Miramax Films | Release Date: November 27, 1996
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 69 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
63
Mixed:
4
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
SpangleJun 20, 2015
I reckon this is a fantastic film. Billy Bob Thornton is impeccable in the lead role here and it is truly a performance that makes me sit there and wonder if I had him all wrong all this time. Maybe he is a great actor. He is also quite theI reckon this is a fantastic film. Billy Bob Thornton is impeccable in the lead role here and it is truly a performance that makes me sit there and wonder if I had him all wrong all this time. Maybe he is a great actor. He is also quite the talent as a director and writer as this one is beautifully scripted and paced to perfection. His performance as the mentally slow Karl stands tall though as the best thing about this film, though the performances of everyone else here are also top-of-the-line. The characters are perfectly put together and their relationships feels entirely authentic. The film also feels incredibly Southern, which gives it a great authenticity on that front. A touching, well made, and at times thrilling film, Sling Blade is predictable at times and if you do not figure out how this one will end, you need to rewind and watch it again because you are not paying close enough attention. Yet, in spite of that, it is still a great film featuring an absolutely impeccable performance from Thornton as he proves his ability as an actor, director, and writer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Featuring (quite possibly) Billy Bob Thornton's best performance in a film, "Sling Blade" is a simple, yet emotive drama with as much humor as it has heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticJan 1, 2015
It will probably go down in film history as Thorton's magnum opus. He is immediately convincing and captivating as Karl, one of the most complex characters I've ever seen in a film, which is ironic to the utmost extent. The script is simpleIt will probably go down in film history as Thorton's magnum opus. He is immediately convincing and captivating as Karl, one of the most complex characters I've ever seen in a film, which is ironic to the utmost extent. The script is simple but powerful, nevertheless. And the supporting cast, Lucas Black, John Ritter, and a masterful Dwight Yoakam, is absolutely phenomenal. There are a lack of suitable hyperboles to describe simply the talent in Sling Blade, in acting, writing, and directing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Lambo442Apr 8, 2014
This film manages to be beautiful and dark all at the same time. Although it's very intense in places and really puts you on edge with heightened emotion and great acting, it leaves you feeling warm and with a refreshed love of humanity.This film manages to be beautiful and dark all at the same time. Although it's very intense in places and really puts you on edge with heightened emotion and great acting, it leaves you feeling warm and with a refreshed love of humanity. Thornton's performance is so hauntingly amazing that you hardly even recognise him as Carl. His entire body and persona becomes transformed, more so than any other actor playing any part I've seen. The young Lucas Black gives a phenomenal performance as Frank as well. He's just so natural. I really can't praise this film enough. Thornton is a genius in my eyes and it's perfectly clear how he managed to bag himself Angelina Jolie at one point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YoursTrulyJan 11, 2013
I had a few little problems with Sling Blade, and I thought there were one or two highly unnecessary scenes and characters. But that is not even close to enough to make me give this a bad review. Billy Bob is movie magic here. His captivatingI had a few little problems with Sling Blade, and I thought there were one or two highly unnecessary scenes and characters. But that is not even close to enough to make me give this a bad review. Billy Bob is movie magic here. His captivating performance of one of the most well-developed characters in movie history is something that I couldn't take my eyes off of. As a kind-spirited, mentally handicapped wanderer with seemingly no emotional response to murdering...Karl is a special feat of film making. I feel like if I said more I would spoil it. So I won't Great movie... although I do feel that it could have been a little more badass. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ugisupriatnaMay 4, 2014
Billy Bob Thornton succesfully makes himself a centre of this film : a director, a screenwriter and a leading role, but you will clearly remember one of those, an extraordinary performance. A tagline : "Sometimes a hero comes from the mostBilly Bob Thornton succesfully makes himself a centre of this film : a director, a screenwriter and a leading role, but you will clearly remember one of those, an extraordinary performance. A tagline : "Sometimes a hero comes from the most unlikely place." may has a different point of view, beautiful and dark come up, but it's nothing to do to this film. This film makes Southern storytelling / drama genre more powerful and stronger. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ECantonaDec 23, 2013
This movie made me think about different starting points we have. How we break some chains and how do we act in different circumstances. Movie had it's darker elements and it's up-lifters which were directed plausible. Billy Bob Thornton didThis movie made me think about different starting points we have. How we break some chains and how do we act in different circumstances. Movie had it's darker elements and it's up-lifters which were directed plausible. Billy Bob Thornton did a fantastic job. A very good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DenetJun 4, 2017
This is a good film. At first look on a poster I thought that it was about Vietnam :D Without laugh, I recommended this film for my friends, because it is great work of Billy Bob, now for me he is not only bad Santa
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rmedwayAug 24, 2013
A masterful script. Outstanding acting Thorton is spellbinding in the lead role. His opening scene is without doubt the best I've seen.This is storytelling at its finest and directed with confidence, conviction and ease. Light and shade,A masterful script. Outstanding acting Thorton is spellbinding in the lead role. His opening scene is without doubt the best I've seen.This is storytelling at its finest and directed with confidence, conviction and ease. Light and shade, humour and a fierce undercurrent of tension. To every film fan watch it now! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
WiggyManDec 22, 2005
Amazing performances, great story. Billy Bob is a freak of the highest proportions :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RitaP.Jan 30, 2006
Great film. Moving, intelligent and engaging.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YvonneH.Aug 20, 2006
This is a story that while calmly told has you on the edge of your seat because you know it's going to have blast of an ending. Well written, great acting. It is so true to life it seems to be based on a true story. Billy Bob and the This is a story that while calmly told has you on the edge of your seat because you know it's going to have blast of an ending. Well written, great acting. It is so true to life it seems to be based on a true story. Billy Bob and the little boy's acting were amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottWAug 3, 2007
This is one of the best movies I have ever seen in my life, and I am 51! It stirred every single emotion I have. Everything about it was superb! It baffles me that this movie has not made any TOP lists that I have seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MsGDec 24, 2006
As a mental health professional, Billy Bob's portrayal was excellent and moving. This story is all too common and realistic about people in psychiatric hospitals, from Karl's character to the sadistic rapist in the hospital to As a mental health professional, Billy Bob's portrayal was excellent and moving. This story is all too common and realistic about people in psychiatric hospitals, from Karl's character to the sadistic rapist in the hospital to Doyle's drunken abusiveness. Excellent portrayal of too common a life for many. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StivenB.Feb 12, 2007
Awesome and powwerful movie. Billy Bob's portrayal and character is moving and extremely believable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenF.Feb 10, 2008
Absolutely amazing movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ljSep 23, 2006
i just seen the movie. Awesome, never thought i would get inot a movie like this. Awesome, i just hate i am just now seeing it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveWAug 16, 2009
This is an unforgettable movie. The story very engaging and powerful. Thortons performance is just amazing, and the movie is just put together really well. I was still thinking about this movie days after watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Bianca-GraceJan 24, 2015
The acting of Billy Bob Thornton was of such a high standard that my only impression was (in the dark room with the journalist) was that Billy Bob was born to act, no other gift was better expressed. The movie had me in tears, it was aThe acting of Billy Bob Thornton was of such a high standard that my only impression was (in the dark room with the journalist) was that Billy Bob was born to act, no other gift was better expressed. The movie had me in tears, it was a subtle performance, it is a sophisticated performance it is a human tale of suffering and just being despite how the world tries to label Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews