• Studio:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sita is a goddess separated from her beloved Lord and husband Rama. Nina is an animator whose husband moves to India, then dumps her by email. Three hilarious shadow puppets narrate both ancient tragedy and modern comedy in this beautifully animated interpretation of the Indian epic Ramayana. Set to the 1920's jazz vocals of Annette Hanshaw, Sita Sings the Blues earns its tagline as "the Greatest Break-Up Story Ever Told." (Nina Paley) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 100
    It is astonishingly original.
  2. 100
    And the ingenuity of “Sita” — is dazzling. Not busy, or overwhelming, or eye-popping. Just affecting, surprising and a lot of fun.
  3. 100
    With Sita, Paley brings the same, highly specific and very personal vision we associate with the best indie and alternative filmmaking to the animated form, and the result is riveting.
  4. Reviewed by: Ronnie Scheib
    90
    Paley sustains a consistently funny, sometimes even self-deprecatory comic tone.
  5. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    90
    Paley's beguiling, consistently inventive visuals and sly yet melancholy tone are about as warm and winning as heartbreak-fueled empowerment gets.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    88
    The film, dazzling and poignant and five years in the making, retells the ancient Indian epic "The Ramayana" from a gentle but insistent feminist perspective.
  7. 80
    This colorful, cranium-bursting film isn’t about one specific tale so much as the endless ways you can present narratives; it’s nothing less than a kitchen-sink deconstruction on the art of storytelling.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    an absolutely original joy. i smiled all the way through the thing.
  2. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    One of the most original contemporary animated films. It is something I've never seen before in a film, full of humorous jokes, witching cinemographies as well as spell binding historical lessons through such an epic love tale. The best contemporary animated film without a doubt. Expand
  3. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    New MMOs in March 2011


    Age of Wulin
    Age of Wulin is set in the Ming Dynasty when Chinese feudal forces reached the climax. Originating
    from the Tang Dynasty and developing during the Song and Yuan Dynasties, the martial-arts world finally came into its golden age in the Ming Dynasty, enjoying the most freedom. gPotato set up a teaser site under Age of Wulin website presenting a good number of stuffs there, including the huge background story that comprised of 7 chapters. It also unveils the key features to players in March. Let's recall some key points.

    Dragon Nest
    The Dragon Nest global version will be co-published by Singapore company Cherry Credits and Chinese MMO giant Shanda Games. Recently, Dragon Nest Global official site has opened, what's more, the Closed Beta sign-up has begun!

    Elsword
    Elsword from Kill3rCombo, a joint venture of Level Up! Games and KOG Studios, is a comic book influenced free-to-play gaming experience slated to launch this spring, introducing throngs of new followers to fast-paced gameplay and non-stop adventure. It was confirmed that Elsword would finally come to the US this March 2011.

    Legend of Galasia
    Legend of Galasia is a 2D MMORPG developed by FUN YOURS Technology Co., Ltd. from Taiwan. It is based on the popular single player title Wind Fantasy in Taiwan with 6+ series over the past few years. The global publishing rights was taken by CilyGame. The 'Legend of Galasia' management team had also promised anticipating players that they scheduled to launch its closed beta in the first quarter of 2011.

    Pirates of Black Cove
    Pirates of Black Cove, presented by Paradox Interactive, sets the stage in Caribbean in the 16th century, the golden era of pirates, and the game combines RPG gameplay with elements from action and strategy games. This game has just opened closed beta registration.

    Lazy to post all new MMOs, more in http://news.mmosite.com/content/2011-04-09/new_mmos_in_march_2011_round_up,4.shtml
    Collapse
  4. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    I found out about this movie while watching a Roger Ebert review. Ebert gave it a BIG Thumbs up, and could not praise the movie enough. He Loved it!!! He also said it was a free showing on the Internet. I went online and typed in,"Sita Sings the Blues". It is one of the BEST Movies I have seen in years. It is Amazing. It is the kind of movie you can see over and over again, and not get tired of it. It is free online, and a MUST SEE. Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    Sita Sings the Blues is a 2009 artistic retelling of the Ramayana. It satirically tells the story of Rama on his journey to save his wife Sita from the nearly invulnerable king of Lanka, Ravana. But this isn’t a normal movie, it is cut up into four different artistic styles that blend together to convey the artist and directors own experiences, views, and perspective on the ancient Indian epic.
    The first of these styles is done with three narrators. Each portrayed by an ornate Indian shadow puppet, one female and two males. They talk with each other and tell the story of the Ramayana but not in perfect detail. They misinterpret things and forget facts and do come across as almost everyday people who grew up with this story quite similar to if my friends and I tried to tell the story of the bible (us all being nonreligious). Through this the story is conveyed in an interesting, and surprisingly humorous way. With all of the narrators joking around and mispronouncing some of the characters names it keeps the flow of the movie going without pouring out to much information in an uninteresting and drab manner whilst still informing the audience.
    The second and probably least used style is the actual story of the Ramayana. It comes in short snippets portrayed in authentic Indian artwork which makes it much choppier in animation, but still quite visually pleasing. Lots of satire and humor is used these segments which is sometimes corny and overdone but I did catch myself snickering and sometimes laughing at the silly jokes.
    My favorite parts of this movie are done in Pixar like, crisp animation. These parts are beautiful in both visuals and sound. During these segments Sita sings, as the title suggests, 1920s style blues from an artist named Annette Hanshaw. Each of these songs are sung relating to the story, for instance when Rama’s army is storming the gates of Lanka to rescue Sita from the dreaded king Ravana she sings a song about her love knocking at the door. This is an incredibly interesting artistic choice which I feel was done amazingly. The childish movie animation and aesthetics mixed with the 20s music and graphic scenes of the Ramayana creates an experience unlike anything I’ve ever seen before. These parts are interesting and really help you connect with Sita as a character, but still keep her remotely alien. I would watch this movie again solely for these parts and I would be lying to you if I said I didn’t have one of the songs stuck in my head and I am not planning to buy the music.
    The final and probably most important parts of the movie are centered on the fourth style. In these segments it uses cartoon strip esque art. It tells of the artist and writer of this movie, Nina Paley, in a relationship with a man named Dave who is also an artist. He gets a job in India and moves there without her. After little communication he invites Nina to India to live with him and she accepts. A short time later she goes on a business trip to New York and Dave dumps her over Email. She is devastated and buys a small cold apartment and tries to get Dave back. The movie ends with one of these scenes where she walks into a new and clean suite with pictures of the shadow puppets on the wall, a fancy computer, and shows her going to sleep after reading a segment of the Ramayana.
    The reason the comic parts are so important to the story is because the entire movie is from the perspective and interpretation of this women who was gravely hurt romantically. The 20s blues and most of the story being based around Sita’s experiences instead of Rama’s is evident of this. The entire movie is geared around Nina and Sita and their misfortune with their unsuccessful romantic endeavors. Throughout the movie I found myself sympathizing with both of them and wanting to help. The movie near the end really stressed the idea of the women’s dharma of being a wife as petty.
    Overall Sita Sings the Blues was an incredibly interesting movie. Its different art styles and themed segments made for a unique experience I will have to share with other people somewhere down the road. The blend of Indian history, personal experience, relationship issues, artistic variations, and 20s musical numbers made for a story telling experience unlike anything I’ve seen before. I would suggest any person who is interested in unique storytelling and Indian culture to watch this movie, but an average audience would probably not find interest in this movie.
    Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2010
    7
    Sita Sings the Blues is a delight to watch if only for the animation; it's done in several different styles that make it more visually compelling. It's a bit short on story and I didn't personally enjoy the soundtrack that caused so much drama, even if it is integral to the storyline. I enjoyed the back-story of how this film was made more than the storyline itself, but, again, the visuals and the fact that it's freely distributed make this a must-see, if only to support a woman who poured her heart and soul into this project. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films)

    Ranked: The Best Women Film Directors (and Their Films) Image
    Published: July 17, 2010
    Even in a year where the directing Oscar went to a woman for the first time, female filmmakers still don't receive the recognition that their male counterparts do. We look at the top women directors and their films, including the two best-reviewed live-action films of the summer.