Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Aug 29, 2012
    88
    I like this movie. More important, I like Mike Birbiglia in it. Whether he has a future in stand-up I cannot say, but he has a future as a monologist and actor.
  2. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Aug 22, 2012
    91
    Lauren Ambrose is lovely as the girlfriend he's a fool to lose but seems intent on losing anyhow.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Sep 1, 2012
    88
    A dream for fans of offbeat, well-written, subtly acted projects.
  4. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Aug 11, 2012
    83
    Sleepwalk With Me calls to mind Judd Apatow's "Funny People" for its focus on the eccentric, obsessive nature of the wannabe comic's mind.
  5. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Oct 17, 2012
    100
    I've watched Sleepwalk With Me twice now, each time impressed with Birbiglia's confidence in revealing so much about his craft and himself, and the freely associated style with which he does it.
  6. Reviewed by: Drew Grant
    Aug 27, 2012
    88
    Laugh-out-loud funny and somewhat melancholic.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Dec 28, 2012
    1
    Huh? This guy bored me to distraction. Never did get the point of him, or the movie. Just a "story" about a bumbling, mumbling, talentless (at least as a comic) dullard making poor career and life choices. Who cares? Go to any shopping mall, government job site, public school faculty lounge, or bar and you'll be surrounded by similar decrepit, self-absorbed losers. No one wants to see a movie of their lives, for good reason. The only redeeming aspect was the female lead, who finally came to her senses and got out of the relationship. She summed him up nicely at the end by stating (paraphrasing) that she stayed in the relationship for so long only because she felt sorry for him. Pathetic. Full Review »
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    0
    This was so bad I had to walk out. Not funny. I liked Mike Brigligiailiailiailiaa. But now I don't. Awful. His stuttering through stuff was miserable.
  3. May 22, 2013
    9
    This film was a really nice surprise. Streamed on NetFlix, thought it was one of the best of 2012 and has inspired me to start thinking about a movie idea of my own. Full Review »