Snatch.

Snatch. Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 454 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Guy Ritchie's highly anticipated comedy features a colorful ensemble cast in a rollicking ride through London's gangster world, its bustling diamond district and a rowdy gypsy camp. (Columbia Tristar)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. 89
    Snatch is nothing if not watchable: It has the insane, popcorn rhythms of a Road Runner cartoon, and for that reason alone it's a minor masterpiece.
  2. Another whirling crime caper that leaves you shocked and chuckling at the same time.
  3. 75
    Snatch is admittedly superficial, if not downright disposable. More importantly, though, the movie is also fantastic, cheeky fun.
  4. Since the main reason I go to movies is to engage with characters, I prefer "The Pledge," the film opening today by Madonna's first husband, Sean Penn, rather than this stylish fluff by her second spouse.
  5. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    60
    Mr. Ritchie is back with more of the same in his second feature, a comedy called "Snatch" that's a sort of lethal pinball machine in which even more picturesque characters bounce from pillage to post.
  6. Guy Ritchie's second feature, is a faux tough caper modeled lock, stock, kit, and caboodle on his earlier film ''Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels.''
  7. 20
    For those who care, Madonna has found her match in Guy Ritchie, whose absence of talent when it comes to the film medium is equal to her own.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 83
  2. Negative: 3 out of 83
  1. redlacm.
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    Sensational thriller. very radical.
  2. JoelP
    Apr 9, 2009
    10
    One of my faves of all time. This is another movie that separates the "real" movie viewers from the people who like movies. There aren't One of my faves of all time. This is another movie that separates the "real" movie viewers from the people who like movies. There aren't very many characters I can name off hand that are more interesting than marble-mouthed Brad Pitt. By the way, I am not an "expert" or a "real" movie viewer, case in point, I also love "BigTrouble in Little China", yee haw! Watch this movie! Expand
  3. NickR.
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    My all-time favorite film. Amazing in every area.
  4. benf
    Sep 7, 2008
    9
    One of my favourite movies ever. Great action scene and plenty of good one liners with tight, clever editing.
  5. Sep 8, 2012
    8
    Guy Ritchie never disappoints you. A funny and equally lame storyline, and Jason Statham's narration make this film way funnier than itGuy Ritchie never disappoints you. A funny and equally lame storyline, and Jason Statham's narration make this film way funnier than it actually is. I really liked the techniques that have been incorporated in this film considering the fact that it was released in 2001. The characterization is really good and the way all of the characters are shown related to each other in different way is really amazing. Brad Pitt and Jason Statham's performances were so good especially Brad Pitt's Pikey accent, always makes me laugh whenever I think about it. Overall it is a good film, "crime with humour topping" lovers should not miss it. Expand
  6. MarkS.
    Jul 5, 2006
    8
    Brad Pitt really seems to be relishing his role in this and it shows through. Love the writing and great reactions to the action by the characters.
  7. Feb 2, 2013
    2
    An atrocious comedic drama which glamorizes criminal activity, violence, and almost mind-numbingly pervasive profanity...I had a hard timeAn atrocious comedic drama which glamorizes criminal activity, violence, and almost mind-numbingly pervasive profanity...I had a hard time finishing it. Rest assured that your potential for gaining new insight or finding life-enriching meaning of any kind is slim to none; you definitely will not be uplifted. Even just measuring it in terms of simple entertainment value, its wit humor don't come close to compensating for its violence. The kinds of flashy bloodshed and theatrical cruelty which are found in films like Snatch desensitize fragile minds and corrode morals in a way that, yes, does in fact facilitate real-world violence. Brief example: the film's analysis of the efficiencies of pig farms for human corpse disposal some people inevitably walked away reflecting on the strengths weaknesses of different corpse disposal methods...a topic in which they would not have otherwise invested mental energy. I just wish we could have more honest conversations with ourselves and each other about the impact the media to which we expose ourselves has on us individually, and on those among us who are most malleable. Not to be preachy, but that there is any real market for this movie ought to be unsettling to those of us who value human life; this film almost entirely implies that it is worthless. Watch something else...there is plenty of better out there to be seen. Expand

See all 83 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. All Films Considered: Guy Ritchie

    All Films Considered: Guy Ritchie Image
    Published: December 21, 2009
    With Sherlock Holmes opening on Friday, we take the opportunity to get swept away by the previous films directed by Guy Ritchie. The results are not pretty.
  2. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.