User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 9 out of 33
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KellyT.
    Sep 9, 2002
    7
    It was good.
  2. PatC.
    Feb 23, 2006
    4
    A truly amazing film that sustains momentum in spite of not containing one fiber of substance.
  3. JakeM.
    Jul 3, 2002
    0
    The words "Don't Watch This Movie" should be enough.
  4. MichelleP.
    Jan 5, 2003
    10
    Yes, I'm aware that this movie has a rather silly plot. But I don't think it was absurd enough to deserve a 20. I mean, we don't get these kind of feel-good, fun, movies, other than "My Big Fat Greek Wedding". This film has 3 things that not too many films have 1. A beautiful scenery. I haven't seen any beautiful sceneries since "The Fellowship of the Ring", but this Yes, I'm aware that this movie has a rather silly plot. But I don't think it was absurd enough to deserve a 20. I mean, we don't get these kind of feel-good, fun, movies, other than "My Big Fat Greek Wedding". This film has 3 things that not too many films have 1. A beautiful scenery. I haven't seen any beautiful sceneries since "The Fellowship of the Ring", but this film contained such a beautiful Alaska scenery that you just wanted to move there right away. 2. Animals get respected. I haven't seen this happening since "Princess Mononoke". The dogs in this film are beautiful, cute, clever, brave, mischievious, lovable, and even get their name in the title. So far, films have been taking such helpful animals that have saved the lives of humans for many centuries for granted. But this film shows how important they are. 3. No sensuality. There is romance sprinkled in this film, but no boy sleeping with a girl when they're not married. Nowadays, romance or comedies seem to always have that, to "spice up" the movie. Nice try. I think critics these days are a little too picky about certain films and take them for granted when they could be a stress relief. See this one, whether you're a kid, teen, or an adult. But especially if you're a dog-lover (like me ^_^) Expand
  5. MK
    Aug 11, 2004
    0
    Boring as batsh.t. we had to watch it in class, and i've never seen people so bored in mylife. not the least bit funny.
  6. BradB.
    Aug 3, 2004
    8
    Give me a break... this film wasn't intended to be The English Patient. It's a cute "feel good" family movie. The scenery was amazing.... the characters were meant to be larger than life- as well as the dogs (fine with me). It had just enough comedy and romance to keep the adults engaged. My daughter loved it and I certainly enjoyed it - not a common scenario!
  7. E.S.
    Mar 6, 2002
    7
    Good, fun for little kids, but a bit boring for anyone older.
  8. MarkD.
    May 17, 2002
    9
    I'm surprised by the ratings others have given this movie. You have to take it in the spirit in which it is intended. It is a Disney film focused on children and families. From that point of view, it hits the mark! My kids loved it (not to mention it kept the attention of both my wife and I throughout). Is it the second coming of Citizen Kane? No...but it was not intended to be. It I'm surprised by the ratings others have given this movie. You have to take it in the spirit in which it is intended. It is a Disney film focused on children and families. From that point of view, it hits the mark! My kids loved it (not to mention it kept the attention of both my wife and I throughout). Is it the second coming of Citizen Kane? No...but it was not intended to be. It rating this movie, listen to the kids around you laughing and cheering...you'll soon realize that Snow Dogs is a winner. It's fun, it's funny, and most importantly, it's good family entertainment. Sometimes you just have to suspend your need to be sophisticated...it's a lot easier to have fun that way... Expand
  9. JackL.
    Jun 13, 2002
    0
    This film is in no way based on or inspired by the works of Jack London. And I'm saddened by the results.
  10. StupidAlien
    Sep 30, 2006
    8
    Excellent comedy! Those dogs are quite realistic [nice computer work, Demon winks???]
  11. HarryK.
    Oct 11, 2002
    1
    That's sucks!!!!
  12. AngelD.
    Dec 21, 2002
    10
    I give this movie a 10. And I am speaking from it's target point of view: the kids and those ones not asking too much philosophy out of a children's movie. Probably the gentlemen and ladies at the New Times (L.A.) and other so-called-raters are more fond of the "Die Another Day" and other "action" movies that "warm their souls" and are expecting crappy gun-shots and fighting on I give this movie a 10. And I am speaking from it's target point of view: the kids and those ones not asking too much philosophy out of a children's movie. Probably the gentlemen and ladies at the New Times (L.A.) and other so-called-raters are more fond of the "Die Another Day" and other "action" movies that "warm their souls" and are expecting crappy gun-shots and fighting on the screen, especially when they are taking their kids to a Disney movie. Well, they get what they want, as "peaceful" and funny movies like SnowDogs are not welcome anymore by the new generation of "critique"-ers. Too bad... Expand
  13. RellS.
    Dec 22, 2002
    10
    Both my wife and I loved this movie - we have watched it several times and plan on watching it again.
  14. MatthewS.
    Mar 31, 2002
    3
    It's a good thing "Snow Dogs" doesn't aspire to be anything more than a "good-natured romp" because it spends most of its time insulting your intelligence with its unoriginal plot development and cliched writing. On the upside, this is probably the first--and last--film appearance for ersthwile pop music star Sisqo--his brief on camera moments are more excruciatingly painful to It's a good thing "Snow Dogs" doesn't aspire to be anything more than a "good-natured romp" because it spends most of its time insulting your intelligence with its unoriginal plot development and cliched writing. On the upside, this is probably the first--and last--film appearance for ersthwile pop music star Sisqo--his brief on camera moments are more excruciatingly painful to watch than any other part of this corny flick. Expand
  15. SintiK.
    Jun 29, 2002
    10
    I loved this film.
Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 26
  2. Negative: 14 out of 26
  1. Amiable Gooding still smiles through it all, weathering the cold, physical abuse and implied racism, doing his best to make his audience believe that Snow Dogs isn't offensive mush. But he can't bring it off.
  2. Snow Dogs isn't subtle, to say the least, but it's a serviceable city-slicker-in-the-frozen-sticks comedy for kids and undemanding adults.
  3. The vocal canines appear for about 30 humorous seconds, in a dream sequence, and are then never seen again. Unfortunately, the same can't be said about the rest of the film, which runs an additional 98.5 excruciating minutes.