User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 56
  2. Negative: 18 out of 56
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    This movie is one of my favorites. I bought it after the first time I saw it. It has an awesome cast and the movie is hilarious. Anna Faris is always so funny and this movie is so different, and so much fun. You apparently have to get the humor because I find this movie to be hilarious. Check it out!
  2. JoshF.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    As a viewer/pothead who caught this one at sundance and has been waiting to see it again (to see if I can remember it a little better next time when I haven't eaten "special" brownies before hand) I recommend this feature highly. It was an interesting twist when the movie started and I thought I was projecting the experience I was having onto the film. From the bit I can recall (a As a viewer/pothead who caught this one at sundance and has been waiting to see it again (to see if I can remember it a little better next time when I haven't eaten "special" brownies before hand) I recommend this feature highly. It was an interesting twist when the movie started and I thought I was projecting the experience I was having onto the film. From the bit I can recall (a big bit, actually) it was hilarious and dead on for the modern day LA pothead. 4.20 thumbs up (out of a possible 4.20). Expand
  3. AL
    Jan 20, 2008
    0
    One of the worst movies I have ever seen. If you like this shit your intelligence level is very very low. I didn´t laugh once.
  4. JebM.
    Feb 4, 2008
    9
    So dumb funny its smart, Smiley Face makes fun of the stoner within while reveling in the stupidness. I laughed out loud so many times and thought "oh that's cleverly relevant to the marijuana culture." Anna Faris is great as always, playing a character totally unrelateable yet recognizable in our culture and our friends. If you didn't like this movie its because you take your So dumb funny its smart, Smiley Face makes fun of the stoner within while reveling in the stupidness. I laughed out loud so many times and thought "oh that's cleverly relevant to the marijuana culture." Anna Faris is great as always, playing a character totally unrelateable yet recognizable in our culture and our friends. If you didn't like this movie its because you take your weed way too seriously or you don't get it at all. Expand
  5. Compson
    Nov 21, 2007
    8
    Not at all what I expected from the man who brought The Doom Generation (and it's triology) to the big screen. But where those movies traded in darkness, Smiley Face is a light-hearted, stoner-romp for the liberal arts graduate. Any movie that has Anna Faris breakdown the difference between Reaganomics and strict Capitalism to a dreadlocked pot-dealer Adam Brody...well., if that Not at all what I expected from the man who brought The Doom Generation (and it's triology) to the big screen. But where those movies traded in darkness, Smiley Face is a light-hearted, stoner-romp for the liberal arts graduate. Any movie that has Anna Faris breakdown the difference between Reaganomics and strict Capitalism to a dreadlocked pot-dealer Adam Brody...well., if that doesn't sound at least intriguing to you, skip the flick. Expand
  6. judys.
    Jan 10, 2008
    8
    It took me a few minutes to get the 'tone' of this film... but once I did, I was able to enjoy it immensely. Never before has Araki's style so suitably matched a story. The script is one of the funniest of the year (up there with Year of the Dog and Juno). And the performances are all fantastic. I've argued before that Anna Farris is a great comedic actress and this It took me a few minutes to get the 'tone' of this film... but once I did, I was able to enjoy it immensely. Never before has Araki's style so suitably matched a story. The script is one of the funniest of the year (up there with Year of the Dog and Juno). And the performances are all fantastic. I've argued before that Anna Farris is a great comedic actress and this film proves it. Expand
  7. DA
    Jan 14, 2008
    2
    Don't waste your time, this was a horrible movie.
  8. spam
    Jan 10, 2008
    0
    This movie was horrible, stupid, and boring. I cannot believe the favorable reviews it has received. I'm a former pothead and thought it would be cool. I have lost faith in movie critics. I thought Heartbreak Kid (Ben Stiller) was a much better movie with a metascore in the 40s vs. this waste of time that received a 76. Even stoned, I'm pretty sure I would hate this movie.
  9. MichaelS.
    Jan 20, 2008
    8
    This movie was made for those of us at the end of our marijuana stages - you know - when you think you should NOT be smoking marijuana at all. And when you still do it, decide to write a review because of your "increased self-creativity!!! (thanks Jane / Ana Faris). When Jane is having fun while she's high, she is so fun to watch. You get the sensation that she is actually high - in This movie was made for those of us at the end of our marijuana stages - you know - when you think you should NOT be smoking marijuana at all. And when you still do it, decide to write a review because of your "increased self-creativity!!! (thanks Jane / Ana Faris). When Jane is having fun while she's high, she is so fun to watch. You get the sensation that she is actually high - in only the way females can be - and it's awesome. When she gets down though, she gets very down, with hallucinations that Satan is behind her car. I'm glad the movie hooked me with its portrayal of pot humor as ridiculousness. That allows people in all walks of their personal 'marijuana stages' to enjoy this movie. I'm most glad that the movie took the time to remind you that even sweet, harmless pot can send you to the curb if you test it too much or too often. I'm mostest glad that the movie is funny. Expand
  10. TrentP
    Jan 20, 2008
    0
    This was horrible from the start. It reminded me of one of those grade school movies telling kids what happens to you on drugs and why not to take them.
