Sleepy Hollow

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 455 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 455

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 13, 2014
    10
    Sleepy Hollow has great effects and acting in a creepily effective tale. The whole movie is exciting,
    refreshing and every moment is enjoyable. If you're looking for a epic horror thriller, Sleepy Hollow
    will satisfy your palate.
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    The best movie with Tim Burton and Johnny Depp working together (except for possibly Edward Scissorhands). This puts a modern and dark spin on the old Hallowe'en tale. The aesthetics are creepy and the performances of the actors and actresses are great. The story is great. Johnny Depp is absolutely excellent in his role as Ichabod. This movie was an instant classic the day it was released.
  3. Sep 20, 2013
    9
    Fresh spin on the classic story. Love the contemporary twist. After watching the pilot episode, I am now intrigued and committed to watching the next few episodes. Good writing, good acting, great imagination, all the ingredients for potential greatness. Hopefully, the series lives up to this great pilot.
  4. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    A fun horror film with with fun visuals but not lacking for a good story. A pretty good job staying true to the original tale, but it is very dark which adds a really sense of evil in the headless horseman.
  5. Nov 7, 2014
    10
    We all know that Tim Burton is the master of goth and shock especially his films that are classic like Edward Scissor hands , Beetle Juice , Nightmare before christmas and Ed Wood). But Burton was a master of horror with " Sleepy Hollow" and based on the short story by Washington Iriving the visions of Burton and co- producer/headless horse men effect Kevin Yagher resurrected theWe all know that Tim Burton is the master of goth and shock especially his films that are classic like Edward Scissor hands , Beetle Juice , Nightmare before christmas and Ed Wood). But Burton was a master of horror with " Sleepy Hollow" and based on the short story by Washington Iriving the visions of Burton and co- producer/headless horse men effect Kevin Yagher resurrected the Iriving's story and put it perfectly in Burton anf Yagher's vision. Grade A + BEST TIM BURTON FILM EVER ! Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2015
    7
    Almost a dream like implementation, which somehow suits the movie. Thrilling, scary (well, one could work on the visual side, but let's allow it to slide, for now), humorous and intriguing. Johnny Depp is his charming self, carrying the movie on with ease. Things unfold nicely, but not too easily, and not hastily, either.
  7. Apr 17, 2015
    8
    Tim Burton delivers a fantastic tale of the legendary Sleepy Hollow, which, though not without its flaws, manages to be a thoroughly entertaining program.
  8. Jan 3, 2014
    7
    Tim Burton o rei das coisas esquisitas porém esse seu toque pessoal transforma suas películas deixando as únicas esse foi caso desse filme que com certeza o visual sombrio da um ar de beleza.
  9. MarkS.
    Jul 5, 2006
    8
    Really enjoyed this. Worth owning. Visually brilliant, acting is high quality all the way through.
  10. EmmabelE.
    Nov 29, 2006
    9
    One of the most greatest films I have ever watched...Its like the twin movie of dracula... Combination of fun,romance and horror.
  11. HannahH.
    Sep 19, 2006
    9
    I loved this movie! Almost everything was perfect, besides a few things that the editor should have caught, but I suppose every movie has that.
  12. Jun 16, 2013
    7
    Tim Burton has brought this timeless classic to life! "Sleepy Hollow" is a very fine film, with horrific delights, a touch of romance, and witty humor. I was very impressed with the cinematography and the elaborate costumes in this film. Also, the music and sound effects complimented this frightening and legendary story of the murderous Headless Horseman. Overall, I believe this is anTim Burton has brought this timeless classic to life! "Sleepy Hollow" is a very fine film, with horrific delights, a touch of romance, and witty humor. I was very impressed with the cinematography and the elaborate costumes in this film. Also, the music and sound effects complimented this frightening and legendary story of the murderous Headless Horseman. Overall, I believe this is an excellent film and will definitely be remembered as a landmark in the thriller/horror genre of film. Expand
  13. DaleC.
    Apr 3, 2001
    9
    Tim Burton is a friggen genious. He brings such style to this kind of movie. What would we do without visionaries like this guy?
  14. KateK.
    Mar 6, 2004
    10
    This was a great movie! I hated the stupid blood scenes but it was a great mystery and suspense. Johny Depp was great.
  15. KatrinaK.
    Oct 10, 2002
    10
    Sleepy Hollow is the best movie ever made.
