Summit Entertainment | Release Date: October 12, 2012
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 344 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
242
Mixed:
81
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
MyffubsOct 12, 2012
Though its previews give Sinister the appearance of a by-the-numbers fright flick, or perhaps some crummy J-horror ripoff, the end results are different, and decidedly better. Ethan Hawke stars as Ellison Oswalt, a true-crime novelist whoThough its previews give Sinister the appearance of a by-the-numbers fright flick, or perhaps some crummy J-horror ripoff, the end results are different, and decidedly better. Ethan Hawke stars as Ellison Oswalt, a true-crime novelist who moves his family into a home which doubles as the site of several ghastly murders. Tellingly he plans to write about them without telling his wife (Rylance) or children (D'Addario, Foley). Ellison uncovers reels documenting the crime along with footage of other killings. Upon viewing the murders, he sees a common thread, which then begins to weave itself into his family's life. Rounding out the cast are a disapproving local sheriff (Thompson), his eager-to-please deputy (Ransone), and a college professor (D'Onofrio) only present via webcam. Sinister works on a small scale, but uses this to its advantage; its few characters and fewer locations provide a more claustrophobic feel to draw the audience in and aid the story's horror. Writer/director Scott Derrickson and fellow writer C. Robert Cargill occasionally allow the film and plot to resemble other genre standards (namely The Exorcist, Poltergeist, The Ring, and The Shining) but refrain from hackneying or reproducing the works that inspired them. Though some moments dip into silliness and others into stupidity, Sinister reveals itself as a surprisingly satisfying experience. Its scares do scare and its horror does horrify. Those hoping for a gore fest are advised to sit this one out. Those who want to be frightened while being entertained would do well to see Sinister. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
GirGir777Nov 9, 2012
Ah, the creators of Paranormal Activity and Insidious bring us this well strapped together, macabre film we know as "Sinister." Now, as this film starts off we see that the family we are spectating, are moving into a new house, the father,Ah, the creators of Paranormal Activity and Insidious bring us this well strapped together, macabre film we know as "Sinister." Now, as this film starts off we see that the family we are spectating, are moving into a new house, the father, Ellison (Ethan Hawke) Is looking to write a book based off of the dark and eerie murders that took place in just the back yard of their residence. He then finds boxes with an old film projector and Super 8 tapes. Inside these very tapes lie the twisted deaths that the previous families living in these homes met. I will start off by saying this is an exceptionally written and acted film, I felt the characters were very believable and realistic. The scares weren't cheap at all, very real and clever. The soundtrack also worked very well, as their mellow tones met well with the overall theme of the film. The only complaint I have to make about this film is how the main villain/demon Baghuul, kept sticking his face directly in the camera. I found that to be a nuisance. Overall, Sinister is a chilling, creepy 8.5/10. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
charlieW24Oct 13, 2012
Sinister brings an interesting idea to the horror genre, but sadly, it fails to fully flesh it out. Slowly it begins to fall into horror cliches, and what is in my opinion a very lackluster ending. Taking this aside, yes at times Sinister canSinister brings an interesting idea to the horror genre, but sadly, it fails to fully flesh it out. Slowly it begins to fall into horror cliches, and what is in my opinion a very lackluster ending. Taking this aside, yes at times Sinister can be disturbing, even if the trailer shows all the scares we still jump out our skin, and as the main character begins to figure out whats going on, it gets you hooked. The tape sequences are also very interesting and will have you thinking about for weeks. But, overall, the film just simply fails to bring anything new to the genre, with scares predictable, and to many cliches to count. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
PaganostaghettiOct 18, 2012
It
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Forrestgump1Jun 4, 2013
"Sinister not suffering from much horror cliches. Is actually a great horror film, that is well written, great performance by Ethan Hawke and actually some smart thrills. made me jump. Needless to say Sinister is that scary movie we all need"Sinister not suffering from much horror cliches. Is actually a great horror film, that is well written, great performance by Ethan Hawke and actually some smart thrills. made me jump. Needless to say Sinister is that scary movie we all need and crave." B Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
dmullzJul 21, 2013
Not many horror movies make the jeeper creepers jump out of me, but this one definitely takes the cake. The flow from scene to scene and the dramatic sounds and camera angles coincided with each other very well. I would recommend this movieNot many horror movies make the jeeper creepers jump out of me, but this one definitely takes the cake. The flow from scene to scene and the dramatic sounds and camera angles coincided with each other very well. I would recommend this movie to anyone that wants a late night scare. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91Jul 13, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sinister is a 2012 horror film directed by Scott Derrickson (The Exorcism of Emily Rose) with Ethan Hawke and Vincent D'Onofrio.
The film is about Oswalt Ellison, a writer of chronicles black that, with the book Kentucky Blood, managed to get a huge success, but now his latest books have not been successful and then to find a new story that can give him the same success he had with Kentucky Blood, Ellison decided to move his family to a house in King Country, where a family was hanged on a tree branch while the youngest child was gone. While he wanders the house, Ellison is a black box in the attic that includes home movies amateur super 8 that show the death of the family who lived in that house before he and other families killed in the past. From that moment Ellison will have to deal with mysterious forces and disturbing.
Sinister does not have a particularly original plot, indeed, one can say that it is the plot of many other horror movies, but the thing that makes this film is really nice the way it was done. Scott Derrickson proved to be a good director succeeding, so also original to disturb and scare us (just think of the movies, which displays the killings of other families) and also manages to make good use of cliches. Also excellent ending that manages to scare the viewer even more.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
theahsanhaseebDec 8, 2012
Sinister is one of those films that are not scary on the whole but the little bits and a few scenes such as ghosts walking around you, strange sounds in the attic, things happening on their own, which despite of being typical and somewhatSinister is one of those films that are not scary on the whole but the little bits and a few scenes such as ghosts walking around you, strange sounds in the attic, things happening on their own, which despite of being typical and somewhat perdictable, manage to give you slight scares. The concept of the film is really different and amazing but it's execution is not brilliant, at least, not to me. Ethan Hawke's performance is the one thing that keeps you connected with the film and obviously, the main storyline of the film. At some points, it all feels pointless but if we look closer, the connection of the murders is present and is explained as well. I don't know why would anyone move into a house where the murders happened and not tell his own wife about it. This seems freaky. Ethan's character is really freaky, he gets obsessed with this stuff and that's what costs him and his entire family. This film does not offer blood and gore, what it offers requires your complete attention and concentration in the storyline. Honestly, my expectations were not high and I think it's a good thing because I am completely satisfied with this movie. Not scary, but this isn't a bad film either especially in 2012, when majority of the horror films sucked. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
LevelSevenMar 10, 2013
This movie is extremely creepy and screwed up. It is actually a good murder mystery film too. There are a few jump scares but the film doesn't rely on that alone. This is one of the better horror movies I've seen, not the best but not theThis movie is extremely creepy and screwed up. It is actually a good murder mystery film too. There are a few jump scares but the film doesn't rely on that alone. This is one of the better horror movies I've seen, not the best but not the worst. If you haven't seen it I recommend watching it. There was a part I physical turned away from the movie because that's how messed up it is. This film isn't for the faint of heart. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Sinister" 10 Scale Rating: 8.5 (Excellent) ...

The Good: The right blend of gore and spookiness that makes a horror movie entertaining. In most modern horror tales, the "boogie man" is far more interesting when you only catch glimpses and
"Sinister" 10 Scale Rating: 8.5 (Excellent) ...

The Good: The right blend of gore and spookiness that makes a horror movie entertaining. In most modern horror tales, the "boogie man" is far more interesting when you only catch glimpses and becomes silly and not very frightening once you see them in all their glory. "Sinister" does not suffer from this as the film's villain is kept in the shadows just enough to retain his mystery and scariness. The story is a creative one. Wrong at times, gleefully so, but still creative and entertaining all the same.

