Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: This coolly shocking retelling of the classic myth poses its heroine as a rarified sex-worker, confronting ideas of feminine sexuality with bravado and precision. (Sundance Selects)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Nov 29, 2011
    80
    Leigh does a stellar job of showing how these events seep into the unaware girl's everyday existence - almost all of the film's sequences are photographed in precisely composed, inherently surreal single shots.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Dec 1, 2011
    75
    Sleeping Beauty is best experienced as a piece of fragmented poetry rather than a strict ideological tract.
  3. 75
    At its simple core, Sleeping Beauty is a perfectly pitched chamber piece about the menace of voluntary oblivion.
  4. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Dec 9, 2011
    60
    As repellent as Lucy's story can be, its mystery has a seductive sway, and it does add up to more than the sum of its insistently elliptical parts.
  5. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Dec 1, 2011
    50
    Though the tone is quiet and the pacing serenely unhurried, Sleeping Beauty is at times almost screamingly funny, a pointed, deadpan surrealist sex farce that Luis Buñuel might have admired.
  6. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Nov 2, 2011
    50
    Sleeping Beauty is one of those self-consciously artsy motion picture that promises more than it delivers.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 3, 2011
    20
    Though Julia Leigh's surprisingly dull debut is meant to present the mysteries of a troubled young woman, you're more likely to wonder why its star, Emily Browning, is drawn to such demeaning roles.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. May 8, 2012
    8
    I actually really liked this film. I like it because it stays with you after it has ended (like Eyes Wide Shut, Mulholland Drive...etc). Although it has nudity throughout, it's not erotic nudity. It's got an almost "cold, sterile" vibe riding alongside in the passenger seat. There's plenty of questions to ask yourself when watching (1.The meaning behind the character "Birdman"... 2.The "Lack of Kissing"... 3.The "Will You Marry Me?"... 4.The ending...etc)

    There's definitely multiple hidden narratives or meanings that this film operates on and it's definitely trying to examine the objectification of females, and what constitutes as a sexualized image or the nature of sexual aggression. It's also notably showing the parallel of being asleep through her entire life (seemingly not being fazed by anything) and to finally "wake up" at the finale... hence a play on the title.
    Collapse
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    7
    Definitely not your everyday film. I understand how some people could be offended or dislike the movie as a whole, however, if you watch the trailer before hand or read the synopsis, you should know what you are getting yourself into. The trailer really shows the sexuality of it. So that being said, it wasnt a bad movie. Some silent moments to show the boredom in her regular life but again, its an artsy film so sit back and enjoy. Passing grade. Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    6
    It's not a great movie but it has a lot a things that makes we think about... It's a very complex movie. At the first time I get myself pissed with the end... Although later I enjoy and kind like those questions not answered... it makes us break up our mind... That's nice. Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    4
    I know, I know this is supposed to be an art house film. But I actually found it pretty boring & ended up fast forwarding through most of it. My curse is that once I've started a movie I'm usually curious enough to want ot know the ending. But I got to the ending of this movie & thought: that's it? Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2012
    3
    This is a movie that happens to be too abstract for it's own good. It's a voyeuristic character study where you don't ever really care about the protagonist and the ending doesn't wrap up enough things to make it feel worth it. Any symbolism the film has is lost in it's trust that the audience is willing to care enough to dig to find it. This director shows signs of promise and some scenes echo cinematography from Bergman and other similar film makers but never rises to it. Overall, the film is one that in the end doesn't really justify sitting through the slow and vague exploration of sex when there are so many better films on the subject out there. Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2011
    2
    One of the worst films I've seen all year. Julia Leigh's directorial debut looks and feels like a second rate Hanake film. Rarely have I seen a movie devoid of any real point. The word "pretentious" is often thrown around too easily to describe movies these days, but it's a word that is largely deserved for this ugly and exploitative film.

    "Art House crap is still crap"
    Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2012
    1
    This is a bleak and disturbing movie with no redeeming feature at all. There is a hope throughout that there will be some sort of better story revealed, something we have not been told but will be. Once the movie is over, there is an overall sense that the director has sucked you in to wasting that much time of your life. It is a pretentious movie, imagining itself to be intelligent, but simply ugly on the inside and weird on the outside! Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Trailers