User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 308 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 308
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2012
    5
    If you can understand a word of Ritchie's screenplay, which is loaded with British slang unheard of for most Americans, that you might be able to enjoy it. Obviously, I wasn't. And didn't.
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    5
    It's a marked improvement over Lock, Stock And Two Smoking Barrels, I'll give it that. It had a bigger budget, so it looks a whole lot better than that movie, and it has a more experienced cast, too, so the performances were a lot more convincing. Dennis Farina doesn't get enough work in Hollywood. He's so good, he has such an imposing presence, especially when he played Bones in GetIt's a marked improvement over Lock, Stock And Two Smoking Barrels, I'll give it that. It had a bigger budget, so it looks a whole lot better than that movie, and it has a more experienced cast, too, so the performances were a lot more convincing. Dennis Farina doesn't get enough work in Hollywood. He's so good, he has such an imposing presence, especially when he played Bones in Get Shorty. He's good in his role here, too. I liked Jason Statham, He actually had stuff to say, and when he has stuff to say, he's not bad. But Brad Pitt really stole the spotlight, no matter how incomprehensible he is in this movie. Talking with such a thick accent all the way through, he was hilarious, and I loved that nobody else out of his family had a clue what he was saying. But like Lock, Stock, I still have issues with Guy's dialogue. There's arrogance about the way everybody talks, and they all talk the same way, like they're all talking out of the same mouth. There's no individuality to the characters. Brad and Alan Ford are the only ones who really make their characters their own. Alan's **** accent is a gift from God I tell ya, He makes a great mob boss. But I never found the movie boring, It's fast-paced and occasionally funny, but there's no wit in the writing, and the plot never takes us anywhere, it just kinda goes on without becoming anything more than what it started out as, which would've been perfectly fine had there been interesting characters thrown in the mix with better dialogue to bounce off each other. Expand
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    4
    Eh, it was nothing more than ok. There's nothing here really, other than a great performance from Brad Pitt. It had two stories, but only one was interesting and the other left much to be desired. The pace was quick, yet was boring and the dialogue did not help lighten it up in the least. It was funny in spurts for sure, which did help, but ultimately, this one does not live up to expectations.
  4. Feb 5, 2014
    5
    Snatch.'s intentions were to be a satire on the whole crime movie genre, but it ends up falling flat on a sarcastic, poorly-written script with comeback after comeback and no real substance. It's a shame, as good directing and a decent performance from Statham gave the movie potential.
  5. AlexK.
    Jul 7, 2001
    5
    Quite frankly it just didn't live up to my expectations. It was suprisingly boring and uninteresting at parts, and in general it just didn't have the artful flow that it needed to be great. Some decent performances (too bad Del Toro wasn't in most of the movie) and some genuine comedy make this worth seeing, especially if you haven't seen Ritchie's first film and Quite frankly it just didn't live up to my expectations. It was suprisingly boring and uninteresting at parts, and in general it just didn't have the artful flow that it needed to be great. Some decent performances (too bad Del Toro wasn't in most of the movie) and some genuine comedy make this worth seeing, especially if you haven't seen Ritchie's first film and therefore don't have lofty hopes. Expand
  6. AlexK.
    Jul 7, 2001
    5
    Quite frankly it just didn't live up to my expectations. It was suprisingly boring and uninteresting at parts, and in general it just didn't have the artful flow that it needed to be great. Some decent performances (too bad Del Toro wasn't in most of the movie) and some genuine comedy make this worth seeing, especially if you haven't seen Ritchie's first film and Quite frankly it just didn't live up to my expectations. It was suprisingly boring and uninteresting at parts, and in general it just didn't have the artful flow that it needed to be great. Some decent performances (too bad Del Toro wasn't in most of the movie) and some genuine comedy make this worth seeing, especially if you haven't seen Ritchie's first film and therefore don't have lofty hopes. Expand
  7. RayJ.
    Jul 18, 2001
    6
    Entertaining, but not a movie I would see again. It was the wife's turn to pick a movie, my turn next time!
  8. BlakeJ.
    Mar 11, 2007
    4
    One of the many "college boy" films. Right up there with "Boondock Saints", it fits the mold as a movie with violence, over the top, what I can only title as, "macho-man-drama", lame dialogue, and strange terminology, such as referring to shotguns as "shoolas"...that will make boys ages 13-21 shake in their boots with satisfaction. An overall bore. The only thing that saves the movie from One of the many "college boy" films. Right up there with "Boondock Saints", it fits the mold as a movie with violence, over the top, what I can only title as, "macho-man-drama", lame dialogue, and strange terminology, such as referring to shotguns as "shoolas"...that will make boys ages 13-21 shake in their boots with satisfaction. An overall bore. The only thing that saves the movie from being a complete waste of time is Brad Pitt's turn as a gypsy with a mouth full of marbles. If you want something with substance you're barking up the wrong tree, if you want something macho, with guns, cars, and pigs eating peoples bones, you came to the right place. Expand
  9. raVen
    Nov 12, 2003
    6
    This movie is strange and sideways and often rude. But there are parts of it that I love to death.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. 60
    It all feels rather laddish and belabored, but it will eat up 90 minutes of your time without making you regret the loss.
  2. 20
    It takes a very clever schoolboy to make a movie as elaborately empty as Guy Ritchie's Snatch.
  3. 20
    For those who care, Madonna has found her match in Guy Ritchie, whose absence of talent when it comes to the film medium is equal to her own.