Smashed

Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Nov 25, 2012
    60
    Two fine performances - particularly from an unhinged Winstead - almost elevate Smashed to greatness. But an under-worked script leaves you feeling groggy and bleary-eyed by the end.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Oct 12, 2012
    60
    Winstead and director James Ponsoldt add something gripping and modern to the cinema of recovery, a well-mined genre that can still, it seems, yield thoughtful surprises.
  3. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Oct 9, 2012
    60
    To be sure, the film as a whole feels like a creaky vehicle, belabored with plot strands and stereotypes that only serve to highlight Winstead's ragged commitment to something real.
  4. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Nov 7, 2012
    50
    Smashed may be better at preaching to the choir and is likely to find its largest audience among struggling 12-steppers.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Oct 19, 2012
    50
    Smashed never really rises much above the level of a dramatic public service announcement. That's not so much because of its tone, but because what it's announcing isn't exactly news. Alcoholism is a disease. Alcoholics aren't bad people. Quitting is hard.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Oct 12, 2012
    50
    Smashed touches on the awkward perversity that often comes from seemingly pure emotions and intentions, and turns a noticeable, if slightly analytical, eye toward the selfish hurt and narcissistic projections inflicted by the perceived moral hierarchy against recovering addicts.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    10
    Smashed is a small but powerful film that goes through both the highs and lows of alcoholism and sobering up. I was fascinated at howSmashed is a small but powerful film that goes through both the highs and lows of alcoholism and sobering up. I was fascinated at how realistic the lead characters of Kate (Mary Elizabeth Winstead) and Charlie (Aaron Paul) were on the surface as just a pair of fun loving people who like to drink to have a good time, maybe occasionally going overboard. As someone who rarely drinks myself, I have observed similar behavior far too often and never thought much of it, but Smashed explores the deeper issues beneath the surface masked by the funny and entertaining antics performed while under the influence. As the film unfolds some of these scenes that seemed hilarious become tainted in a sense with the darkness of Kate's situation, highlighting the complexities of identifying and dealing with alcohol addiction.

    On paper, there is nothing truly groundbreaking about the film. We've seen tons of films about alcoholics, AA, young struggling couples, etc., but for me this film approaches these issues in such an easily accessible and realstic way. Often times I feel substance abuse issues tend to be a bit sensationalized in modern media where there isn't an interesting or important story unless someone gets arrested or there needs to be an intervention. That is not the case here, Kate is not quite at rock bottom when she makes the decision to sober up, yet the film (mainly in part to a show-stopping lead performance by Winstead and a charismatic supporting performance from Paul) manages to create a set of compelling characters the viewer can embrace as if they had just been hanging out and laughing with them the night before, and sympathize and cry for by the end of the film.

    Again as someone who doesn't drink, I found the film relevant to me whether it be as a retrospective look at people I know personally or even at myself in need of a lifestyle change by breaking a bad cycle and confronting my problems with honesty. The film does this while remaining grounded and never seeming overly preachy or becoming an school special.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 14, 2012
    7
    I was fortunate enough to have seen the film with the director and cast (less Aaron Paul) in attendance. VERY talented group, and really goodI was fortunate enough to have seen the film with the director and cast (less Aaron Paul) in attendance. VERY talented group, and really good chemistry for a team that had worked together for such a short period of time. After the first 20 minutes, when the film is establishing Mary Elizabeth and Aaron's drinking behavior and how it affects their lives, I thought I was going to loathe the film. Yes, let's observe a couple of alcoholics making bad decisions! But the film becomes much more about the relationship between someone in recovery and her partner who is not, which is intriguing. Her support system (colleagues at her school, sponsor ,mother) is well fleshed-out. Offerman, Spencer, and Mullaly are all terrific in their supporting roles, and it's amazing that they shot this film in only 19 days considering how well they related to one another. Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2014
    8
    "Smashed" 10 Scale Rating: 7.5 (Very Good) ...

    The Good: Mary Elizabeth Winstead absolutely steals the show and should have received more
    "Smashed" 10 Scale Rating: 7.5 (Very Good) ...

    The Good: Mary Elizabeth Winstead absolutely steals the show and should have received more Oscar buzz. The story is one that most of us can relate to and is well written. What happens when we grow as people and binge drinking (and the silly antics that come with it) is no longer fun, yet all of our friends are still living that life? The struggles that one person goes through with her husband and group of friends as she tries to remain sober is both poignant and thought provoking.

    The Bad: It is listed as 1:21 in length, but it is actually only 70 minutes long, which is extremely short. There is an interaction with Winstead's character and a co-worker that was out of place and lingered throughout the film. It was an attempt at crude humor and did not fit the dark comedy/drama setting at all.
    Full Review »