Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Feb 25, 2013
    30
    Snitch wasn’t going to be good no matter what Johnson did; it is so poorly directed that even Academy Award winner Susan Sarandon, playing a shrewish federal prosecutor, comes off as a hack straight off a soap opera.
  2. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Feb 21, 2013
    30
    Though Snitch loudly announces itself as a social-issues movie, its nominal outrage over the severity of our nation's sentencing laws for first-time drug offenders is quickly subsumed by a jacked-up narrative of a father going to extremes to save his son.
  3. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Feb 21, 2013
    25
    Snitch is just a big, dumb, ugly-looking waste of time, one that turns one of cinema's most charismatic heroes into a restless drone. As they say in the joint: snitches get stitches. But Snitch deserves to be put down for good.
  4. Feb 20, 2013
    25
    Snitch is the latest in a long line of films whose sole purpose is to flatten a major social problem into a pulp ideal for self-serious spectacle.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. Mar 4, 2013
    7
    Snitch wasn't a bad movie. I just did not think it was as good as it wanted me to think it was. This is no "Faster" or "GI-Joe". Dwayne Johnson tries to play a simple man in over his head. Unfortunately his pecs the size of the Brooklyn Bridge make it a little less convincing. Like I said not bad, but compared to the abysmal spring 2013 movie season this thing is a masterpiece!!!! Full Review »
  2. Mar 4, 2013
    1
    Slow and tedious. Don't waste your money. 10 minutes of action at the end but before that it is a talking movie for almost the whole time. It feels like Dwayne Johnson fit this movie into his schedule. The script was hacked together by committee. Yes, I felt like I was ripped off. Don't pay good money, see it on TV if you are interested in a year. Full Review »
  3. Mar 2, 2013
    7
    This is a more genteel Dwayne Johnson than were used to and paired with the recent leap in his acting ability it's been good to see 'The Rock' alter ego finally (and successfully)go to the great Smackdown in the sky and the new and improved "Thespian" flourish. I've been enjoying (and occasionally cringing at) his action movies since he started acting. There has of course been other athletes who've tried and failed at the crossover but Dwayne Johnson has come up through the ranks and has made me take notice. Strangely, I just saw 'Faster (2010)' a few days ago for the first time, and was taken aback at his rock steady performance (no pun intended) doing an hard action movie with very little dialogue and saying more in those few words than all his other films put together. It was good and he's done it again. I remember thinking similar things about Mr Marky Mark and I think Mr Wahlberg is a tremendous actor now. I just remembered, Marky and Rock (Y?) were in 'The Other Guys' together, lol. It's been directed by former stuntman Ric Roman Waugh who gave us the reasonable prison flick 'Felon'. This is a more stylish movie than his others and he seems to be one of those people who has to work hard at his job. You know the way P T Anderson or Tarantino just seem to know where the camera should go? Well most need to start small and work up so were seeing Ric Roman Waugh about a third of the way up the directing ladder. He is purty promising though.

    The bottom line is, this has some good performances, it's got a good and interesting (Susan Sarandon) cast, the pacing is not as smooth as it could be, particularly in the slow middle but it's been done on a budget of $15 million which it's just pulled back in it's first week. I guess that says it all really. Highly Recommended Score: 7.2/10 N∆V navq@ymail.com
    Full Review »