The Bad: For a few moments, the imagery was pretty horrible and that might rub some the wrong way. I was fine with it as it helped tell the story, but some might not agree. While the film strays from most cliches, it does have a few too many "jumpy" scenes where nothing really happens. Those scenes almost felt like filler and while I accept these scenes as horror film staples, this film could have had a few less.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DaizyBurchillNov 28, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film is incredible, the best film I've seen all year, it takes a lot to make me jump in a horror movie and this one made me jump twice in my books that's impressive. I was a bit skeptical at first but this film proved to be worth my time, this film escapes the cliche of a psycho murderer and I thought it was quite a clever plot although I think that it was a bit weird that they have the youngest child possessed by some sort of cult and killing their family members in gruesome bloody ways. However it was clever because no-one would suspect a child who is portrayed as innocent an sane who then disappears after murdering their family and have you believe that it was a murder and child abduction case. I also thought the mask was incredible and creepy. Loved this film. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
gemini0577Oct 12, 2012
After a once-successful author decides to move his family into a house where a heinous murder took place, things start to get weird. That is great for the viewer and bad for the family. This film is a nightmarish voyage into the past ofAfter a once-successful author decides to move his family into a house where a heinous murder took place, things start to get weird. That is great for the viewer and bad for the family. This film is a nightmarish voyage into the past of unsolved murders and how the missing link doesn't always need to be found. The chills are perfectly timed and the pace of this thrilling horror film is perfect, weaving in and out of states of undeniable tension with little effort. Ethan Hawke is superb as the the distraught author. This isn't a by-the-numbers genre piece. It packs soe interesting surprises. And it doesn't hold back on the thrills, chills, and gore. For the most part, this is what horror should be. The flaw, and not really a big one, is that yet again a horror movie features characters that do not act rationally. Still, that's a minor setback to an otherwise perfect gem of taught horror. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
kheasOct 20, 2012
Quite an interesting horror film. Not typical of recent entries into the Horror genre, it is one that is more psychological than physical horror. The movie follows a "True Crime" writer who moves his family into a house where the previousQuite an interesting horror film. Not typical of recent entries into the Horror genre, it is one that is more psychological than physical horror. The movie follows a "True Crime" writer who moves his family into a house where the previous family had been killed and upon further investigation discovers that this murder may have been part of a larger chain of events dating back several decades. The first act is rather slow but necessary to the big events in the second and third acts of the film.
If you like true horror films (not slasher flicks like Friday the 13th,"torture-porn" movies like Saw or even "sci-fi" horror like Resident Evil, actual HORROR films) this one is for you. Otherwise you'd best stay away.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
jennananaFeb 21, 2013
Sinister is a very creepy and jumpy film! I definitely had nightmares for a few days! If you're into the horror genre, you wouldn't want to miss out on Sinister!
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
GCMANINDAHOODOct 13, 2012
It was definitely a decent film, it is truly hard to find a scary movie of such high caliber now a days as many rely heavily on blood and gore and cheap scares needless to say this film did in fact have its share of them. The movie isIt was definitely a decent film, it is truly hard to find a scary movie of such high caliber now a days as many rely heavily on blood and gore and cheap scares needless to say this film did in fact have its share of them. The movie is physiologically boggling and the plot and story captivate the viewer and raises anticipation and anxiety within the viewer. It is quite clever for a film of its class and has a good amount of good scares and jump scenes and clever and delightfully frighting visuals and images. The movies though lacks a consistent base and drifts off into a somewhat absurd heavily rigidity plot which makes the reviewer scratch his head and wonder whats going on, the logic of some of the characters is also somewhat questionable and you can't help but face palm at some of the character's decisions. Another factor is its use of cliche scares such as the good old but overly used popping out of nowhere in your face scare which always leads to a good jump but not quite satisfying as you feel the plot is driven more by cheap scares. The plot is also quite complicated to understand but in the end it ends up being a rather well thought of and daring film that can actually be considered "chilling" the film never failed to surprise aside from the end and it gets a well deserved thumbs up. Best scary movie I have seen in years. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
ReaIistiCNov 1, 2012
Scariest movie out there by far! This film has you thinking throughout the whole film. Much scarier than Paranormal Activity. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
knorbiNov 23, 2012
By far one of the best horror movies made in 2012. The action begins to build up right from the beginning and the suspense makes you watch it until the end. It is the kind of movie that lets you know when you will get scared, but makes sureBy far one of the best horror movies made in 2012. The action begins to build up right from the beginning and the suspense makes you watch it until the end. It is the kind of movie that lets you know when you will get scared, but makes sure you will still jump or scream. Even if there is nothing surprising in the story, the music and the dark atmosphere transform the movie into a spooky experience. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
MisssZNov 25, 2012
WOW... I expected nothing of this movie... I was so damn scary. At least the most scariest movie this year. What scene gives me the most creeps especially?? the pool scene on the tape. That thing what ate the kids looks nothing alike in theWOW... I expected nothing of this movie... I was so damn scary. At least the most scariest movie this year. What scene gives me the most creeps especially?? the pool scene on the tape. That thing what ate the kids looks nothing alike in the other tapes. It was if he had a very long nose, whaha.. Ands all those kids in the attic freaks me out too. I have to check all of my paintings tonight :P Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Lambo442Feb 23, 2013
This was a decent horror actually, one of the best I've seen in a while. The pacing is very good and it stays creepy throughout. I felt a genuine sense of dread on more than one occassion. It's in the vein of the Ring, with that kind ofThis was a decent horror actually, one of the best I've seen in a while. The pacing is very good and it stays creepy throughout. I felt a genuine sense of dread on more than one occassion. It's in the vein of the Ring, with that kind of moody, atmospheric horror that relies on building up suspense rather than bludgeoning you with explanations too early. It leaves lots to your imagination and feeds it at the right pace. Very clever film and quite underated by critics for some reason. Go by the user score on this one. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobFeb 24, 2013
While it may not be scary, The good plot and the solid acting by the cast makes this movie worth watching. It's easily one of the better horror movies I have seen in recent years.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
coreyg007Oct 24, 2012
I thought the film was pretty good for the price I paid to see it. It was more eerie than scary but had a couple of "oh crap!" moments that catch you off guard. I thought Ethan Hawke did an awesome job acting as a progressively semi-crazyI thought the film was pretty good for the price I paid to see it. It was more eerie than scary but had a couple of "oh crap!" moments that catch you off guard. I thought Ethan Hawke did an awesome job acting as a progressively semi-crazy individual. My only complaint would be that the audience needs more of a history lesson in the origins of the demon and why He/It does what He/It does. All-in-all, a pretty good flick. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
PastVSPresentMar 15, 2013
I saw this movie at a Halloween movie marathon in the theater and Sinister was the night's highlight. It easily outclassed the movies Paranormal Activity 4, The Awakening and Silent House i also saw that night. Sinister kept me on the edgeI saw this movie at a Halloween movie marathon in the theater and Sinister was the night's highlight. It easily outclassed the movies Paranormal Activity 4, The Awakening and Silent House i also saw that night. Sinister kept me on the edge of my chair and wouldn't let me go. The suspense was so good i felt re leaved when the dawn approached the next morning and felt anxiety at sunset. It's true that most scares are jump scares but that's because there is so much suspense you just automatically launch yourself from your chair. I am a mayor psychological horror/thriller movie fan and am always looking for a new scary/disturbing experience. And this movie was great enough to see it 2 times in the theaters. There was only one thing that spoiled this experience a little and that was the movie trailer. It just shows and spoils many important events so that you know what is going to happen when you are watching the movie. This is the reason i don't wanna watch movie trailers again. So don't watch the trailer. Final Verdict: I'd say this is the best horror/thriller movie of 2012. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
cliftonrainAug 10, 2015
Every Ethan Hawke movie I seen he dies. The purge. But sinister he dies too. I loved the movie it made me try to guess and it did not let me and I paid the price by the scares and mystery.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
JPG127Dec 2, 2012
Definitely a great horror movie. It was not brilliant. But what it did, it did right. Genuinely creepy, good acting, story moved right along and was definitely more than the trailer.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MrThehammer171May 16, 2013
its pretty good thats why i gave it a 8 its one of the best scary movies i have seen sure it wasnt that scary to me well alot of movies arent that scary to me but watch it its good
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
PetitBikiniOct 29, 2016
Horror is the only genre in which I NEVER trust or care what the critics say. Honestly, I do not know what pleases them. "Sinister" was so scary that I had to pause it a couple times and watch some Teletubbie videos from Youtube to calm down.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
bobmoorwesselFeb 24, 2013
Very good. Happy a movie was scary. Its been quite a while. Highly recommend. Its been 10 years and only a handful of scary movies. Not saying its the best movie ever, however for a horror movie it has a plot, is scary, has a few twist, andVery good. Happy a movie was scary. Its been quite a while. Highly recommend. Its been 10 years and only a handful of scary movies. Not saying its the best movie ever, however for a horror movie it has a plot, is scary, has a few twist, and will make you jump. This one is a winner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MikefromAngusDec 30, 2014
One of the most scariest horror movies, I have ever seen! The beginning is great, it setups a great story f the movie and the mystery starts with a lot of scares. The ending is alittle bad. But overall 90 percent of the movie is great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dakydakySep 22, 2015
Sinister is a decent midrange flick with a decent, somewhat washed up storyline and antagonist. The film only contains a handful of jumpscares, but they're pretty effective.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Apemonkey666Mar 31, 2013
Although it has allot of the cliché horror film elements it differentiates itself by having good actors (Hawke) and a creepy atmosphere which suggests more scary things could happen than there actually do. Maybe not a classic in the genre butAlthough it has allot of the cliché horror film elements it differentiates itself by having good actors (Hawke) and a creepy atmosphere which suggests more scary things could happen than there actually do. Maybe not a classic in the genre but certainly one of the better horror films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews