale, but it doesn't mean anything. Finally I conclude with saying this is one of the best comic book movies out there, near the dark knight, but not close. Expand
  93. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    Ever thought you'd actually like a movie with a heavily used up "Detective's POV" style of progression? From this century? Well think again! A surreal, visually stunning Neo-noir by the legend himself - teaming alongside the likes Tarantino and Rodriguez - entertainment couldn't possibly get any better than this.
  94. chw
    Jul 17, 2014
    9
    Sin City was absolutely amazing! Just like the comic book, the movie's format of colour is incredible, with very descriptive narration from all four stories' main characters, who acted extremely well.
  95. May 23, 2015
    10
    This is a good comic book to movie adaptation.Bruce Willis,Mickey Rourke,Jessica Alba and Clive Owen are excellent in their roles.The only thing that I found disappointing is, the fact, that Josh Hartnett was not there enough.But the movie was still excellent.
  96. Nov 12, 2014
    8
    The first time I saw this movie, I wasn't impressed. But after I thought about and watched it a second time on HBO it became one of my favorite movies. I love how everything was black and white except for certain colors that are important to the plot. Great plot, acting, and almost everything was perfect about this movie. Must see for comic book fans.
  97. Jul 18, 2014
    10
    Robert Rodriguez has made some good and bad films in his career, so one has the right to be unsure of whether to see this film or not. However, the very appealing cast persuaded me to watch 'Sin City', and I'm very glad I did. The cast were excellent, the dialogue strong (although sometimes a little cheesy, which I didn't mind) and the effects were breathtakingly brilliant.

    It is
    Robert Rodriguez has made some good and bad films in his career, so one has the right to be unsure of whether to see this film or not. However, the very appealing cast persuaded me to watch 'Sin City', and I'm very glad I did. The cast were excellent, the dialogue strong (although sometimes a little cheesy, which I didn't mind) and the effects were breathtakingly brilliant.

    It is stylistic, sometimes funny, well-acted and all together, a fantastic film. An absolute 'must-see'!
    Expand
  98. Apr 21, 2015
    2
    It really is a unique film, but how it is approached is just .. do not know, not my taste. .
  99. Oct 19, 2014
    7
    A game changing movie. It provides a whole new look at how to present graphic novel/comic book material. I had no prior knowledge of Frank Miller or the Sin City world but this film made me an instant fan. These characters resonate with something no one of the viewers could comprehend, that is why we need their storytelling. A new universe backed by a rock solid cast. Clearly only forA game changing movie. It provides a whole new look at how to present graphic novel/comic book material. I had no prior knowledge of Frank Miller or the Sin City world but this film made me an instant fan. These characters resonate with something no one of the viewers could comprehend, that is why we need their storytelling. A new universe backed by a rock solid cast. Clearly only for adult viewers. Full of tall tales of revenge, love, and survival in the twisted depths of Basin City, better known as Sin City. A new world is created with this movie, as well as a dynamic stage for actors to step in and blossom as pretty much the whole cast did. Impressive. It takes a particular audience to like these types of movies due to the dark subject matter and graphic content, for that it is not a ten, but it has plenty other qualities that should not go ignored. Expand
  100. Nov 15, 2014
    9
    If I had to sum Sin City up In Two Words, I would say "Stylistically Badass" This film has TRULY Unique and equally Beautiful Visuals and a surprisingly Epic story, And something that makes this stand out from other comic book to movie adaptations is how faithful the live-action characters are to the original comic book characters.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. 88
    The most visually inventive comic book adaptation to make its way to a movie screen.
  2. Eye-popping yet ultimately thin and shallow as a page in a graphic novel.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    80
    For geeks, action freaks and sensation-seeking teenage boys of all ages, the price of admission will provide a one-way ticket to hard-boiled heaven.