Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: November 12, 2008
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 699 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
551
Mixed:
83
Negative:
65
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JanetDec 22, 2008
I just read David W's review. He must be a young man and doesn't get it. India really treats its citizen's this awful. The country is overcrowded, corrupt and only the strong survive. If you are from the slums as the lead I just read David W's review. He must be a young man and doesn't get it. India really treats its citizen's this awful. The country is overcrowded, corrupt and only the strong survive. If you are from the slums as the lead characters were you have only a 20% chance of surviving. If the people don't kill you the disease and poverty surely will. Yes, the premise of the movie "Who wants to Be a Millionaire" isn't a true story but the lifestyle hits the nail on the head. I guess David still lives in a comic book fantasy world. Without question one of the best movies in many a year and should sweep the OSCARS for Best Picture, Best Directing and Best Screenplay. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RoscoMay 9, 2011
A liberating and uplifting movie and the feel-good film of the decade, Danny Boyle delivers the Oscar Winning Slumdog Millionaire. And it's easy to tell why the film has won numerous awards. The film focuses upon Jamil Malik (Dev Patel) an 18A liberating and uplifting movie and the feel-good film of the decade, Danny Boyle delivers the Oscar Winning Slumdog Millionaire. And it's easy to tell why the film has won numerous awards. The film focuses upon Jamil Malik (Dev Patel) an 18 year old orphan from the slums of Mumbai and a constant on the Indian version of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire, who is one question away from winning 20 million rupees. However he arrested in suspision of cheating. During his interrogation Jamil reveals his incredible and heartwrenching story of his life as a young boy growing up on the streets of Mumbai with his brother Salim, and how he loved and lost the girl of his dreams Latika (Freida Pinto), each question links to a memoir of Jamil's exhilarating life. Superbly well directed in the ever capable and inspring hands of Danny Boyle who delivers a beautiful film from start to finish and one that will live long in the memory, utterly unmissable! Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
heyitsmegrif4Jan 12, 2012
Slumdog millionaire does suffer from some silly dialogue, but the film is beautifully filmed, mighty, wondrous, romantic and just fantastically acted. It deserves its Oscar. I give this film 87%.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
TimS.Dec 6, 2008
The best movie I have seen in quite some time. It has everything and sucks you in and keeps you riveted for the full 2 hours - And Bollywood at it's finest in the closing credits to boot! Hello Best Picture!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HollyCJan 4, 2009
Very good film---loved the beginning more than the end as I thought the young actors/early slumdog scenes were almost perfect--absolutely captivating. The story seemed to unfold predictably and edged on cheesy towards the end, but it still Very good film---loved the beginning more than the end as I thought the young actors/early slumdog scenes were almost perfect--absolutely captivating. The story seemed to unfold predictably and edged on cheesy towards the end, but it still moved me so I guess that says something. Yes, it's very contrived in many parts, but really, it's a solid film worthy of theater prices and/or rental. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanaM.Jan 5, 2009
Superb. Some squemish scenes and uncomfortable moments, but one of the best movies I've had the pleasure of experiencing. The acting by the children was remarkable. Go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MicheleC.Feb 7, 2009
The film editing was amazing. I started to leave the theater twice because the sound was way too loud (I have a hyper-sensitive sense of hearing), but the exciting pace of the movie pulled me back to my seat. I inserted some ear plugs I had The film editing was amazing. I started to leave the theater twice because the sound was way too loud (I have a hyper-sensitive sense of hearing), but the exciting pace of the movie pulled me back to my seat. I inserted some ear plugs I had in my purse, relaxed, and enjoyed the rest of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronRMay 31, 2009
I rarely watch independent films. When Persepolis was released, I had no desire to go and see it. After hearing about all the Oscars that Slumdog won, I figured I'd order it on demand. I have never been so happy to spend $5 and 2 hours I rarely watch independent films. When Persepolis was released, I had no desire to go and see it. After hearing about all the Oscars that Slumdog won, I figured I'd order it on demand. I have never been so happy to spend $5 and 2 hours for a movie. Not only did it hide its low-budget production extremely well, but it said to the major Hollywood producers, "Get off you're lazy asses and make a good movie! We made one without all the high-tech equipment, why can't you do the same?!" I would have given this movie a 10 but I felt that the love story was unoriginal, which is not a bad thing; I just would have liked it even more had it been 100% original. Due yourself a favor and watch this movie. It definitely lives up to the hype. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisSMay 4, 2009
If you are one of those people that has problems with plausibilility, you might have problems with this movie as I did. Was it gritty realism or an idealistic romance?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
erinJun 17, 2009
This was one of my favorite movies of all time. It showed you just how violent and poverty-stricken the slums of India are, it showed you the fierce hatred between Hindus and Muslims, it even showed you the lives of children living in India. This was one of my favorite movies of all time. It showed you just how violent and poverty-stricken the slums of India are, it showed you the fierce hatred between Hindus and Muslims, it even showed you the lives of children living in India. Apart from nerve-tingling violence (a boy getting his eyes cut out, a girl getting a knife slashed across her face, a young boy killing a man with a revolver, a young boy getting beaten harshly by a guard, people setting a man on fire, a boy getting electrocuted) there was a very strong and great message to this movie. There was also slight sexual refrences, but they were very mild (a boy leading a girl into a room, girls dancing scandaly, boys walking through an alley of prostitutes, but not giving them money, although they walk in on a couple but it does not show anything). I thought the acting in it was spectacular. The children playing young Jamal, Salim, and Latika were outstanding, convincing you they truly lived in the slums of India, as well as the older versions convincing you their lives had slowly panned out and changed them into very different people by a sequence of events. There was slight cussing as well (the b-word, d-word, and s-word said only a couple times). But the themes of the movie, you could not help but feel heartbroken at how the children were living in such a poor, violent situation. Being beaten for hardly no reason, having to search through trash heaps, live in such a polluted area...it was incredibly heart-wrenching. There are a few disturbing events, such as a boy jumping into a waste mound, a boy getting his eyes scooped out with acid, a girl dressed up as a hindu god with several disgusting piercings, a boy getting hot chili peppers stuck down his pants, and many others. But apart from the violence and slight sexual references this movie taught me how truly lucky I am to live in such a free country, where people can't take me away to try to force me into gangs to shoot people, or to work as a prostitute. It also showed that just from your experiences, even if you are a "slumdog" from India, if you have traveled places or learned things from your experiences, you can know just as much as a rich gameshow host. :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TheoPDec 1, 2008
Great movie! The beginning is definitely better than the end, mostly because of the younger actors doing an incredible job. The ending is a bit cheesy, but overall very enjoyable movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
fantasyDec 17, 2008
As riveting a movie as you will ever find. Keeps your attention for the full 2 hours. Reminds me of Pvt Ryan in that once you see it you will never forget it. Kudos for such a wonderful suspenseful movie. Masterpiece worthy of all the accolades.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanF.Jan 1, 2009
Superb! Real. Authentic. Hopeful. Masterful filmmaking. It is a unique twist on an old story, done so well and so differently. Best movie I have seen in many years!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewSJan 20, 2009
Great movie for everyone over 15, especially for Americans who need to be reminded about how good we have it. This movie is about a street kid named Jamal (Dev Patel) who wins on the
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattAJan 2, 2009
A beautiful story that has heart, and magic. It has just enough realism to keep the suspension of disbelief, but it never loses its fairytale love story, and reaches toward the idea of fate and destiny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanetL.Jan 31, 2009
I long to pay homage to Danny Boyle, S. Beaufoy, the great cast, and AR Rahman. This film gives viewers everything they go to the movies for in an explosive yet measured stream of laughs, horrors, griefs, suspense, and wonder.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregMJan 8, 2009
All movies stand on scaffolding that is artifice. The best movies (and this is one) make us either forget about the scaffolding, or not care one iota that it exists. This is the case of the latter. We know full well the improbability, even All movies stand on scaffolding that is artifice. The best movies (and this is one) make us either forget about the scaffolding, or not care one iota that it exists. This is the case of the latter. We know full well the improbability, even the impossibility, of the events here, but are so swept away by this film, its actors, its premise, that scaffolding be damned. I do like it better than anything else I've seen this year. Terrific movie. And Boyle is one hell of a director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BryanS.Jan 8, 2009
fantastic movie. great cinematography, entrancing (if a bit corny) storyline, great acting. I loved it. I'd probably give it an 8.7 or an 8.8 but 9 is closest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.D.H.L.Feb 12, 2009
The best movie made about the society of the India I've ever seen. There is no doubt about it...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CanonFeb 20, 2009
amazing movie i founded spectacular indeed in terms of the storyline and where it takes place, the slums of india. The love story just captured me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DougN.Feb 8, 2009
Really enjoyed it. Found the music to be a little hard to appreciate at times. Never the less I'll not forget this one soon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanL.Mar 12, 2009
Slumdog Millioniare is clean production, reminiscent of a music video. This turns out to be its greatest flaw. Full of shine and glitz, in the end Slumdog Millionare feels, for some reason, as if it has no soul. Fun fluff. That's all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhilDMar 30, 2009
What people need to understand... what if you only knew 10 things... ever? Only 10 things -- because you grew up in the slums. And by some kind of luck, those 10 things happen to be the exact 10 things needed to change your life! And what if What people need to understand... what if you only knew 10 things... ever? Only 10 things -- because you grew up in the slums. And by some kind of luck, those 10 things happen to be the exact 10 things needed to change your life! And what if each of those 10 things had a harrowing story to go a long with each answer ? That's what this movie is all about. It's about destiny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SHOURITEMar 5, 2009
The most accurate review here is by "C D" & not because he/she is from Mumbai but because of the plot and acting holes in the film that he/she identifies. Slumdog is entertaining and stylistically shot but does not come close to crossing the The most accurate review here is by "C D" & not because he/she is from Mumbai but because of the plot and acting holes in the film that he/she identifies. Slumdog is entertaining and stylistically shot but does not come close to crossing the threshold of a truly great film that deserves a 9 or 10 rating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichelleSApr 1, 2009
Oscars aside, I heard so many good things about this movie from friends, I just had to see it. Honestly I was uninterested, had no desire to see this movie and figured I would hate it. But I really started to get into it and in the end Oscars aside, I heard so many good things about this movie from friends, I just had to see it. Honestly I was uninterested, had no desire to see this movie and figured I would hate it. But I really started to get into it and in the end thought it was a great movie. The flashbacks made it a little confusing at times, but it was necessary for the storyline. I found this to be an intriguing love story, along with a success story proving that no matter where we come from or how bad our life has been, there is always hope for a great outcome. And that even if you come from the "slums" you do not have to fit a certain stereotype as Jamal's brother did. I think it's worth watching, even if you're skeptical. The only reason I gave it an 8 is because it was a bit slow to get into the meat of the story and in the beginning it was a bit choppy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EthanAApr 11, 2009
A beautiful and breathtaking look at a once-in-a-lifetime chance story of a teenager "slumdog" who just happens to be nearing the final question of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire. How did he do it? The acting was AMAZING. Dev and Freida A beautiful and breathtaking look at a once-in-a-lifetime chance story of a teenager "slumdog" who just happens to be nearing the final question of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire. How did he do it? The acting was AMAZING. Dev and Freida deserved the recognition they got, but what really stood out, were the amazing child actors! Especially the young trio (Jamal, Salim, and Latika) See it twice or however many times it takes to recognize this as the best film of 08! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveKApr 4, 2009
Probably one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. Words cannot express the amount of emotion packed into this amazing film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RBApr 6, 2009
Excellent movie. The story is what makes it so great. Just the ending I found a bit corny, but other than that this movie is one of the best I have ever seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LiefSMay 20, 2009
Ok after hearing enough about; I finally checked it out and discovered that it is definitely over hyped but not as bad as some critics are claiming. It was different; which is more than I can say about most of the movies that have been Ok after hearing enough about; I finally checked it out and discovered that it is definitely over hyped but not as bad as some critics are claiming. It was different; which is more than I can say about most of the movies that have been coming out. That is why the wrestler and itself got so many nominations or won something. As for the movie there were definitely some corny/ dry scenes but not enough to have pushed this movie score below a 5; so if you fell asleep watching, its not the movie; its your narcolepsy. Anybody giving it a 10 needs to realize that there r a few numbers between 0-10; because you enjoyed it doesn't make it a perfect movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
caporegimeJun 10, 2009
Danny Boyle turned a simple plot into a superb movie. Not every director has that kind of talent. Not every plot turns into a well done movie. One of the best movies this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
alanoJun 17, 2010
This film was originally meant to be released straight to DVD, but it shouldn't have as it was a good film itself and Oscar-worthy, it was just a little too depressing and not Best Picture-worthy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mattallenNov 21, 2008
Luis, just out of curiosity, what are your favorite pics of the year? Instead of being a pretentious blowhard fuck and basically maligning every film that is getting any award buzz, enlighten us with your superior taste in movies. This is aLuis, just out of curiosity, what are your favorite pics of the year? Instead of being a pretentious blowhard fuck and basically maligning every film that is getting any award buzz, enlighten us with your superior taste in movies. This is a great film. Definitely not perfect, but what is? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaneDec 18, 2008
A perfect score as you will not believe your very own eyes. It grabs you a few minutes in and never lets go. The one guarantee is that after seeing this film no one will include India on your places to visit. If you are claustrophobic A perfect score as you will not believe your very own eyes. It grabs you a few minutes in and never lets go. The one guarantee is that after seeing this film no one will include India on your places to visit. If you are claustrophobic don't see this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkS.Dec 1, 2008
This is an incredibly entertaining film. I see a review in here putting it down because it is "Forrest Gump". That would be the "Forrest Gump" that won 6 Oscars including Best Picture. Is there an opposite to "damning with faint praise" - This is an incredibly entertaining film. I see a review in here putting it down because it is "Forrest Gump". That would be the "Forrest Gump" that won 6 Oscars including Best Picture. Is there an opposite to "damning with faint praise" - perhaps "exalting with faint criticism". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarwinDec 21, 2008
Creative film grabs you and doesn't let go. The acting and the the story is fantastic. Be forewarned that after you see this you will never visit India. Definitely will be up for an OSCAR as Best Picture of Year and deservingly so.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Dec 20, 2008
Beautiful, hearwrenching, stunning - how anyone can give this lower than an "11" is beyond me
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SiamakF.Dec 25, 2008
This was the most entertaining and breathtaking movie of all year. It also has one of those stories that you will always remember. I hope it wins many awards come this awards season.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveC.Dec 30, 2008
Since David W pulled this below a 9 with his jaded view of what movies ought to be, I'll attempt to push it above 9 again with my 10 rating. This is one of the 2-3 best movies I've ever seen - right up there with Groundhog Day, Since David W pulled this below a 9 with his jaded view of what movies ought to be, I'll attempt to push it above 9 again with my 10 rating. This is one of the 2-3 best movies I've ever seen - right up there with Groundhog Day, It's a Wonderful Life and A Christmas Story. Well paced - betrayal and redemption, love and heartbreak, all set in a culture and setting unfamiliar and eye-opening for most of us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobB.Dec 5, 2008
Masterpiece. The flavor of my favorite novel "Shantaram", great score, plot, love story & such memorable images!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
aaronJan 12, 2009
I went to the movies by myself because my gay brother J was afraid to go. And am I ever glad I did. The movie was great. After seeing the beautiful vision that is India I can't wait to send J on vacation there. I told him about the lush I went to the movies by myself because my gay brother J was afraid to go. And am I ever glad I did. The movie was great. After seeing the beautiful vision that is India I can't wait to send J on vacation there. I told him about the lush countryside with green hills and valleys to roam and how warm and wonderful all the people of India are. If you are looking for a family vacation then India is the place for you. Don't miss this feel good warm and fuzzy movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
johnfJan 13, 2009
Awesome. Possibly Boyle's best and thats saying something.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanPJan 23, 2009
This is the most upifting and brilliant story told through cinema in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ListonW.Jan 5, 2009
You'd be hard pressed to find another movie with so much emotion, exploration of the human condition, and commentary on poverty and social conditions. Throw in some underworld gangster action and a game show and this movie somehow ties You'd be hard pressed to find another movie with so much emotion, exploration of the human condition, and commentary on poverty and social conditions. Throw in some underworld gangster action and a game show and this movie somehow ties the elements together perfectly. Don't miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnnD.Jan 5, 2009
An emotional roller coaster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VictorM.Jan 9, 2009
A celebration of filmmaking and storytelling. A joy to watch. Everyone who liked this film should still read the book 'Q & A'. It will still surprise you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulF.Feb 1, 2009
Slumdog Millionaire is well worth seeing. It is original, thought provoking, as well as entertaining. The story walked more on the darker aspects of life than I usually like in a movie. But in this case some worth saying needed to be heard. Slumdog Millionaire is well worth seeing. It is original, thought provoking, as well as entertaining. The story walked more on the darker aspects of life than I usually like in a movie. But in this case some worth saying needed to be heard. It was really difficult seeing all those scenes of absolute poverty, violence, and criminal abuse those children had to suffer. In many ways they mirror what has happen and in some cases still does happen to impressionable children around the world. The film helps give understand to how our environment can profoundly shape us. Jamal however throughout everything this never loses his heart, ideals and compassion. He grows to be a man committed to truth as well as living out his highest desire, which in this instance simply being with the person he loves the most. With a single focus he never seems to forget even over length time separations and a vast array of circumstances. I thought the film was spot on, harrowing almost at every corner. The end was ok but seemed to lose its punch a bit, though it had its charm as well. Make sure you stay for the credits which I found quite a surprise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BarneyW.Feb 12, 2009
Fantastic film which I will remember for a long time. I found that the young actors were especially believable and while it is a essentially a fairy tale that would never happen in the real world, it is one of the best damn fairy tales I Fantastic film which I will remember for a long time. I found that the young actors were especially believable and while it is a essentially a fairy tale that would never happen in the real world, it is one of the best damn fairy tales I have ever seen. Don't forget that, if this film was 100% realistic, it would just be depressing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveM.Feb 16, 2009
Excellent film depiction of life in contemporary India.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CassieM.Feb 23, 2009
One of the best movies I have seen in a long time (and for all you idiots who say that the movie is not realistic when it comes to India and their econamic situation and people, you need to do your research) It may have been unrealistic at One of the best movies I have seen in a long time (and for all you idiots who say that the movie is not realistic when it comes to India and their econamic situation and people, you need to do your research) It may have been unrealistic at times, but that is no reason to hate an amazing movie. It was a really touching story and I left the theater amazed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KieranSFeb 24, 2009
Rightly said N.C. It is utter hype, and pure escapism. Forrest Gump 2 is a good nickname for this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabrielC.Feb 28, 2009
One of the bests movies i've ever seen. The actors performance are brilliant mainly the youngest actors. I love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AliCFeb 28, 2009
Excuse me, how can you let JM call this film 'the gayest crap ever'? Would you publish comments saying something is niggerish? No. So why is homophobia allowed?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
moviesetFeb 4, 2009
Great movie I can't get enough of it!! love how boyle left in the part where the 2 dudes say "no filming here" lol classic. Good soundtrack too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VincentH.Feb 6, 2009
An absolutely amazing cinematic experience. Danny Boyle has been on a real run lately. His last 2 films, "Millions" and "Sunshine" are underrated gems that have dedicated followings but little critical recognition. "Slumdog Millionaire" in An absolutely amazing cinematic experience. Danny Boyle has been on a real run lately. His last 2 films, "Millions" and "Sunshine" are underrated gems that have dedicated followings but little critical recognition. "Slumdog Millionaire" in my opinion is probably one of the two or three best things that Boyle has ever done. The real hero of the film though is Anthony Dod Mantle. Those "in the know" know that Mantle is one of the best living cinematographers alive and the photography in this movie is a big part of what makes it great. The camerawork makes this film really come alive and Mantle should've been recognized more. By the Academy and the Golden Globes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NC.Feb 7, 2009
Americans, Indians and their high fibre diet.... I stake my house that this movie and Benjamin Button (aka Forrest Gump Two) sweep the oscars.... Why!!?? Instead of trying to shape the thought of your nations via ignorance and the glossing Americans, Indians and their high fibre diet.... I stake my house that this movie and Benjamin Button (aka Forrest Gump Two) sweep the oscars.... Why!!?? Instead of trying to shape the thought of your nations via ignorance and the glossing over of serious issues and complex situations with superficial and insulting generalisations and inaccuarcies to suit said 'high-fibre diet' i.e., show them what makes them feel good and works, not what is true and makes one truly think and self-examine - good AND THE UGLY (and in all it's glory, not manipulated and summarised for easier consumption, you pussies).... remember when america gave all those awards to Forrest Gump? It is a silly robert zemekis fantasy movie of such incredible historical inaccuracies and crass ignorance that it is regarded by some nowadays as the worst film of all time - certainly one of the most intellectually-insulting cinematic experiences of all time.... but, oh, America the brave and the free and all things that are good.... and good 'ol india, represented by a handsome young man with good luck on his side, rising above his situation to manage to win a million dollars in an hour and have the woman of his dreams while the cities and country rot in a cess pool of rubbish, filth, human excrement and real, honest BROKEN dreams in their tens upon tens of millions..... wake up!! Danny Boyle even udnerpaid the indian mumbai orphans used int he film etc... touche. The Oscars handed about two oscars to 'No Country FOM' last year and even one critic above in reviewing 'Slumdog M' (a stupid, stupid reworking of the title "Q and A", but a reworking that reveals the uncomfortable contradictions inherent in the minds of the filmmakers and indeed their hearts too.... as they must manipulate, which disrespects the audience) refers to how 'after last years black-hearted NCFOM' etc etc----..WTF!!??? NCFOM is one of the greatest films ever made - indisputebly. Great art doesn't always put a smile on your face but that doesn't make it worse..... If I recall rightly, Romeo and Juliet is the greatest romance of all time and the most enduring... Tell me, how did that one turn out? Happiness is what you actually DO with your life..... art is about growing and being taken to places unexpected, being tested emotionally, intlelectually and intestinally and not giving in brainlessly to the slap and tickle you fantasized about in la-la land and then giving the piece of trash 11 oscars. Put it this way, as a NZer, Return of the King deserved about 4...... but you crazy americans get all caught up and sucked into the hype and you LOVE your high-fibre diet..... I knew when return of the king dragged on an hour too long with sentimental BS that it would sweep the oscars... SAD. Reward the best film, not the film that makes you happy - you bloody knobs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
roberti.Feb 7, 2009
Something fresh, something new, somewhere new.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidHFeb 9, 2009
Awesome movie, I've seen it 4 times and it's just as good each time. A little bit of everything in this film, by far the best movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MKMar 1, 2009
Saw it first day it came out, having now idea what I was getting myself into... and look at it now!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kenanhMar 31, 2009
I went to go see this the day it came out and i had no idea what to expect. I went crazy and I loved this movie so much. I got goosebumps through out the movie. I usually hate feel good movies, but the thing with this movie is that it I went to go see this the day it came out and i had no idea what to expect. I went crazy and I loved this movie so much. I got goosebumps through out the movie. I usually hate feel good movies, but the thing with this movie is that it actually did make me feel really good. Best movie this year by far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCApr 11, 2009