  16. AnnR.
    Feb 12, 2002
    9
    It is good movie.
  17. RickJ.G.
    May 18, 2003
    10
    I saw this on the day of its opening in theaters. I wish I had caught it a second time. Will have to wait until I get a DVD player.
  18. RandyB
    Jul 10, 2005
    9
    A sumptuous, imaginative, and creepy telling of Irving's short story. Not only are Depp and Ricci perfect, but the rest of the cast are magnificent as well, especially Miranda Richardson as the one behind the Horseman's rampage. It may be gory and dark, but the film was the most beautiful to watch of its year, and at the two times when the atmosphere isn't full of shadows A sumptuous, imaginative, and creepy telling of Irving's short story. Not only are Depp and Ricci perfect, but the rest of the cast are magnificent as well, especially Miranda Richardson as the one behind the Horseman's rampage. It may be gory and dark, but the film was the most beautiful to watch of its year, and at the two times when the atmosphere isn't full of shadows are just as beautifully shot as the lightning and menacing trees of the rest of it. Collapse
  19. KennyZ.
    Oct 19, 2001
    10
    I thought this movie was brilliant. It had a wonderful plot, amazing dialouge that showed you when it was taking place. Excelent cinematography, and a wonderful cast. I LOVED this movie!!!
  20. ZachP.
    Aug 28, 2002
    9
    The best horror film in a while. Johnny Depp is perfectly cast as the somewhat eccentric Crane, and Christina Ricci finally throws off the teen thing and proves she can do adult roles much better. This movie is capital-V Violent, and capital-C Creepy. Perfect with the lights out and plenty of popcorn.
  21. sarahb.
    Jul 23, 2005
    10
    This is the best movie ever!! i love it soo much!!!
  22. Jul 31, 2016
    7
    Sleepy Hollow is a fun horror / comedy from Tim Burton. It's gory and fun and has an entertaining performance from Johnny Depp. It's also just the right level of scariness and violence to make it a suitable Halloween movie for 10 year old kids, too.
  23. Oct 26, 2015
    7
    "Sleepy Hollow's" pacing may be a bit too off-kilter at times, but its hard to deny the visual majesty at hand, thanks in no small part to the creative talents of Tim Burton and Emmanuel Lubezki.
  24. Jan 16, 2015
    8
    Johnny Depp E Christopher Walken arrasam com seus personagens.Um dos melhores filmes de Tim Burton,um puta filme de terror Tim Burton sabe fazer terror também. Contém cenas brilhantes como Ichabod lutando de espada com o cavaleiro,e a fuga final.
  25. Sep 19, 2015
    8
    Tim Burton put his own spin on the classic short story "The Legend of Sleepy Hollow" with the surprisingly good 1999 adaptation Sleepy Hollow. In the movie adaptation, New York detective Ichabod Crane must travel to the mysterious Sleepy Hollow in order to solve a series of murders that took place there, but realizes the town's dark history and the legend of a headless horseman might beTim Burton put his own spin on the classic short story "The Legend of Sleepy Hollow" with the surprisingly good 1999 adaptation Sleepy Hollow. In the movie adaptation, New York detective Ichabod Crane must travel to the mysterious Sleepy Hollow in order to solve a series of murders that took place there, but realizes the town's dark history and the legend of a headless horseman might be the true culprit. Sleepy Hollow is essentially a highly stylized slasher flicks. There are lots of gory decapitations set against a fittingly gothic tone, and although it's never truly heart-poundingly intense, there is a great atmosphere and some creepy imagery. Burton does make this movie a bit darker than his previous films (at the time), but there's still a bit of humor in its heart, mostly because of Johnny Depp's role as the Ichabod. Even though it deviates significantly from its source material, Sleepy Hollow is a fun, atmospheric movie. Expand
  26. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    One of the best and most incredible Tim movies. The story despite being scary and quite light and funny . Recordings in cold forests , very crazy! The film and long , unfortunately does not have three hours , I would love a extenssão this pearl , Depp further complements the film with his talent. I love that movie at all.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. 60
    In Burton's hands, Washington Irving's spooky classic is reincarnated as an overripe, grisly Goth cartoon.
  2. 63
    Burton's films are endearing and impassioned despite the fact that they generally fail to tell a whole story, create a single rounded character, or inspire even mild laughs or chills.
  3. 50
    Flawed at its core but stunning nonetheless.