Metascore
25

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After learning of an urban legend in which a demented serial killer named Smiley can be summoned through the Internet, mentally fragile Ashley must decide whether she is losing her mind or becoming Smiley's next victim. (MJG Productions)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 6 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Jan 28, 2013
    60
    A surprisingly effective low-budget horror film that takes as its true villain the casual cynicism and nihilistic misanthropy that so often go along with online culture.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Zhuravsy
    Oct 9, 2012
    42
    It's worth saying that the final moments of Smiley are a grade above the by-the-numbers film that unfolded prior, but it's too little too late.
  3. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Oct 9, 2012
    30
    Tell a die-hard horror-movie fan that the latest scary movie is the worst thing ever, and that fan will nod respectfully but still make plans to go see it. Horror fans must always see for themselves. All of which makes it a bit pointless to declare Smiley the year's dullest scare flick (thus far).
  4. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Oct 12, 2012
    30
    Smiley, is unfortunately less scary than, say, the prospect of your significant other accidentally discovering your search engine history.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Oct 10, 2012
    25
    Gallagher briefly threatens to turn Smiley into something closer to the hallucinatory psychological horror of "Repulsion," but he retreats to the more conventional twists and jump-scares expected of bottom-of-the-barrel slasher films like this one. This film will not do for the Internet what "Psycho" did for showers - no more computers have to be smashed because of it.
  6. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Oct 12, 2012
    20
    Failing to expand on the intriguing notion that evil can find physical form online, Smiley, like its sutured monster, is sadly more to be pitied than feared.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Oct 8, 2012
    12
    Michael J. Gallagher's half-cocked horror fiasco is filled with clich├ęs, pitiful dialogue, and clumsy aesthetics.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    I don't get why they are so many bad reviews i loved this film and the twist as the end was so unexpected I could have never guessed it, I mean like I've never seen a horror film end like this and it was such an awesome movie :DDDD Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Don't blame the actors, blame the director. I actually really like this movie, that's my opinion. I liked the story to it, and the actors & actresses.. Expand
  3. Jun 1, 2013
    7
    Seriously, I never thought Tobuscus would be in a film, neither Shane Dawson. But they were! I wasnt just appealed to this, but the kills were cool, though I had no approval for the intense ending and psychological killer. A killer that wakes up from a devilish site? Cheesy, but I still thought the movie was good to reach up to 7. Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2012
    1
    Don't waste your time. Its generic, bland, and boring. Horrible acting, characters and story. Directed by a stupid monkey. Its bad. Im serious. REALLY BAD. Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Was tempted to watch this by the creepy looking seen mascot in all the previews...That was my first mistake. The second mistake was sitting through it and hoping it would actually rise to a C class movie. That's right this movie had horrible acting, a boring plot and I constantly want everyone of the actors to die and "Spoiler Alert" no one dies accept 2 people at the end. The movie constantly kept reminding us that the actors were supposed to be great computer geniuses and hackers by winging terminology out of the index of computers 101 textbook, but all they did was go a generic chat roulette. Makes me think my little cousin could be a hacker if randomly talking to strangers is all it takes. The classroom scenes were the best part of the film, but I feel the professor was wasted on this film. I would not recommend this film to anyone. Watch Scream, Hackers(if you want a che-ezy hacker movie) or you-tube if you want to see a bunch of weird ideas. Avoid this and do not even mention it to friends in case they get curious like I was if its as bad as it sounds.... Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2012
    0
    Quite possibly the worst thing I ever sat through. Luckily I didn't have to pay to see it. The acting was awful, the story was awful, the forcing of internet culture was brutal, and incredibly incorrect. It seems that the one thing this movie was based around, the writer didn't even bother to do his homework on. If you really want to watch it, go for it, just do it online where you can see it for free. The studio that made this doesn't deserve a cent, they should be ashamed. Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2012
    0
    Probably the worst movie I've ever seen. There is not on redeeming point in it.
    Characters are two dimensional and the story itself is like a
    really bad creepy pasta.
    Don't waste your money for that garbage and get a burger or something.
    Collapse

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers