User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 576 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 576

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 3, 2014
    6
    Slumdog Millionaire is above-average in comparison to most of Danny Boyle's overtly British and unnecessary work over the past ten years. Slumdog is only occasionally charming; and unfortunately, isn't quite as special as your favorite critic may have it out to be.
  2. Aug 17, 2014
    7
    "Slumdog Millionaire" is one of those manipulative films that force you to sympathize with their lead character, bombing you with lots of drama and moral reflection. Even this way, it is extremely fresh and features an exceptional story, beautifully told through flashbacks and gripping sequences. It addresses a lot of issues, even if there is bias in their description. A special film,"Slumdog Millionaire" is one of those manipulative films that force you to sympathize with their lead character, bombing you with lots of drama and moral reflection. Even this way, it is extremely fresh and features an exceptional story, beautifully told through flashbacks and gripping sequences. It addresses a lot of issues, even if there is bias in their description. A special film, mostly due to its enjoyable freshness. Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    I was in India and I could see a lot things that the movie shows, The screenplay is amazing, it describes the naked truth in a slums of India within a love story.
  4. chw
    Jul 18, 2014
    9
    Slumdog Millionaire was slow some of the time, but it was still a very good story that was very well portrayed by Dev Patel, Freida Pinto, Madhur Mittal, and Irrfan Khan.
  5. Jul 6, 2014
    8
    This is a really uplifting and amazing feel-good movie, it is very innovative and is full of great acting and directing from the talented Danny Boyle. It is a very good film
  6. Jun 22, 2014
    8
    "Slumdog Millionaire" is a truly heartrending, pulse-pounding, and electrifying filmic feat that clearly defines the unequivocal talent and mastery within the mind of Danny Boyle.
  7. May 11, 2014
    3
    I was certainly on the wrong end of this film which others seemed to really enjoy. To me it seemed like one of the most terribly cliched and predictable movies where the lovable loser wins at the end and gets the girl and the money.
  8. Apr 2, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Based on a bestseller book,SDM is a true and gritty film on an individual who is on a quiz show. Anil Kapoor could have done better. There is a sense of drama and finesse in every scene. My personal favourite is the scene in which a character puts money notes around bath tub and gets shot simultaneously. Conveyed a great meaning about his character. Characterization and screenplay are sharp ending up as the high points of this movie. Could not appreciate the Bollywood style dance at the railway station after the climax scene. Expand
  9. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best movie ever! this is the classic version of the newer film "Life of Pi" and is just as emotional, somewhat more exciting and one of my personal favourite movies! Expand
  10. Feb 19, 2014
    6
    It was an ok movie, although all the hype and (over)rating around have tempted me to give it a strictly negative review, but people who say "overrated" should really weight that word in the right way sometimes. Anyway, it was a good movie from a technical point of view or something like that, maybe just a tiny bit slow paced, but its great flaw to me was that, aside from what peopleIt was an ok movie, although all the hype and (over)rating around have tempted me to give it a strictly negative review, but people who say "overrated" should really weight that word in the right way sometimes. Anyway, it was a good movie from a technical point of view or something like that, maybe just a tiny bit slow paced, but its great flaw to me was that, aside from what people thought of the movie being overrated or not, the movie really really took itself too seriously for what it was ultimately aiming at: nothing. This is an entirely subjective way of looking at things, but here's what I think: if you are doing something that is just stupidly, straight-forward fanservice-y, even though I morally think that's wrong I will still respect you more than someone who does it subtly or that just thinks/acts like it's more than it is and ends up being just that but with a veil of dishonesty. That said, I think this movie acted like it was heading towards some big revelation or moral of the story, and left me empty-handed. What was the point of it all? "All experiences matter in life"? More like "wow, that was lucky". A shame, because for a non-hollywood movie it looked really great, had some good premises (the slums etc.) and it still retained its country's traditions (the final dance scene, I kind of like how it's a normal thing for indian movies even though right off the bat you'd think it's inappropriate or just silly). Expand
  11. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    I find this movie very stupid it's confusing and highly overrated. The acting was very bad. The 2 hours that I spend on watching this movie, I could have done better stuff.
  12. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    The rags to riches tale that Slumdog Millionaire tells is a world away from anything we have ever seen, it combines a near fearless child who has the darkest and most heartbreaking of stories, constantly fighting a battle right into his teens. The film is told in a non-linear fashion and in a very unorthodox way, how various words or motions can spark memories, and in this case, ourThe rags to riches tale that Slumdog Millionaire tells is a world away from anything we have ever seen, it combines a near fearless child who has the darkest and most heartbreaking of stories, constantly fighting a battle right into his teens. The film is told in a non-linear fashion and in a very unorthodox way, how various words or motions can spark memories, and in this case, our struggling child, now a teen Jamal (Dev Patel) is sitting on the Indian version of Who Wants to Be a Millionaire, and how he came to know the answers surrounding his culture.
    The film is told in flashbacks in Jamal's disturbing childhood, and the ongoing slum that are very real and very poverty-stricken places in the current age. Jamal, his brother Salim and their new friend Latika, played as a young adult later in the film by Frieda Pinto, who Jamal spends most of the film trying to find after unfortunate events separate them. As children, the film explores the bond between brothers, even in the most dastardly circumstances, starving and begging, Jamal and Salim must make it on their own.
    Slumdog certainly tells a tragic and heartbreaking tale, but it also brings a sense of exhilaration and an uplifting sense of purpose, its easy to immediately care for the characters, whether they are trying to stay alive or being thieves, its a realisation of the live they have lead, and how they will use any means necessary to get by.
    The character performances, wonderful fast-paced editing and upbeat soundtrack really make the film shine, from the child actors to the adults, who we travel with as they grow up and become who they are. It is really about perseverance and survival, we see these kids who think the way we do, they worship celebrities, have over-bearing mothers and begin to think about money, they perhaps don't realise the life they have, and don't know any other way.
    With all the seriousness of the film, there is plenty of humour throughout the film, perhaps to lighten the heart, but also the personification the western civilisation may put on this culture, like call centres for example. The film addresses the culture in its fullest, its high and low points, but arguably most of all its lows, director Danny Boyle has created an astonishing surprise that touches the heart in a pounding fashion, with excellent performances and a realisation of the life away from your own.
    Expand
  13. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Stunning, Amazing, Brilliant, Full of love, intelligent. These are the few words that describe Slumdog Millionare and there are millions more. Dev Patel puts in an amazing performance, Danny Boyle directs a brilliant movie, Slumdog Millionare is a triumph
  14. Mar 1, 2013
    7
    Really gross and disturbing wonder of a one of a kind movies in Slumdog Millionaire, good enough, although disgusting more than enough, pushed the max of gross.
  15. Jan 23, 2013
    0
    slumdog millionaire is just a group of plot devices moving through a childishly contrived plot,
    doing solely what said plot requires them to do, with no heart to make me believe otherwise.
    these anti-characters go through NO development or change whatsoever, they begin the terrible "story" as good or evil, with no grey area, and remain good or evil when the "story" ends, they don't
    slumdog millionaire is just a group of plot devices moving through a childishly contrived plot,
    doing solely what said plot requires them to do, with no heart to make me believe otherwise.

    these anti-characters go through NO development or change whatsoever, they begin the terrible
    "story" as good or evil, with no grey area, and remain good or evil when the "story" ends, they don't even have much personality, jamal is good... because he's good, latika is good...
    because she's good, saleem is bad... because he's bad... they have no logical motivation, and
    before you try and tell me that saleem killing the owner of an orphanage/brothel is what made
    him evil... NO, saleem lets go of latika when they're escaping, saleem locks jamal inside a toilet, forcing him to swim through feces to get out (which is played for laughs)... saleem is a terrible person before he shoots the guy, and he's a terrible person after he shoots the
    guy... the fact that these aren't characters means the only time i care about anyone in the entire movie, is when saleem, latika and jamal are children... solely because they're little children, and nobody with a conscience can refuse to care about children who go through
    horrific torture and... WAIT WHAT??? that's right, this film centres around the torturing of children, the prostitution of children, the emotional suffering of children, you get the point, now let me explain why this is a problem, THIS IS WIDELY ACCEPTED AS ONE OF THE BEST FEEL-GOOD MOVIES OF 2008, doesn't the physical/sexual/emotional abuse of children just make any sane person feel all warm and fuzzy inside? I SINCERELY HOPE NOT! jamal and saleem had a terrible childhood which is revealed through flashbacks as terrible
    as the things they depict, it is from these flashbacks that jamal knows all the answers to
    the questions presented in an indian "who wants to be a millionaire" (which is impossble to
    cheat in, because only the host knows the questions/answers, and every variation of the show
    only uses LANDLINES to prevent connection failure, which renders two major plot points in the film completely invalid), but the most gaping plot holes arise when two of these flashbacks DO NOT EVEN GIVE JAMAL THE ANSWER, OR THE CHANCE FOR JAMAL TO FIGURE OUT THE
    ANSWER!!!

    oh, and they don't show jamal completing the general knowledge questions REQUIRED to appear
    on every variation of the show, which he would have failed at, because he is unaware that
    ghandi is on every piece of indian currency (even though he clearly earns indian money
    throughout the movie), if he doesn't know that, how much more does he not know? this alone
    renders the ENTIRE PLOT invalid...

    jamal went on the show because latika loves the show, and he loves latika, which is oh so
    IMPOSSIBLE TO BELIEVE BECAUSE JAMAL AND LATIKA HAVE NO CHEMISTRY, THEY HAVE NO COMMON
    INTERESTS, THEY DON'T EVEN HAVE AN IN-DEPTH CONVERSATION IN THE ENTIRE MOVIE, this is what i meant when i said 'no logical motivation' jamal and latika are in love solely because the plot needs them to be, and dear god does it show.

    oh, and then there's the ending, now, all throughout the movie, there is a consistent theme: money is evil, so what happens... HE WINS!!! if the movie had any logical messages he would have lost, and realised, alongside the audience, that money isn't everything, but no...

    let me leave you with this: slumdog millionaire won eight oscars.
    Expand
  16. Jan 10, 2013
    9
    This movie is about generally 92%! The emotional scenes are excellent and basically the first movie to use a incredible game show the "Who wants to be a millionaire" and turns it into a lively show of colors and drama. Defenetly worth the money!
  17. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is an interesting thriller with a super exciting story of how an Indian boy survives through many perils and then ends up winning who wants to be a millionaire because of brief moments from his childhood. It was sad,disturbing,and every else you want to see in a good movie.
    A+
    Expand
  18. Jul 11, 2012
    8
    Despite my scepticism this is finally a movie worthy of the hype. Great storyline, superb acting from all and excellent direction make this movie one of the best of the last five years. If you haven't seen it, watch it now. It will be worth it.
  19. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    Immersed in a silly plot of being a contestant on a game show, are very touching, photogenic stories to outline the main character's answers. Almost in vignette styled storytelling. The flashbacks leave an imprint even though the next flashback is on its way too.
  20. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    One Of The BEST MOVIES OF ALL TIME!
    Simply Amazing 100% Enjoyed..
  21. Apr 7, 2012
    8
    Dans Slumdog Millionaire, il faut admettre que l'on peut trouver de tout! On a une sorte de conte naïf (qui peut agacer un peu, surtout à la fin), qui offre au film une légèreté bienvenue et rend l'affaire parfois drôle. On a également une vision de l'Inde plutôt cruelle,Dans Slumdog Millionaire, il faut admettre que l'on peut trouver de tout! On a une sorte de conte naïf (qui peut agacer un peu, surtout à la fin), qui offre au film une légèreté bienvenue et rend l'affaire parfois drôle. On a également une vision de l'Inde plutôt cruelle, dénonçant sans vergogne par quelques scènes "dures" (des enfants rendus aveugles pour mendier) la pauvreté, mais toujours avec la bonne humeur citée à l'instant. Egalement une sorte d'hommage aux produits bollywoodiens (il n'y a qu'à voir la scène de danse pendant le générique final). Bref, Slumdog Millionaire est une véritable bouffée d'air frais, mis en scène avec savoir-faire et porté par un bon casting. Expand
  22. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing film that tells one of the most powerful and uplifting good feeling messages of all time. It is so different than typical Hollywood films and was a complete delight to see it get recognized by everybody. A must see!
  23. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    Slumdog Millionaire is a wonderful life story and a true celebration of the human spirit. The movie had great scenary with music the flowed great witht the film. Definitly one to watch.
  24. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    This movie is ingenious, gripping, at times dramatic and at times quite humorous. It is well framed and original. Although, the way that things unfold is quite fictional and it is not always believable, it is a movie that most types of audiences will enjoy. It is definitely not a masterpiece, yet the performances and direction are remarkable and won't disappointed. It is not art house butThis movie is ingenious, gripping, at times dramatic and at times quite humorous. It is well framed and original. Although, the way that things unfold is quite fictional and it is not always believable, it is a movie that most types of audiences will enjoy. It is definitely not a masterpiece, yet the performances and direction are remarkable and won't disappointed. It is not art house but it is not what I would call a typical blockbuster...it is just a movie that discloses a reality that for most of us Westerners is unknown. As I have travelled (as a tourist) through many places in India, this movie has brought to my memory my own experiences up there. It has also reminded me not only of the beauty of that country but also of its misery; in spite of it, Indian people stays optimistic and proud of its roots. This film succeeds in exploring India's reality. It shows a country in which the difference between deprived and privileged classes is abysmal...but where the hope is not lost...Overall, is not an outstanding movie but it is indeed unforgettable... Expand
  25. Jan 12, 2012
    9
    Slumdog millionaire does suffer from some silly dialogue, but the film is beautifully filmed, mighty, wondrous, romantic and just fantastically acted. It deserves its Oscar. I give this film 87%.
  26. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    One of the most hated movies by film lovers. But I won't jump the band wagon by giving it a low score because the score I give it is the score that it deserves. This is an excellent made film about love and money. This film is about an Indian that has been poor his whole life and gets a change at the game Who Wants to be a Millionaire. He gets thrown in jail for the conspiracy of cheatingOne of the most hated movies by film lovers. But I won't jump the band wagon by giving it a low score because the score I give it is the score that it deserves. This is an excellent made film about love and money. This film is about an Indian that has been poor his whole life and gets a change at the game Who Wants to be a Millionaire. He gets thrown in jail for the conspiracy of cheating for getting all the questions right. There is a special way he knew all the answers. If you don't know what I am talking about then you have to watch this. Dev Patel was the perfect actor for the role because he has the appearance and personality of an underdog. This film was very inspirational and gives a feel of hope to everyone that watches it. My favorite part was at the end when Jamal has to call someone for the answer to the last question that can win it all. Knowing for sure that his brother, the man who he called knows the answer. But his brother isn't the person that picks up. Expand
  27. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Beautiful and emotionally satisfying. There is no other way to describe "Slumdog Millionaire". I know a lot of films have already showed poverty and violence before and the ending is quite predictable, but what matters here is not how it ends but what it takes to make us cheer so much for Jamal. Expand
  28. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    There's a kinetic genius woven into the brightly colored fabric of Slumdog Millionaire, which is only something a director as wildly exuberant as Danny Boyle could accomplish. In what is a basic story, seen many times before, Boyle takes away from its roots of epic and bombast, and modernizes it into a wild, exotic adventure. It's something that can be funny (which the movie is). It'sThere's a kinetic genius woven into the brightly colored fabric of Slumdog Millionaire, which is only something a director as wildly exuberant as Danny Boyle could accomplish. In what is a basic story, seen many times before, Boyle takes away from its roots of epic and bombast, and modernizes it into a wild, exotic adventure. It's something that can be funny (which the movie is). It's something that can be horrifying (which the movie is). It's something that can be romantic (which the movie is). It's Danny Boyle's take on a trip to somewhere else, and we're lucky enough to go with him Expand
  29. Jul 13, 2011
    5
    I am giving this movie three stars which it deserves just because of the cinematography and some other minor things. Else this movie is trash. I bet if an Indian director would have made this, it wouldn't have been considered even eligible for the Oscars. The dirtiness in this movie makes me retch. There wouldn't be a mortal on the planet called earth who could jump into **** for gettingI am giving this movie three stars which it deserves just because of the cinematography and some other minor things. Else this movie is trash. I bet if an Indian director would have made this, it wouldn't have been considered even eligible for the Oscars. The dirtiness in this movie makes me retch. There wouldn't be a mortal on the planet called earth who could jump into **** for getting an autograph of Amitabh Bachan. And as if AB will give it as well!
    And I hated the dialogue when Jamal says: "This is the real India," when a police constable was beating him up barbarically, and then an American interrupts and gallantly produces some dollars from his purse, saying "Let us show him the real America." or something like that. That made me shut my television off. Of course the movie didn't instill any excitement when Jamal was about to answer a question on the game show. You know that it is gonna be right. But the cinematography and the background music was great. And following Jamal through his journey is not all that bad, though. It is exciting sometimes. The love story which runs parallel is somewhat fascinating.
    This is a movie worth watching, but don't overestimate it as an award winner. Certainly if you are a non- Indian, it would be a new experience.
    Expand
  30. May 9, 2011
    10
    A liberating and uplifting movie and the feel-good film of the decade, Danny Boyle delivers the Oscar Winning Slumdog Millionaire. And it's easy to tell why the film has won numerous awards. The film focuses upon Jamil Malik (Dev Patel) an 18 year old orphan from the slums of Mumbai and a constant on the Indian version of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire, who is one question away from winningA liberating and uplifting movie and the feel-good film of the decade, Danny Boyle delivers the Oscar Winning Slumdog Millionaire. And it's easy to tell why the film has won numerous awards. The film focuses upon Jamil Malik (Dev Patel) an 18 year old orphan from the slums of Mumbai and a constant on the Indian version of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire, who is one question away from winning 20 million rupees. However he arrested in suspision of cheating. During his interrogation Jamil reveals his incredible and heartwrenching story of his life as a young boy growing up on the streets of Mumbai with his brother Salim, and how he loved and lost the girl of his dreams Latika (Freida Pinto), each question links to a memoir of Jamil's exhilarating life. Superbly well directed in the ever capable and inspring hands of Danny Boyle who delivers a beautiful film from start to finish and one that will live long in the memory, utterly unmissable! Expand
  31. Jan 16, 2011
    8
    One of the best film ever made. Outstanding editing and directing. The acting on this movie wasn't on point but they still did a good job. The acting was okay. Outstanding movie with okay acting. The screenplay was outstanding. He turn a simple screenplay into an outstanding film. The simplest story could also be the best story to tell. This movie was not a high budget movie. Great jobOne of the best film ever made. Outstanding editing and directing. The acting on this movie wasn't on point but they still did a good job. The acting was okay. Outstanding movie with okay acting. The screenplay was outstanding. He turn a simple screenplay into an outstanding film. The simplest story could also be the best story to tell. This movie was not a high budget movie. Great job with making this a good movie with out all the money. I think this is the best love story in a long time. One of my favorite movies of all time. I think you should watch this movie if you haven't seen it. If you love story that can make you cry watch this one. The music for this movie made the movie even better. Outstanding movie with okay acting in it. The acting horrible nor Outstanding it just okay. Expand
  32. Jan 12, 2011
    8
    Danny Boyle is one of my favorite Directors. His film always reflects adventure and humanity. In his latest feature SLUMDOG MILLIONAIRE, Boyle accomplished the best work of his career. The movie tells the story about a boy cruise the rough-life in India. As we knew, the poverty has been one of the problems that we faced in the third-world like India. This picture won 8 Oscars, includingDanny Boyle is one of my favorite Directors. His film always reflects adventure and humanity. In his latest feature SLUMDOG MILLIONAIRE, Boyle accomplished the best work of his career. The movie tells the story about a boy cruise the rough-life in India. As we knew, the poverty has been one of the problems that we faced in the third-world like India. This picture won 8 Oscars, including prime category in: Best Picture, Director, and Adapted Screenplay. Its Begins at present time, Jamal Malik (The main character) was caught into police custody. He accused being cheated in WHO WANTS TO BE MILLIONAIRE quiz show. Jamal Capability answering all the questions made them astonished. The story starts when the Police Inspector interrogates Jamal about what happen before. Jamal childhood was told by her mother dead tragically in a riot. Young Jamal begins to live in the street later. He was accompanied by his brother, Salim and a girl named Latika. Later we know that his motive to participate in this quiz is to find Latika. The story adorn with friendship, betrayal and love. The plots in overall is not naive, also tells us that life is not always fair. Fact about this movie was so ironic. Some of The Supporting Casts still had been living in the slum, somewhere in Bombay. But they are getting full time education now. I heard that the movie maker wants to keep the money in trusted fund, so when they turn 16 or 17 they will get their salary which about 100.000 dollars each. In my opinion, the only way to won WHO WANTS TO BE MILLIONAIRE quiz was just like this story. Maybe I could not had all the knowledge in the world, but if you asked me about something I experience in life,..Yes, I can answer. Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE on : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com Expand
  33. Dec 18, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film starts in the slums of Mumbai where life for city's underclass is an unending struggle. Life is cheap, childhood ends early and exploitation is everywhere. It's dark, depressing, realistic. But things get better for our protagonists. Social realism is abandoned in favour of the drama / thriller (there's even a few nods to bollywood). There is a love story. This feels like a made-for-TV movie. As entertainment it fails miserably, and so it should. The reality of the slums casts a shadow over the whole movie. It's not uplifting, it just feels tawdry. Expand
  34. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    Tea wallah gets to penultimate question on "Who Wants to be a Millionaire", authorities arrest him on suspicion of cheating, reveals life story in flashbacks.
    Great feel-good film which tells a great story & Danny Boyle & the cast do a great job of bringing it to life.
    Brilliant visuals showing the extremes of poverty & wealth within India & has a good mixture of comedy, romance & a dark
    Tea wallah gets to penultimate question on "Who Wants to be a Millionaire", authorities arrest him on suspicion of cheating, reveals life story in flashbacks.
    Great feel-good film which tells a great story & Danny Boyle & the cast do a great job of bringing it to life.
    Brilliant visuals showing the extremes of poverty & wealth within India & has a good mixture of comedy, romance & a dark side to it.
    Expand
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Mendelson
    80
    Absolutely perfect family entertainment for anyone over the age of ten. It is a celebration of not just the usual triumph of the human spirit, but a celebration of the human experience.
  2. 88
    The result is magical and life affirming, and will enrapture those who are not scared away by the mention of "subtitles."
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Brunette
    70
    What's perhaps most fascinating about the film is Boyle's relentless focus on the realities of present-day India as a vehicle for his spectacle and laughs.