Miramax Films | Release Date: April 11, 2008
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 78 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
50
Mixed:
18
Negative:
10
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
ryanneevmanDec 23, 2014
Smart people is not a very great movie. It moves at a slow pace without really anything interesting happening, and it just is not very entertaining. Haden church makes things fairly enjoyable when he is on screen, but other than him, theSmart people is not a very great movie. It moves at a slow pace without really anything interesting happening, and it just is not very entertaining. Haden church makes things fairly enjoyable when he is on screen, but other than him, the movie is very weak. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ArendelleawesomMay 31, 2014
I didn't know what to expect from this movie being as dramas aren't really my thing and I'm fairly new to them I enjoyed this movie though I thought it was good the drama was pretty cliche and I found the father tended to keep a single toneI didn't know what to expect from this movie being as dramas aren't really my thing and I'm fairly new to them I enjoyed this movie though I thought it was good the drama was pretty cliche and I found the father tended to keep a single tone of voice throughout the entire movie one thing I did like though was that the characters were meant to be smart and they did appear to be very intelligent individuals except for two who weren't meant to be so I also thought the humor actually funny and found myself laughing throughout the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MarkMay 12, 2009
Interesting story that was poorly written. Cliche and attempted to be deep -- weak.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PatrickDMar 26, 2009
The problem with the movie is that it is uninspired. It's not terrible in any aspect. The acting is credible, the direction is okay, but it lacks any heart. The worst sin of the movie is that it's boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomP.Dec 30, 2008
Loved the tone and humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TonyB.Dec 19, 2008
Ellen Page and Thomas Haden Church are the only reasons to see this one. Sara Jessica Parker is adequate in a poorly written role, but Dennis Quaid is not even that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SamS.Nov 12, 2008
The only thing more pathetic than knowing this movie is the sad and boring autobiography of the playwright, Mark Poirier, is the attempt of Dennis Quaid to conceal the fact that he's not 'acting' but is, in reality, that pathetic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CraigA.Sep 2, 2008
Coming of middle-age drama about a university professor who begins the film as an overgrown infant and ends it as every student's favorite lecturer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TrevorAug 30, 2008
Really disappointed me. The premise has great potential, but the characters are mostly unlikeable. There is no chemistry between the leads, and Dennis Quaid comes off more like a semi-retarded, old pervert than a misunderstood, grumpy Really disappointed me. The premise has great potential, but the characters are mostly unlikeable. There is no chemistry between the leads, and Dennis Quaid comes off more like a semi-retarded, old pervert than a misunderstood, grumpy genius. Several plot devices are very cliched, and the ending is pretty much as cheesy as you can get. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
martinlAug 25, 2008
terrible movie. I didn't even care how it ended, I just couldn't wait to pop that f*cking disgrace out of my dvd player. It try so hard to seem as if it doesn't need to try. It try so hard to prove how funny it can be under terrible movie. I didn't even care how it ended, I just couldn't wait to pop that f*cking disgrace out of my dvd player. It try so hard to seem as if it doesn't need to try. It try so hard to prove how funny it can be under the unusual circumstances of not wanting to be funny. There is absolutely nothing relatable about these characters- and the only people who can relate wouldn't dare want to. Page as the smartass teenage, Church as the goofball, and Quaid as the uptight father- how groundbreaking. I suppose there are worse movies, if you dig deep, but do not see this movie. Don't waste your time. It seems like 5 hours of hell. Except there is not the enjoyable experience of watching it fall and crumble like some films. It just simply never stood up. ...make that 5 hours of purgatory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JeffC.Aug 12, 2008
The WORST rental I have endured in a while.... Embarrassing for everyone involved. I had high hopes coming from the SIDEWAYS crew... but this was a stinker. A series of "we have to talk" moments stuck together with a soundtrack that tried to The WORST rental I have endured in a while.... Embarrassing for everyone involved. I had high hopes coming from the SIDEWAYS crew... but this was a stinker. A series of "we have to talk" moments stuck together with a soundtrack that tried to bring some kind of drama that the script couldn't. Character driven? .... into the ditch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Aug 7, 2008
A witty film and well acted by all, especially Thomas Haden Church. It does drag occasionally, but the there is always Ellen Page to perk things up. Nicely done, but not outstanding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
OgestJul 22, 2008
I really liked this movie, interesting story. Ellen Page did an excellent job in this movie. The jokes really appealed to me, since I like that kind of humor. Everyone who liked "Juno" should watch this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MickyJ.Jul 8, 2008
Loved it. Because of the cast and maybe the marketing, people were expecting something other than the intelligent, thoughtful, and intimate dark comedy that this is. Amazing performances from all the leads, sharp writing, and top-notch Loved it. Because of the cast and maybe the marketing, people were expecting something other than the intelligent, thoughtful, and intimate dark comedy that this is. Amazing performances from all the leads, sharp writing, and top-notch directing make this one of the best films of 2008. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DavidGMay 26, 2008
Good acting, but a horrible plot. The characters make no sense, and it seems like all of the character development happens offscreen..
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
jefframoneMay 7, 2008
"Smart People" = Dumb Movie. There is nothing really nothing knew going on here: Dysfunctional family of characters lead by a curmudgeon widower father who learns to love again. Everyone is strangely miscast, no one does anything really "Smart People" = Dumb Movie. There is nothing really nothing knew going on here: Dysfunctional family of characters lead by a curmudgeon widower father who learns to love again. Everyone is strangely miscast, no one does anything really surprising or even interesting. It's like the screenwriter just assumes that we know these kinds of characters (and we do) and just lazily plops them into a quick-moving current that spills into a basin of predictability. Perhaps the most laughable character in the movie, is that of the success-obsessed, young Republican, Stanford-bound teenage daughter played by Ellen Page. This character is the polar opposite of the titular character played by Page in "Juno", I can't blame her for wanting to do something really different. It would be really ease for her to get type-cast as a wise-cracking teenager. But she is hardly believable in this role. But not because of her acting, but because of the writing. She almost doesn't go see her dad in the hospital because it's on the eve of her SAT exam; her bedroom walls feature a photo of Ronald Reagan among the myriad blue ribbons and other awards; the dialog is trite and really hard to believe that it's coming out of a teen's mouth. I've not seen it, but I've heard this movie is much like "Wonder Boys". One can only assume that it's better. Save your money, rent that film instead and order a pizza. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffP.May 5, 2008
What? This is the best American film in years! The acting, directing, writing...it's all brilliant. Ellen Page is at her best, as is Sarah Jessica Parker. Dennis Quaid and Thomas Haden Church are perfect adopted brothers. It's all What? This is the best American film in years! The acting, directing, writing...it's all brilliant. Ellen Page is at her best, as is Sarah Jessica Parker. Dennis Quaid and Thomas Haden Church are perfect adopted brothers. It's all very subtle, which I think might be unappealing to the masses, though everyone I know who has seen it has loved it. This is not a broad comedy. It's a dark, nuanced one. Sophisticated, funny, and poignant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
muriely.Apr 30, 2008
Here is YET ANOTHER movie about unlikeable, miserable people who are suddenly made whole and happy by a character having a BABY! What a vile canard! What a cop-out! Why do moviemakers think that introducing an infant solves all problems? Here is YET ANOTHER movie about unlikeable, miserable people who are suddenly made whole and happy by a character having a BABY! What a vile canard! What a cop-out! Why do moviemakers think that introducing an infant solves all problems? There are far too many movies lately which rely on this lame solution. That said, it was a pleasure to watch Thomas Haden Church and Ellen Page, the only live people in this dreary, slogging film, which seems leaden in spite of the intermittently witty script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EllenS.Apr 29, 2008
There are really no completely likeable characters in this film, although Dennis Quaid has a remarkable ability to charm even when he
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FrankTheBunnyApr 29, 2008
I don't walk out on many movies, but watching this dreary garbage meander on, I was starting to lose my will to live. While I thought Haden Church and Page could have developed a real chemistry, it was cut off the second it started to I don't walk out on many movies, but watching this dreary garbage meander on, I was starting to lose my will to live. While I thought Haden Church and Page could have developed a real chemistry, it was cut off the second it started to get interesting. As for the two leads, dull and miscast would be the polite way to put it. Less than zero chemistry, worse even than Danes and Martin in the execrable Shopgirl. The kiss scene forced my hand and I was out the door. The film had completely ground to a halt. Smart People? Boring, dreary film unable to be resuscitated. Putting Quaid in a coma would have made a story. Give it a miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ElizabethH.Apr 26, 2008
worst movie i have seen all year. felt like amateur hour...didn't make much sense...a very odd movie. Dennis Quaid, one of my favorite actors, was the oddest. Was he drunk?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KellyB.Apr 22, 2008
Slow start, but the story picks up and ultimately works. Page's character as a Republican is not credible, but has no adverse affects on the plot. Can Republicans be "smart people"? Perhaps, but its been awhile. All said, I enjoyed this Slow start, but the story picks up and ultimately works. Page's character as a Republican is not credible, but has no adverse affects on the plot. Can Republicans be "smart people"? Perhaps, but its been awhile. All said, I enjoyed this film. My 16 year old daughter enjoyed this film, which is surprising. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AaronF.Apr 21, 2008
It's hard to decide what to make of this one. What it does, it does well. The real lacking part of this movie is the flow. There's very little in the way of actual climax. We almost weren't expecting the credits. It was like It's hard to decide what to make of this one. What it does, it does well. The real lacking part of this movie is the flow. There's very little in the way of actual climax. We almost weren't expecting the credits. It was like you were still sitting there feeling a little unfulfilled. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BartC.Apr 19, 2008
All of these "Smart People" are unique characters and are portrayed perfectly by this cast. The only fault in the dramatic comedy is the screenplay which at times is awkward and not really going anywhere. It is sad to see the actors who All of these "Smart People" are unique characters and are portrayed perfectly by this cast. The only fault in the dramatic comedy is the screenplay which at times is awkward and not really going anywhere. It is sad to see the actors who stayed true to their characters to have to prance around in this silly comedy where nothing really happens and nothing is resolved. If you want a silly appealing comedy go see this film however if you want plot points and problems which are resolved don't look to this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ScottMApr 13, 2008
What the hell is up with the good reviews? I can admit the casting was good (i could always live without Sarah Jessica Parker, but what are you going to do). The plot never found a rhythm, characters were never developed enough so I could What the hell is up with the good reviews? I can admit the casting was good (i could always live without Sarah Jessica Parker, but what are you going to do). The plot never found a rhythm, characters were never developed enough so I could care. I'm giving it a 2 because Church and Page are obviously fun to watch. I wish the movie just focused on their strange relationship. That would've been worth the price of admission. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlennS.Apr 13, 2008
This is the most intelligent comedy made in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Apr 12, 2008
[***SPOILER***] The young, bedsit girl on the cover of Belle and Sebastian's "If You're Feeling Sinister" has a copy of Franz Kafka's "The Trial" placed on her pillow. Is the girl taking a break to contemplate the absurdity [***SPOILER***] The young, bedsit girl on the cover of Belle and Sebastian's "If You're Feeling Sinister" has a copy of Franz Kafka's "The Trial" placed on her pillow. Is the girl taking a break to contemplate the absurdity of human nature, or is she simply sad? Vanessa Wetherhold(Ellen Page) probably read that book aeons ago. When Chuck(Thomas Haden Church) barges into his niece's room, the Stanford-bound girl is reading Aldous Huxley's "Eyeless in Gaza". We know with some certainity that Vanessa uses literature as an anti-depressant to curb her indescribable grief. Earlier in "Smart People", she asks a girl in a club what it's like to be stupid. This isn't a case of an intellectual being snarky and facetious. It's a cry for help. Those party girls waiting in line for the bathroom are the smart people. Vanessa doesn't need a crazy uncle(Thomas Haden Church), she needs her mom. You can sort of tell that dad's new girlfriend(Sarah Jessica Parker), with a baby of her own on the way, will never be the maternal figure that Vanessa so desperately needs. Janet might complete Lawrence(Dennis Quaid), but his daughter will always be a "stupid" person. When her brother(Ashton Holmes) achieves some literary success, we suspect that Vanessa must feel a little threatened by this academic and familial one-upmanship , but "Smart People" chooses to focus on Lawrence's second chance with the good doctor. We suspect that Vanessa doesn't want the Wetherfords to be "The Royal Tennenbaums", a family of geniuses. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnA.Apr 11, 2008
It feels to me that it's been awhile since there has been a really intelligent comedy/drama at the theatres. I really thought this was well cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Mr.Carrey-Apr 8, 2008
Wonderful !!! Ellen Page is big !
0 of 0 users found this helpful