Screen Gems | Release Date: January 19, 2001
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 477 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
434
Mixed:
29
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Viper8787Apr 17, 2014
A highly under rated movies by many critics. The acting in this movie was great people like Brad Pitt pulled of incredible accents and performances which must have been really hard to do. The beginning of this movie was a little hard toA highly under rated movies by many critics. The acting in this movie was great people like Brad Pitt pulled of incredible accents and performances which must have been really hard to do. The beginning of this movie was a little hard to follow but once it got started it was great. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
FlapjackOct 22, 2010
Brilliant from start to finish. Classic characters in every single scene. This is surely Guy Richie's finest movie to date. I guess you'd have to be British to truly get the most out of it...?
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
EliotDDec 27, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My all time favourite movie tied with RocknRolla. Too many people say that it has no plot, and though there is very little of it, it is still their. However it is witty, funny, action packed and is just filled with awesome. A minor masterpiece. Jason Statham is very funny and is a strong character. I hoped to see more of him in this movie but sadly not. Brad Pitt showed his best acting to date (2011). He manages to keep a thick incomprehensible irish accent throughout. The scene where his mother dies in the caravan had me devastated. This movie really showed the potential he has. Lots of people say that all the characters are similar, but only one thing about them is similar. They all live a life of crime. To say that Boris the Blade (or Bullet dodger) is similar to Tom or Bullettooth is madness. The ending truly makes one joyful that it ended as it did. Looking forward to see Lock, Stock and 2 Smoking Barrels, haven't seen it yet. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
UncleEarlDec 1, 2013
It's a solid 8 or 9 depending on how you feel about the contrast between the very funny humor and the very violent crime that takes place. Definitely feels like the spiritual successor to lock stock, with a little more polish and star power.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
JohnMarkF.Mar 21, 2008
Hillarious, genius, just a great crack. A must watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
viktormadaraszAug 21, 2011
i love this movie...Jason Statham and Brad Pitt are great, excellent movie...just like Lock, Stock...and even a bit better.I like ,,dawgs" ,,caravans" all of it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
CincinnatiDaveSep 20, 2011
Loved it! Alan Ford's performance should be all the reason you need to see this. I'm not usually a fan of Ritche's work, with Sherlock Holmes being an exception, but this movie hooked me from the very beginning and never let go. Brad PittLoved it! Alan Ford's performance should be all the reason you need to see this. I'm not usually a fan of Ritche's work, with Sherlock Holmes being an exception, but this movie hooked me from the very beginning and never let go. Brad Pitt is terrific, even if you can't understand 95% of what he says. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AlvaradoKTASep 2, 2012
This is probably the best British comedy I have ever seen.It's full of twist and irony. It's somewhat of a cross between Pulp Fiction and Burn After Reading. I't gets a little confusing when all the characters start running into each other,This is probably the best British comedy I have ever seen.It's full of twist and irony. It's somewhat of a cross between Pulp Fiction and Burn After Reading. I't gets a little confusing when all the characters start running into each other, but quickly resolves it's self. This is a great movie to spend an hour and a half on. Brad Pitt's accent is alone, is worthy enough of your time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AutiTakahashiDec 2, 2012
So there's this stolen 86-carat diamond stone that has recently gone missing. And you can bet that there are quite a number of people who will risk their life and threaten lives in order to acquire this precious stone once news gets out.So there's this stolen 86-carat diamond stone that has recently gone missing. And you can bet that there are quite a number of people who will risk their life and threaten lives in order to acquire this precious stone once news gets out. Except perhaps for one weird gypsy who just wants a brand new caravan for his mama, but that Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
theahsanhaseebSep 8, 2012
Guy Ritchie never disappoints you. A funny and equally lame storyline, and Jason Statham's narration make this film way funnier than it actually is. I really liked the techniques that have been incorporated in this film considering the factGuy Ritchie never disappoints you. A funny and equally lame storyline, and Jason Statham's narration make this film way funnier than it actually is. I really liked the techniques that have been incorporated in this film considering the fact that it was released in 2001. The characterization is really good and the way all of the characters are shown related to each other in different way is really amazing. Brad Pitt and Jason Statham's performances were so good especially Brad Pitt's Pikey accent, always makes me laugh whenever I think about it. Overall it is a good film, "crime with humour topping" lovers should not miss it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Popcorn12345Jul 15, 2013
Another amazing Guy Ritchie film. A bit like Lock, Stock And Two Smoking Barrels. Very funny, very clever and very entertaining. If you haven't seen this or Lock Stock, then you need to watch them now. 10/10.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
NedensoruyorsunMar 8, 2014
Bence çok iyi bir film. neden bu kadar düşük olduğunada anlamadım. Guy Ritche muhteşem bir performans çıkarmış. kesinlikle izlenmesi lazım.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
thunderball001Oct 12, 2014
ive change my fakin mind. ill give it a ten actually. it one of those film like pulp fiction, big lewboski that really surprises you when you watch it. it very bold and very rare. for that pure reason I have to give a ten my pedigree chums.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NickR.Aug 15, 2009
My all-time favorite film. Amazing in every area.
7 of 8 users found this helpful
10
xMozzeeDec 29, 2011
If you have seen a Guy Ritchie film and enjoyed it, you will enjoy this. NO it is not a great movie, but it is extremely entertaining and fun to watch, which is the reason i watch movies. i am not giving it a 10 because it is perfect becauseIf you have seen a Guy Ritchie film and enjoyed it, you will enjoy this. NO it is not a great movie, but it is extremely entertaining and fun to watch, which is the reason i watch movies. i am not giving it a 10 because it is perfect because its not, im giving it a 10 because it is my favourite movie so far. I have seen the making of the movie and can see that Guy Ritchie has his own way of directing that is not strictly professional and it shows through in the movie, IN A GOOD WAY. I recommend this fast paced Brittish heist/gangster movie to anyone who is reading this. Collapse
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
If you can understand a word of Ritchie's screenplay, which is loaded with British slang unheard of for most Americans, that you might be able to enjoy it. Obviously, I wasn't. And didn't.
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
2
Mr-Liberal-LDSFeb 2, 2013
An atrocious comedic drama which glamorizes criminal activity, violence, and almost mind-numbingly pervasive profanity...I had a hard time finishing it. Rest assured that your potential for gaining new insight or finding life-enrichingAn atrocious comedic drama which glamorizes criminal activity, violence, and almost mind-numbingly pervasive profanity...I had a hard time finishing it. Rest assured that your potential for gaining new insight or finding life-enriching meaning of any kind is slim to none; you definitely will not be uplifted. Even just measuring it in terms of simple entertainment value, its wit humor don't come close to compensating for its violence. The kinds of flashy bloodshed and theatrical cruelty which are found in films like Snatch desensitize fragile minds and corrode morals in a way that, yes, does in fact facilitate real-world violence. Brief example: the film's analysis of the efficiencies of pig farms for human corpse disposal some people inevitably walked away reflecting on the strengths weaknesses of different corpse disposal methods...a topic in which they would not have otherwise invested mental energy. I just wish we could have more honest conversations with ourselves and each other about the impact the media to which we expose ourselves has on us individually, and on those among us who are most malleable. Not to be preachy, but that there is any real market for this movie ought to be unsettling to those of us who value human life; this film almost entirely implies that it is worthless. Watch something else...there is plenty of better out there to be seen. Expand
1 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
5
mordilloJun 19, 2011
It's a marked improvement over Lock, Stock And Two Smoking Barrels, I'll give it that. It had a bigger budget, so it looks a whole lot better than that movie, and it has a more experienced cast, too, so the performances were a lot moreIt's a marked improvement over Lock, Stock And Two Smoking Barrels, I'll give it that. It had a bigger budget, so it looks a whole lot better than that movie, and it has a more experienced cast, too, so the performances were a lot more convincing. Dennis Farina doesn't get enough work in Hollywood. He's so good, he has such an imposing presence, especially when he played Bones in Get Shorty. He's good in his role here, too. I liked Jason Statham, He actually had stuff to say, and when he has stuff to say, he's not bad. But Brad Pitt really stole the spotlight, no matter how incomprehensible he is in this movie. Talking with such a thick accent all the way through, he was hilarious, and I loved that nobody else out of his family had a clue what he was saying. But like Lock, Stock, I still have issues with Guy's dialogue. There's arrogance about the way everybody talks, and they all talk the same way, like they're all talking out of the same mouth. There's no individuality to the characters. Brad and Alan Ford are the only ones who really make their characters their own. Alan's **** accent is a gift from God I tell ya, He makes a great mob boss. But I never found the movie boring, It's fast-paced and occasionally funny, but there's no wit in the writing, and the plot never takes us anywhere, it just kinda goes on without becoming anything more than what it started out as, which would've been perfectly fine had there been interesting characters thrown in the mix with better dialogue to bounce off each other. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
SpangleJan 3, 2014
Eh, it was nothing more than ok. There's nothing here really, other than a great performance from Brad Pitt. It had two stories, but only one was interesting and the other left much to be desired. The pace was quick, yet was boring and theEh, it was nothing more than ok. There's nothing here really, other than a great performance from Brad Pitt. It had two stories, but only one was interesting and the other left much to be desired. The pace was quick, yet was boring and the dialogue did not help lighten it up in the least. It was funny in spurts for sure, which did help, but ultimately, this one does not live up to expectations. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysFeb 5, 2014
Snatch.'s intentions were to be a satire on the whole crime movie genre, but it ends up falling flat on a sarcastic, poorly-written script with comeback after comeback and no real substance. It's a shame, as good directing and a decentSnatch.'s intentions were to be a satire on the whole crime movie genre, but it ends up falling flat on a sarcastic, poorly-written script with comeback after comeback and no real substance. It's a shame, as good directing and a decent performance from Statham gave the movie potential. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
lukeMar 20, 2008
Absolutely loved this film, hadnt seen any of Ritchie's previous work so was unsure what to expect but i thought it was great. Fast-paced, action packed, well written and acted and incredibly funny...what more could you want. Also one Absolutely loved this film, hadnt seen any of Ritchie's previous work so was unsure what to expect but i thought it was great. Fast-paced, action packed, well written and acted and incredibly funny...what more could you want. Also one of Pitt's finest pieces of work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PJKJul 2, 2008
This movie was a great movie back then and somehow still seems to be a great movie now. Even after 7 years... I had to watch it again because it left such great memories. It's just that good. So much action and humor. If you This movie was a great movie back then and somehow still seems to be a great movie now. Even after 7 years... I had to watch it again because it left such great memories. It's just that good. So much action and humor. If you haven't seen it yet, watch it NOW. You'll love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
benfSep 7, 2008
One of my favourite movies ever. Great action scene and plenty of good one liners with tight, clever editing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlexK.Jul 7, 2001
Quite frankly it just didn't live up to my expectations. It was suprisingly boring and uninteresting at parts, and in general it just didn't have the artful flow that it needed to be great. Some decent performances (too bad Del Quite frankly it just didn't live up to my expectations. It was suprisingly boring and uninteresting at parts, and in general it just didn't have the artful flow that it needed to be great. Some decent performances (too bad Del Toro wasn't in most of the movie) and some genuine comedy make this worth seeing, especially if you haven't seen Ritchie's first film and therefore don't have lofty hopes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
redlacm.Jan 7, 2006
Sensational thriller. very radical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkS.Jul 5, 2006
Brad Pitt really seems to be relishing his role in this and it shows through. Love the writing and great reactions to the action by the characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BlakeJ.Mar 11, 2007
One of the many "college boy" films. Right up there with "Boondock Saints", it fits the mold as a movie with violence, over the top, what I can only title as, "macho-man-drama", lame dialogue, and strange terminology, such as referring to One of the many "college boy" films. Right up there with "Boondock Saints", it fits the mold as a movie with violence, over the top, what I can only title as, "macho-man-drama", lame dialogue, and strange terminology, such as referring to shotguns as "shoolas"...that will make boys ages 13-21 shake in their boots with satisfaction. An overall bore. The only thing that saves the movie from being a complete waste of time is Brad Pitt's turn as a gypsy with a mouth full of marbles. If you want something with substance you're barking up the wrong tree, if you want something macho, with guns, cars, and pigs eating peoples bones, you came to the right place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobertR.Jul 8, 2007
Sly, volatile, and malodorous just as good pulp should be, Snatch isn't a solemn movie that's dependent on sophisticated fundamentals. Snatch
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MitchA.Jan 11, 2008
Humorous, witty, clever, and action-packed...what more can one ask for?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WesM.Jun 24, 2008
Very great, disposable entertainment. Anyone who has actually encountered a "pikey" before would know, however, that Brad Pitt turned in a shite performance; terrible accent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoelPApr 9, 2009
One of my faves of all time. This is another movie that separates the "real" movie viewers from the people who like movies. There aren't very many characters I can name off hand that are more interesting than marble-mouthed Brad Pitt. One of my faves of all time. This is another movie that separates the "real" movie viewers from the people who like movies. There aren't very many characters I can name off hand that are more interesting than marble-mouthed Brad Pitt. By the way, I am not an "expert" or a "real" movie viewer, case in point, I also love "BigTrouble in Little China", yee haw! Watch this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimSAug 24, 2009
Great movie. Somehow I really enjoy watching this several times. The different storylines, the colourful characters and the humour really are my thing. A must watch for many a movie fan imo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TyR.Dec 14, 2006
Great movie, suspenseful, fast-paced, and hilarious. One of my favorites.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ColginatorAug 3, 2015
Snatch is Guy Ritchie's second feature film and a spiritual successor to his first film Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels. It has a similar style, setting and mostly the same cast from that film. With some filmmakers this could risk beingSnatch is Guy Ritchie's second feature film and a spiritual successor to his first film Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels. It has a similar style, setting and mostly the same cast from that film. With some filmmakers this could risk being repetitive and failing to live up to a previous success. But fortunately Ritchie seems to improve upon what he did in Lock, Stock in every way remaining loyal in style whilst creating a wholly original and hilarious comedy.

Its narrative is similar to something like Pulp Fiction, since there's no single plot that the film follows. Instead it follows many insane characters as they navigate the world of London crime and watch as their stories collide in to each other (both literally and metaphorically) as they try to do every crime from rigging boxing matches to stealing a 86 carat diamond.

And seeing these characters interactions is definitely the best part of the film. Watching their over the top personalities collide is like watching a dark British version of old Looney Tune cartoons. Even if this film had no plot at all, it could probably be sold on these insane characters alone. To match their larger than life personalities, most of the characters will also have weird but memorable names including Borris the Blade (Rade Serbedzija) a Russian gun dealer with the ability to dodge bullets and Brick Top (Alan Ford) a British gangster who rigged boxing matches and has an aggressive streak, chopping up any person who crosses him in to pieces and feeding them to pigs.

But no character in the film is quite as bizarrely enjoyable as Mickey O'Neil (Brad Pitt). He's a Irish Gypsy traveller who is a bare boxing champion with the ability to knock his opponents out in one punch. He's given an Irish accent that even an Irish man would find hard to follow at points, largely in response to criticisms in the first film that many of the London accents could be hard to follow for American audiences. So this character was made so both the audience and other characters couldn't understand him. And he uses this to his advantage, setting up unfair deals and swindling all the English men out of their pockets.

Even beyond the main characters, every side character are also very enjoyable. They seem to have a Coens Brother kind of charm to them when even if they were only on screen for 30 seconds, they kept you laughing so much in that short time that you'll still be able to leave the film thinking of them. Either because of the short dialogue having a distinct British charm to them or just because of great casting (like having a slow moving fat man as the getaway driver for a heist) that just ensures the characters all leave a lasting impression.

Another great part about the comedy in this film is Ritchie is one of the few directors to still use the visual medium effectively to bring the laughs in his comedies. As smart and quotable as the dialogue in the film is ("Why do they call him the bullet-dodger?" "Cause he dodges bullets") the films visuals are where Ritchie real skill takes over. The use of clever editing tricks like freeze framing on a stupid face or fast editing taking you off guard in a split second allows this film to have its own distinct mark on you.

Out of all of his films so far this is definitely Ritchie's career high point. Its impressive soundtrack, instantly quotable dialogue and memorable visuals are both very enjoyable and easily re-watchable. It's quite easily one of my favourite comedies to come out in years.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Sep 10, 2015
Like "Lock, Stock, And Two Smoking Barrels," Guy Ritchie's "Snatch" is a frenzied, dizzying caper with wacky humor and a crazy, yet mostly understandable spider-web of a narrative at its core.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Swishalicious29Apr 1, 2016
Snatch is a very enjoyable film. I found it to very reminiscent of "Pulp Fiction". Both films have fantastic dialogue, memorable characters, and good music. Of course, Pulp Fiction is way better, but Snatch is definitely worth your time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AGKJan 4, 2017
This movie is a textbook classic. Good story, plot, actors etc. I'd recommend it to anyone and everyone. This is also the movie that made me like Brad Pitt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
klea0721Jan 7, 2015
Not for kids or squeamish stomachs but we'll done. Ferris Beuller mixed with fight club and a twist or ten. Hard to call such violence entertaining but I was hooked till the end and was not disappointed. NOT FOR KIDS.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FrenziedPanda99Jul 23, 2016
Engenious, Mind Blowing and fun, Snatch is Great and Alan Ford(Brcktop) is even greater....

"In the quiet Words of the virgin Marie, come again?" aahahahahaha
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TechnoElfAug 14, 2015
Everything you want in a british heist film and more. Guy ritchie steps up again after the brilliance of Lock, Stock & Two Smoking Barrels and delivers. Hilarious, action packed, smart, engaging and overall a great time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
It's a solid 8 or 9 depending on how you feel about the contrast between the very funny humour and the very violent crime that takes place. Definitely feels like the spiritual successor to lock stock, with a little more polish and star power.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
IAmTechJun 19, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 'Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels 2' could be its real name, Ritchie is back with the second in his British gangster trilogy ('Revolver' being number three) and this time due to the success of his first venture he clearly has more money to play with so he brings in some big name stars.

The film is almost the same kind of thing to 'Lock Stock' being another gritty, dirty, slimy cockney collaboration of tales all revolving around yet more oddball wheeler dealers, thugs and gangsters as they all try to get ahold of money, jewels and each other in (again) a Tarantino type way with more gallows humour. The cast again is fantastic and includes yet more British actors that were somehow left out of the first film, over Ritchie's films he's used every known British character actor or soap star we have. The inclusion of some big Hollywood stars actually, for me, brings the film down slightly, they don't seem realistic and can't fit into this exclusively British world thus the film loses its sense of realism, a big Hollywood star doesn't always equal a good direction to go.

To be frank the film does really have a R. Rodriguez feel to it eg. 'Mariachi' was made, it did well so RR remade it bigger and better. 'Snatch' does seem to fall into that category to a degree, it does feel almost like a reboot or upgrade of 'Lock Stock' as some of the cast that do show up in both films are playing the same kind of role, mainly Vinnie Jones who can't really play anything else. The film has the exact same grotty feel to it with your typical South/East London looking pubs, alleys and streets, more cockney dialect to confuse any non-Londoner, more hints at vicious violence but without actually showing that much, some glorious fights and more swearing than you can possibly imagine.

The only thing I don't like about the film is all the silly names everyone has, I just get the feeling Ritchie was trying too hard to make it in the same vain as American New York gangsters, your typical hood with his catchy nickname like Billy the rat or pool table Pauly for example, it just seemed a bit daft. Basically this is another triumph for Ritchie despite making the same film all over again. Alan Fords portrayal of Brick Top is also probably the most chilling baddie I've seen in years.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews