Smiley

Smiley Image
Metascore
25

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After learning of an urban legend in which a demented serial killer named Smiley can be summoned through the Internet, mentally fragile Ashley must decide whether she is losing her mind or becoming Smiley's next victim. (MJG Productions)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 6 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Jan 28, 2013
    60
    A surprisingly effective low-budget horror film that takes as its true villain the casual cynicism and nihilistic misanthropy that so often go along with online culture.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Zhuravsy
    Oct 9, 2012
    42
    It's worth saying that the final moments of Smiley are a grade above the by-the-numbers film that unfolded prior, but it's too little too late.
  3. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Oct 9, 2012
    30
    Tell a die-hard horror-movie fan that the latest scary movie is the worst thing ever, and that fan will nod respectfully but still make plans to go see it. Horror fans must always see for themselves. All of which makes it a bit pointless to declare Smiley the year's dullest scare flick (thus far).
  4. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Oct 12, 2012
    30
    Smiley, is unfortunately less scary than, say, the prospect of your significant other accidentally discovering your search engine history.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Oct 10, 2012
    25
    Gallagher briefly threatens to turn Smiley into something closer to the hallucinatory psychological horror of "Repulsion," but he retreats to the more conventional twists and jump-scares expected of bottom-of-the-barrel slasher films like this one. This film will not do for the Internet what "Psycho" did for showers - no more computers have to be smashed because of it.
  6. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Oct 12, 2012
    20
    Failing to expand on the intriguing notion that evil can find physical form online, Smiley, like its sutured monster, is sadly more to be pitied than feared.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Oct 8, 2012
    12
    Michael J. Gallagher's half-cocked horror fiasco is filled with clich├ęs, pitiful dialogue, and clumsy aesthetics.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 25
  2. Negative: 16 out of 25
  1. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    I don't get why they are so many bad reviews i loved this film and the twist as the end was so unexpected I could have never guessed it, II don't get why they are so many bad reviews i loved this film and the twist as the end was so unexpected I could have never guessed it, I mean like I've never seen a horror film end like this and it was such an awesome movie :DDDD Expand
  2. Mar 28, 2014
    7
    Smiley is the best movie for anyone to see that is a horror movie fan, very realistic this movie is so different than other horror movies thatSmiley is the best movie for anyone to see that is a horror movie fan, very realistic this movie is so different than other horror movies that anyone can see. It is such a spine chilling suspense, Want to find the best horror movie Smiley is my recommendation to watch this movie will make you want to watch it again and again. Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2014
    4
    You can basically guess the twist at the end half way into the movie. But the twist doesn't even work with a few plot holes they left in. AndYou can basically guess the twist at the end half way into the movie. But the twist doesn't even work with a few plot holes they left in. And the whole ultimate plan had so many things left to chance that it shouldn't of even worked in the first place. The movie is just aggravating.

    Also the whole movie is trying to be edgy and using the internet sub culture and being pretentious as hell. This movie is just bad.

    The one plus to Smiley is that Caitlin Gerard is cute.
    Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Was tempted to watch this by the creepy looking seen mascot in all the previews...That was my first mistake. The second mistake was sitting through it and hoping it would actually rise to a C class movie. That's right this movie had horrible acting, a boring plot and I constantly want everyone of the actors to die and "Spoiler Alert" no one dies accept 2 people at the end. The movie constantly kept reminding us that the actors were supposed to be great computer geniuses and hackers by winging terminology out of the index of computers 101 textbook, but all they did was go a generic chat roulette. Makes me think my little cousin could be a hacker if randomly talking to strangers is all it takes. The classroom scenes were the best part of the film, but I feel the professor was wasted on this film. I would not recommend this film to anyone. Watch Scream, Hackers(if you want a che-ezy hacker movie) or you-tube if you want to see a bunch of weird ideas. Avoid this and do not even mention it to friends in case they get curious like I was if its as bad as it sounds.... Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    0
    Quite possibly the worst thing I ever sat through. Luckily I didn't have to pay to see it. The acting was awful, the story was awful, theQuite possibly the worst thing I ever sat through. Luckily I didn't have to pay to see it. The acting was awful, the story was awful, the forcing of internet culture was brutal, and incredibly incorrect. It seems that the one thing this movie was based around, the writer didn't even bother to do his homework on. If you really want to watch it, go for it, just do it online where you can see it for free. The studio that made this doesn't deserve a cent, they should be ashamed. Expand
  6. Oct 21, 2012
    0
    It was obvious that this movie wasn't going to be very good, But i thought that it might be enjoyable for people who actually follow some ofIt was obvious that this movie wasn't going to be very good, But i thought that it might be enjoyable for people who actually follow some of these actors on Youtube. But no, This is just downright terrible. Expand
  7. Oct 12, 2012
    0
    I´m a horror movies fan, but this is too much for me... Everything is so terrible.. history, characters, everything... Dont lose yourI´m a horror movies fan, but this is too much for me... Everything is so terrible.. history, characters, everything... Dont lose your time... or even worse, your money.... Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.