New Line Cinema | Release Date: August 18, 2006
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 424 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
301
Mixed:
46
Negative:
77
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ReaperAug 20, 2006
To me, the scariest movie of all-time. I hate f'ing snakes on f'ing planes. The way they jumped, struck, slithered, and I cried like a little girl the entire time with my legs on the seat curled up in a ball. Excellent movie by the To me, the scariest movie of all-time. I hate f'ing snakes on f'ing planes. The way they jumped, struck, slithered, and I cried like a little girl the entire time with my legs on the seat curled up in a ball. Excellent movie by the way. It's weird, I loved it, but I would not buy it and would not watch it again because it was torture. I have never been so scared and so freaked out in my life and to go through that experience again would just plain hissss. I love the sleeper hits. WOW! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Oct 27, 2006
Anyone looking for a cinematic masterpiece will be disappointed with this film. However, the film's title is Snakes on a Plane, and the film delivers snakes on a plane. It's pure fun and entertainment, and plenty of snake-on-human Anyone looking for a cinematic masterpiece will be disappointed with this film. However, the film's title is Snakes on a Plane, and the film delivers snakes on a plane. It's pure fun and entertainment, and plenty of snake-on-human action. Two thumbs up! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JPPaxtonNov 6, 2006
'Snakes On A Plane' ('SoaP') is without a doubt the most talked about film of the year. It all started last year when many bloggers from MySpace to YouTube began chattering about it. Yes, 'SoaP' was heard far 'Snakes On A Plane' ('SoaP') is without a doubt the most talked about film of the year. It all started last year when many bloggers from MySpace to YouTube began chattering about it. Yes, 'SoaP' was heard far and wide. I myself first found out about the movie whose title explains it all while coming across an article entitled, 'Samuel And Snakes'. I was oddly and instantly intrigued upon finishing it. (Despite finding out Samuel L. Jackson opted to do the film without even reading the script.) Months passed with more and more buzz generating. And by the looks of it, it didn't look as if it were going to stop anytime soon. 'SoaP' was given the title 'Best Worst Movie of the Year' by 'Wired' magazine in their January issue. New Line and TagWorld held a contest that gave artists a chance for their music to be heard in the film. And various spoof trailers were created by fans including ones with the titles, 'Teletubbies on a Plane' and 'Snakes on Claire Danes'. Within the past year 'SoaP' has been seen everywhere imaginable. You're probably wondering why I'm telling you all this since it has nothing to do with what I thought about the film though. Well I'll tell you why. 'SoaP' isn't like other films. It's something completely different. Almost an entity if you will. The buzz and media are both a part of it's ingeniousness. It can't be judged simply by normal standards solely on things like acting and visuals. There's so much more to it. Over the past two days I've read and heard people say how horrible and downright awful 'SoaP' is. Its not either of those things. The fact is those people just don't get it. I even tried to break it down into the usual categories you'd normally judge a film on. But it conflicted with how well I actually liked the film. Yes, there's some bad dialogue in a couple of the early scenes. Yes, the snakes didn't always look real. And yes, at times the movie is far more comedic than horrifying. None of this matters though. I had so much fun watching 'SoaP' I didn't care. The bottom line is 'SoaP' has a greatness that's essentially inexplicable. But not everyone is going to see that. I think Michael Phillips, reviewer for the Chicago Tribune, proves to be a prime example of the ignorance being exhibited when he says in his review, "I liked 'Anaconda' better". All I'll say to that is he needs a new job. Possibly a janitor in some dank office building wasting his life mopping floors, mumbling inaudible things to himself. Nevertheless, I'm not suggesting you see 'Snakes on a Plane'. I'm telling you to go see those mother******* snakes on that mother******* plane! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MikeA.Feb 4, 2007
Funny movie, but cheezy at the same time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ParkerJan 21, 2007
Watching this movie in theaters on opening night is unlike any experience I've ever had in my life. It was SOOOOOO much fun. Seriously, this film means a lot to me. 10/10
0 of 2 users found this helpful
7
ReidF.Jan 27, 2007
This fits under the heading of
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AJM.Feb 12, 2007
A true popcorn flick. Sometimes it's pretty hilarious (intentionally, even); it's got moments of suspense that work admirably well; Sam Jackson is THE MAN. All of that sounds like a guaranteed winner to me. I honestly don't A true popcorn flick. Sometimes it's pretty hilarious (intentionally, even); it's got moments of suspense that work admirably well; Sam Jackson is THE MAN. All of that sounds like a guaranteed winner to me. I honestly don't get how people could not get this (unless, of course, they hate snakes, planes, or guilty pleasure horror movies), but realistically it's about as critic proof as anything I've ever seen. Bottom line: it's just supposed to be FUN, so have some. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndrewE.Aug 17, 2006
I dare anyone not to have fun at this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
GLC.Jan 11, 2007
C'mon, it's Snizzakes on a Pizzay, damnit! That said, I remember seeing this. Not bad for a trashy piece o'crap action film, especially considering the pathetic plot.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RyanLopezApr 15, 2011
This movie was really good, frightening and a little bit funny. But it had a lot of flaws- Goddamn it I sound like a real critic. This was a freaking great movie
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
What I really like about this film is that FINALLY, the people involved realize how absurd the plot of the movie is, and they completely play into it. They say and do the same things that most of us would do in that situation. They fullyWhat I really like about this film is that FINALLY, the people involved realize how absurd the plot of the movie is, and they completely play into it. They say and do the same things that most of us would do in that situation. They fully understand, that even thou it isn't a comedy, they are in a completely ridiculous film, not meant to be taken seriously by anyone. Samuel L. Jackson is fearless, hysterical, and terrific as FBI Agent Neville Flynn. The supporting cast, of mostly newcomers, is also great, playing off the example set by Jackson and Margulies. Lets also not forget that while many of the attack scenarios were computerized, there were still a few dozen de-fanged venomous snakes with them at all times! I don't know how you can possibly concentrate with cobras and rattlesnakes at your feet, even if they are non-venomous and used to humans. If you're looking for something simple and stupid that you don't have to think about, go for Snakes on a Plane! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
FoOdzAug 18, 2006
[***SPOILER***] When you hear the title, "Snakes on a Plane" this is exactly what you hope it will be. It makes all of your funniest jokes about ways to die from snakes on a plane, and puts it to the screen. Jackson is at his campy best, and [***SPOILER***] When you hear the title, "Snakes on a Plane" this is exactly what you hope it will be. It makes all of your funniest jokes about ways to die from snakes on a plane, and puts it to the screen. Jackson is at his campy best, and at his very best when he throws out standard Sam Jackson-isms. And really, who liked that stupid dog? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChantzE.Aug 18, 2006
Non stop greatness, partially great cause opening night, the whole crowd was so into it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YourMotherAug 18, 2006
Best Motherf....ing movie, EVER!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrysonicAug 18, 2006
Much better than I thought it would... some truly funny moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertJ.Aug 19, 2006
Any critics who say it sucks are just trying to be cool, and they need to try harder. This is some of the most fun I've had watching a movie in quite a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LYAug 20, 2006
By far the funniest movie that I've seen in years. I was laughing for most of the movie. Just seeing an ad for it on tv made me laugh. Snakes on a plane? Such a dumb idea. So dumb, it's funny! The computer-generated snakes look By far the funniest movie that I've seen in years. I was laughing for most of the movie. Just seeing an ad for it on tv made me laugh. Snakes on a plane? Such a dumb idea. So dumb, it's funny! The computer-generated snakes look bad... the Geico gecko looks better than them. But the effects of people getting bitten, like, swollen arms, necks, and blood and gore, were pretty good. See it if you're looking for a good laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WaisyB.Sep 18, 2006
While its story and premise is really weak, the jokes(if only 5 of them) and Samuel Jackson's great acting were really REALLY entertaining. Snakes on a Plane is the best way to spend a night with your friends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DianeM.Sep 3, 2006
Having read about the hooting, clapping audiences, we tried it for ourselves. I agree with David A.; "guilty pleasure" it is! Relax and have fun! We laughed and clapped. I will be purchasing the DVD!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CherBOct 15, 2006
Turn off all your intelligence, and this movie is worth a 9. But, since we are not all Americans, I will not give it that rating. Though for the sheer number of 'oh my god' moments this movie has, it is worth a 7. Cheesy Turn off all your intelligence, and this movie is worth a 9. But, since we are not all Americans, I will not give it that rating. Though for the sheer number of 'oh my god' moments this movie has, it is worth a 7. Cheesy entertainment at its best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamJacksonAug 17, 2006
Hell yes!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyD.Aug 17, 2006
Probably the best movie of the summer. Its greatness comes with its subtleties. This character driven drama shows how we all have horrible snakes inside of us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisB.Aug 18, 2006
I expected this to go down as fast as a Thai hooker, but instead it sailed beyond my muthaf-ckin expectations. some truly shocking and entertaining scenes and some very memorable and hilarious lines make it an epic in the category of I expected this to go down as fast as a Thai hooker, but instead it sailed beyond my muthaf-ckin expectations. some truly shocking and entertaining scenes and some very memorable and hilarious lines make it an epic in the category of awesomely bad and hilariously outrageous Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RaidyAug 18, 2006
