Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 1, 2012
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 530 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
235
Mixed:
229
Negative:
66
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
jos95Oct 2, 2012
What could've been an enjoyable and dark take on Snow White just turned into an absolute bore. Charlize Theron looked like she was going to be amazing as the evil queen, but her overacting is just ridiculous. Kristen Stewart is blank andWhat could've been an enjoyable and dark take on Snow White just turned into an absolute bore. Charlize Theron looked like she was going to be amazing as the evil queen, but her overacting is just ridiculous. Kristen Stewart is blank and expressionless just like in Twilight, Chris Hemsworth was the only actor in the movie who could be considered good. The movie also rips off every other fantasy movie released in the 21st century, and the dialogue is basic fantasy drivel. The script also had lots of plotholes, including one scene where Snow White escaped the Queen's castle, finds a horse sitting on the beach and rides it. What are the chances of that happening?! The visuals and the sets/costume designs were cool but no amount of icing is going to compensate for a cake that's gone bad. The tone is also so dark that the movie just falls flat and you lose interest. This movie had potential but it didn't live up it one bit. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
jctejadaSep 23, 2012
This movie was an absolute waste of time... I guess I was not the target audience for this movie but the trailer made me think other wise. It had its moments but I had a hard time sitting through the whole movie. Snow white was the worseThis movie was an absolute waste of time... I guess I was not the target audience for this movie but the trailer made me think other wise. It had its moments but I had a hard time sitting through the whole movie. Snow white was the worse character of the movie. The Huntsman was okay... I guess that's the reason why they are not going to do a sequel to this movie but are going to do one of the Huntsman solo. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
DemoraseJun 17, 2012
I had zero expectation going into Snow White and the Huntsman and yet it failed to even meet basic expectations like making any sense or being just entertaining. The script is just incredibly clumsy with characters teleporting from one placeI had zero expectation going into Snow White and the Huntsman and yet it failed to even meet basic expectations like making any sense or being just entertaining. The script is just incredibly clumsy with characters teleporting from one place to another instantaneously for the convenience of the plot, the dialog is very basic, the characters are also very bland, and the pacing is particularly atrocious (what's up with movies nowadays lasting 2 hours and there's nothing going on for half an hour often time?). And what about the acting, oh my... Theron starts off great, her character seems vicious and menacing, but she quickly falls apart as she starts yelling in every scene she's in; yelling isn't scary it shows the character is powerless, the most scary villains are the ones that don't need to say a word to inspire fear (like Vader in ep IV during the duel with Luke). Stewart is equally terrible but unlike Theron it's because she's so amazingly stiff, she has absolutely no range in this movie, when her character is happy, or scared, or sad, she always has the same freaking face; it's so ridiculous that they had to put fake tears in her eyes in some scenes to show that yes she is indeed sad or you wouldn't know based on her face, just ridiculous. Hemsworth isn't any better either, his character is very shallow, the best I can think of to describe him would be a failed Han Solo, a kind of scoundrel that gets better as the movie progresses, only done much more clumsily. All I can say is congratulation to the people who worked on the costumes and the CGI, because that's the only good thing you can say about this movie, yes it looks absolutely gorgeous, but it's not enough to carry a bad movie anymore and I'm not sure it ever was to begin with. Expand
8 of 16 users found this helpful88
All this user's reviews
2
scottysauceJun 1, 2012
This is a horrible movie that is visually stunning but that's it. If the director put more into the acting and the writing was better it would have a better chance but still fall short. Kristen Stewart has no business being in this movieThis is a horrible movie that is visually stunning but that's it. If the director put more into the acting and the writing was better it would have a better chance but still fall short. Kristen Stewart has no business being in this movie because she's so far from being as pretty as snow white and she's just plain overrated for anything but Twilight. This is one of those movies that will leave you thinking when you leave but trying to make sense of what you just sat through. Skip it unless you like dull and boring movies with terrible writing and a poorly cast Snow White. If you loved the Once Upon a Time series on tv just stick with that because you will be disappointed. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
2
gordofreditoJun 3, 2012
the digital effects are indeed beautiful and the landscape is incredible, however, Stewart's horrible acting and he "beauty" consists of keeping a poker face the entire movie and when she tries to sound inspiring she randomly yells. Terrible,the digital effects are indeed beautiful and the landscape is incredible, however, Stewart's horrible acting and he "beauty" consists of keeping a poker face the entire movie and when she tries to sound inspiring she randomly yells. Terrible, slow-paced then randomly fast paced script. It was just bad Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
0
SandmanNetJul 21, 2013
More of 2 hs missed in this boring crap, also the main character is a skinny ugly one, thumbs down, don't waste your precious time...if you want to see a fantasie movie go to Red Riding Hood
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
whitd01Jun 10, 2012
Just not very good, really do not understand all the hype. It appears to me that the reason that you have all the advertising etc is to attempt to make up the money speant on the development of this film.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
1
BartJun 1, 2012
Wow, a film with no expression or emotion expressed by the main character. It makes the performers in Piranha 3DD look like fine actors. Badly paced, poor performances and a bad script, but cool visual effects.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
KoKoJieJun 4, 2012
I don't usually fall asleep during movies, actually I don't think I ever have, but I have fell asleep while watching this movie "Snow White and the Huntsman". It's that boring. Snow White Kristen Stewart continues her emotionless "acting"I don't usually fall asleep during movies, actually I don't think I ever have, but I have fell asleep while watching this movie "Snow White and the Huntsman". It's that boring. Snow White Kristen Stewart continues her emotionless "acting" that puts me to sleep. The dwarfs mumbles so much I can't make out what they are saying. The huntsman was OK, but I can't help but see him as ... Thor with an axe, this is probably my fault as I have just recently seen Thor and Avenger.

The only thing worth seeing in this movie, was Charlize Theron, she is perfect. Her face, her look and her acting, is so perfect, that I end up rooting for the Queen from the start.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
se7en_Jun 7, 2012
First time I've ever walked out if a movie. Snuck into MIB3 and watched the last half of it without 3D glasses. Gave me a headache. No regrets. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
zer0sumJun 4, 2012
If you're looking for a dark and realistic retelling of a fairy tale, this isn't it. This movie is a real snoozer and most definitely isn't a serious movie for serious people.

I've really developed a strong dislike for Charlize Theron after
If you're looking for a dark and realistic retelling of a fairy tale, this isn't it. This movie is a real snoozer and most definitely isn't a serious movie for serious people.

I've really developed a strong dislike for Charlize Theron after watching her on The Colbert Report and in seeing some preview scenes from Prometheus, and now this travesty of a movie. She's one dimensional and boring and has none of the gravitas of say Cate Blanchett as Galadriel. Kristen Stewart looks great but hardly has any lines. She gives one spirited pre-battle speech that seemed entirely out of character and had my eyes glazing over. Other than that, her "acting" consists of looking good.

So, overall, just terrible. Avoid.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
2
GreatMartinJun 1, 2012
â
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
2
aznassassinOct 27, 2012
What more can I ask for if I want a drunken movie session to torture my friends? Crappy acting (with the exception of Charlize Theron), esp Kirsten Stewart, cheesy/awkward dialogue/lines, horrible fight scenes that border on even moreWhat more can I ask for if I want a drunken movie session to torture my friends? Crappy acting (with the exception of Charlize Theron), esp Kirsten Stewart, cheesy/awkward dialogue/lines, horrible fight scenes that border on even more awkwardness and so many cliche'/unexplainedly retarded sequences that combine to make this my personal WORST FILM OF 2012. Avoid at all costs. A great cast (well, except for probably Stewart) is almost completely wasted and in most cases, you cant feel that the film tries to hard to appear as a 'dark' fantasy. Had the script been better written and had the acting been better, I am sure this movie would've soared. Sadly, it all becomes a cheesy-as-hell translation of a great fairy tale classic that takes itself way too seriously with a lot of awkward and boring segments. Only under 15yo's, douches & rednecks who dont know better as well as young/naive female viewers will enjoy this movie. This has been a pain to watch and apart from nearly dozing off, on two occasions I switched from the movie in my blu-ray player to watch the frickin news because it was so bad. Dont be deceived by its dark cinematography (oh yea thats about the only good thing this movie has) and the lines of stars in this. Its essentially horrible B-grade rubbish disguised up with high budget wrappings. Once you open it, you'll regret it, no matter even if the wrapping paper is made out of gold. Oh look at all the good user ratings. And now look at the usernames. Yep, all young, ignorant, Twilight-influenced females who dont know better. Be smart, have class, join the sensible people of society and avoid this trash. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Mastabrad85Jul 2, 2012
Very predictable and slow moving plot. I felt like I was there for 4 hours. The movie had some beautiful scenery but the acting was shockingly poor (I was going in expecting it to be one of the better parts of the movie) and I think itsVery predictable and slow moving plot. I felt like I was there for 4 hours. The movie had some beautiful scenery but the acting was shockingly poor (I was going in expecting it to be one of the better parts of the movie) and I think its because of the directing and the writing because there were some pretty good actors in here. Don't waste your money this is the kind of movie you put on when you want to take a nap. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Trev29Jan 27, 2013
Highlights include the visual aspect. Negatives include just about everything else. The acting was dreadful, the movie was slow and boring, and the script was weak.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
wientmgFeb 4, 2013
It was pretty, but not good. I can't decide if it was the director not caring that he didn't let the actors give a solid or meaningful performance or if it was the actors who weren't giving. I'm ready to blame the director, though. I sawIt was pretty, but not good. I can't decide if it was the director not caring that he didn't let the actors give a solid or meaningful performance or if it was the actors who weren't giving. I'm ready to blame the director, though. I saw interesting choices on Ms. Theron's part and the promise of a very dark story at the beginning, but then the camera work wasted inordinate amounts of time on the forests and the shiny glass things. I wish they could retract the movie and try over because I kept on hoping to see real relationships develop and real characters form, and I'm certain that at least the female leads are capable of those things. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
FreedomFightersDec 21, 2016
I'm sorry, but as much as I wanted to try and enjoy this film, I couldn't bring myself to really enjoy it. It wasn't very exciting, the writing was not great, and while half the cast does a good job, half the cast doesn't do very well. Sure,I'm sorry, but as much as I wanted to try and enjoy this film, I couldn't bring myself to really enjoy it. It wasn't very exciting, the writing was not great, and while half the cast does a good job, half the cast doesn't do very well. Sure, it's well shot, but unfortunately, I found it to be a bit of a snooze-fest. Some people might honestly find the movie to be pretty enjoyable, but I personally feel that if you skip out on "Snow White and the Huntsman," you won't be missing much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Pelen23Jul 25, 2014
We finally see this classic story with an edgy version. However ,it lacks the twist, adds absolute nothing to the original story and it turns into a long slow paced mess. Kristen Steward is miscast and I cannot see her as Snow White.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews