Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    May 30, 2012
    88
    Snow White and the Huntsman reinvents the legendary story in a film of astonishing beauty and imagination.
  2. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    May 30, 2012
    80
    I resisted this derivative mishmash of classic fairytale and modern epic fantasy for as long as I could, but ultimately it swept me up into its geeky but manly embrace and carried me away on a white charger.
  3. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    May 31, 2012
    78
    Ambitious, brutish, ruthlessly unromantic – has the right idea casting its heroine as a Joan of Arc-type crusader and its evil queen a dissertation (albeit first draft) on beauty as the most direct path to power for the disenfranchised female.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 1, 2012
    75
    Attempts to inject a little humor via the antics of the dwarves don't work, especially since one of the little people is killed early in the proceedings. No one's going to be singing "Hi ho! Hi ho! It's off to work we go!" after that happens.
  5. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    May 31, 2012
    75
    Yes, there are many splendid reasons to see Snow White and the Huntsman – enough, maybe, not to care that neither Snow White nor the Huntsman rank high among them.
  6. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    May 31, 2012
    75
    A surprisingly fine, fantastic movie it is.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    May 31, 2012
    75
    This is a violent film. It's rougher, in fact, than "The Hunger Games."
  8. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    May 31, 2012
    70
    It is an absolute wonder to watch and creates a warrior princess for the ages. But what this revisionist fairy tale does not give us is a passionate love - its kisses are as chaste as the snow is white.
  9. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    May 31, 2012
    70
    An evil spell nearly does Snow White in, but it's lifted in the nick of time. The strangest spell afflicts Kristen Stewart; she can't seem to imbue Snow White with anything more than a semblance of feeling. That spell never lifts, but it doesn't make much difference in the end because the forces of good manage to work around it.
  10. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    May 31, 2012
    70
    Though it is an ambitious - at times mesmerizing - application of the latest cinematic technology, the movie tries to recapture some of the menace of the stories that used to be told to scare children rather than console them.
  11. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    May 31, 2012
    70
    Rare among the recent fairy tale adaptions (from "Mirror Mirror" to the dreadful "Red Riding Hood") the invigorating Snow White and the Huntsman actually breathes new life into an old story.
  12. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 30, 2012
    70
    Never quite delivers on its promise -- a dark retelling of the fairy tale in which women hold the true power, good and evil -- but it certainly is an attractive misfire.
  13. 70
    The movie's revisionist tone is startlingly enough to carry you along.
  14. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    May 31, 2012
    67
    If you've a mind to see a classic fairy tale rendered as an action movie, and if you want to see a sizeable handful of fine English actors have grand fun playing grizzled dwarves, there are worse ways to spend two hours than in the company of Snow White and the Huntsman.
  15. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 1, 2012
    63
    The nearly two preceding hours often feel like three, as the patchwork script keeps introducing characters and subplots and dropping them, all while rushing characters through eye-popping environments.
  16. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    May 31, 2012
    63
    One of those movies that makes for a fantastic trailer. Much beyond that can feel like repeat viewing.
  17. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    May 31, 2012
    63
    Snow White and the Huntsman is definitely a missed opportunity. Sanders was on to something in taking the Snow White tale to its most menacing extreme.
  18. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 30, 2012
    63
    Just feels like it was made from the pieces of every fantasy-action movie ever made.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 487 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 185
  1. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Beautifully shot and very convincingly acted! Really enjoyed this take on the tale......so much better than previous attempts at adaptingBeautifully shot and very convincingly acted! Really enjoyed this take on the tale......so much better than previous attempts at adapting fairytales! I highly commend and recommend! Full Review »
  2. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Fantastic movie!!! I was not expecting it to be so good but I have to admit I was wrong!! Kristen Stewart and Charlize Theron were beautifulFantastic movie!!! I was not expecting it to be so good but I have to admit I was wrong!! Kristen Stewart and Charlize Theron were beautiful and very strong acting from both! Full Review »
  3. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    I loved Kristen, Charlize, Chris and Sam as well as the supporting characters! Very well done. The visuals are also stunning and the sets areI loved Kristen, Charlize, Chris and Sam as well as the supporting characters! Very well done. The visuals are also stunning and the sets are wonderful. Full Review »