Slumdog Millionaire

Slumdog Millionaire Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 669 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Slumdog Millionaire is the story of Jamal Malik, an 18 year-old orphan from the slums of Mumbai, who is about to experience the biggest day of his life. With the whole nation watching, he is just one question away from winning a staggering 20 million rupees on India’s “Who Wants To Be ASlumdog Millionaire is the story of Jamal Malik, an 18 year-old orphan from the slums of Mumbai, who is about to experience the biggest day of his life. With the whole nation watching, he is just one question away from winning a staggering 20 million rupees on India’s “Who Wants To Be A Millionaire?”But when the show breaks for the night, police arrest him on suspicion of cheating; how could a street kid know so much? Desperate to prove his innocence, Jamal tells the story of his life in the slum where he and his brother grew up, of their adventures together on the road, of vicious encounters with local gangs, and of Latika, the girl he loved and lost. Each chapter of his story reveals the key to the answer to one of the game show’s questions. Intrigued by Jamal’s story, the jaded Police Inspector begins to wonder what a young man with no apparent desire for riches is really doing on this game show? When the new day dawns and Jamal returns to answer the final question, the Inspector and sixty million viewers are about to find out. [Fox Searchlight] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 100
    A terrific yarn, one so engrossing and surprising that the nature of the story's structure -- each question Jamal gets asked on the show corresponds with a traumatic or momentous moment from his childhood -- never feels like a contrived framing device.
  2. The story may stretch credibility until it's ready to pop its seams, but Patel conveys the simple confidence of a prodigy who has learned everything important in life, except how to lie.
  3. 100
    Four stars simply aren't enough for Danny Boyle's Slumdog Millionaire, which just may be the most entertaining movie I've ever labeled a masterpiece in these pages.
  4. 89
    Like Mumbai, Slumdog pulses and throbs with raw, unadulterated life and the hope for a better Bombay, today. It's brilliant.
  5. 83
    Boyle, one of the premier stylists in the world fills "Slumdog" with ebullient energy and ceaseless invention.
  6. 80
    The real star of the film is not a person but a city, the vertiginous, exciting, massively overcrowded "maximum city" of Mumbai. On one hand, this environment of Dickensian, almost hallucinatory contrasts between rich and poor, good and evil feels perfect for Danny Boyle.
  7. Doesn't hit its stride until the last 30 minutes, and by then, it's just a little too late.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 207
  1. AustinB.
    Dec 21, 2008
    10
    I can imagine audiences in every country dancing in the theatre. no matter who you are you will like this movie in some way.
  2. CassieM.
    Feb 23, 2009
    10
    One of the best movies I have seen in a long time (and for all you idiots who say that the movie is not realistic when it comes to India and One of the best movies I have seen in a long time (and for all you idiots who say that the movie is not realistic when it comes to India and their econamic situation and people, you need to do your research) It may have been unrealistic at times, but that is no reason to hate an amazing movie. It was a really touching story and I left the theater amazed. Expand
  3. May 9, 2011
    10
    A liberating and uplifting movie and the feel-good film of the decade, Danny Boyle delivers the Oscar Winning Slumdog Millionaire. And it'sA liberating and uplifting movie and the feel-good film of the decade, Danny Boyle delivers the Oscar Winning Slumdog Millionaire. And it's easy to tell why the film has won numerous awards. The film focuses upon Jamil Malik (Dev Patel) an 18 year old orphan from the slums of Mumbai and a constant on the Indian version of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire, who is one question away from winning 20 million rupees. However he arrested in suspision of cheating. During his interrogation Jamil reveals his incredible and heartwrenching story of his life as a young boy growing up on the streets of Mumbai with his brother Salim, and how he loved and lost the girl of his dreams Latika (Freida Pinto), each question links to a memoir of Jamil's exhilarating life. Superbly well directed in the ever capable and inspring hands of Danny Boyle who delivers a beautiful film from start to finish and one that will live long in the memory, utterly unmissable! Expand
  4. ChrisJ.
    Dec 22, 2008
    9
    This is a very good movie, but was much more troubling content than I expected from the trailer. I think that the way the film contrasts the This is a very good movie, but was much more troubling content than I expected from the trailer. I think that the way the film contrasts the slums in India with the westernized upper middle class India is interesting. The film builds to a pretty good conclusion. But you will like it more if you do go in understanding that the movie shows many harsh realities. Expand
  5. GreysonT
    Jan 18, 2009
    8
    Interesting movie, if only for the fact that my date for the night actually said the love story to it detracted from the movie. Acting was Interesting movie, if only for the fact that my date for the night actually said the love story to it detracted from the movie. Acting was good, the sense of humor was dry and often not easy to spot, and yet it still managed to punch you in the gut in the early half of the movie. The last half was it's weakest in my opinion. Expand
  6. WandaD.
    Dec 29, 2008
    6
    I am not usually one to write reviews, but since my point of view is not represented....I walked out of this film. It started with a torture I am not usually one to write reviews, but since my point of view is not represented....I walked out of this film. It started with a torture scene, which was soon followed by a mob scene in which the hero's mother is murdered. The hero and his brother (now orphans) are soon picked up by an "orphanage." The orphanage teaches the kids to beg and when they burn one of the kid's eyes out to make him a better beggar - I walked out. I've seen many movies set in India and was ready for the poverty that would be portrayed. But it was too much. The scene of the kid getting his eyes burned out, haunted me for two days. The story had a great premise, but with each answer he gave in the quiz show - there was a related horror. That said, my husband really liked it. For me I could not stomach it. Expand
  7. JohnM.
    Feb 16, 2009
    0
    I cannot understand all this weird appraisal noise about this underrate piece of movie. It

See all 207 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 28 Best Picture Oscar Winners, Ranked From Worst to Best

    28 Best Picture Oscar Winners, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: February 18, 2016
    We rank the best picture winners of the past three decades.
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.