How can anyone hate this movie?-oh wait a minute, I know why, they're busy watching Meet the Spartans and Disaster Movie. This is a unique film. I've never seen anything like it, and every moment I spent watching left me speechless.How can anyone hate this movie?-oh wait a minute, I know why, they're busy watching Meet the Spartans and Disaster Movie. This is a unique film. I've never seen anything like it, and every moment I spent watching left me speechless. Beautiful movie. Best of the Year? Nah, I still say The Dark Knight is the best, but it is tide second best with The Curious Case of Benjamin Button. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnHApr 10, 2009
No wonder why it won Best Picture. The top five best movies last year in my opinion were Slumdog Millionaire, The Dark Knight, Gran Torino, The Changeling, and Iron Man. This is a great movie that everyone should see. Great acting, musical No wonder why it won Best Picture. The top five best movies last year in my opinion were Slumdog Millionaire, The Dark Knight, Gran Torino, The Changeling, and Iron Man. This is a great movie that everyone should see. Great acting, musical score, special effects, and everything. A very well done film!!!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanCApr 18, 2009
Fantastic movie .. I do not see how anyone can rate this lower then a 9, some people are crazy and must be really picky. This is one of the best movies I have seen, ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
maurciolApr 19, 2009
Damm this movie really took Hollywood by surprise, it deserved all the awards and was really impacting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kishandApr 24, 2009
Exciting, heartbeating drama that keeps you on the edge of your seat BRILLIANT!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StevenLJun 22, 2009
@ Aaron: since when does a Danny Boyle flick that cost 5 million dollars provided by Warner to produce constitute a "low-budget independent flick"? I'll agree that Slumdog was thoroughly engaging and overall satisfying, and would @ Aaron: since when does a Danny Boyle flick that cost 5 million dollars provided by Warner to produce constitute a "low-budget independent flick"? I'll agree that Slumdog was thoroughly engaging and overall satisfying, and would recommend it to others. Best picture of 2008? Maybe, maybe not, but it certainly hits a chord. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
nickvgsdsAug 15, 2009
i liked it but can't stand those stupid idian kdis, they are annoying and are all little shits. I hate indian people especially when they speak english that accent they have is the worst. I wish i could meet those little kids so i caouldi liked it but can't stand those stupid idian kdis, they are annoying and are all little shits. I hate indian people especially when they speak english that accent they have is the worst. I wish i could meet those little kids so i caould punch them in the face, Indian people shoud not be allowed to live, who's with me lets wipe them off the face of the earth. At school there are 234234234234 of them, and they ask the dumbest questions, DIE INDIANS PLEASE DO US A FAVOR. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SophiaBJan 24, 2010
Soooo good! I am 12 years old and found everything easy to understand. I was close to tears when their mother died and whenthe poor boy's eyes were blinded with acid out, but I ACTUALLY cried when Salim sold Jamal's autograph from Soooo good! I am 12 years old and found everything easy to understand. I was close to tears when their mother died and whenthe poor boy's eyes were blinded with acid out, but I ACTUALLY cried when Salim sold Jamal's autograph from the film star! I have no idea why but i felt so sad in that scene... The other more predictible time when I cried was near the end when Salim died. People generally don't like Salim, but I just thought he was a greed filled young boy who made a few mistakes... (apart from when he sold Jamal's autograph). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomF.Nov 14, 2008
Exhilarating, and astonishing. I loved it from beginning to end. What a way to tell a story!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WillE.Nov 16, 2008
Not best picture worthy. Mainly because of the highly commercial deus ex machina ending. By the halfway mark, the film starts getting progressively worse. It tries to become this romance film but does so with very little momentum. Dev Patel Not best picture worthy. Mainly because of the highly commercial deus ex machina ending. By the halfway mark, the film starts getting progressively worse. It tries to become this romance film but does so with very little momentum. Dev Patel is inconsistent while Frieda Pinta doesn't quite make it. Don't get me wrong, I did love it. The first half of the film is perfect. I was beaming the entire time with enjoyment - it was exciting, it was scary, it was funny. It was pure Dickens. By the time Jamal becomes a teenager, it begins to fall apart. Boyle's direction is tight and the editing/cinematography is immaculate. All in all though, its a good film that needs more of a audience because it is incredibly original. Good message about destiny and the tragedy of the caste system. Just wished I felt more for Latika at the end of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesQ.Nov 16, 2008
Boyle's modern take on a classic fairy tale is an exhilarating and incredibly fulfilling experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianGNov 24, 2008
There are flaws but still I can say along with WALL - E, it's my favorite film of the year. It is a FABLE, so if you expect everything in the movie to follow logic, you will be disappointed. If you like to dream or even daydream, There are flaws but still I can say along with WALL - E, it's my favorite film of the year. It is a FABLE, so if you expect everything in the movie to follow logic, you will be disappointed. If you like to dream or even daydream, it's terrific. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ACACDec 10, 2008
The best film I have seen in a long time. I would give it best picture at the Oscars
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NomagDec 1, 2008
It was one of the best movies I have seen, but there should have been a warning, regarding the violence. There were gasps in the audience. Many people covered there eyes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveGDec 1, 2008
This is a wonderful movie. The narrative is involving and interesting. The interrogation model used to forward the story by dealing with each of the questions he answered correctly was clever. The acting is first rate. I even liked the This is a wonderful movie. The narrative is involving and interesting. The interrogation model used to forward the story by dealing with each of the questions he answered correctly was clever. The acting is first rate. I even liked the Bollywood song and dance at the end, which is ironic because I don't much like most Bollywood style films. Other than the very end, this is not a Bollywood film. It is a passionate love story, a tale of honor, dishonor and redemption. One of the best films I've seen this year, or in recent years. Wonderful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomD.Dec 12, 2008
One of the better movies I've seen in the last few years; it amazes me that people can write movies like this, truly a great story that has it all - action, romance, drama, etc.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephG.Dec 19, 2008
I gave it a 10 only because I can't go any higher. Excellent movie! It's so good I saw it 2x already and don't mind seeing it again (and again!).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrianV.Dec 20, 2008
Just good, nothing spectacular. Some stylish direction and interesting storytelling until it reaches the present day at the end. At that point, things get overly schmaltzy and really generic. I don't see what all the hype is about, Just good, nothing spectacular. Some stylish direction and interesting storytelling until it reaches the present day at the end. At that point, things get overly schmaltzy and really generic. I don't see what all the hype is about, it's just a decent film. If this wins best picture at the Oscars, it's a crime. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraigMDec 21, 2008
In response to the comment by David W-- I agree that this was not necessarily an "uplifting" movie. In fact, to even market it as a "feel good" movie is misleading. With that said, it is a GREAT movie. I give it a "10" for being an intense In response to the comment by David W-- I agree that this was not necessarily an "uplifting" movie. In fact, to even market it as a "feel good" movie is misleading. With that said, it is a GREAT movie. I give it a "10" for being an intense drama and an exciting unique mix of genres. And yes, as you mentioned, horror is one of the elements of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AustinB.Dec 21, 2008
I can imagine audiences in every country dancing in the theatre. no matter who you are you will like this movie in some way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackF.Dec 20, 2008
I've been watching good movies for nearly 62 years. This was one of the best films I've ever seen. I didn't want to like it when it appeared to be a film excoriating the Indian caste system for its ghastly treatment of I've been watching good movies for nearly 62 years. This was one of the best films I've ever seen. I didn't want to like it when it appeared to be a film excoriating the Indian caste system for its ghastly treatment of slumdwellers, but I kept being drawn in. By the time the credits rolled, I was riveted to my seat with everyone else in the theater. A brilliant cinematic achievement. If this is Bollywood, bring on more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CraigR.Dec 23, 2008
One of the best movies I've seen this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveS.Dec 23, 2008
The movie moved along without letup, the acting was fine, the story was quite unusual (especially for Westerners), but somehow it did not really grab me emotionally.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShankarS.Dec 25, 2008
Stockholm, Sweden, Scandinavia This movie was mind blowing, really heart touching. The director Danny Boyle and the music producer A.R. Rahman did a amazing job in this movie. The background score was really good. A.R. Rahman is without any Stockholm, Sweden, Scandinavia This movie was mind blowing, really heart touching. The director Danny Boyle and the music producer A.R. Rahman did a amazing job in this movie. The background score was really good. A.R. Rahman is without any doubt one of the best music directors in this world. This movie will get in to my top 10! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lalalandheyyDec 27, 2008
The San Francisco Chronicle, Christian Science Monitor are just too dumb to understand (not surprised). All the decent reviews gave it good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LarissaM.Dec 27, 2008
This movie was beautiful. Jamal's story shows that sometimes greatness can come from true despair.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesMDec 29, 2008
Amazing soundtrack, breathtaking photography, incredible story, and excellent acting. By far one of the best movies I have seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulI.Dec 31, 2008
The best movie I have ever seen!!! It was perfect! The way the story is told is better than any other movie. 2 hours of enjoyment!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidVJan 14, 2009
I would rank this movie 7.5, but 8 is the more accurate. I feel that it was a good story to tell. It was also a really inventive way of telling it, but I don't see it as being completely innovative and unique. The entire movie felt I would rank this movie 7.5, but 8 is the more accurate. I feel that it was a good story to tell. It was also a really inventive way of telling it, but I don't see it as being completely innovative and unique. The entire movie felt good, but it didn't kick in until the last 30 minutes. It is worth watching, but I don't see why it is on everyone's top 5 list this year (2008), unless it is because a lot of bad movies came out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GreysonTJan 18, 2009
