Sleeping Beauty

Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Dec 9, 2011
    60
    As repellent as Lucy's story can be, its mystery has a seductive sway, and it does add up to more than the sum of its insistently elliptical parts.
  2. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Dec 27, 2011
    50
    Novelist-turned-director Leigh's dryly efficient style is perched between the matter-of-fact and the impossibly arty.
  3. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Dec 1, 2011
    50
    Though the tone is quiet and the pacing serenely unhurried, Sleeping Beauty is at times almost screamingly funny, a pointed, deadpan surrealist sex farce that Luis Buñuel might have admired.
  4. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Nov 29, 2011
    50
    Sharp and precise as its tableaux might be, though, Sleeping Beauty never burrows into the brain, and its tenuous provocations fizzle out quickly.
  5. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Nov 2, 2011
    50
    Sleeping Beauty is one of those self-consciously artsy motion picture that promises more than it delivers.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Mowe
    Oct 10, 2011
    40
    Leigh certainly has a sense of cinematic style and Emily Browning possesses a fragile beauty that hides a remarkably resilient interior. It's a pity, however, that Jane Campion did not exert a more powerful sway on the result.
  7. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Oct 10, 2011
    40
    While this psychosexual twaddle will no doubt have its admirers, it seems a long shot to attract a significant following or herald the arrival of a director to watch.
  8. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Oct 10, 2011
    40
    The film's frustratingly elliptical style and lack of character insight give it a distinctly first-draft feel.
User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. May 8, 2012
    8
    I actually really liked this film. I like it because it stays with you after it has ended (like Eyes Wide Shut, Mulholland Drive...etc).I actually really liked this film. I like it because it stays with you after it has ended (like Eyes Wide Shut, Mulholland Drive...etc). Although it has nudity throughout, it's not erotic nudity. It's got an almost "cold, sterile" vibe riding alongside in the passenger seat. There's plenty of questions to ask yourself when watching (1.The meaning behind the character "Birdman"... 2.The "Lack of Kissing"... 3.The "Will You Marry Me?"... 4.The ending...etc)

    There's definitely multiple hidden narratives or meanings that this film operates on and it's definitely trying to examine the objectification of females, and what constitutes as a sexualized image or the nature of sexual aggression. It's also notably showing the parallel of being asleep through her entire life (seemingly not being fazed by anything) and to finally "wake up" at the finale... hence a play on the title.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    7
    Definitely not your everyday film. I understand how some people could be offended or dislike the movie as a whole, however, if you watch theDefinitely not your everyday film. I understand how some people could be offended or dislike the movie as a whole, however, if you watch the trailer before hand or read the synopsis, you should know what you are getting yourself into. The trailer really shows the sexuality of it. So that being said, it wasnt a bad movie. Some silent moments to show the boredom in her regular life but again, its an artsy film so sit back and enjoy. Passing grade. Full Review »
  3. Dec 3, 2011
    2
    One of the worst films I've seen all year. Julia Leigh's directorial debut looks and feels like a second rate Hanake film. Rarely have I seenOne of the worst films I've seen all year. Julia Leigh's directorial debut looks and feels like a second rate Hanake film. Rarely have I seen a movie devoid of any real point. The word "pretentious" is often thrown around too easily to describe movies these days, but it's a word that is largely deserved for this ugly and exploitative film.

    "Art House crap is still crap"
    Full Review »