User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 603 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 603
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2015
    4
    I don't know why this got so much critical acclaim. It's boring as hell. The story jumps all over the place, and I get it's meant to be flashbacks or whatever but still, I barely even knew what was happening. And it got boring pretty quick.
  2. Jan 22, 2015
    1
    Slumdog Millionaire is Danny Boyle's worst film so far. Boyle tried to ambitiously replicate Fernando Meirelles' City of God - a true modern masterpiece about life on the outskirts of Rio De Janeiro - but he failed miserably. It's one of those terribly cliched and predictable movies where the lovable loser wins at the end and gets the girl and the money. The acting is weak and there's aSlumdog Millionaire is Danny Boyle's worst film so far. Boyle tried to ambitiously replicate Fernando Meirelles' City of God - a true modern masterpiece about life on the outskirts of Rio De Janeiro - but he failed miserably. It's one of those terribly cliched and predictable movies where the lovable loser wins at the end and gets the girl and the money. The acting is weak and there's a glaring lack of substance. There's not a single transformation portrayed, no character arc just an overflow of sappy moments. It doesn't resemble a shred of reality and it completely skips the true horrors of being born in poverty. I have lived in England all my life but even someone as unaware as me could point out that kids who serve tea in India with no parents don't speak in English, certainly not with hints of a British accent. The film says that the only hope to escape poverty is by fortuity and for that people flourish it with awards? Danny Boyle's crowd pleasing "art" film is the very definition of mediocrity. It's manipulative trash simply made for the sole purposes of winning awards. Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2014
    6
    Slumdog Millionaire is above-average in comparison to most of Danny Boyle's overtly British and unnecessary work over the past ten years. Slumdog is only occasionally charming; and unfortunately, isn't quite as special as your favorite critic may have it out to be.
  4. Aug 17, 2014
    7
    "Slumdog Millionaire" is one of those manipulative films that force you to sympathize with their lead character, bombing you with lots of drama and moral reflection. Even this way, it is extremely fresh and features an exceptional story, beautifully told through flashbacks and gripping sequences. It addresses a lot of issues, even if there is bias in their description. A special film,"Slumdog Millionaire" is one of those manipulative films that force you to sympathize with their lead character, bombing you with lots of drama and moral reflection. Even this way, it is extremely fresh and features an exceptional story, beautifully told through flashbacks and gripping sequences. It addresses a lot of issues, even if there is bias in their description. A special film, mostly due to its enjoyable freshness. Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    I was in India and I could see a lot things that the movie shows, The screenplay is amazing, it describes the naked truth in a slums of India within a love story.
  6. chw
    Jul 18, 2014
    9
    Slumdog Millionaire was slow some of the time, but it was still a very good story that was very well portrayed by Dev Patel, Freida Pinto, Madhur Mittal, and Irrfan Khan.
  7. Jul 6, 2014
    8
    This is a really uplifting and amazing feel-good movie, it is very innovative and is full of great acting and directing from the talented Danny Boyle. It is a very good film
  8. Jun 22, 2014
    8
    "Slumdog Millionaire" is a truly heartrending, pulse-pounding, and electrifying filmic feat that clearly defines the unequivocal talent and mastery within the mind of Danny Boyle.
  9. Apr 2, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Based on a bestseller book,SDM is a true and gritty film on an individual who is on a quiz show. Anil Kapoor could have done better. There is a sense of drama and finesse in every scene. My personal favourite is the scene in which a character puts money notes around bath tub and gets shot simultaneously. Conveyed a great meaning about his character. Characterization and screenplay are sharp ending up as the high points of this movie. Could not appreciate the Bollywood style dance at the railway station after the climax scene. Expand
  10. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best movie ever! this is the classic version of the newer film "Life of Pi" and is just as emotional, somewhat more exciting and one of my personal favourite movies! Expand
  11. Feb 19, 2014
    6
    It was an ok movie, although all the hype and (over)rating around have tempted me to give it a strictly negative review, but people who say "overrated" should really weight that word in the right way sometimes. Anyway, it was a good movie from a technical point of view or something like that, maybe just a tiny bit slow paced, but its great flaw to me was that, aside from what peopleIt was an ok movie, although all the hype and (over)rating around have tempted me to give it a strictly negative review, but people who say "overrated" should really weight that word in the right way sometimes. Anyway, it was a good movie from a technical point of view or something like that, maybe just a tiny bit slow paced, but its great flaw to me was that, aside from what people thought of the movie being overrated or not, the movie really really took itself too seriously for what it was ultimately aiming at: nothing. This is an entirely subjective way of looking at things, but here's what I think: if you are doing something that is just stupidly, straight-forward fanservice-y, even though I morally think that's wrong I will still respect you more than someone who does it subtly or that just thinks/acts like it's more than it is and ends up being just that but with a veil of dishonesty. That said, I think this movie acted like it was heading towards some big revelation or moral of the story, and left me empty-handed. What was the point of it all? "All experiences matter in life"? More like "wow, that was lucky". A shame, because for a non-hollywood movie it looked really great, had some good premises (the slums etc.) and it still retained its country's traditions (the final dance scene, I kind of like how it's a normal thing for indian movies even though right off the bat you'd think it's inappropriate or just silly). Expand
  12. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    I find this movie very stupid it's confusing and highly overrated. The acting was very bad. The 2 hours that I spend on watching this movie, I could have done better stuff.
  13. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    The rags to riches tale that Slumdog Millionaire tells is a world away from anything we have ever seen, it combines a near fearless child who has the darkest and most heartbreaking of stories, constantly fighting a battle right into his teens. The film is told in a non-linear fashion and in a very unorthodox way, how various words or motions can spark memories, and in this case, ourThe rags to riches tale that Slumdog Millionaire tells is a world away from anything we have ever seen, it combines a near fearless child who has the darkest and most heartbreaking of stories, constantly fighting a battle right into his teens. The film is told in a non-linear fashion and in a very unorthodox way, how various words or motions can spark memories, and in this case, our struggling child, now a teen Jamal (Dev Patel) is sitting on the Indian version of Who Wants to Be a Millionaire, and how he came to know the answers surrounding his culture.
    The film is told in flashbacks in Jamal's disturbing childhood, and the ongoing slum that are very real and very poverty-stricken places in the current age. Jamal, his brother Salim and their new friend Latika, played as a young adult later in the film by Frieda Pinto, who Jamal spends most of the film trying to find after unfortunate events separate them. As children, the film explores the bond between brothers, even in the most dastardly circumstances, starving and begging, Jamal and Salim must make it on their own.
    Slumdog certainly tells a tragic and heartbreaking tale, but it also brings a sense of exhilaration and an uplifting sense of purpose, its easy to immediately care for the characters, whether they are trying to stay alive or being thieves, its a realisation of the live they have lead, and how they will use any means necessary to get by.
    The character performances, wonderful fast-paced editing and upbeat soundtrack really make the film shine, from the child actors to the adults, who we travel with as they grow up and become who they are. It is really about perseverance and survival, we see these kids who think the way we do, they worship celebrities, have over-bearing mothers and begin to think about money, they perhaps don't realise the life they have, and don't know any other way.
    With all the seriousness of the film, there is plenty of humour throughout the film, perhaps to lighten the heart, but also the personification the western civilisation may put on this culture, like call centres for example. The film addresses the culture in its fullest, its high and low points, but arguably most of all its lows, director Danny Boyle has created an astonishing surprise that touches the heart in a pounding fashion, with excellent performances and a realisation of the life away from your own.
    Expand
  14. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Stunning, Amazing, Brilliant, Full of love, intelligent. These are the few words that describe Slumdog Millionare and there are millions more. Dev Patel puts in an amazing performance, Danny Boyle directs a brilliant movie, Slumdog Millionare is a triumph
  15. Mar 1, 2013
    7
    Really gross and disturbing wonder of a one of a kind movies in Slumdog Millionaire, good enough, although disgusting more than enough, pushed the max of gross.
  16. Jan 23, 2013
    0
    slumdog millionaire is just a group of plot devices moving through a childishly contrived plot,
    doing solely what said plot requires them to do, with no heart to make me believe otherwise.
    these anti-characters go through NO development or change whatsoever, they begin the terrible "story" as good or evil, with no grey area, and remain good or evil when the "story" ends, they don't
    slumdog millionaire is just a group of plot devices moving through a childishly contrived plot,
    doing solely what said plot requires them to do, with no heart to make me believe otherwise.

    these anti-characters go through NO development or change whatsoever, they begin the terrible
    "story" as good or evil, with no grey area, and remain good or evil when the "story" ends, they don't even have much personality, jamal is good... because he's good, latika is good...
    because she's good, saleem is bad... because he's bad... they have no logical motivation, and
    before you try and tell me that saleem killing the owner of an orphanage/brothel is what made
    him evil... NO, saleem lets go of latika when they're escaping, saleem locks jamal inside a toilet, forcing him to swim through feces to get out (which is played for laughs)... saleem is a terrible person before he shoots the guy, and he's a terrible person after he shoots the
    guy... the fact that these aren't characters means the only time i care about anyone in the entire movie, is when saleem, latika and jamal are children... solely because they're little children, and nobody with a conscience can refuse to care about children who go through
    horrific torture and... WAIT WHAT??? that's right, this film centres around the torturing of children, the prostitution of children, the emotional suffering of children, you get the point, now let me explain why this is a problem, THIS IS WIDELY ACCEPTED AS ONE OF THE BEST FEEL-GOOD MOVIES OF 2008, doesn't the physical/sexual/emotional abuse of children just make any sane person feel all warm and fuzzy inside? I SINCERELY HOPE NOT! jamal and saleem had a terrible childhood which is revealed through flashbacks as terrible
    as the things they depict, it is from these flashbacks that jamal knows all the answers to
    the questions presented in an indian "who wants to be a millionaire" (which is impossble to
    cheat in, because only the host knows the questions/answers, and every variation of the show
    only uses LANDLINES to prevent connection failure, which renders two major plot points in the film completely invalid), but the most gaping plot holes arise when two of these flashbacks DO NOT EVEN GIVE JAMAL THE ANSWER, OR THE CHANCE FOR JAMAL TO FIGURE OUT THE
    ANSWER!!!

    oh, and they don't show jamal completing the general knowledge questions REQUIRED to appear
    on every variation of the show, which he would have failed at, because he is unaware that
    ghandi is on every piece of indian currency (even though he clearly earns indian money
    throughout the movie), if he doesn't know that, how much more does he not know? this alone
    renders the ENTIRE PLOT invalid...

    jamal went on the show because latika loves the show, and he loves latika, which is oh so
    IMPOSSIBLE TO BELIEVE BECAUSE JAMAL AND LATIKA HAVE NO CHEMISTRY, THEY HAVE NO COMMON
    INTERESTS, THEY DON'T EVEN HAVE AN IN-DEPTH CONVERSATION IN THE ENTIRE MOVIE, this is what i meant when i said 'no logical motivation' jamal and latika are in love solely because the plot needs them to be, and dear god does it show.

    oh, and then there's the ending, now, all throughout the movie, there is a consistent theme: money is evil, so what happens... HE WINS!!! if the movie had any logical messages he would have lost, and realised, alongside the audience, that money isn't everything, but no...

    let me leave you with this: slumdog millionaire won eight oscars.
    Expand
  17. Jan 10, 2013
    9
    This movie is about generally 92%! The emotional scenes are excellent and basically the first movie to use a incredible game show the "Who wants to be a millionaire" and turns it into a lively show of colors and drama. Defenetly worth the money!
  18. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is an interesting thriller with a super exciting story of how an Indian boy survives through many perils and then ends up winning who wants to be a millionaire because of brief moments from his childhood. It was sad,disturbing,and every else you want to see in a good movie.
    A+
    Expand
  19. Jul 11, 2012
    8
    Despite my scepticism this is finally a movie worthy of the hype. Great storyline, superb acting from all and excellent direction make this movie one of the best of the last five years. If you haven't seen it, watch it now. It will be worth it.
  20. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    Immersed in a silly plot of being a contestant on a game show, are very touching, photogenic stories to outline the main character's answers. Almost in vignette styled storytelling. The flashbacks leave an imprint even though the next flashback is on its way too.
  21. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    One Of The BEST MOVIES OF ALL TIME!
    Simply Amazing 100% Enjoyed..
  22. Apr 7, 2012
    8
    Dans Slumdog Millionaire, il faut admettre que l'on peut trouver de tout! On a une sorte de conte naïf (qui peut agacer un peu, surtout à la fin), qui offre au film une légèreté bienvenue et rend l'affaire parfois drôle. On a également une vision de l'Inde plutôt cruelle,Dans Slumdog Millionaire, il faut admettre que l'on peut trouver de tout! On a une sorte de conte naïf (qui peut agacer un peu, surtout à la fin), qui offre au film une légèreté bienvenue et rend l'affaire parfois drôle. On a également une vision de l'Inde plutôt cruelle, dénonçant sans vergogne par quelques scènes "dures" (des enfants rendus aveugles pour mendier) la pauvreté, mais toujours avec la bonne humeur citée à l'instant. Egalement une sorte d'hommage aux produits bollywoodiens (il n'y a qu'à voir la scène de danse pendant le générique final). Bref, Slumdog Millionaire est une véritable bouffée d'air frais, mis en scène avec savoir-faire et porté par un bon casting. Expand
  23. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing film that tells one of the most powerful and uplifting good feeling messages of all time. It is so different than typical Hollywood films and was a complete delight to see it get recognized by everybody. A must see!
  24. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    Slumdog Millionaire is a wonderful life story and a true celebration of the human spirit. The movie had great scenary with music the flowed great witht the film. Definitly one to watch.
  25. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    This movie is ingenious, gripping, at times dramatic and at times quite humorous. It is well framed and original. Although, the way that things unfold is quite fictional and it is not always believable, it is a movie that most types of audiences will enjoy. It is definitely not a masterpiece, yet the performances and direction are remarkable and won't disappointed. It is not art house butThis movie is ingenious, gripping, at times dramatic and at times quite humorous. It is well framed and original. Although, the way that things unfold is quite fictional and it is not always believable, it is a movie that most types of audiences will enjoy. It is definitely not a masterpiece, yet the performances and direction are remarkable and won't disappointed. It is not art house but it is not what I would call a typical blockbuster...it is just a movie that discloses a reality that for most of us Westerners is unknown. As I have travelled (as a tourist) through many places in India, this movie has brought to my memory my own experiences up there. It has also reminded me not only of the beauty of that country but also of its misery; in spite of it, Indian people stays optimistic and proud of its roots. This film succeeds in exploring India's reality. It shows a country in which the difference between deprived and privileged classes is abysmal...but where the hope is not lost...Overall, is not an outstanding movie but it is indeed unforgettable... Expand
  26. Jan 12, 2012
    9
    Slumdog millionaire does suffer from some silly dialogue, but the film is beautifully filmed, mighty, wondrous, romantic and just fantastically acted. It deserves its Oscar. I give this film 87%.
  27. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    One of the most hated movies by film lovers. But I won't jump the band wagon by giving it a low score because the score I give it is the score that it deserves. This is an excellent made film about love and money. This film is about an Indian that has been poor his whole life and gets a change at the game Who Wants to be a Millionaire. He gets thrown in jail for the conspiracy of cheatingOne of the most hated movies by film lovers. But I won't jump the band wagon by giving it a low score because the score I give it is the score that it deserves. This is an excellent made film about love and money. This film is about an Indian that has been poor his whole life and gets a change at the game Who Wants to be a Millionaire. He gets thrown in jail for the conspiracy of cheating for getting all the questions right. There is a special way he knew all the answers. If you don't know what I am talking about then you have to watch this. Dev Patel was the perfect actor for the role because he has the appearance and personality of an underdog. This film was very inspirational and gives a feel of hope to everyone that watches it. My favorite part was at the end when Jamal has to call someone for the answer to the last question that can win it all. Knowing for sure that his brother, the man who he called knows the answer. But his brother isn't the person that picks up. Expand
  28. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Beautiful and emotionally satisfying. There is no other way to describe "Slumdog Millionaire". I know a lot of films have already showed poverty and violence before and the ending is quite predictable, but what matters here is not how it ends but what it takes to make us cheer so much for Jamal. Expand
  29. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    There's a kinetic genius woven into the brightly colored fabric of Slumdog Millionaire, which is only something a director as wildly exuberant as Danny Boyle could accomplish. In what is a basic story, seen many times before, Boyle takes away from its roots of epic and bombast, and modernizes it into a wild, exotic adventure. It's something that can be funny (which the movie is). It'sThere's a kinetic genius woven into the brightly colored fabric of Slumdog Millionaire, which is only something a director as wildly exuberant as Danny Boyle could accomplish. In what is a basic story, seen many times before, Boyle takes away from its roots of epic and bombast, and modernizes it into a wild, exotic adventure. It's something that can be funny (which the movie is). It's something that can be horrifying (which the movie is). It's something that can be romantic (which the movie is). It's Danny Boyle's take on a trip to somewhere else, and we're lucky enough to go with him Expand
  30. Jul 13, 2011
    5
    I am giving this movie three stars which it deserves just because of the cinematography and some other minor things. Else this movie is trash. I bet if an Indian director would have made this, it wouldn't have been considered even eligible for the Oscars. The dirtiness in this movie makes me retch. There wouldn't be a mortal on the planet called earth who could jump into **** for gettingI am giving this movie three stars which it deserves just because of the cinematography and some other minor things. Else this movie is trash. I bet if an Indian director would have made this, it wouldn't have been considered even eligible for the Oscars. The dirtiness in this movie makes me retch. There wouldn't be a mortal on the planet called earth who could jump into **** for getting an autograph of Amitabh Bachan. And as if AB will give it as well!
    And I hated the dialogue when Jamal says: "This is the real India," when a police constable was beating him up barbarically, and then an American interrupts and gallantly produces some dollars from his purse, saying "Let us show him the real America." or something like that. That made me shut my television off. Of course the movie didn't instill any excitement when Jamal was about to answer a question on the game show. You know that it is gonna be right. But the cinematography and the background music was great. And following Jamal through his journey is not all that bad, though. It is exciting sometimes. The love story which runs parallel is somewhat fascinating.
    This is a movie worth watching, but don't overestimate it as an award winner. Certainly if you are a non- Indian, it would be a new experience.
    Expand
  31. May 9, 2011
    10
    A liberating and uplifting movie and the feel-good film of the decade, Danny Boyle delivers the Oscar Winning Slumdog Millionaire. And it's easy to tell why the film has won numerous awards. The film focuses upon Jamil Malik (Dev Patel) an 18 year old orphan from the slums of Mumbai and a constant on the Indian version of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire, who is one question away from winningA liberating and uplifting movie and the feel-good film of the decade, Danny Boyle delivers the Oscar Winning Slumdog Millionaire. And it's easy to tell why the film has won numerous awards. The film focuses upon Jamil Malik (Dev Patel) an 18 year old orphan from the slums of Mumbai and a constant on the Indian version of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire, who is one question away from winning 20 million rupees. However he arrested in suspision of cheating. During his interrogation Jamil reveals his incredible and heartwrenching story of his life as a young boy growing up on the streets of Mumbai with his brother Salim, and how he loved and lost the girl of his dreams Latika (Freida Pinto), each question links to a memoir of Jamil's exhilarating life. Superbly well directed in the ever capable and inspring hands of Danny Boyle who delivers a beautiful film from start to finish and one that will live long in the memory, utterly unmissable! Expand
  32. Jan 16, 2011
    8
    One of the best film ever made. Outstanding editing and directing. The acting on this movie wasn't on point but they still did a good job. The acting was okay. Outstanding movie with okay acting. The screenplay was outstanding. He turn a simple screenplay into an outstanding film. The simplest story could also be the best story to tell. This movie was not a high budget movie. Great jobOne of the best film ever made. Outstanding editing and directing. The acting on this movie wasn't on point but they still did a good job. The acting was okay. Outstanding movie with okay acting. The screenplay was outstanding. He turn a simple screenplay into an outstanding film. The simplest story could also be the best story to tell. This movie was not a high budget movie. Great job with making this a good movie with out all the money. I think this is the best love story in a long time. One of my favorite movies of all time. I think you should watch this movie if you haven't seen it. If you love story that can make you cry watch this one. The music for this movie made the movie even better. Outstanding movie with okay acting in it. The acting horrible nor Outstanding it just okay. Expand
  33. Jan 12, 2011
    8
    Danny Boyle is one of my favorite Directors. His film always reflects adventure and humanity. In his latest feature SLUMDOG MILLIONAIRE, Boyle accomplished the best work of his career. The movie tells the story about a boy cruise the rough-life in India. As we knew, the poverty has been one of the problems that we faced in the third-world like India. This picture won 8 Oscars, includingDanny Boyle is one of my favorite Directors. His film always reflects adventure and humanity. In his latest feature SLUMDOG MILLIONAIRE, Boyle accomplished the best work of his career. The movie tells the story about a boy cruise the rough-life in India. As we knew, the poverty has been one of the problems that we faced in the third-world like India. This picture won 8 Oscars, including prime category in: Best Picture, Director, and Adapted Screenplay. Its Begins at present time, Jamal Malik (The main character) was caught into police custody. He accused being cheated in WHO WANTS TO BE MILLIONAIRE quiz show. Jamal Capability answering all the questions made them astonished. The story starts when the Police Inspector interrogates Jamal about what happen before. Jamal childhood was told by her mother dead tragically in a riot. Young Jamal begins to live in the street later. He was accompanied by his brother, Salim and a girl named Latika. Later we know that his motive to participate in this quiz is to find Latika. The story adorn with friendship, betrayal and love. The plots in overall is not naive, also tells us that life is not always fair. Fact about this movie was so ironic. Some of The Supporting Casts still had been living in the slum, somewhere in Bombay. But they are getting full time education now. I heard that the movie maker wants to keep the money in trusted fund, so when they turn 16 or 17 they will get their salary which about 100.000 dollars each. In my opinion, the only way to won WHO WANTS TO BE MILLIONAIRE quiz was just like this story. Maybe I could not had all the knowledge in the world, but if you asked me about something I experience in life,..Yes, I can answer. Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE on : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com Expand
  34. Dec 18, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film starts in the slums of Mumbai where life for city's underclass is an unending struggle. Life is cheap, childhood ends early and exploitation is everywhere. It's dark, depressing, realistic. But things get better for our protagonists. Social realism is abandoned in favour of the drama / thriller (there's even a few nods to bollywood). There is a love story. This feels like a made-for-TV movie. As entertainment it fails miserably, and so it should. The reality of the slums casts a shadow over the whole movie. It's not uplifting, it just feels tawdry. Expand
  35. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    Tea wallah gets to penultimate question on "Who Wants to be a Millionaire", authorities arrest him on suspicion of cheating, reveals life story in flashbacks.
    Great feel-good film which tells a great story & Danny Boyle & the cast do a great job of bringing it to life.
    Brilliant visuals showing the extremes of poverty & wealth within India & has a good mixture of comedy, romance & a dark
    Tea wallah gets to penultimate question on "Who Wants to be a Millionaire", authorities arrest him on suspicion of cheating, reveals life story in flashbacks.
    Great feel-good film which tells a great story & Danny Boyle & the cast do a great job of bringing it to life.
    Brilliant visuals showing the extremes of poverty & wealth within India & has a good mixture of comedy, romance & a dark side to it.
    Expand
  36. alano
    Jun 17, 2010
    7
    This film was originally meant to be released straight to DVD, but it shouldn't have as it was a good film itself and Oscar-worthy, it was just a little too depressing and not Best Picture-worthy.
  37. AshY
    Apr 27, 2010
    5
    @erin I'm sorry? India is in every sense a free country, which I can say, being an Indian myself. About the film: Ok, but there are much better films out there. I did not like the movie much as it shows India in a bad sense, and I love my country. The acting was good.
  38. MannyD
    Feb 12, 2010
    3
    I really to stop watching this movie right at the beginning. Just 5 minutes into the movie, I knew it was going to be a really bad cliche movie and it was. It was an insult to see this movie to have so much acclaim and the credits of this movie cut the cake to how shitty this movie it was. The only thing that this movie did for me was to feel bad for the country of India but that's I really to stop watching this movie right at the beginning. Just 5 minutes into the movie, I knew it was going to be a really bad cliche movie and it was. It was an insult to see this movie to have so much acclaim and the credits of this movie cut the cake to how shitty this movie it was. The only thing that this movie did for me was to feel bad for the country of India but that's because they depict so badly in this movie. Expand
  39. SophiaB
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    Soooo good! I am 12 years old and found everything easy to understand. I was close to tears when their mother died and whenthe poor boy's eyes were blinded with acid out, but I ACTUALLY cried when Salim sold Jamal's autograph from the film star! I have no idea why but i felt so sad in that scene... The other more predictible time when I cried was near the end when Salim died. Soooo good! I am 12 years old and found everything easy to understand. I was close to tears when their mother died and whenthe poor boy's eyes were blinded with acid out, but I ACTUALLY cried when Salim sold Jamal's autograph from the film star! I have no idea why but i felt so sad in that scene... The other more predictible time when I cried was near the end when Salim died. People generally don't like Salim, but I just thought he was a greed filled young boy who made a few mistakes... (apart from when he sold Jamal's autograph). Expand
  40. TomK
    Dec 31, 2009
    6
    Inauthentic and manipulative, poorly acted (by the adults, the children were better), but entertaining. Poverty has never looked like so much fun.
  41. TylerR
    Dec 27, 2009
    2
    One of the Worst films that i have watched in the past 5 years. It was trying to be funny at some points without even being close to funny. I never felt for any of the characters. If they both would have gotten shot and died i would have been happy cause the movie would of ended.
  42. dianneb
    Dec 22, 2009
    8
    I found Slumdog millionaire a fascinating film. For me it is about both predestination and the choices that we make in life. Both brothers faced the same situations, but the older brother chose to live in self-preservation whereas Jamal chose to still be compassionate and think of others, he kept his humanity in the face of severe cruelty and betrayal. The older brother payed the price I found Slumdog millionaire a fascinating film. For me it is about both predestination and the choices that we make in life. Both brothers faced the same situations, but the older brother chose to live in self-preservation whereas Jamal chose to still be compassionate and think of others, he kept his humanity in the face of severe cruelty and betrayal. The older brother payed the price whereas Jamal reaped the fulfillment of his dreams. The fact that the answer to each of the questions came out of the suffering in his life and accumulated to the moment when he became a millionaire, is for me about moving from survival into fulfillment. Even if it is unrealistic, it is still about triumph over adversity, and that even when life has not turned out the way we would have wanted it to, we do not have to become bitter, selfish and twisted about it, but can still love and care. Expand
  43. John
    Dec 18, 2009
    10
    Danny Boyle successfully combines a variety of different genres to make a truly spectacular movie. Managing to mix in drama, romance, comedy, and a very tense plot is a hard task, but this movie accomplished the feat. The acting for everyone is superb( especially for the kid actors). They put you "inside" the slum giving off the feeling of fear from their cries. I would highly recommend Danny Boyle successfully combines a variety of different genres to make a truly spectacular movie. Managing to mix in drama, romance, comedy, and a very tense plot is a hard task, but this movie accomplished the feat. The acting for everyone is superb( especially for the kid actors). They put you "inside" the slum giving off the feeling of fear from their cries. I would highly recommend this modern classic. Expand
  44. SamC
    Nov 29, 2009
    4
    I have seen a lot better movies about conditions in the Third World. Entertaining but contrived with some ridiculous twists.
  45. speedydamon
    Sep 8, 2009
    2
    this is the movie which deserve two awards to sy the least.THE MOST OVERRATED MOVIE & THE BEST FEEL-GOOD MOVIE TO THE WEST.all the director does at his best is that to portray India as a big slum.all the shady characters are Indians and the occassional foriegn tourists are the only messiahs.very cool indeed.I think it is well hatched plot by the academy to give awards to two indians whothis is the movie which deserve two awards to sy the least.THE MOST OVERRATED MOVIE & THE BEST FEEL-GOOD MOVIE TO THE WEST.all the director does at his best is that to portray India as a big slum.all the shady characters are Indians and the occassional foriegn tourists are the only messiahs.very cool indeed.I think it is well hatched plot by the academy to give awards to two indians who worked with the film so that they can be sure it will grab the attention of India.Rahman has given to Indians sweeter melodies than jai ho to the Indians.Its a very poor attempt to showcase the poverty of India so that the westerners can feel good about themselves.same can be said abt the Booker Prize given to Aravind Adiga.Pure, unadultrated crap. Expand
  46. nickvgsds
    Aug 15, 2009
    7
    i liked it but can't stand those stupid idian kdis, they are annoying and are all little shits. I hate indian people especially when they speak english that accent they have is the worst. I wish i could meet those little kids so i caould punch them in the face, Indian people shoud not be allowed to live, who's with me lets wipe them off the face of the earth. At school there arei liked it but can't stand those stupid idian kdis, they are annoying and are all little shits. I hate indian people especially when they speak english that accent they have is the worst. I wish i could meet those little kids so i caould punch them in the face, Indian people shoud not be allowed to live, who's with me lets wipe them off the face of the earth. At school there are 234234234234 of them, and they ask the dumbest questions, DIE INDIANS PLEASE DO US A FAVOR. Expand
  47. neillm
    Jul 10, 2009
    3
    i was looking forward to seeing this because everyone i know enjoyed it, but i thought it was boring, drab, and over-rated. Needs to recolor some of the subtitles, white text on a yellow background (i believe it was a car) is damn near impossible to read.

    The story was nice, i like the concept, just didn;t do it for me as a film.
  48. StevenL
    Jun 22, 2009
    8
    @ Aaron: since when does a Danny Boyle flick that cost 5 million dollars provided by Warner to produce constitute a "low-budget independent flick"? I'll agree that Slumdog was thoroughly engaging and overall satisfying, and would recommend it to others. Best picture of 2008? Maybe, maybe not, but it certainly hits a chord.
  49. erin
    Jun 17, 2009
    10
    This was one of my favorite movies of all time. It showed you just how violent and poverty-stricken the slums of India are, it showed you the fierce hatred between Hindus and Muslims, it even showed you the lives of children living in India. Apart from nerve-tingling violence (a boy getting his eyes cut out, a girl getting a knife slashed across her face, a young boy killing a man with a This was one of my favorite movies of all time. It showed you just how violent and poverty-stricken the slums of India are, it showed you the fierce hatred between Hindus and Muslims, it even showed you the lives of children living in India. Apart from nerve-tingling violence (a boy getting his eyes cut out, a girl getting a knife slashed across her face, a young boy killing a man with a revolver, a young boy getting beaten harshly by a guard, people setting a man on fire, a boy getting electrocuted) there was a very strong and great message to this movie. There was also slight sexual refrences, but they were very mild (a boy leading a girl into a room, girls dancing scandaly, boys walking through an alley of prostitutes, but not giving them money, although they walk in on a couple but it does not show anything). I thought the acting in it was spectacular. The children playing young Jamal, Salim, and Latika were outstanding, convincing you they truly lived in the slums of India, as well as the older versions convincing you their lives had slowly panned out and changed them into very different people by a sequence of events. There was slight cussing as well (the b-word, d-word, and s-word said only a couple times). But the themes of the movie, you could not help but feel heartbroken at how the children were living in such a poor, violent situation. Being beaten for hardly no reason, having to search through trash heaps, live in such a polluted area...it was incredibly heart-wrenching. There are a few disturbing events, such as a boy jumping into a waste mound, a boy getting his eyes scooped out with acid, a girl dressed up as a hindu god with several disgusting piercings, a boy getting hot chili peppers stuck down his pants, and many others. But apart from the violence and slight sexual references this movie taught me how truly lucky I am to live in such a free country, where people can't take me away to try to force me into gangs to shoot people, or to work as a prostitute. It also showed that just from your experiences, even if you are a "slumdog" from India, if you have traveled places or learned things from your experiences, you can know just as much as a rich gameshow host. :) Expand
  50. caporegime
    Jun 10, 2009
    8
    Danny Boyle turned a simple plot into a superb movie. Not every director has that kind of talent. Not every plot turns into a well done movie. One of the best movies this year.
  51. StevenH
    Jun 1, 2009
    4
    I was waiting for them to get gunned down by the gang at the end, but when they didn't, and especially after the credit sequence, I decided that this is one of the most overrated films ever.
  52. AaronR
    May 31, 2009
    9
    I rarely watch independent films. When Persepolis was released, I had no desire to go and see it. After hearing about all the Oscars that Slumdog won, I figured I'd order it on demand. I have never been so happy to spend $5 and 2 hours for a movie. Not only did it hide its low-budget production extremely well, but it said to the major Hollywood producers, "Get off you're lazy I rarely watch independent films. When Persepolis was released, I had no desire to go and see it. After hearing about all the Oscars that Slumdog won, I figured I'd order it on demand. I have never been so happy to spend $5 and 2 hours for a movie. Not only did it hide its low-budget production extremely well, but it said to the major Hollywood producers, "Get off you're lazy asses and make a good movie! We made one without all the high-tech equipment, why can't you do the same?!" I would have given this movie a 10 but I felt that the love story was unoriginal, which is not a bad thing; I just would have liked it even more had it been 100% original. Due yourself a favor and watch this movie. It definitely lives up to the hype. Expand
  53. LiefS
    May 20, 2009
    7
    Ok after hearing enough about; I finally checked it out and discovered that it is definitely over hyped but not as bad as some critics are claiming. It was different; which is more than I can say about most of the movies that have been coming out. That is why the wrestler and itself got so many nominations or won something. As for the movie there were definitely some corny/ dry scenes but Ok after hearing enough about; I finally checked it out and discovered that it is definitely over hyped but not as bad as some critics are claiming. It was different; which is more than I can say about most of the movies that have been coming out. That is why the wrestler and itself got so many nominations or won something. As for the movie there were definitely some corny/ dry scenes but not enough to have pushed this movie score below a 5; so if you fell asleep watching, its not the movie; its your narcolepsy. Anybody giving it a 10 needs to realize that there r a few numbers between 0-10; because you enjoyed it doesn't make it a perfect movie. Expand
  54. ChrisS
    May 4, 2009
    7
    If you are one of those people that has problems with plausibilility, you might have problems with this movie as I did. Was it gritty realism or an idealistic romance?
  55. StuartM
    Apr 25, 2009
    5
    I didn't really understand why the movie got all that hype and I still don't after watching it. They beat the fact that they were poverty stricken orphans to death. They beat the fact that the one brother is good and the one is bad to death to. Underneath all of its flashiness it was a cheap love story wrapped around some occasional violence. Good movies and especially Oscar I didn't really understand why the movie got all that hype and I still don't after watching it. They beat the fact that they were poverty stricken orphans to death. They beat the fact that the one brother is good and the one is bad to death to. Underneath all of its flashiness it was a cheap love story wrapped around some occasional violence. Good movies and especially Oscar worthy ones have to strike a better balance between plot driven and character development stories. The wrestler another Oscar nominated movie took 111 minutes just to tell us hes a washed up loser who only know how to wrestle. Expand
  56. kishand
    Apr 24, 2009
    10
    Exciting, heartbeating drama that keeps you on the edge of your seat BRILLIANT!!!
  57. so
    Apr 22, 2009
    2
    Stupid. boring. i got the dvd and was waiting and waiting for the movie to live up to all the Oscars it won and it never happened.i fast forwarded through half of it because it was so damn boring. and the part with him not caring if he won the money seemed totally unrealistic. horrible.although there were a few redeeming parts such as the nail biting ending.
  58. AndrasG
    Apr 20, 2009
    0
    This is a joke.
  59. MartinG
    Apr 20, 2009
    5
    Utterly average. Script is okay and cheesy at times. Acting is average. The camera work is average. It does show India in a non-bollywood way which is nice, but nothing worthy of praise. The only reason it's done well is because of the PC times we live in and the "oh poor them" attitude the film portrays. It's a feel good movie so utterly predictable and unrealistic. Honestly, Utterly average. Script is okay and cheesy at times. Acting is average. The camera work is average. It does show India in a non-bollywood way which is nice, but nothing worthy of praise. The only reason it's done well is because of the PC times we live in and the "oh poor them" attitude the film portrays. It's a feel good movie so utterly predictable and unrealistic. Honestly, if you want to feel good, watch a comedy. If you want to watch something about good people hard done by coming out all the better, watch Defiance. This movie is cheesy & uninspired, no different from your average chick flick. Expand
  60. maurciol
    Apr 19, 2009
    10
    Damm this movie really took Hollywood by surprise, it deserved all the awards and was really impacting.
  61. DanC
    Apr 18, 2009
    10
    Fantastic movie .. I do not see how anyone can rate this lower then a 9, some people are crazy and must be really picky. This is one of the best movies I have seen, ever.
  62. TylerB
    Apr 18, 2009
    6
    Mediocre movie. Way Overrated. I just don't get how it got such high reviews. The only things good about this movie were the child actors and the cinematography. The obviously bad brother who for some random reason decided to help the good brother at the end didn't make sense. Alot of other things kind of weirded me out but overall it was entertaining in short bursts throughout Mediocre movie. Way Overrated. I just don't get how it got such high reviews. The only things good about this movie were the child actors and the cinematography. The obviously bad brother who for some random reason decided to help the good brother at the end didn't make sense. Alot of other things kind of weirded me out but overall it was entertaining in short bursts throughout the movie. I'd recommend seeing it once but I really preferred Gran torino and Benjamin Button. I can't vouch for the other movies that were nominated but I didn't see those. Expand
  63. Gideon
    Apr 12, 2009
    5
    Gerry G is a d bag. I doubt you have had to sacrifice anything in your upity life. I like how you compare a movie to real life of "all Americans". I think it is fairly ignorant for either of you to base your opinions of who Americans are from tv or visiting a small area of this country. You act like everyone in America sits on their ass and does not work or fight for what they have. Good Gerry G is a d bag. I doubt you have had to sacrifice anything in your upity life. I like how you compare a movie to real life of "all Americans". I think it is fairly ignorant for either of you to base your opinions of who Americans are from tv or visiting a small area of this country. You act like everyone in America sits on their ass and does not work or fight for what they have. Good thing there is the internet; if you didn't have a blog to bitch on or complain about, you'd get back handed like the bitch you are. Hate on us all you want. I Wonder where your shitty country would be with out us. Oh I forget. People tend to stop dick rhydin if the money comes up dry. If Americans are so damn stupid, then how did we get where we are today. How does it feel to be weaker then a bunch of fucking idiots. I have lived in poverty most of my life. I worked my ass off and I assure you I am more well off then 90% of people that have even posted on this blog. You may rip on me for my sorry english but I am a lab engineer and work in data centers costing over 40 million dollars. Go fuck yourself buddy. What do you do? Keep basing your opinions off of little polls people create to make all Americans look stupid. You cultural racist piece of shit. Go ahead and hate the great! Expand
  64. EthanA
    Apr 11, 2009
    10
    A beautiful and breathtaking look at a once-in-a-lifetime chance story of a teenager "slumdog" who just happens to be nearing the final question of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire. How did he do it? The acting was AMAZING. Dev and Freida deserved the recognition they got, but what really stood out, were the amazing child actors! Especially the young trio (Jamal, Salim, and Latika) See it A beautiful and breathtaking look at a once-in-a-lifetime chance story of a teenager "slumdog" who just happens to be nearing the final question of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire. How did he do it? The acting was AMAZING. Dev and Freida deserved the recognition they got, but what really stood out, were the amazing child actors! Especially the young trio (Jamal, Salim, and Latika) See it twice or however many times it takes to recognize this as the best film of 08! Expand
  65. AnonymousMC
    Apr 11, 2009
    10
    How can anyone hate this movie?-oh wait a minute, I know why, they're busy watching Meet the Spartans and Disaster Movie. This is a unique film. I've never seen anything like it, and every moment I spent watching left me speechless. Beautiful movie. Best of the Year? Nah, I still say The Dark Knight is the best, but it is tide second best with The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.
  66. JohnH
    Apr 10, 2009
    10
    No wonder why it won Best Picture. The top five best movies last year in my opinion were Slumdog Millionaire, The Dark Knight, Gran Torino, The Changeling, and Iron Man. This is a great movie that everyone should see. Great acting, musical score, special effects, and everything. A very well done film!!!!!!!!!!
  67. KevinCorcoran
    Apr 10, 2009
    5
    Not impressed. Nowhere near the hype. Didn't even deserve to get nominated for anything. The dork and the girl barely even know each other...and that's what they built this steaming pile of overrated on? Also, if I never hear a damn Indian song again it will be too soon.
  68. SodomG
    Apr 7, 2009
    1
    Horndog Bazillionaire!
  69. AngeloI
    Apr 6, 2009
    1
    I was completely let down by this movie. I just don't see what all the hype was about. Very hard to follow but simply a series of segments of his life on how he knew the answers. SO WHAT? Only became interesting in the last 15 minutes and by then I was so pissed off at wasting my time watching it, I lost all confidence in movie reviewers. Terrible movie. Don't waste your time.
  70. RB
    Apr 6, 2009
    9
    Excellent movie. The story is what makes it so great. Just the ending I found a bit corny, but other than that this movie is one of the best I have ever seen!
  71. GerryG
    Apr 4, 2009
    4
    I'd sure like to talk further to Sylvia V who gave the film a 2. Finally someone else who recognizes how Western audiences delude themselves into a sense of moral superiority by vicariously experiencing the struggles of others from the safety and comfort of their arm chair. No wonder North Americans are so completely lacking in substance. They confuse the images of personal struggle I'd sure like to talk further to Sylvia V who gave the film a 2. Finally someone else who recognizes how Western audiences delude themselves into a sense of moral superiority by vicariously experiencing the struggles of others from the safety and comfort of their arm chair. No wonder North Americans are so completely lacking in substance. They confuse the images of personal struggle and survival and in this film or the personal sacrifice of people like "Schindler" or with "Erin Brockovich" with themselves and delude themselves with the illusion of moral superiority by association. Consequently, when the chips are down, Americans simply assume their own superiority without ever having risked or sacrificed anything of real substance themselves. This is an OK movie but it is so utterly implausable it's little more than fluff. I think it's appeal is in the vicarious experience and idiotically tidy plot. Expand
  72. SteveK
    Apr 4, 2009
    10
    Probably one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. Words cannot express the amount of emotion packed into this amazing film.
  73. MichelleS
    Apr 1, 2009
    8
    Oscars aside, I heard so many good things about this movie from friends, I just had to see it. Honestly I was uninterested, had no desire to see this movie and figured I would hate it. But I really started to get into it and in the end thought it was a great movie. The flashbacks made it a little confusing at times, but it was necessary for the storyline. I found this to be an intriguing Oscars aside, I heard so many good things about this movie from friends, I just had to see it. Honestly I was uninterested, had no desire to see this movie and figured I would hate it. But I really started to get into it and in the end thought it was a great movie. The flashbacks made it a little confusing at times, but it was necessary for the storyline. I found this to be an intriguing love story, along with a success story proving that no matter where we come from or how bad our life has been, there is always hope for a great outcome. And that even if you come from the "slums" you do not have to fit a certain stereotype as Jamal's brother did. I think it's worth watching, even if you're skeptical. The only reason I gave it an 8 is because it was a bit slow to get into the meat of the story and in the beginning it was a bit choppy. Expand
  74. kenanh
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    I went to go see this the day it came out and i had no idea what to expect. I went crazy and I loved this movie so much. I got goosebumps through out the movie. I usually hate feel good movies, but the thing with this movie is that it actually did make me feel really good. Best movie this year by far.
  75. PhilD
    Mar 30, 2009
    9
    What people need to understand... what if you only knew 10 things... ever? Only 10 things -- because you grew up in the slums. And by some kind of luck, those 10 things happen to be the exact 10 things needed to change your life! And what if each of those 10 things had a harrowing story to go a long with each answer ? That's what this movie is all about. It's about destiny.
  76. JayH
    Mar 23, 2009
    7
    Perhaps my expectations were too high going into the film. It is indeed well crafted, with outstanding cinematography, editing and score. It has a great pace and rich character development. It didn't "wow" me though. I did thoroughly enjoy it, but it isn't among my favorite best picture winners.
  77. SylviaV
    Mar 21, 2009
    2
    A huge letdown considering all the hype! Apart from being visually impressive and having a few mildly entertaining moments, this movie is confusing at best and pointless, naive and overblown at worst. I mean, the 2 main characters that are supposed to be deeply in love never even exchange a proper sentence, and the character of Jamal Malik is as blank as a sheet of paper. Not to mention A huge letdown considering all the hype! Apart from being visually impressive and having a few mildly entertaining moments, this movie is confusing at best and pointless, naive and overblown at worst. I mean, the 2 main characters that are supposed to be deeply in love never even exchange a proper sentence, and the character of Jamal Malik is as blank as a sheet of paper. Not to mention that the point of the story completely escapes me...unless the point is depicting all the worst horrors of Indian poverty just to elicit the shock and pity of the white, Western viewer comfortably seated in a cinema chair with lots popcorn in his hand. I am forced to conclude that this is one of the main reasons why this movie got so many awards- to appease social consciousness. It seems that by patching graphic scenes of poverty and violence onto a pointless, confusing plot and a set of faceless characters, we come to what is, today, considered a highly acclaimed movie. Expand
  78. DanL.
    Mar 12, 2009
    7
    Slumdog Millioniare is clean production, reminiscent of a music video. This turns out to be its greatest flaw. Full of shine and glitz, in the end Slumdog Millionare feels, for some reason, as if it has no soul. Fun fluff. That's all.
  79. O.C.H
    Mar 9, 2009
    6
    Like so many others, I watch Slumdog because of all of the Oscar hype. After watching it, I can only say this: I have no idea why this won so many of the darn things. There were a few interesting bits, but the entire first half was pretty boring. Plus, the entire story is about as plausible as me dating Latika. Is it worth watching? If you like love stories, then possiby. Should it have Like so many others, I watch Slumdog because of all of the Oscar hype. After watching it, I can only say this: I have no idea why this won so many of the darn things. There were a few interesting bits, but the entire first half was pretty boring. Plus, the entire story is about as plausible as me dating Latika. Is it worth watching? If you like love stories, then possiby. Should it have won any Oscars? NO! Collapse
  80. smo
    Mar 8, 2009
    4
    Slums are cool. i mean, where else can you walk around covered in sh**? This movie is a feast for the overstimulated. Is someone trying to trumpet down the distinction between films and music videos for good? I do like the juxtaposition of game show to 'hard knocks school of life', yet this theme is no longer that fresh.
  81. SHOURITE
    Mar 5, 2009
    7
    The most accurate review here is by "C D" & not because he/she is from Mumbai but because of the plot and acting holes in the film that he/she identifies. Slumdog is entertaining and stylistically shot but does not come close to crossing the threshold of a truly great film that deserves a 9 or 10 rating.
  82. DavidBurkhart
    Mar 2, 2009
    0
    This may be the worst movie ever made. I take that back. "From Beyond" is the worst. This one is second. Not one of the reviews I've read even mentioned the aspect of the persecution of the Muslims in a Hindu country. Where is the moral indignation at India for this racist behavior? The reviewers all mention the vibrant colors of the slums. That makes it the best film of the year? WhyThis may be the worst movie ever made. I take that back. "From Beyond" is the worst. This one is second. Not one of the reviews I've read even mentioned the aspect of the persecution of the Muslims in a Hindu country. Where is the moral indignation at India for this racist behavior? The reviewers all mention the vibrant colors of the slums. That makes it the best film of the year? Why should we be visually assaulted watching a movie? Crap.This movie is crap. Expand
  83. MK
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    Saw it first day it came out, having now idea what I was getting myself into... and look at it now!
  84. DavidB
    Mar 1, 2009
    1
    Without doubt one of my all time worst experiances in the cinema - and a prime example of how seemingly intelligent critics would rather not upset the apple cart and state the facts - this film is awfull! The script is badly written, characters are totally without any depth or substance, serious themes of poverty are used as puerile plot points then thrown away as and when it doesn't Without doubt one of my all time worst experiances in the cinema - and a prime example of how seemingly intelligent critics would rather not upset the apple cart and state the facts - this film is awfull! The script is badly written, characters are totally without any depth or substance, serious themes of poverty are used as puerile plot points then thrown away as and when it doesn't serve a totally twee unbelievable romance. The acting is uniformly amatureish - none of the protaganists create any humanity beyond the writers belief you should care for them due to their sufferings - and the fact they are contrasted with one dimensional evil characters all around them. Maybe if the director wanted to make some serious points about 3rd world poverty he could of done it with more rounded characters? Some of the representations of India (police torture because you get a few questions right on a game show) are ludicrous verging on racist. Which maybe ok in a fairy tale, but then don't make a fairy tale and use serious issues as plot devices. Far from being proud of this piece of dirge (as the UK press are suggesting) British Cinema should bow it's head in shame. Expand
  85. TaylorC
    Feb 28, 2009
    10
    Slumdog Millionaire is an absolute masterpiece. Everything about the film is amazing. The direction is amazing, the acting is amazing, the writing is amazing, the cinematography is amazing, and the score and music are amazing as well. This is the kind of movie that everyone can appreciate. It has themes of dramas, comedies, musicals, and especially romance. It might seem like everyone is Slumdog Millionaire is an absolute masterpiece. Everything about the film is amazing. The direction is amazing, the acting is amazing, the writing is amazing, the cinematography is amazing, and the score and music are amazing as well. This is the kind of movie that everyone can appreciate. It has themes of dramas, comedies, musicals, and especially romance. It might seem like everyone is overrating this movie, but oh no that is wrong. In my opinion, this movie is underrated. Slumdog Millionaire is definite must-see and is one of the greatest movies I have ever seen, if not the greatest. Expand
  86. GabrielC.
    Feb 28, 2009
    10
    One of the bests movies i've ever seen. The actors performance are brilliant mainly the youngest actors. I love it.
  87. AliC
    Feb 28, 2009
    10
    Excuse me, how can you let JM call this film 'the gayest crap ever'? Would you publish comments saying something is niggerish? No. So why is homophobia allowed?
  88. bernd
    Feb 27, 2009
    5
    Very overrated and cliched. Not worthy of any Academy Awards. What happened?
  89. Carols
    Feb 25, 2009
    2
    I don't understand how this movie won Best Motion Picture. I was horrified by the poverty and the devastating life of those children of the slums. Their live was beyond despair. It was a tribute to the human spirit that they survived at all. And if this had been a documentary void of the fairytale love story and the game show it would have had merit. But as it was I feel it was I don't understand how this movie won Best Motion Picture. I was horrified by the poverty and the devastating life of those children of the slums. Their live was beyond despair. It was a tribute to the human spirit that they survived at all. And if this had been a documentary void of the fairytale love story and the game show it would have had merit. But as it was I feel it was exploitation to the max. I think Boyle and his cronies should be ashamed of themselves. Expand
  90. KR
    Feb 25, 2009
    3
    Why this predictable, schmaltzy movie won Best Picture and is being so widely praised is beyond me. THE DARK KNIGHT, RACHEL GETTING MARRIED, VICKY CHRISTINA BARCELONA, THE WRESTLER and WALL-E were all far better movies.
  91. KieranS
    Feb 24, 2009
    8
    Rightly said N.C. It is utter hype, and pure escapism. Forrest Gump 2 is a good nickname for this movie.
  92. CassieM.
    Feb 23, 2009
    10
    One of the best movies I have seen in a long time (and for all you idiots who say that the movie is not realistic when it comes to India and their econamic situation and people, you need to do your research) It may have been unrealistic at times, but that is no reason to hate an amazing movie. It was a really touching story and I left the theater amazed.
  93. MC
    Feb 23, 2009
    5
    Poorly acted, entertaining, but too long formula piece. "It's grim, we get it, move on." I understand why some in India feel it's exploitive, but I can't tell who's being exploited, the naive movie goers or the poor people portrayed in this very average movie.
  94. ArupB
    Feb 22, 2009
    2
    I just happened to see the movie before the Academy Awards results are declared. I can offer two observations on the movie notwithstanding the "ga-ga" attitude of the western media. 1. The movie is nothing, but a standard documentary that describes only the darker, poorer aspect of India. Everybody in India and in the Third World ,seems to be a fraud from the police constable, a brother, I just happened to see the movie before the Academy Awards results are declared. I can offer two observations on the movie notwithstanding the "ga-ga" attitude of the western media. 1. The movie is nothing, but a standard documentary that describes only the darker, poorer aspect of India. Everybody in India and in the Third World ,seems to be a fraud from the police constable, a brother, and upto the top entreupreneur - the man who is hosting the TV show(Played by Anil Kapoor). Probably that is what the West would like to see in India;and that is what Danny Boyle has seen. Which is why, the movie is such a runaway hit in the West. 2. The Movie is an abashed depiction of the Racist attitude of the white man and the West. Even after getting striped off all the parts of a Mercedes, the White tourist still shows benevolence by offering a $100 bill to the prime suspect and mutters - "look what we can do" or something to that effect. That it is extremely undigestible; I could well feel it, as I have traveled extensively in the Western world. I hope to get some comments on that. h Expand
  95. Canon
    Feb 20, 2009
    10
    amazing movie i founded spectacular indeed in terms of the storyline and where it takes place, the slums of india. The love story just captured me.
  96. Alex
    Feb 19, 2009
    6
    Doesn't live up to its hype... not bad, but nothing special either...
  97. matthewa
    Feb 19, 2009
    2
    Very mediocre. I agree with other sentiments about moviegoers jumping on the 'awards bandwagon.' There is nothing really original about this film other than the fact that it comes from India. I could not help but think that this movie was simply a combination of a couple of movies I have seen before and it was much less powerful. The film tries to juggle too many half baked Very mediocre. I agree with other sentiments about moviegoers jumping on the 'awards bandwagon.' There is nothing really original about this film other than the fact that it comes from India. I could not help but think that this movie was simply a combination of a couple of movies I have seen before and it was much less powerful. The film tries to juggle too many half baked messages and plot twists to be of real substance; and propped up by acting that is OK at best this film is not worth the praise it is getting. Expand
  98. JohnM.
    Feb 16, 2009
    0
    I cannot understand all this weird appraisal noise about this underrate piece of movie. It
  99. SteveM.
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    Excellent film depiction of life in contemporary India.
  100. BarneyW.
    Feb 12, 2009
    9
    Fantastic film which I will remember for a long time. I found that the young actors were especially believable and while it is a essentially a fairy tale that would never happen in the real world, it is one of the best damn fairy tales I have ever seen. Don't forget that, if this film was 100% realistic, it would just be depressing.
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Mendelson
    80
    Absolutely perfect family entertainment for anyone over the age of ten. It is a celebration of not just the usual triumph of the human spirit, but a celebration of the human experience.
  2. 88
    The result is magical and life affirming, and will enrapture those who are not scared away by the mention of "subtitles."
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Brunette
    70
    What's perhaps most fascinating about the film is Boyle's relentless focus on the realities of present-day India as a vehicle for his spectacle and laughs.