  11. JonL.
    Jan 25, 2008
    0
    This is by FAR The worst movie ever. Gregg Araki should be taken out back and shot. I have read many glowing reviews of this movie and I dont get it. I couldnt stand how annoying Anna Farris was. She blew. Araki has succeded in making pot heads out to look like complete losers. Nothing of her high/trip was ever believable even if she was smoking crack, this crap could never happen. If she This is by FAR The worst movie ever. Gregg Araki should be taken out back and shot. I have read many glowing reviews of this movie and I dont get it. I couldnt stand how annoying Anna Farris was. She blew. Araki has succeded in making pot heads out to look like complete losers. Nothing of her high/trip was ever believable even if she was smoking crack, this crap could never happen. If she was on a sheet of LSD i think MaYbE she would be forgiven for being a fucking retard, This movie COMPLETY BLOWS. When it was over I Cheered, yet felt I was robbed 1hr1/2 of my life. Dont waste your time. To all you writing these glowing reviews, WTF are you all thinking? Is akari paying you all?????? Expand
  12. LouiseG.
    Jan 4, 2008
    2
    Now, I love Anna Faris, hence the rating of 2 and not 0. She was fabulous in "Just Friends" with Ryan Reynolds and I support her 100%. Indeed, the movie may have been made to showcase her talents, as one of the critics muses, but the problem is that Greg Araki is a flub who seems to mysteriously string along collaboration from big names; tricking everyone into thinking the project is Now, I love Anna Faris, hence the rating of 2 and not 0. She was fabulous in "Just Friends" with Ryan Reynolds and I support her 100%. Indeed, the movie may have been made to showcase her talents, as one of the critics muses, but the problem is that Greg Araki is a flub who seems to mysteriously string along collaboration from big names; tricking everyone into thinking the project is worthwhile. Call it mass psycho-delusionism... THAT, my friends, is Greg Araki's true talent. WE can't forget that movies are these huge, incredibly complicated collaborative efforts, how is it possible that he can convince investors with such a poor script?? How talented people can willingly agree to participate in a collaborative effort of this magnitude is beyond me. Maybe Greg Araki is unbelievably good looking, maybe his movies are a way for producers and publicists to punish stars that have been naughty somehow, maybe he threatens with violence.... regardless, the surrealism of all his projects (I have seen them all, out of sheer curiosity....) always gives me major loser syndrome; translation: I feel ashamed to be watching. This script in particular is so poorly adapted to the screen that it leaves you wondering if you've gone mad. His abstract concepts and useless dialogue are filler for an endless barrage of gimmicky filmamking that is always a step or 2 behind the true rookie scriptwriters. The last 10 minutes in particular are so grating and incomprehensible, I think my IQ dropped a few points, and I now have wrinkles from furrowing my brow. I can never get those back. Expand
  13. PanchoV.
    Feb 1, 2008
    2
    Contrary to what this movie tries to contend not all stoners are retarted. This movie completely lacks finesse. Once thing it has going for it, I guess, is that it has decent music.
  14. ScottT.
    Feb 2, 2008
    0
    Unwatchable. One of the worst movies I've seen over the course of the last year. I wish I had checked out the non-critic reviews before I rented this waste of time. I found myself laughing at the movie as opposed to with it.
  15. JayK
    Feb 7, 2008
    8
    I thought this movie would be trash, but it's surprisingly good. I don't like stupid stoner movies, I don't like teen comedys or any of that garbage. I hated Harold and Kumar or whatever. But this movie is genuinely clever! My wife and I laughed throughout. Also sober. The script was funny, and Anna Faris does a great job.
  16. DanS.
    Apr 1, 2008
    8
    Clever approach to comedy..... Some of the other reviews remind me of music reviews by people complaining that, "Radiohead sucks compared to Phil Collins."
  17. neon
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    This actress deserves a special oscar for best stoned performance ever. Very funny and a definite contact high.
  18. ChadS.
    Jan 12, 2008
    7
    Anybody who saw Anna Faris spoof Cameron Diaz in Sofia Coppola's "Lost in Translation" knew that the "Scary Movie"-franchise girl deserved her own comic showcase to let her freak-flag fly. "Smiley Face", an absurdist journey of a thoroughly baked Cali girl, will do. Unlike other motion pictures about potheads, this filmmaker made a shrewd move that sets "Smiley Face" apart from the Anybody who saw Anna Faris spoof Cameron Diaz in Sofia Coppola's "Lost in Translation" knew that the "Scary Movie"-franchise girl deserved her own comic showcase to let her freak-flag fly. "Smiley Face", an absurdist journey of a thoroughly baked Cali girl, will do. Unlike other motion pictures about potheads, this filmmaker made a shrewd move that sets "Smiley Face" apart from the "classic" Cheech and Chong movies of the late-seventies, or the more recent "How High". Jane is smart. She majored in economics. Early in the film, she explains to her dealer(Adam Brody) how Reaganomics and the concept of trickle-down economics aren't applicable to his pot business. Since we're aware of Jane's intelligence(she graduated summa; that's the top one percent of any particular class), this stoner flick becomes more than some innocuous knee-slapper about being high. "Smiley Face" is a tragicomic portrait of a young woman who wasted her potential. Even though "Smiley Face" has every requisite moment that you'd expect in this highly-specialized genre(the paranoia, the munchies, the quasi-profound nuggets of philosophy), all played for broad laughs, mind you; the film doesn't see drugs, even a "soft" drug like marijuana, as a laughing matter. Case and point: In a sausage-production factory, Jane gives a rabble-rousing speech about laborizing the work force that is both passionate and articulate, or at least she thinks she does. In actuality, Jane's manifesto is a series of starts and stops, digressions, and incoherent mutterings. Faris is laugh-out loud funny. Above all else, "Smiley Face" is a comedy first. But this druggie farce is a subversive one; unintentionally conservative in its ideology. Nancy Reagan was right. Just say no. Expand
  19. AndyA
    Jan 14, 2008
    3
    If the image of Lucille Ball, (sorry kids, gotta look it up) drunk trying to imitate somebody high on pot, badly, sounds entertaining to you, see Smiley Face. It takes more than a twisted mouth held agape for ninety minutes uttering predictable dialog to make a space cadet movie. This movie seemed more like another dislocated attempt by the local police in thwarting teenage substance If the image of Lucille Ball, (sorry kids, gotta look it up) drunk trying to imitate somebody high on pot, badly, sounds entertaining to you, see Smiley Face. It takes more than a twisted mouth held agape for ninety minutes uttering predictable dialog to make a space cadet movie. This movie seemed more like another dislocated attempt by the local police in thwarting teenage substance abuse. And that Expand
  20. RickA
    Jan 18, 2008
    0
    I am a generally a fan of slapstick humor, teenage comedy and pot smoking so I was looking forward to this movie. Unfortunately it is so stupid and overacted with no sense of realism that at one point I actually thought to myself perhaps this was paid for by advocates for anti-drug use.
  21. markf
    Jan 18, 2008
    9
    Funny as hell - I saw it high and it was really funny. Much better than half baked.
  22. Stephanie
    Jan 21, 2008
    9
    Haha funniest movie ever. I seriously laughed through out the whole thing and I was completely sober. Anyone who doesnt find this movie funny is obviously lacking a sense of humor.
  23. JeffG
    Jan 26, 2008
    0
    This movie was so bad, I think I should be able to sue the critics assembled here. While I usually love Ferris, this movie is so far beneath every actor in it. Terrible script, terrible direction and poorly shot. A movie about a stoned actress living in L.A., wow, that took a lot of time to think of.
  24. CesarA.
    May 20, 2008
    10
    This movie is the best ever! Aif u are a true stoner its all about you! its poking fun at the true stoner life and I am so glad I saw it, and still am forever this is my favorite way better than "super bad".
  25. [Anonymous]
    Nov 18, 2007
    0
    Total rubbish, not in the less bit funny. If you want a stoner film watch Cheech And Chong. A film not in worthily of going straight to bittorrent.
  26. HansR.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    Very funny. Anna Faris is hilarious in this role and John Krasinski nails it.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    60
    A sterling space cadet performance by Anna Faris floats the genial if slight pothead comedy Smiley Face, a distaff "Dude, Where's My Car?"
  2. Reviewed by: Zack Haddad
    70
    This movie is all over the place. One giant discombobulated stoner trip that goes from one obscure adventure to another. And you know what? It is quite a fun, odd journey.
  3. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    80
    Uproarious pothead comedy.