Screen Gems | Release Date: January 19, 2001
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 448 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
409
Mixed:
27
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
If you can understand a word of Ritchie's screenplay, which is loaded with British slang unheard of for most Americans, that you might be able to enjoy it. Obviously, I wasn't. And didn't.
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
5
mordilloJun 19, 2011
It's a marked improvement over Lock, Stock And Two Smoking Barrels, I'll give it that. It had a bigger budget, so it looks a whole lot better than that movie, and it has a more experienced cast, too, so the performances were a lot moreIt's a marked improvement over Lock, Stock And Two Smoking Barrels, I'll give it that. It had a bigger budget, so it looks a whole lot better than that movie, and it has a more experienced cast, too, so the performances were a lot more convincing. Dennis Farina doesn't get enough work in Hollywood. He's so good, he has such an imposing presence, especially when he played Bones in Get Shorty. He's good in his role here, too. I liked Jason Statham, He actually had stuff to say, and when he has stuff to say, he's not bad. But Brad Pitt really stole the spotlight, no matter how incomprehensible he is in this movie. Talking with such a thick accent all the way through, he was hilarious, and I loved that nobody else out of his family had a clue what he was saying. But like Lock, Stock, I still have issues with Guy's dialogue. There's arrogance about the way everybody talks, and they all talk the same way, like they're all talking out of the same mouth. There's no individuality to the characters. Brad and Alan Ford are the only ones who really make their characters their own. Alan's **** accent is a gift from God I tell ya, He makes a great mob boss. But I never found the movie boring, It's fast-paced and occasionally funny, but there's no wit in the writing, and the plot never takes us anywhere, it just kinda goes on without becoming anything more than what it started out as, which would've been perfectly fine had there been interesting characters thrown in the mix with better dialogue to bounce off each other. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
SpangleJan 3, 2014
Eh, it was nothing more than ok. There's nothing here really, other than a great performance from Brad Pitt. It had two stories, but only one was interesting and the other left much to be desired. The pace was quick, yet was boring and theEh, it was nothing more than ok. There's nothing here really, other than a great performance from Brad Pitt. It had two stories, but only one was interesting and the other left much to be desired. The pace was quick, yet was boring and the dialogue did not help lighten it up in the least. It was funny in spurts for sure, which did help, but ultimately, this one does not live up to expectations. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysFeb 5, 2014
Snatch.'s intentions were to be a satire on the whole crime movie genre, but it ends up falling flat on a sarcastic, poorly-written script with comeback after comeback and no real substance. It's a shame, as good directing and a decentSnatch.'s intentions were to be a satire on the whole crime movie genre, but it ends up falling flat on a sarcastic, poorly-written script with comeback after comeback and no real substance. It's a shame, as good directing and a decent performance from Statham gave the movie potential. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
AlexK.Jul 7, 2001
Quite frankly it just didn't live up to my expectations. It was suprisingly boring and uninteresting at parts, and in general it just didn't have the artful flow that it needed to be great. Some decent performances (too bad Del Quite frankly it just didn't live up to my expectations. It was suprisingly boring and uninteresting at parts, and in general it just didn't have the artful flow that it needed to be great. Some decent performances (too bad Del Toro wasn't in most of the movie) and some genuine comedy make this worth seeing, especially if you haven't seen Ritchie's first film and therefore don't have lofty hopes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BlakeJ.Mar 11, 2007
One of the many "college boy" films. Right up there with "Boondock Saints", it fits the mold as a movie with violence, over the top, what I can only title as, "macho-man-drama", lame dialogue, and strange terminology, such as referring to One of the many "college boy" films. Right up there with "Boondock Saints", it fits the mold as a movie with violence, over the top, what I can only title as, "macho-man-drama", lame dialogue, and strange terminology, such as referring to shotguns as "shoolas"...that will make boys ages 13-21 shake in their boots with satisfaction. An overall bore. The only thing that saves the movie from being a complete waste of time is Brad Pitt's turn as a gypsy with a mouth full of marbles. If you want something with substance you're barking up the wrong tree, if you want something macho, with guns, cars, and pigs eating peoples bones, you came to the right place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
Compi24Sep 10, 2015
Like "Lock, Stock, And Two Smoking Barrels," Guy Ritchie's "Snatch" is a frenzied, dizzying caper with wacky humor and a crazy, yet mostly understandable spider-web of a narrative at its core.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
IAmTechJun 19, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 'Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels 2' could be its real name, Ritchie is back with the second in his British gangster trilogy ('Revolver' being number three) and this time due to the success of his first venture he clearly has more money to play with so he brings in some big name stars.

The film is almost the same kind of thing to 'Lock Stock' being another gritty, dirty, slimy cockney collaboration of tales all revolving around yet more oddball wheeler dealers, thugs and gangsters as they all try to get ahold of money, jewels and each other in (again) a Tarantino type way with more gallows humour. The cast again is fantastic and includes yet more British actors that were somehow left out of the first film, over Ritchie's films he's used every known British character actor or soap star we have. The inclusion of some big Hollywood stars actually, for me, brings the film down slightly, they don't seem realistic and can't fit into this exclusively British world thus the film loses its sense of realism, a big Hollywood star doesn't always equal a good direction to go.

To be frank the film does really have a R. Rodriguez feel to it eg. 'Mariachi' was made, it did well so RR remade it bigger and better. 'Snatch' does seem to fall into that category to a degree, it does feel almost like a reboot or upgrade of 'Lock Stock' as some of the cast that do show up in both films are playing the same kind of role, mainly Vinnie Jones who can't really play anything else. The film has the exact same grotty feel to it with your typical South/East London looking pubs, alleys and streets, more cockney dialect to confuse any non-Londoner, more hints at vicious violence but without actually showing that much, some glorious fights and more swearing than you can possibly imagine.

The only thing I don't like about the film is all the silly names everyone has, I just get the feeling Ritchie was trying too hard to make it in the same vain as American New York gangsters, your typical hood with his catchy nickname like Billy the rat or pool table Pauly for example, it just seemed a bit daft. Basically this is another triumph for Ritchie despite making the same film all over again. Alan Fords portrayal of Brick Top is also probably the most chilling baddie I've seen in years.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews