Sinbad: Legend of the Seven Seas Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Sinbad (Pitt) the most daring and notorious rogue ever to sail the seven seas, has spent his life asking for trouble, and trouble has finally answered...in a big way. Framed for stealing one of the world's most priceless and powerful treasures - the Book of Peace - Sinbad had one chance toSinbad (Pitt) the most daring and notorious rogue ever to sail the seven seas, has spent his life asking for trouble, and trouble has finally answered...in a big way. Framed for stealing one of the world's most priceless and powerful treasures - the Book of Peace - Sinbad had one chance to find and return the precious book or his best friend Poteus (Fiennes) will die. (DreamWorks Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. The hundreds of animation artists on this three-year project made enormous contributions to the final film. There is not an off-kilter moment nor awkward effect in the entire movie.
  2. Isn't much more than the tale of a ''bad'' guy getting in touch with his good side, as well as a love story that makes monster-loving little boys go ''yuck!'' And that's what's too bad about Sinbad.
  3. 63
    Neither sinful nor particularly bad, the movie nonetheless diverts us when it should transport us. Its heroes' hearts may lie out at sea, but its soul never leaves dry land.
  4. 50
    As two-dimensional animation, Sinbad is passably attractive, reaching a visual height when it arrives in the surreal, shifting Tartarus.
  5. Logan's so carried away by computerized magic that he forgets to make sense.
  6. Sinbad lacks, alas, the sparkle and inventiveness of the stories that inspired it.
  7. A misfire in almost every direction.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. JohnnyV.
    Nov 29, 2003
    9
    The animation is far superior than Disney! Its the best animation on the human form,they actually care about acting and motion and the The animation is far superior than Disney! Its the best animation on the human form,they actually care about acting and motion and the drawings, none of that Disney, shoot them out quick to make a buck! Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    I thought this was a fun movie and I enjoyed it allot. Great animation, however the CG does feel a little out of place at times, butI thought this was a fun movie and I enjoyed it allot. Great animation, however the CG does feel a little out of place at times, but considering when it was made it is forgivable. Voice acting is pretty good, Pitt and Jones have some great chemistry and really bring their characters to life. Eris is utterly breathtaking. Her animation is just amazing. Overall a really fantastic film, that is not on par with the original fable, but I don't think it was meant to be. As a standalone modern animated full length feature it is very good and allot of fun. Collapse
  3. Jun 8, 2013
    7
    Sinbad is a perfect of example of why you should not always listen to the critics. Is this a great film by any means? No. While it may not beSinbad is a perfect of example of why you should not always listen to the critics. Is this a great film by any means? No. While it may not be what the critics wanted, Sinbad is a fun little adventure film. It has likeable characters, cool monster encounter, and some fun action. I really mean that I am not nostalgic for this film because I only saw it once I am speaking sincerely. While it is a shame that this film does not have any more sequels may it is a good thing because we can remember Sinbad for how fun it was unlike Pirates, which had a good film or two but overstayed its welcome with convoluted story lines, lengthy films, and a bunch other stuff no cares about. While I am sad that Dreamworks no longer does hand drawn animated films they left behind some entertaining films to watch and Sinbad is one of them. While it may not be as enjoyable as Curse of the Black Pearl it is still a lot of fun and definitely worth a watch. Sinbad is a fun adventure film and a good way to end the 2-D era of Dreamworks’ career. Expand
  4. Mar 1, 2016
    7
    This is a underrated movie. I loved the characters and the fun moments that happen. And while the plot is kinda dumb, it keeps me entertained,This is a underrated movie. I loved the characters and the fun moments that happen. And while the plot is kinda dumb, it keeps me entertained, most of the time. Expand
  5. JayH
    Jun 14, 2009
    6
    Energetic and fast paced family film, very well animated and entertaining. Enjoyable for both children and adults. Fine story, colorful and Energetic and fast paced family film, very well animated and entertaining. Enjoyable for both children and adults. Fine story, colorful and well made. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2016
    6
    Now to be completely honest with DreamWorks, this is the time before they went to completely CGI animated moves after seeing this failed atNow to be completely honest with DreamWorks, this is the time before they went to completely CGI animated moves after seeing this failed at the box office and seeing the studio suffering money loss. Sinbad just keeps trying to be entertaining. Expand
  7. Oct 23, 2010
    6
    without the plot and script, this movie would've been suffered. its not my favorite movie, but its good.

See all 12 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.