Sin City Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 640 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Robert Rodriguez and comic book icon Frank Miller co-direct Sin City, based on the series of graphic novels created, written and illustrated by Miller. The film is infested with criminals, crooked cops and sexy dames, some searching for vengeance, some for redemption and others, both.Robert Rodriguez and comic book icon Frank Miller co-direct Sin City, based on the series of graphic novels created, written and illustrated by Miller. The film is infested with criminals, crooked cops and sexy dames, some searching for vengeance, some for redemption and others, both. [Dimension Films] Expand
  • Director: Frank Miller and Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez
  • Genre(s): Action, Thriller, Crime
  • Rating: Unrated
  • Runtime: 124 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. 100
    This isn't an adaptation of a comic book, it's like a comic book brought to life and pumped with steroids.
  2. 100
    It's a guaranteed must-see for its generation. Sin City has a long, long shelf life ahead.
  3. 88
    The worst thing I can say about this savage, sexy and ferociously funny screen translation of three stories from Frank Miller's Sin City series of graphic novels is that it's too much of a good thing.
  4. Reviewed by: Devin Gordon
    80
    It's gory stuff, but it's also a visually arresting blitzkrieg with action so bare-knuckled you'll leave the theater spitting out teeth.
  5. 70
    But once you're good and drunk on the look, details like the tin-eared tough-guy dialogue (which sounds especially stilted issuing from flesh-and-blood mouths) don't seem so important.
  6. Glued tightly from page to screen, Sin City is so seduced by the visual possibilities of sin that style becomes its own vice.
  7. The attainment it achieves is in the depths of pointless, mean-spirited exploitation.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 297
  1. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    I loved the way the it is presented; a pulp noir thing. I never read the comic so I really didn't know what I was in for when I decided toI loved the way the it is presented; a pulp noir thing. I never read the comic so I really didn't know what I was in for when I decided to watch this and I am glad I did. The violence is a bit over the top but it's no big deal, it acts as part of the city helping boost the fact that it's 'Sin City' Expand
  2. JoshuaH.
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    My new number 1 favorite movie. It will probably fill that spot for years to come. Definitely a must-see for everyone. Even if you're My new number 1 favorite movie. It will probably fill that spot for years to come. Definitely a must-see for everyone. Even if you're too young to watch an R movie, just make sure your parents buy you the dvd on your 17th birthday. But then again, they should already own it by now. Expand
  3. R.Lopez
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Sin City, how can you describe it? Well one word comes to mind. Outstanding! Sin City is a visual stunning and amazingly well made film with Sin City, how can you describe it? Well one word comes to mind. Outstanding! Sin City is a visual stunning and amazingly well made film with a cast of big screens favorites driving this film. Sin City tells three different stories from the graphic novels themselves. The first follows the big juggernaut Marv(played by Mickey Rourke, who is fantastic here.) Marv is on a man hunt to find the men responsible for the death of the women he loved. The second story follows Dwight McCarthy, a killer trying to find peace form his old life, but as fate has it he's drawn back in when a mad dog cop ( played by Benicio Del Toro.) who is trying to make a mess out of things for Dwight's new girl and the girls of old town. Soon Dwight get's caught up in a murder and a cover-up bigger than him. Can he and the girls of old town save their home? The finally and best story in the film is that of falsely accused detective Hartigan, who while trying to save a little girls life is instead accused of the crimes of another. Now it's been eight years and Hartigan just wants to move on, but somebody won't let the past stay dead. Hartigan has one last job to do, and that is protecting the only person who means anything to him. With that said Frank Miller and Robert Rodriguez tell these stories in such a way that they seem like your reading the graphic novel but in actuality your watching a film. No movie has ever caught the fell of a series of books so well before. This movies was nothing but an experiment that exceeded beyond anyone's expectation's, Sin City is without saying a true black& white masterpiece. Expand
  4. DaveF
    Aug 29, 2005
    9
    Quite possibly the definitive guy movie. Beneath the misogynistic, teenage-fantasy grime beats a chivalrous heart. It's a riveting, Quite possibly the definitive guy movie. Beneath the misogynistic, teenage-fantasy grime beats a chivalrous heart. It's a riveting, blood-spattered nightmare, and you've seen it all before but never quite like this. At times Sin City is too sicko for its own good, such as the scene that Tarentino himself directed (a dead guy talking out of his slashed throat) but the dialog is sharp and the hookers add some amusing B-movie comic relief. But wow, if your girlfriend is a feminist...just tell her you went to see Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2014
    9
    One of the most visually stunning, brutal, dark, and all around best comic book/graphic novel movies out there. "Sin City" is an absolutelyOne of the most visually stunning, brutal, dark, and all around best comic book/graphic novel movies out there. "Sin City" is an absolutely fascinating world. It's filled with sick, twisted, and screwed up characters. Even each of the films heroes aren't immune to this fact. They're all unhinged in some way.

    It's a gripping movie. One that should be seen by any fan of noir-esque tales. It's smart, violent, and at times absolutely demented. It's absolute brilliance all around and a must watch. I give it a total score of 9.8/10-Amazing.
    Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2014
    7
    A game changing movie. It provides a whole new look at how to present graphic novel/comic book material. I had no prior knowledge of FrankA game changing movie. It provides a whole new look at how to present graphic novel/comic book material. I had no prior knowledge of Frank Miller or the Sin City world but this film made me an instant fan. These characters resonate with something no one of the viewers could comprehend, that is why we need their storytelling. A new universe backed by a rock solid cast. Clearly only for adult viewers. Full of tall tales of revenge, love, and survival in the twisted depths of Basin City, better known as Sin City. A new world is created with this movie, as well as a dynamic stage for actors to step in and blossom as pretty much the whole cast did. Impressive. It takes a particular audience to like these types of movies due to the dark subject matter and graphic content, for that it is not a ten, but it has plenty other qualities that should not go ignored. Expand
  7. gretcheno.
    Oct 19, 2005
    0
    This is by far the worst movie ever made. The positive reviews MUST be a complete conspiracy of those who made or are paid to promote the movie.

See all 297 User Reviews