Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The story: when an aspiring stand-up fails to express his true feelings about his girlfriend and his stalled career, his anxiety comes out in increasingly funny and dangerous sleepwalking incidents. (IFC Films)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Oct 17, 2012
    100
    I've watched Sleepwalk With Me twice now, each time impressed with Birbiglia's confidence in revealing so much about his craft and himself, and the freely associated style with which he does it.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Aug 29, 2012
    88
    I like this movie. More important, I like Mike Birbiglia in it. Whether he has a future in stand-up I cannot say, but he has a future as a monologist and actor.
  3. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Aug 30, 2012
    80
    The perfect movie for fans of "The Daily Show" who actually stick around for the second-half interview. A cinematic memoir based on the one-man show by Mike Birbiglia, it is the aesthetic intersection of Comedy Central and public radio.
  4. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Aug 11, 2012
    75
    As charming as it is winningly modest, but it's so incredibly slight a stiff wind would knock it into a different hemisphere.
  5. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Aug 31, 2012
    70
    Sleepwalk With Me makes the subject palatable, funny and maybe even touching.
  6. Reviewed by: Duane Byrge
    Aug 11, 2012
    70
    Much of the best comedy derives from personal pain, and comic turned filmmaker Mike Birbiglia deftly transposes his stand-up routine to the big screen.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Sep 7, 2012
    40
    Sleepwalk With Me is a decent film -- even if its not one that lingers.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. May 22, 2013
    9
    This film was a really nice surprise. Streamed on NetFlix, thought it was one of the best of 2012 and has inspired me to start thinking aboutThis film was a really nice surprise. Streamed on NetFlix, thought it was one of the best of 2012 and has inspired me to start thinking about a movie idea of my own. Expand
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    8
    For a film written and directed by a comedian, it is surprisingly as poignant as it as funny. So off-beat, honest and self-aware, a pleasant surprise.
  3. Oct 4, 2014
    8
    O filme eh muito bom. E da maneira como foi contada, de um ponto de vista diferente e uma historia bem irreverente, faz com que ele seja aindaO filme eh muito bom. E da maneira como foi contada, de um ponto de vista diferente e uma historia bem irreverente, faz com que ele seja ainda mais surpreendente. Aposto que qualquer um irĂ¡ gostar do filme. Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2012
    7
    Who would have thought that the best antidote to sleepwalking I've ever heard of would be revealed in a comedy? This is a solid, funny flickWho would have thought that the best antidote to sleepwalking I've ever heard of would be revealed in a comedy? This is a solid, funny flick with a lead actor who needs to be in more movies. Check this one out and support a good little film made the right way. Collapse
  5. Feb 18, 2013
    6
    Sleepwalk with Me is an insight into struggling stand-up comedians' experiences, but with personal AND peculiar influences from the actorSleepwalk with Me is an insight into struggling stand-up comedians' experiences, but with personal AND peculiar influences from the actor himself. Mike Birbiglia was off-beat and well, himself. Worth a view. Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2012
    6
    This is a mildly entertaining film that ultimately does not live up to the potential of the concept. The movie left me wandering if the hookThis is a mildly entertaining film that ultimately does not live up to the potential of the concept. The movie left me wandering if the hook -- sleepwalking -- didn't eventually become an unnecessary distraction. Expand
  7. Dec 21, 2012
    0
    This was so bad I had to walk out. Not funny. I liked Mike Brigligiailiailiailiaa. But now I don't. Awful. His stuttering through stuff was miserable.

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers