Skyline

Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 18
  2. Negative: 12 out of 18

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Nov 12, 2010
    60
    Technically ambitious, dramatically basic. Still, it's a major step up from an AvP sequel and delivers all the Saturday night whizz-bang and Sunday morning brain-ripping you could want.
  2. Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    Nov 12, 2010
    58
    Basically a nifty VFX reel in search of a plot.
  3. Reviewed by: Pam Grady
    Nov 13, 2010
    50
    This sci-fi thriller manages to blend genuine suspense with unintentional laughs.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Nov 12, 2010
    50
    It isn't clever. It isn't original. It isn't scary. At best, Skyline is a proficient, forgettable programmer that only occasionally lapses into irredeemably silliness.
  5. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    Nov 17, 2010
    40
    The military eventually shows up to nuke the joint (L.A., incidentally), but there's no urgency, suspense or charm with all that back-row rattle.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Nov 12, 2010
    40
    An underwhelming and derivative sci-fi thriller that's only marginally more impressive than a run-of-the-mill SyFy Channel telepic.
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 248 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 120
  2. Negative: 73 out of 120
  1. Nov 12, 2010
    3
    A big disappointment, yet I think some are taking this too harsh. I agree with fbcking stating the first trailer had no relevance to the film.A big disappointment, yet I think some are taking this too harsh. I agree with fbcking stating the first trailer had no relevance to the film. This is a cliched sci fi film with a terrible plot, and terrible acting to put the cherry on top. Full Review »
  2. Nov 12, 2010
    5
    Random, boring at times, poor casting, and poor screenplay. Basically it was just special effects that made the movie even bearable until theRandom, boring at times, poor casting, and poor screenplay. Basically it was just special effects that made the movie even bearable until the end. The ending if anything was the only thing to actually grab my attention. The movie does not deserve a '1' nor does it deserve anything higher than a '5'. If they had played the movie out like it was in the end from the beginning it may have been good...Somewhat 'District 9'-ish with 'War Of The Worlds'. Full Review »
  3. Jan 20, 2011
    4
    What can I say, 9 for the trailer and 4 for the movie. I have to give the intriguing trailer a big round of applause. If you have seen theWhat can I say, 9 for the trailer and 4 for the movie. I have to give the intriguing trailer a big round of applause. If you have seen the trailer before, I can guarantee you will be so bloody curious to watch the movie itself (exactly what happened to CLASH OF THE TITANS earlier thiz year). They were editing the trailer so well. But the fact is: Something so wrong is going on. Next Thing I can say, A-Class Special Effects collide with C-Class Actors. The movie directed by Special Effects experts, Colin and Greg Strause, who also directed AVPR: ALIENS VS. PREDATOR-REQUIEM: (2007). The premise is mysterious at the beginning, one night at 4:27 A.M. strange blue beams appear on the City of Los Angeles. It is the first initial of the extraterrestrial invasion. The storyline only follows one point of view (just like CLOVERFIELD, 2008), the movie focuses on a group of certain people and what happens next to them. They are Eric Balfour, Scottie Thompson, Donald Faison, David Zayas and others. There is a scene that I think it is a rip-off from WAR OF THE WORLDS (2005), when Terry meets a stranger and the alien is sneaking around to hunt them furtively with its long and creepy tentacles. The last thing I can say, The Sky is wreck and The Line is flat. Approaching the end of the movie, the story-telling is getting more and more poignantly absurd. For example (Spoiler Alert!), the octopus look-alike alien which could chase and destroy jet aircraft and even sophisticated Stealth fighter jet, can be defeated by bare-hand and an axe. Strause brothers are really getting on my nerves, while they underestimate our intelligence with their absurd story. There are several of them. However there is something that maybe you wont realize. Everyone and most critics thought that thiz movie was a monstrous failure, but what you did not realize that thiz movie made with budget of ONLY $10 million (estimated). To be certain, they made up some real money here. The tagline on thiz movie is: Do not look up, well, do not even look at the film itself. Next time if aliens invade the theaters like thiz again, I would rather go home and sleep on my bed. Do not waste 92 minutes of your life.

    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE on : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Full Review »