Smokin' Aces

Smokin' Aces Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 114 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In a series of interlocking tales of high stakes and low lifes, Mob boss Primo Sparazza has taken out a hefty contract on Buddy "Aces" Israel (Piven) -- a sleazy magician who has agreed to turn states evidence against the Vegas mob. The FBI, sensing a chance to use this small-time con toIn a series of interlocking tales of high stakes and low lifes, Mob boss Primo Sparazza has taken out a hefty contract on Buddy "Aces" Israel (Piven) -- a sleazy magician who has agreed to turn states evidence against the Vegas mob. The FBI, sensing a chance to use this small-time con to bring down big-target Sparazza, places Aces into protective custody under the supervision of two agents (Reynolds and Liotta) dispatched to Aces' Lake Tahoe hideout. When word of the price on Ace's head spreads into the community of ex-cons and cons-to-be, it entices bounty hunters, thugs-for-hire, smokin' hot vixens and double-crossing mobsters to join in the hunt. With all eyes on Tahoe, this rogues' gallery collides in a comic race to hit the jackpot and tub out Aces. (Universal) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32
  1. A cheerfully disposable gangland freak-show thrill ride that's been directed by the gifted Joe Carnahan (Narc) as if he were trying to give the audience a seizure.
  2. It's hard to figure where it's going, and when the movie's over, it's even harder figuring where it's been. But the careening roller-coaster ride calling itself Smokin' Aces is such a hoot to be on, who really cares?
  3. There's no question Carnahan has an eye for composition, an ear for dialogue and a sense of pace that, if put to better use, could make an audience beg for relief. But the characters in Smokin' Aces are about as lifelike as the occupants of vehicles destroyed in a car-safety test.
  4. Reviewed by: Ethan Alter
    50
    To be fair, Smokin' Aces isn't a complete train wreck. Carnahan stages a handful of strong action set-pieces, most notably a close-quarters elevator shoot-out involving Liotta and Flanagan, that are a blast to watch.
  5. This film was not based on a video game, but that's the vibe and the aesthetic at work here: YEAH! KILL!, followed by a few muttered expressions of the horror, the horror.
  6. 38
    In the hands of the formerly promising director Joe Carnahan, this stylish, nihilistic, hugely derivative mash-up of Tarantino and Guy Ritchie (before wife Madonna ruined his career) is fun for roughly half an hour.
  7. Again and again the killers linger sadistically over the dead or dying bodies of the people they've dispatched. Did Carnahan think these sickening scenes would give Smokin' Aces a moral complexity that's generally absent from this genre? I think they make the picture seem even more morally bankrupt.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 49
  2. Negative: 15 out of 49
  1. JustinR.
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    This movie will rock your socks off, this movie is nothing but action. [***SPOILER***]The way it ended was insane, all these people die just This movie will rock your socks off, this movie is nothing but action. [***SPOILER***]The way it ended was insane, all these people die just because of a simple heart transplant, I mean if that isn't crazy enough for you then I don't know what is. Expand
  2. ChrisB.
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    This movie was incredible. It had some nice, intense parts, a good amount of violence, and an awesome story. I thought it was done very well, This movie was incredible. It had some nice, intense parts, a good amount of violence, and an awesome story. I thought it was done very well, and that there wasn't anything wrong with it. There was a nice amount of characters, so the story never got boring. I can't possibly see how anyone would think the action was stale? Cops, Assassins, Mafia, you really can't go wrong. Definitely a must rent. Expand
  3. MathewI.
    Jan 18, 2010
    7
    I give this movie a strong 7 (76-78) and the Rolling Stone magazine can sum up my feeling about this movie the best, everybody else looking I give this movie a strong 7 (76-78) and the Rolling Stone magazine can sum up my feeling about this movie the best, everybody else looking to give such a serious review about this movie and expecting a great masterpiece can SUCK IT !! Smokin Aces was as good as guilty pleasure get!! Expand
  4. DonaldK.
    Feb 13, 2007
    6
    If the film was supposed to be moral "(the moral being don't kill"), it missed its mark big time. But as an action-packed film with If the film was supposed to be moral "(the moral being don't kill"), it missed its mark big time. But as an action-packed film with dialogue, it works. It jumps around from character to character and though you'd like more lines from each one (well, some more preferably than others), the end kind of bottoms out by just concluding that they were father and son by introducing the John Heller character early with the "he plans to change faces multiple times" and guess what? the mob boss had 15 operations! okay, from a plot standpoint, the film gets kind of cheesy. But face it, the story line itself isn't going to win an Oscar (nor probably its director anytime soon, not that I have anything against him, but his first film, Blood, Guts, and Octane doesn't exactly suggest best picture), but hell, it was damn good and fine acting, and it entertained the hell out of me for about 60-80% of the movie. So the film wasn't bad. And for that, I credit. Expand
  5. ChadS.
    Apr 2, 2007
    5
    "Smokin' Aces" introduces too many characters, too quickly, and none of them are particularly memorable(with the exception of "Smokin' Aces" introduces too many characters, too quickly, and none of them are particularly memorable(with the exception of Georgia(Alicia Keys) and Sharice(Taraji P. Henson)). Admittedly, the idea of a magician(Jeremy Piven) who aspires to be Michael Corleone(or Tony Montana) is amusing, but the double-life aspect would've been funnier had Buddy(Piven) still been an active entertainer. The trip to Las Vegas isn't the joyride it should've been, because this filmmaker doesn't write clever and memorable dialogue like Quentin Tarantino; and once we've arrived at sin city, he doesn't quite match Richard Rodriguez's dubious talent of staging violent mayhem that sickens, as well as entertains. Two actors, both women, who against considerable odds(this is a guys' night out kind of flick) overcome their mediocre dialogue are singer-songwriter Keys, who is surprisingly self-assured as a hit-woman; and Henson, who provides "Smokin' Guns" with any semblance of humanity in the midst of all that flowing blood and testosterone. Without their presence, their counterbalance against the coked-up hos, "Smokin' Guns" would be answering charges of misogyny by people who hate hip-hop. Expand
  6. VinceH.
    Feb 1, 2007
    3
    J. Hoberman (as usual) is spot on. The main thing that ruins this movie is the overly-complicated backstory. I'm all for complicated J. Hoberman (as usual) is spot on. The main thing that ruins this movie is the overly-complicated backstory. I'm all for complicated plots (Lynch is a personal fav) but here it is just plain moronic. Carnahan is obviously a talented guy with a point of view, and if he just quit biting Tarantino and Richie he would do all right. "Narc" was an excellent detective movie, full of realism and shows that here I think he just plotted out this extremely complicated and outrageous narrative, and was so impressed with himself he decided to turn about 10 minutes worth of ideas into a 2-hour movie. I'm still a fan of the director, just not this film. Expand
  7. TT
    Jan 27, 2007
    0
    Nothing that we haven't seen already many, many times!! Complete waist of time and money!

See all 49 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.