Interesting movie, if only for the fact that my date for the night actually said the love story to it detracted from the movie. Acting was good, the sense of humor was dry and often not easy to spot, and yet it still managed to punch you in Interesting movie, if only for the fact that my date for the night actually said the love story to it detracted from the movie. Acting was good, the sense of humor was dry and often not easy to spot, and yet it still managed to punch you in the gut in the early half of the movie. The last half was it's weakest in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonathanS.Jan 22, 2009
It was undeniably one of the better movies of the year, but it didn't blow me away. I saw it before all the awards hype during it's limited run, so I didn't have many expectations except that I love Danny Boyle. I thought the It was undeniably one of the better movies of the year, but it didn't blow me away. I saw it before all the awards hype during it's limited run, so I didn't have many expectations except that I love Danny Boyle. I thought the set-up was a bit predictable and made the film feel a bit more linear than it should have--but everything else was well done. My father thought the film was incredibly good, and he is never open to a movie that is even remotely indie or foreign (though this was pretty streamlined, but still). So I recognize it's strengths, and definitely think it deserves its accolades more than Benjamin Button (it's just Forrest Gump 2!!! Jeez!), but it just didn't do that much for me. I'm quite sure that most people will really enjoy it though, so don't let me be a detractor. (Just for my money's worth, the best films I've seen this year are The Wrestler and Revolutionary Road, but hey--tastes.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GerardZ.Jan 24, 2009
One of the best movies of the last ten years. Some scenes are very difficult to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mehulshahJan 25, 2009
coming 4m mumbai i see this everyday.. n it still shocked me .. brutally real , heartwrenching . " SCARY"... .. aggrieved national sentiment ( cz d real india is much much more than slums . n despair ).... bt it delivers hope , triumph ofcoming 4m mumbai i see this everyday.. n it still shocked me .. brutally real , heartwrenching . " SCARY"... .. aggrieved national sentiment ( cz d real india is much much more than slums . n despair ).... bt it delivers hope , triumph of love albeit in a typically melodramatic bollywood way .... it still managed to make me stand up and applaud... p.s: rahman with his score is awesome Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinJan 31, 2009
This is film at its best - challenging, funny, romantic and uplifting all at once. And most importantly, it is so enjoyable that the time spent going to see at the cinema is worthwhile.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TaylorCFeb 28, 2009
Slumdog Millionaire is an absolute masterpiece. Everything about the film is amazing. The direction is amazing, the acting is amazing, the writing is amazing, the cinematography is amazing, and the score and music are amazing as well. This Slumdog Millionaire is an absolute masterpiece. Everything about the film is amazing. The direction is amazing, the acting is amazing, the writing is amazing, the cinematography is amazing, and the score and music are amazing as well. This is the kind of movie that everyone can appreciate. It has themes of dramas, comedies, musicals, and especially romance. It might seem like everyone is overrating this movie, but oh no that is wrong. In my opinion, this movie is underrated. Slumdog Millionaire is definite must-see and is one of the greatest movies I have ever seen, if not the greatest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayHMar 23, 2009
Perhaps my expectations were too high going into the film. It is indeed well crafted, with outstanding cinematography, editing and score. It has a great pace and rich character development. It didn't "wow" me though. I did thoroughly Perhaps my expectations were too high going into the film. It is indeed well crafted, with outstanding cinematography, editing and score. It has a great pace and rich character development. It didn't "wow" me though. I did thoroughly enjoy it, but it isn't among my favorite best picture winners. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeMNov 12, 2008
A real crowd pleaser with bigger issues on its mind. It is a gritty fairy tale or, if you prefer, a shaggy dog story that owes a lot to Dickens. Sure, it is filled with stereotypes but the take on them is so fresh you won't mind a bit. A real crowd pleaser with bigger issues on its mind. It is a gritty fairy tale or, if you prefer, a shaggy dog story that owes a lot to Dickens. Sure, it is filled with stereotypes but the take on them is so fresh you won't mind a bit. You won't have a better time at the movies this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RogerC.Nov 18, 2008
This is the thinking-man's feel-good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanB.Nov 23, 2008
Quite possibly the best film of the decade - surely of the year. It's a winner in every sense of the word!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErcL.Nov 25, 2008
The best movie experience all year. Easily rates a 10. Danny Boyle does his best work to date especially interweaving flashback sequences with events going on in the present tense. Definite Oscar consideration for Best Picture. Finally, Luis The best movie experience all year. Easily rates a 10. Danny Boyle does his best work to date especially interweaving flashback sequences with events going on in the present tense. Definite Oscar consideration for Best Picture. Finally, Luis your "0" vote does not count because I can tell you haven't seen the movie at all including all the other small Arthouse movies listed on your hate list. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelANov 25, 2008
A Masterpiece. Highly original. Don't listen to anybody else. Go see it for yourself. The best film of 2008. Really. I mean, what else is there? The Dutchess? Happy Go Lucky?
0 of 0 users found this helpful