Sssssssssssss! This was the constant sound heard in the audience I was in, amidst flying plastic snakes and general cheering and brouhaha. Snakes on a Plane was one of those fun, must see in theaters type movies that sparked massive Sssssssssssss! This was the constant sound heard in the audience I was in, amidst flying plastic snakes and general cheering and brouhaha. Snakes on a Plane was one of those fun, must see in theaters type movies that sparked massive chuckles, boos, cheers, and plenty of audience participation. The movie itself was one of absurdness, both on the story and acting front (for the most part), but it knew as much and therefore was able to pull it off with great success. And while it started off a bit slow and lame story wise, the first few snake bite attacks were so over-the-top, you had to wonder how they could possibly continue the insanity - yet somehow they managed. The movie stayed entertaining from beginning to end, though the middle section was probably the best part of the film. Whether this movie stands the test of time is yet to be seen, but the experience was one that will not soon be forgotten. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimC.Aug 18, 2006
One of the best theater experiences I've ever had. It really helps to go in a packed theater so see this film while its hot and don't be afraid to yell "SNAKES ON A PLANE!" once in a while, good times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisK.Aug 18, 2006
One note, I'm never using the airplane lavatory ever! Sam was the man and that's all that anyone can ask for!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TroyB.Aug 18, 2006
This is what going to movies is all about. Excitement, energy, escpaism, the howl of the crowd, and a movie with the sole aim of giving the audience what it wants and what it paid for: no nonsense entertainment. A true rollacoaster This is what going to movies is all about. Excitement, energy, escpaism, the howl of the crowd, and a movie with the sole aim of giving the audience what it wants and what it paid for: no nonsense entertainment. A true rollacoaster experience. It truly was the people's movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BriAug 18, 2006
This is what movie-going is all about! With all of the hype leading up to it, the 10:00PM screening was PACKED full of hardcore fans, and everyone just had a freakin' blast from start to finish (yes, some people brought in rubber This is what movie-going is all about! With all of the hype leading up to it, the 10:00PM screening was PACKED full of hardcore fans, and everyone just had a freakin' blast from start to finish (yes, some people brought in rubber snakes, sure enough). Plus, it was even funnier than I expected it to be (both intentionally AND unintentionally) and could almost justify being a comedy as much as an action/thriller/horror. I don't think the 2nd half of the movie quite lived up to the 1st half of the movie, but that's not so much of a complaint. I'd have to say this flick just about lived up to the tremendous hype! GO SEE IT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanaAug 18, 2006
Put simply, this movie was exactly what i wanted it to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickyB.Aug 18, 2006
It's amazing what a man can do with one hand. greatest motion picture ever made
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlancoA.Aug 18, 2006
No, it's not the next Citizen Kane, but if you're looking for a really fun, end-of-the-summer thriller, this fits the bill perfectly. Next to Pulp Fiction, this is likely Sam Jackson's best role. He's got style to spare, No, it's not the next Citizen Kane, but if you're looking for a really fun, end-of-the-summer thriller, this fits the bill perfectly. Next to Pulp Fiction, this is likely Sam Jackson's best role. He's got style to spare, and his lines are funny as hell. I was at the first showing (Thursday 10PM) with at least 100 SOaP fanatics, which made the experience all the more fun, but there are plenty of "scream" scenes," and probably just as many bust-out-laughing moments. The critics might find some obscure ways to dislike the film, but just about everybody I saw leave the theater tonight had huge smiles on their faces. Don't over-analyze the thing. Just go and laugh and scream with it. I wouldn't call it a horror film so much as a thriller/disaster flick. Definitely recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanB.Aug 18, 2006
Sometimes you just want to have a good time. Look for the stuffy, pretentious critics to pan the hell out of this one. All I know is that myself, and the entire audience I saw this with was laughing uncontrollably and bursting into spurts of Sometimes you just want to have a good time. Look for the stuffy, pretentious critics to pan the hell out of this one. All I know is that myself, and the entire audience I saw this with was laughing uncontrollably and bursting into spurts of spontaneous applause. If you're even slighly intrigued by the concept, you'll love this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JerryH.Aug 18, 2006
The best bAD movie I've ever seen in the theatre. This film fails on so many filmmaking levels but never stops entertaining -- mainly through belly laughs of absurdity, violence, stretched cliches, bad acting, and some one liners of The best bAD movie I've ever seen in the theatre. This film fails on so many filmmaking levels but never stops entertaining -- mainly through belly laughs of absurdity, violence, stretched cliches, bad acting, and some one liners of which some are intentionally great and some are just well to horrible not to laugh at -- I was totally entertained. Enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeG.Aug 18, 2006
Taken seriously, it is one of the worst films ever made, but it is also one of the funniest. You will enjoy this if you go with a crowd that gets the movie for what it is: A b-movie that makes fun of itself and the genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveT.Aug 18, 2006
Snakes are serious business. So are planes. Sam Jackson understands this. Therefore, when snakes cause trouble aboard his plane, you best watch out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasparC.Aug 19, 2006
I saw this film at the 10pm showing, and I was surprised that the theatre was not packed to capacity. However, everyone there was there to witness the beauty and genius that is this film. The gratuitous violence on display, added to the I saw this film at the 10pm showing, and I was surprised that the theatre was not packed to capacity. However, everyone there was there to witness the beauty and genius that is this film. The gratuitous violence on display, added to the hilarious audience participation ("Snake Vision!!!"), the dramatic irony ("Let's hope this is an uneventful flight"), the wonderful one-liners, the ridiculous characters (OCD rap star, anyone?) made this a fantastic movie. I highly recommend that everyone sees this film as soon as possible. It's that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelM.Aug 19, 2006
This generations Rocky Horror Picture Show. Whatever your opinion is of this movie, you can't deny that it is absolutely fun. If you walk into this movie expecting to see Citizen Kane, then you deserve to be disappointed. If you walk in This generations Rocky Horror Picture Show. Whatever your opinion is of this movie, you can't deny that it is absolutely fun. If you walk into this movie expecting to see Citizen Kane, then you deserve to be disappointed. If you walk in expecting to laugh at the ridiculousness of the premise and jump at the creative ways that snakes can kill people trapped in an aluminum tube at 30000 feet, then you will be motherf!#*in' impressed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LanieAug 19, 2006
Far exceeded even my high expectations. I haven't laughed and screamed so much in years. Everyone with a sense of humor must see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanD.Aug 19, 2006
None of this so bad it's good BS. it was the movie of the year, full stop. it was intense, brutal, and INTENTIONALLY hilarious. i can't believe how hard nearly all these critics dropped the ball on something like this so hard.None of this so bad it's good BS. it was the movie of the year, full stop. it was intense, brutal, and INTENTIONALLY hilarious. i can't believe how hard nearly all these critics dropped the ball on something like this so hard. unintentionally hilarious? are you on crack? this is the most wry send-up of its horribly cliched predecessors that loves the BS it grew up on and has absolutely no pretensions of doing anything other than taking its own staples to ludicrous extents. the people behind this movie are effin' brilliant, and i mean that wholeheartedly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianV.Aug 21, 2006
Outstanding movie-going experience. Clearly not the manifestation of poetic genius, but this is a movie you have to get out and see in the next two weeks while the crowds are rowdy. Easily the best time I've had at the movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WongitAug 20, 2006
Hands down the funnest movie in a very long time. this summer saw some great flicks, some serious (miami vice) some dumb (talladega nights, but still awesome) but Snakes is just fun, its awsome and honestly i felt like cheering at the very Hands down the funnest movie in a very long time. this summer saw some great flicks, some serious (miami vice) some dumb (talladega nights, but still awesome) but Snakes is just fun, its awsome and honestly i felt like cheering at the very end of the film. Great all around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LaurieV.Aug 20, 2006
Forget the snakes, it's Samuel L Jackson on a plane. He carries this movie from being merely entertaining to being iconically good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobF.Aug 20, 2006
This is the best movie i have seen all year. This might be sthe best movie of all time. The way the audience participation with the movie just makes it more fun. It is so fun to watch. Of course it is it's Snakes on a Plane!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonathanC.Aug 22, 2006
This is not a film to be watched alone. Take your friends. Your friends' friends, even. Quite simply, this was the best theatre-going experience I've ever had. People were hissing during the movie, moaning on queue, booing This is not a film to be watched alone. Take your friends. Your friends' friends, even. Quite simply, this was the best theatre-going experience I've ever had. People were hissing during the movie, moaning on queue, booing previews, cheering when people got bit and killed in silly ways, and, when the already famous line came, stood, applauding Samuel L. Jackson's bad assery. I wouldn't have liked this movie alone and quiet, but like I said, if you take people with whom you are ready to laugh and cheer and applaud and hiss, and above all, have lots of fun, you'll have a blast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeD.Aug 23, 2006
Pure genius, the best and worst film of all time similtaneously. Can never get tired of these ----- snakes on a ------ plane
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LisaK.Aug 20, 2006
Really, your enjoyment level while watching this film rests partly on the audience, a necessary participant. The well-timed hissing behind us as well as in front of us had me in hysterics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidA.Aug 27, 2006
As a 50-somethiing father who took his 21 year-old daughter the day before she left for Europe for a junior semester abroad - to get her mind off her anxiety about travel - we howled, clapped, and shouted along with the other audience As a 50-somethiing father who took his 21 year-old daughter the day before she left for Europe for a junior semester abroad - to get her mind off her anxiety about travel - we howled, clapped, and shouted along with the other audience members. What a hoot. Look, no one expects an Acadamy Award here, unless they have a new category called "guilty pleasure." And that it was. It takes so many of the cliches of airplane/reptile/terror movies and plays them to the hilt (retreating to a smaller and smaller safe area, the male steward, the mother with the baby, etc). What a better way to spend 2 hours on an August night than enjoying the camp and overboard nature of an exploitation film that really gets it right. We both came out laughing, quoting the most memorable lines of the movie, and saying "Eleven!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarioP.Aug 17, 2006
snakes! plane! promise kept. thanks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VzadestroyerAug 17, 2006
If only the rating system went to infinty...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobAug 17, 2006
If you're thinking about seeing this, GO NOW! The absolute best part of this was the crazy early-comer audience who are totally stoked about seeing it. People were clapping and rooting every time some silly movie cliche was played out If you're thinking about seeing this, GO NOW! The absolute best part of this was the crazy early-comer audience who are totally stoked about seeing it. People were clapping and rooting every time some silly movie cliche was played out on screen, and everytime Sam Jackson worked his crazy badass-magic. The filmmakers knew they had a cheeseball on their hands, and they spun it into pure gold. But if you see this a month from now with a bunch of people who don't know what this is all about, you'll wonder why you wasted your time. Hurry! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregK.Aug 17, 2006
I honestly didn't think it would live up to the hype. The intro is cheesy as hell, the acting is brutal but damn are those snakes freightning. A must see movie of the year, not for the faint of heart, but an entertaining thrill ride of I honestly didn't think it would live up to the hype. The intro is cheesy as hell, the acting is brutal but damn are those snakes freightning. A must see movie of the year, not for the faint of heart, but an entertaining thrill ride of emotions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisM.Aug 17, 2006
Best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.C.Aug 18, 2006
One of the best Dark Comidies ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DarleneAug 18, 2006
GREAT movie! one of the best worst movies of all time. The hype, that doz guy gettign the tattoo..the movie itself was a riot!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LisaZ.Aug 18, 2006
There were snakes, and there was this plane. Ssssss! Ssss! Aaaa! Aaaa!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinB.Aug 18, 2006
Wow. I was truly scared to see this movie. Not because I have ophidiophobia, but because it was so over-hyped, and had such great potential to be a really really bad movie. To my astonishment, I enjoyed the movie through and through. Sure, Wow. I was truly scared to see this movie. Not because I have ophidiophobia, but because it was so over-hyped, and had such great potential to be a really really bad movie. To my astonishment, I enjoyed the movie through and through. Sure, it was "hilariously bad," but the sad thing is it's actually a better movie than Miami Vice or any of the Final Destinations. They had fun making it, and I sure as hell had fun watching it. Go ahead, yell at the screen. It will only enhance the experience. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JPK.Aug 18, 2006
I thought it would be fun, but it was much more. I wish all bad movies were this good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SarjuS.Aug 18, 2006
Snakes on the screen, puke on the seat next to me, and I still had an amazing time. You do the math.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnK.Aug 18, 2006
It's no work of art but so what, it doesn't try to be. Best time I've had in at a movie in awhile. Have some fun and check it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeyCAug 18, 2006
Honestly, I didn't expect much. Damn I was wrong. Trust Sammy L Jackson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertB.Aug 18, 2006
I haven't laughed that hard at a bad movie in a long time!!!! Very entertaining
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewB.Aug 18, 2006
You will Laugh, You will Scream, You will HISS! Snakes on a Plane delivers with everything it promised it would... "MotherF-ing Snakes on a MotherF-ing Plane!"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkB.Aug 18, 2006
This is the best time I've had at the movies ever. It is an experience. As a parody, it worked wondrous magic over me and the entire audience I saw it with.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
K.C.Aug 18, 2006
It might have helped that the theater was packed, and the audience was clapping along to the opening music and cheering for both Sam J and the snakes, but I had a great time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZachF.Aug 18, 2006
It turned out to be exactly what I had expected for a movie about snakes on a plane vs. sam jackson. Fantastic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarkSynapseAug 18, 2006
Go see it. Really. It's better than you would expect...a perfect end to the summer movie season.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KathleenO.Aug 18, 2006
This isn't Citizen Kane, nor was it intended to be. It was hysterical and the audience reaction was awesome. I can't recall ever having so much fun at a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricGAug 18, 2006
Perhaps the most upbeat film of the summer. It's hard not to have fun--there were many moments of spontaneous applause in my showing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveH.Aug 18, 2006
I've never been so entertained by such a bad film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyAug 18, 2006
Easily the most fun in a theatre. Ever. Someone said this was the perfect movie to end the summer. I am in total agreement. I really hope this movie does well, it absolutely deserves it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaxAug 18, 2006
I saw this movie on the premier night and from start to finish people were applauding and laughing at how ridiculous the movie was...if you go into the theater expecting a scary thriller you will be disappointed...but if you go in expecting I saw this movie on the premier night and from start to finish people were applauding and laughing at how ridiculous the movie was...if you go into the theater expecting a scary thriller you will be disappointed...but if you go in expecting to have a fun time and see Samuel L. Jackson kill some snakes in insanely amazing ways then you will enjoy yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NatAug 19, 2006
What did you expect? Anyone who expected this movie to be a truly good movie must be out of there mind. It's so bad, it's good, and they knew that when they made it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcoPoloAug 19, 2006
Color me surprised. Not only am I impressed that I even liked this movie, but I was amazed that everyone else in the theater was enjoying themselves as much as me and my girlfriend were. First off it takes a stupid premise and just has fun Color me surprised. Not only am I impressed that I even liked this movie, but I was amazed that everyone else in the theater was enjoying themselves as much as me and my girlfriend were. First off it takes a stupid premise and just has fun with it. Sure the special effects are shoddy at best, but really that's not the point. The point is to make the audience jump, laugh, (and boy will you laugh at the stupidity of it all) and sit at the edge of your seat to see what nonsense will occur next. This is really a true throwback to when movies knew to entertain and you could just have fun while chomping on popcorn and sipping on a coke. Kudos have to go to Samuel L Jackson for taking a chance with a dumb premise and going along with it to the point where you just can't help it but go along with it yourself. Trust me, dismiss what the critics may say about this being trash in its lowest form, this is what Hollywood needs to infuse into the movie theaters now and then. If Hollywood churns one or two of these kinds of movies per year, (and I'm not talking about the gore-fests that are meant to be fun, House of Wax, Final Destination 3 I'm looking at you) we'd all be the better for it. I honestly haven't had this much fun in a theater since the hey days of Sam Raimi's Evil Dead films, the original Star Wars trilogy or even John Carpenter's 80's Schlock Fests. This really isn't mindless and pointless drivel (well maybe it is a bit on the cheesy side), but as I watched what was taking place on the silver screen, I could'nt help but think that Ed Wood or William Castle would have smiled in approval of it all. A bona-fide late summer treat! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnB.Aug 19, 2006
The snakes are symbolic of current difficulties being experienced in the air today. Like Sma J said " I am tired of these mother f....ing snakes on this mother f........ing plane."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeR.Aug 19, 2006
You get what you paid for and it kicks ass.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdrianH.Aug 19, 2006
Definitely the most fun I've had going to the theater this summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianGAug 19, 2006
What can I say, with all of the hype this movie received coming in, I figured I would be probably get let down to some degree.... but not at all it turns out. This movie is everything the bloggers and all the little myspace kiddies hyped it What can I say, with all of the hype this movie received coming in, I figured I would be probably get let down to some degree.... but not at all it turns out. This movie is everything the bloggers and all the little myspace kiddies hyped it up to be, and a little more imo. Definitely worth paying to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NateAug 19, 2006
I've never seen an audience more involved in a movie before. You know you've done something brilliant, or horribly wrong when someones death is meant to be a dramatic moment and people can't help but laugh at it. If you go to I've never seen an audience more involved in a movie before. You know you've done something brilliant, or horribly wrong when someones death is meant to be a dramatic moment and people can't help but laugh at it. If you go to the movie, you have to go expecting the absurd. Only then will you be able to love this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClayAug 19, 2006
If you're looking to have a good time with this movie, you will. It is everything ANYONE could have wanted it to be, and if you don't like the movie you should have known not to go to begin with.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickAug 19, 2006
Snakes+plane+Samuel L Jackson=Best Film ever. I dont need to say anything else.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YamatsukaEyeAug 19, 2006
Instant cult faovourite. Suprisingly funny. Suppassed my hype for the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyencokeAug 22, 2006
Wow. This exceeded my expectiations by about a million times, I expected a really brutal movie. Instead I got a movie that was funny and cool. Everybody in the theater was cheering when someone died in a cool way or for a matter of fact, at Wow. This exceeded my expectiations by about a million times, I expected a really brutal movie. Instead I got a movie that was funny and cool. Everybody in the theater was cheering when someone died in a cool way or for a matter of fact, at all. Check this one out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronO.Aug 22, 2006
The in theatre experience of snakes on a plane just can't be beat. Samuel and the snakes deliver ample amounts of fan service throughout!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BryanAug 20, 2006
Please! A note to all those who took this movie seriously: what don't you get? This movie is not supposed to be serious!!! Get that straight. This movie is a spoof of all things ridiculous in modern horror movies. Yes, this is Please! A note to all those who took this movie seriously: what don't you get? This movie is not supposed to be serious!!! Get that straight. This movie is a spoof of all things ridiculous in modern horror movies. Yes, this is what's wrong with American filmmaking and it's hilarious. It KNOWS what's wrong with filmmaking and certainly uses it to its advantage. If you're taking this movie seriously, of course you'll hate it. If you're taking it as a spoof (which it certainly is) you'll die laughing. After all: a movie cannot be serious if Kenan Thompson saves the day. That's the funniest comedic ending of all time. There's nothing like this and never will be again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkAug 22, 2006
This movie was totally fun. All the fun Dead Man's Chest was missing. Jackson is cool as hell, though his big line should have been delivered more grimly/sternly rather than yelling it. I think that would have worked better. Some This movie was totally fun. All the fun Dead Man's Chest was missing. Jackson is cool as hell, though his big line should have been delivered more grimly/sternly rather than yelling it. I think that would have worked better. Some cheese, like the acting of the guy who played Eddie Kim, but nonetheless a fantastic theater experience. Audience was into it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TyeN.Aug 23, 2006
The film on it's own would still receive a recommendation from me, but it's the whole experience in the theater with a group of friends that really sells it. If you haven't seen it yet, you really need to. Please, do yourself The film on it's own would still receive a recommendation from me, but it's the whole experience in the theater with a group of friends that really sells it. If you haven't seen it yet, you really need to. Please, do yourself a favor and grab some friends, some snacks, and your sense of humor and go see 'Snakes On A Plane'. I'm going to gaurantee you right now that you will have fun and come out of the theater with a smile on your face. Me and my friends couldn't stop talking about it all night after we watched it, and even now we still make references to it. In fact, we might go see it again. It's that fun. A masterpiece? Of course not. A cult classic? Definitely, and sometimes that's even better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatD.Aug 23, 2006
A movie best enjoyed in a packed theatre full of rabid SoaP fans. Wow, great moments in the movie. Lines that got people out of their seats. Everybody goes nuts for that one line. You know the one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanH.Aug 29, 2006
Awesome movie if you shut you brain off and just relax.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MartinV.Aug 31, 2006
THose of you who hated the movie should've known what you were getting into. If you didn't buy the plot from the beginning, you probably might have leaned into not seeing it. But Samuel L. Jackson is good as his usual self in this THose of you who hated the movie should've known what you were getting into. If you didn't buy the plot from the beginning, you probably might have leaned into not seeing it. But Samuel L. Jackson is good as his usual self in this movie. For Samuel L. fans alike, this is a must-see! if you dont want to see it, don't. but if you do, this is a pretty funny movie. all i have to say Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EedriAug 30, 2006
haven't had this much fun at the theater in ages! This is such a hilariously silly and fun movie that you just gotta love.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SamF.Sep 2, 2006
Ive seen worse movies but this one did not impress me. The begininng bike scene is more exciting than most of the snakes...we get it already snakes on a plane. but when your 20,000 ft in the air , there is only so far you can go with the Ive seen worse movies but this one did not impress me. The begininng bike scene is more exciting than most of the snakes...we get it already snakes on a plane. but when your 20,000 ft in the air , there is only so far you can go with the movie. Considering how much secruity there is nowadays at airports getting dozens of venomous snakes onboard seems almost silly. Snake-ok lipstick-no way...lol Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
N.LewandowskiSep 3, 2006
I can never remember having so much fun at a movie. The people who say, "stupid and useless," clearly missed the trailers, internet hype, and title sequence. You don't go into this movie expecting Kubrik. You go into this movie to see I can never remember having so much fun at a movie. The people who say, "stupid and useless," clearly missed the trailers, internet hype, and title sequence. You don't go into this movie expecting Kubrik. You go into this movie to see snakes on a plane, with Samuel L. Jackson. It did exactly what should have been done. From over-done violence, to a sex-scene in an airline bathroom, the movie goes all-out to get the snakes on the plane, and keep the audience entertained. It succeded on all fronts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickC.Aug 17, 2006
My Friends... I have seen the light. I have seen the wonder. I have seen the answer to all of life's questions, miseries, and woes. And it was good. What is this phenomena, this holy grail of life and glory, if you will, I speak of? My Friends... I have seen the light. I have seen the wonder. I have seen the answer to all of life's questions, miseries, and woes. And it was good. What is this phenomena, this holy grail of life and glory, if you will, I speak of? Four words, my fellow humans: Snakes. On. A. Plane. For me to attempt to explain it would be like a pious man attempting to explain the will of God and His ultimate plan for mankind. So go, fly my children! Fly to the nearest movie theater and witness the most important piece of cinema of the year, nay, of this century thus far. I am a changed man because of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickO.Aug 17, 2006
Mutha****ing snakes. Mutha****ing Planes. Instant win.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KendallP.Aug 17, 2006
Easily the second best movie I've seen all summer, its comes in at a close second to Talladega Nights. This movie is funny, gruesome, and it has snakes on a mutha@#%*ing plane.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GavinAug 18, 2006
A classic in the making, seeing the very first showing nationwide of Snakes on a Plane at 10 pm last night was one of the most memborable and enjoyable experiences I have ever had in a movie theater. From the moment I entered the premises, I A classic in the making, seeing the very first showing nationwide of Snakes on a Plane at 10 pm last night was one of the most memborable and enjoyable experiences I have ever had in a movie theater. From the moment I entered the premises, I could tell I was in for a wild ride. Everyone was incessantly shouting the title, and making bad puns on it relating to whatever ads were being shown on screen before the film. Case in point: Three Moons Over Milford provoked the response, "Snakes on the Moon!!!" From the moment the *SPOILER THAT IF YOU COULDN'T FIGURE OUT YOU HAD NO BUSINESS SEEING THIS MOVIE* snakes are released on the plane until the end of the film, there was hardly a moment when I was not completely entertained. A glorious sendup of B-Movie Horror conventions and a flawless cast make this...well...they all come together to make a movie experience that could be called nothing other than "Snakes on a Plane." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EddieB.Aug 18, 2006
I never doubted Sam Jackson, and neither should you. He called me personally to let me know that Snakes on a Plane would be one of the best mothereffin movies of the summer. He was right! Don't pay attention to all the hype and the I never doubted Sam Jackson, and neither should you. He called me personally to let me know that Snakes on a Plane would be one of the best mothereffin movies of the summer. He was right! Don't pay attention to all the hype and the snake-plane-movie-haters; just listen to Sam. Samuel L. Jackson. Not convinced? Well, you already know from chosen title that the movie is going to have fun with this ridiculous premise. After the movie, I had a hard time thinking of ways one can die to a snake that wasn't covered in the film. Sure, the special effects were a little fake-looking and cheesy at times, but who cares. There were memorable characters, funny one-liners and situations, and some genuine scares that make you jump. The story moved along at a nice pace. And damn it, it has Sam Jackson, anchoring the film with his strong screen presence and unique mix of suavity, seriousness, and anger. Good career move, Sam. If you have a good sense of humor (regarding both the film's content and SoaP crowd), then you will love Snakes on a Plane. Seriously. Trust me. Trust Sam. I can't wait for the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrusiAug 18, 2006
OMG, this movie was priceless. I respect SLJ so much for stepping aside from his normal movies to do a chessy B-movie like this. The movie is awesome, you gotta go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattA.Aug 18, 2006
Im giving it a Nine. That is being generous, only to the fact that the movie was EXACTLY what it set out to be. Exactly... You walk into the theatre expecting to see snakes on a plane, and that's what you get. Some nice violence, Im giving it a Nine. That is being generous, only to the fact that the movie was EXACTLY what it set out to be. Exactly... You walk into the theatre expecting to see snakes on a plane, and that's what you get. Some nice violence, nudity, and swearing... and that's what the movie wanted to be. For a Bad Movie, it was Phenominal... There were some parts that i didn't like and found to be hokey... but other than that... SNAKES ON A PLANE BITCHES!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DominicAug 18, 2006
This movie delivers exactly what is promises, "snakes on a plane". If you walk in to this movie loathing it and it's hype you'll probably loathe it. If you walk in curious or just laughing at the possibility (albeit far-fetched This movie delivers exactly what is promises, "snakes on a plane". If you walk in to this movie loathing it and it's hype you'll probably loathe it. If you walk in curious or just laughing at the possibility (albeit far-fetched concept) you'll enjoy it. This is entertainment. It's not the greatest movie ever, not by long shot! This is probably one of the best horrible movies I've ever seen. I highly recommend spending the money to see this one just because it demands audience participation in the form of cruel comments like, "Aw Shit, when this is all over, let's go get a Good Burger!" It's full of tasteful one-liners like, "My Praise to the Playstation! Hallelujah!" In short, there's Snakes on a Plane and it stars Sam Jackson performing in the role of a "bad-ass". There's the fat kid from Good Burger (Keenan Thompson), sex, mild drug use (weed) and a host of other things that anyone with a sense of humor and a broad knowledge of current U.S. pop-culture will enjoy. I was ENTERTAINED by this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful