User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 478 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 478

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 17, 2012
    1
    I had zero expectation going into Snow White and the Huntsman and yet it failed to even meet basic expectations like making any sense or being just entertaining. The script is just incredibly clumsy with characters teleporting from one place to another instantaneously for the convenience of the plot, the dialog is very basic, the characters are also very bland, and the pacing isI had zero expectation going into Snow White and the Huntsman and yet it failed to even meet basic expectations like making any sense or being just entertaining. The script is just incredibly clumsy with characters teleporting from one place to another instantaneously for the convenience of the plot, the dialog is very basic, the characters are also very bland, and the pacing is particularly atrocious (what's up with movies nowadays lasting 2 hours and there's nothing going on for half an hour often time?). And what about the acting, oh my... Theron starts off great, her character seems vicious and menacing, but she quickly falls apart as she starts yelling in every scene she's in; yelling isn't scary it shows the character is powerless, the most scary villains are the ones that don't need to say a word to inspire fear (like Vader in ep IV during the duel with Luke). Stewart is equally terrible but unlike Theron it's because she's so amazingly stiff, she has absolutely no range in this movie, when her character is happy, or scared, or sad, she always has the same freaking face; it's so ridiculous that they had to put fake tears in her eyes in some scenes to show that yes she is indeed sad or you wouldn't know based on her face, just ridiculous. Hemsworth isn't any better either, his character is very shallow, the best I can think of to describe him would be a failed Han Solo, a kind of scoundrel that gets better as the movie progresses, only done much more clumsily. All I can say is congratulation to the people who worked on the costumes and the CGI, because that's the only good thing you can say about this movie, yes it looks absolutely gorgeous, but it's not enough to carry a bad movie anymore and I'm not sure it ever was to begin with. Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2012
    2
    This is a horrible movie that is visually stunning but that's it. If the director put more into the acting and the writing was better it would have a better chance but still fall short. Kristen Stewart has no business being in this movie because she's so far from being as pretty as snow white and she's just plain overrated for anything but Twilight. This is one of those movies that willThis is a horrible movie that is visually stunning but that's it. If the director put more into the acting and the writing was better it would have a better chance but still fall short. Kristen Stewart has no business being in this movie because she's so far from being as pretty as snow white and she's just plain overrated for anything but Twilight. This is one of those movies that will leave you thinking when you leave but trying to make sense of what you just sat through. Skip it unless you like dull and boring movies with terrible writing and a poorly cast Snow White. If you loved the Once Upon a Time series on tv just stick with that because you will be disappointed. Expand
  3. Jun 3, 2012
    2
    the digital effects are indeed beautiful and the landscape is incredible, however, Stewart's horrible acting and he "beauty" consists of keeping a poker face the entire movie and when she tries to sound inspiring she randomly yells. Terrible, slow-paced then randomly fast paced script. It was just bad
  4. Sep 23, 2012
    0
    This movie was an absolute waste of time... I guess I was not the target audience for this movie but the trailer made me think other wise. It had its moments but I had a hard time sitting through the whole movie. Snow white was the worse character of the movie. The Huntsman was okay... I guess that's the reason why they are not going to do a sequel to this movie but are going to do one ofThis movie was an absolute waste of time... I guess I was not the target audience for this movie but the trailer made me think other wise. It had its moments but I had a hard time sitting through the whole movie. Snow white was the worse character of the movie. The Huntsman was okay... I guess that's the reason why they are not going to do a sequel to this movie but are going to do one of the Huntsman solo. Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2012
    1
    Wow, a film with no expression or emotion expressed by the main character. It makes the performers in Piranha 3DD look like fine actors. Badly paced, poor performances and a bad script, but cool visual effects.
  6. Jun 5, 2012
    4
    Maybe Snow White and the Huntsman looks promising for dark fairy tale entry, but it's undone by uneven acting, problematic pacing, and a confused script.
  7. Jun 4, 2012
    0
    I don't usually fall asleep during movies, actually I don't think I ever have, but I have fell asleep while watching this movie "Snow White and the Huntsman". It's that boring. Snow White Kristen Stewart continues her emotionless "acting" that puts me to sleep. The dwarfs mumbles so much I can't make out what they are saying. The huntsman was OK, but I can't help but see him as ... ThorI don't usually fall asleep during movies, actually I don't think I ever have, but I have fell asleep while watching this movie "Snow White and the Huntsman". It's that boring. Snow White Kristen Stewart continues her emotionless "acting" that puts me to sleep. The dwarfs mumbles so much I can't make out what they are saying. The huntsman was OK, but I can't help but see him as ... Thor with an axe, this is probably my fault as I have just recently seen Thor and Avenger.

    The only thing worth seeing in this movie, was Charlize Theron, she is perfect. Her face, her look and her acting, is so perfect, that I end up rooting for the Queen from the start.
    Expand
  8. Jun 6, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was an alright action-ish movie. The visuals were good in a lot of places and the Queen was a great character, but the movie seemed a bit lost with what is was trying to do. Characters and their motivations were never really developed well and I ended up not really caring what happens. There some moments that just made me wonder if there were really important. For example, when Snow White meets that huge antlered deer, it was apparently a big deal. The problem is that we are told it's a big deal with out actually seeing why. Snow White apparently has some sort of healing powers or is "life itself" which is great because that's the complete opposite of what the Queen represents, but Snow White never demonstrates her ability. It would be better thematically to have had Snow White lead an army of nature oriented creatures and men to fight against the Queen with her dark and sharp monsters. It would have made more sense and made Snow White look more important.The acting was alright in most places, especially the Queen, but there were a few pretty corny speeches. Overall the movie had a pretty good concept and executed it's visuals well, but failed to develop the story properly for me to be invested in the characters and the outcome. Expand
  9. Jun 1, 2012
    4
    I really wanted this movie to be good since I am a fan of fantasy movies (when done right) and I love the old Disney movies. But this one, like Alice in Wonderland, had great visuals but lacked a good story and good characters. Charlize Theron was very good as the Evil Queen, so much so that I was kind of rooting for her to defeat Snow White. But the rest of the cast just couldn't pullI really wanted this movie to be good since I am a fan of fantasy movies (when done right) and I love the old Disney movies. But this one, like Alice in Wonderland, had great visuals but lacked a good story and good characters. Charlize Theron was very good as the Evil Queen, so much so that I was kind of rooting for her to defeat Snow White. But the rest of the cast just couldn't pull it off. Granted they didn't have much to work with seeing as the story was so rushed and fragmented. I might have liked Kristen Stewart's performance if she could just learn to close her mouth once in a while, instead of looking like she's perpetually on the verge of puking. And then the climax of the movie just comes out of no where and features a hilariously over the top pep talk that K Stew gives to the soldiers. Not to mention the fact that the last scene following the battle leaves so much unanswered. Overall, it was pretty bad. But if you want to see some impressive visuals, or if you're in love with Charlize Theron, you might just like this. Expand
  10. Jun 7, 2012
    0
    First time I've ever walked out if a movie. Snuck into MIB3 and watched the last half of it without 3D glasses. Gave me a headache. No regrets. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
  11. Jun 10, 2012
    0
    Just not very good, really do not understand all the hype. It appears to me that the reason that you have all the advertising etc is to attempt to make up the money speant on the development of this film.
  12. Oct 27, 2012
    4
    The film was normal, nothing impressive that just blows your mind away. The only character I liked in this film was the queen. She could really show the evil and cruelty that was inside. The '' Snow White '', character was boring, awkward and there was no magic around. Overall the film was boring, lacked good action, shown no humor and chemistry between the characters. When I watched theThe film was normal, nothing impressive that just blows your mind away. The only character I liked in this film was the queen. She could really show the evil and cruelty that was inside. The '' Snow White '', character was boring, awkward and there was no magic around. Overall the film was boring, lacked good action, shown no humor and chemistry between the characters. When I watched the trailer I was hoping to see a good film that would bring back my memories from childhood. Expand
  13. Jun 4, 2012
    3
    If you're looking for a dark and realistic retelling of a fairy tale, this isn't it. This movie is a real snoozer and most definitely isn't a serious movie for serious people.

    I've really developed a strong dislike for Charlize Theron after watching her on The Colbert Report and in seeing some preview scenes from Prometheus, and now this travesty of a movie. She's one dimensional and
    If you're looking for a dark and realistic retelling of a fairy tale, this isn't it. This movie is a real snoozer and most definitely isn't a serious movie for serious people.

    I've really developed a strong dislike for Charlize Theron after watching her on The Colbert Report and in seeing some preview scenes from Prometheus, and now this travesty of a movie. She's one dimensional and boring and has none of the gravitas of say Cate Blanchett as Galadriel. Kristen Stewart looks great but hardly has any lines. She gives one spirited pre-battle speech that seemed entirely out of character and had my eyes glazing over. Other than that, her "acting" consists of looking good.

    So, overall, just terrible. Avoid.
    Expand
  14. Oct 2, 2012
    3
    What could've been an enjoyable and dark take on Snow White just turned into an absolute bore. Charlize Theron looked like she was going to be amazing as the evil queen, but her overacting is just ridiculous. Kristen Stewart is blank and expressionless just like in Twilight, Chris Hemsworth was the only actor in the movie who could be considered good. The movie also rips off every otherWhat could've been an enjoyable and dark take on Snow White just turned into an absolute bore. Charlize Theron looked like she was going to be amazing as the evil queen, but her overacting is just ridiculous. Kristen Stewart is blank and expressionless just like in Twilight, Chris Hemsworth was the only actor in the movie who could be considered good. The movie also rips off every other fantasy movie released in the 21st century, and the dialogue is basic fantasy drivel. The script also had lots of plotholes, including one scene where Snow White escaped the Queen's castle, finds a horse sitting on the beach and rides it. What are the chances of that happening?! The visuals and the sets/costume designs were cool but no amount of icing is going to compensate for a cake that's gone bad. The tone is also so dark that the movie just falls flat and you lose interest. This movie had potential but it didn't live up it one bit. Expand
  15. Jun 9, 2012
    4
    A hokey, boring, unnecessary film. The story is nothing new but told for a vis-effects generation, which sacrifices any clever plot devices. In a summer where board games are getting big screen adaptations, it's no surprise to see not 1, but 2 Snow White adaptations - both taken any polar directions - but neither adding anything worthy of a 2-hour time investment. To know that a sequel isA hokey, boring, unnecessary film. The story is nothing new but told for a vis-effects generation, which sacrifices any clever plot devices. In a summer where board games are getting big screen adaptations, it's no surprise to see not 1, but 2 Snow White adaptations - both taken any polar directions - but neither adding anything worthy of a 2-hour time investment. To know that a sequel is in the works is almost as no surprise as the its ending. Don't eat the apple. Expand
  16. Jun 20, 2012
    4
    Out of all the live-action Snow White adaptions, I don't think i've watched any that are nearly as good as this one. You'll get great performances from most of the lead actors and the cgi is nice too. Even if there is occasionally unintentional humor, the story really works.
  17. Jul 5, 2012
    4
    Not a terrible movie but I expected more. It got boring at times and you may find yourself dozing off while at other times it was amusing. I believe it is highly overrated by the critics.
  18. Jun 25, 2012
    4
    The movie in a nutshell is a paper thin, almost-barely-there plotline hidden under a veil of drop-dead gorgeous visuals. When the simplistic plotline is present, it is nebulous at best, and it leads the viewer to question why is this here? what is the purpose of this? and most importantly, why do I care? It's very frustrating and infuriating. There is seriously so much random **** all overThe movie in a nutshell is a paper thin, almost-barely-there plotline hidden under a veil of drop-dead gorgeous visuals. When the simplistic plotline is present, it is nebulous at best, and it leads the viewer to question why is this here? what is the purpose of this? and most importantly, why do I care? It's very frustrating and infuriating. There is seriously so much random **** all over the place that while watching the film, I pictured it as a 10,000 piece jigsaw puzzle opened by the film crew that was only partially put together and then submitted as complete. All the parts that should clearly be focused on aren't (what is the purpose behind the forest deer) and all the parts that shouldn't be focused on are (there is no need to show a campfire scene for like 10 minutes, much less at all). The big WTF moment is when a romantic plotline materializes out of thin air. The acting was flat, except for Charlize Theron, whose sinister performance I believed to an extent. Now on the other side, the visuals might have been the most spectacular I have seen since Avatar, and the set design and costumes were flawless. Is that enough to hold up a film when so much else is lacking? I'm not sure. It depends on the viewer. As for me, I was completely underwhelmed by a movie that could have and should have been more. Done right, this film could have been amazing. Is the film bad? No, but it isn't great either. And that's a big shame because I was rooting for it. Expand
  19. Jun 4, 2012
    4
    Better than it has a right to be, this movie's watchability hinges entirely on your opinion of Kristen Stewart. She walks through this movie just like Twilight, which is to say she can not act. She alternates between taking deep breathes (which is her happy look, maybe?) and a confused/constipated look. Most laughably when she is supposed to be giving an inspirational speech, but eitherBetter than it has a right to be, this movie's watchability hinges entirely on your opinion of Kristen Stewart. She walks through this movie just like Twilight, which is to say she can not act. She alternates between taking deep breathes (which is her happy look, maybe?) and a confused/constipated look. Most laughably when she is supposed to be giving an inspirational speech, but either whispers or yells, and the whole thing seems like chunks of it were cut out, presumably because she was somehow worse in her delivery. Everyone else is fine, I guess, with only Charlize Theron really going for it (and doing pretty well, I guess). Expand
  20. Oct 28, 2012
    4
    To be honest, I thought the movie was a little boring. It was okay, but the action was slow and the plot was too rushed, hard to keep track of, and just plain boring. This isn't even as close to as good as something like Alice in Wonderland. I think it was a disappointment.
  21. Jun 8, 2012
    4
    I started out thinking I could get into it if it kept getting better, but by the third act this movie becomes so boring that I didn't even care what would happen anymore.
  22. Jul 21, 2013
    0
    More of 2 hs missed in this boring crap, also the main character is a skinny ugly one, thumbs down, don't waste your precious time...if you want to see a fantasie movie go to Red Riding Hood
  23. Nov 1, 2012
    4
    I wasn't honestly expecting much with this movie. It was just another re-imagining of the classic snow white tale, except this time darker. I've never been much into that kind of thing, I mean why mess with the classics? The movie really bored me, and I really just couldn't wait for it to be over. I do have one aspect to praise, and that's the ending. Most movies like this would have hadI wasn't honestly expecting much with this movie. It was just another re-imagining of the classic snow white tale, except this time darker. I've never been much into that kind of thing, I mean why mess with the classics? The movie really bored me, and I really just couldn't wait for it to be over. I do have one aspect to praise, and that's the ending. Most movies like this would have had it the usual romantic ending between the Huntsman and Snow White, but thankfully it did not and gave us a perfectly good conclusion that's out of the norm. I can't bring myself to recommend this to anyone, but I know this movie will find it's audience/fans, I'm just not one of them. Expand
  24. Mar 21, 2013
    4
    No amount of pretty can rescue this film from having a surprisingly shallow plot and a minimalist approach to character development.

    The single best part of this movie is Charlize Theron's CRAZY routine, which as such is given the most time in the film over any other singular thing. The title characters feel like subplots over this broad's complete lunacy, and frankly I wouldn't have it
    No amount of pretty can rescue this film from having a surprisingly shallow plot and a minimalist approach to character development.

    The single best part of this movie is Charlize Theron's CRAZY routine, which as such is given the most time in the film over any other singular thing. The title characters feel like subplots over this broad's complete lunacy, and frankly I wouldn't have it any other way.

    That said, I feel traitorous reviewing this film because it calls attention to a film that doesn't as such deserve it.
    Expand
  25. Jun 7, 2013
    4
    Whatever. Kristen Stewart is painful to watch. She couldn't act her way out of a box. Charlize Theron is great as the queen and is truly insane and tragic, the best part of the film is watching her come undone. Theron seems to have a knack for these kinds of roles. It's just not engaging enough though. It's full of cliche', cheeseball moments that only a high school sophomore could findWhatever. Kristen Stewart is painful to watch. She couldn't act her way out of a box. Charlize Theron is great as the queen and is truly insane and tragic, the best part of the film is watching her come undone. Theron seems to have a knack for these kinds of roles. It's just not engaging enough though. It's full of cliche', cheeseball moments that only a high school sophomore could find entertaining. The soundtrack may as well have been a H.I.M. record. It's sad that this was Bob Hoskins last film. The dwarfs were pretty well done! Overall it's not a memorable movie. It's just without substance. The moral of the film is arresting and oppressive. I was hoping Theron would triumph and continue her jaded reign over her bleak little kingdom of annoying dwarfs and cliche' prince charmings, but alas, that's not how the fairy tale goes! Entirely forgettable. Expand
  26. Aug 31, 2014
    4
    I certainly enjoyed more than one moment of this film--nearly all of them related to the wonderful performance from Charlize Theron. I could've watched her all night. Unfortunately, she was under-used and the Huntsman received much more screen-time.
  27. Oct 27, 2012
    2
    What more can I ask for if I want a drunken movie session to torture my friends? Crappy acting (with the exception of Charlize Theron), esp Kirsten Stewart, cheesy/awkward dialogue/lines, horrible fight scenes that border on even more awkwardness and so many cliche'/unexplainedly retarded sequences that combine to make this my personal WORST FILM OF 2012. Avoid at all costs. A great castWhat more can I ask for if I want a drunken movie session to torture my friends? Crappy acting (with the exception of Charlize Theron), esp Kirsten Stewart, cheesy/awkward dialogue/lines, horrible fight scenes that border on even more awkwardness and so many cliche'/unexplainedly retarded sequences that combine to make this my personal WORST FILM OF 2012. Avoid at all costs. A great cast (well, except for probably Stewart) is almost completely wasted and in most cases, you cant feel that the film tries to hard to appear as a 'dark' fantasy. Had the script been better written and had the acting been better, I am sure this movie would've soared. Sadly, it all becomes a cheesy-as-hell translation of a great fairy tale classic that takes itself way too seriously with a lot of awkward and boring segments. Only under 15yo's, douches & rednecks who dont know better as well as young/naive female viewers will enjoy this movie. This has been a pain to watch and apart from nearly dozing off, on two occasions I switched from the movie in my blu-ray player to watch the frickin news because it was so bad. Dont be deceived by its dark cinematography (oh yea thats about the only good thing this movie has) and the lines of stars in this. Its essentially horrible B-grade rubbish disguised up with high budget wrappings. Once you open it, you'll regret it, no matter even if the wrapping paper is made out of gold. Oh look at all the good user ratings. And now look at the usernames. Yep, all young, ignorant, Twilight-influenced females who dont know better. Be smart, have class, join the sensible people of society and avoid this trash. Expand
  28. Jan 27, 2013
    3
    Highlights include the visual aspect. Negatives include just about everything else. The acting was dreadful, the movie was slow and boring, and the script was weak.
  29. Jun 3, 2012
    4
    Seriously not as bad as some people are making it out to be. True Kristen Stewart basically sucks out all the life (much like the far superior character Ravenna) from the movie, whenever sheâ
  30. Jun 6, 2012
    4
    The movie itself is beautiful. But everything else itself is a fail. Wooden acting, lazy storytelling and predictable plot twists all mar what could have been a much better film. The talented cast (mostly) deserve better.
  31. Jul 2, 2012
    3
    Very predictable and slow moving plot. I felt like I was there for 4 hours. The movie had some beautiful scenery but the acting was shockingly poor (I was going in expecting it to be one of the better parts of the movie) and I think its because of the directing and the writing because there were some pretty good actors in here. Don't waste your money this is the kind of movie you put onVery predictable and slow moving plot. I felt like I was there for 4 hours. The movie had some beautiful scenery but the acting was shockingly poor (I was going in expecting it to be one of the better parts of the movie) and I think its because of the directing and the writing because there were some pretty good actors in here. Don't waste your money this is the kind of movie you put on when you want to take a nap. Expand
  32. Oct 8, 2012
    4
    While 'Snow White and the Huntsman' is certainly more distinctive, original, and enjoyable than this years' previous Snow White adaptation, 'Mirror Mirror', the movie is inconsistent tonally and features some very odd performances from its cast. Charlize Theron goes overboard as the evil queen Ravenna, most of the film going from screaming one second to being silent with trembling fury theWhile 'Snow White and the Huntsman' is certainly more distinctive, original, and enjoyable than this years' previous Snow White adaptation, 'Mirror Mirror', the movie is inconsistent tonally and features some very odd performances from its cast. Charlize Theron goes overboard as the evil queen Ravenna, most of the film going from screaming one second to being silent with trembling fury the next, and Kristen Stewart undersells her Snow White with barely any screen presence, making her come off as mild. When these two forces of nature collide, the result is unengaging. There is also an attempt at romance between Stewart and Hemsworth which feels as fake as the appearance of the seven dwarves, as portrayed by Ray Winstone and Nick Frost among others. There are some moments of visual bliss though, including the re-invention of the mirror-on-the-wall and a lush sequence involving various different forest creatures, and the overall dark tone to the fairy tale is nice, somewhat reminiscent of 'Pan's Labarynth'. But don't mistake the overall tone and dark style of 'Snow White and the Huntsman' for the movie itself. If anything, it's a visually gorgeous misfire. Expand
  33. Jul 2, 2012
    4
    Looks fantastic but this film is a complete borefest. Stewart is a terrible lead and gives the audience no reason to care about her what so ever. Whether happy or sad, her face doesn't move from that surly grimmace. Although Hemsworth is let down by a bad character his performance is quite good. Theron starts well but her antics are same ol same ol and there is little else to herLooks fantastic but this film is a complete borefest. Stewart is a terrible lead and gives the audience no reason to care about her what so ever. Whether happy or sad, her face doesn't move from that surly grimmace. Although Hemsworth is let down by a bad character his performance is quite good. Theron starts well but her antics are same ol same ol and there is little else to her character. The story itself doesn't seem to know what it is doing with itself, is it an action flick, fantasy or romance? It tries to focus on each so hard in certain places that it backfires and none of them gel together. I also feel a good 20-30mins of 'nothingness' could have cut out, it consistently drags between the odd scene which actually catch your attention. The only saving grace is the CGI, coustumes and setting which are all excellent. 4/10 Expand
  34. Jul 22, 2012
    4
    And it could have been so good... or at least, that's my feeling after watching this. Certainly the effects and art design are good with a wonderful (if ever so gory) Goth vibe running through the film. And in Charlize Theron, the film has a pretty interesting Villain to set the heroes up against. But oh, those Heroes. Stewart is a damp squib in a role which, in fairness, is a damp squib.And it could have been so good... or at least, that's my feeling after watching this. Certainly the effects and art design are good with a wonderful (if ever so gory) Goth vibe running through the film. And in Charlize Theron, the film has a pretty interesting Villain to set the heroes up against. But oh, those Heroes. Stewart is a damp squib in a role which, in fairness, is a damp squib. And with two male leads, there is no real sense of romance with either, nor the obvious love rivalry. The action sequences are also pretty lacklustre, with no real "wow" moments even though they certainly have scale. The film is also pretty bleak and dour with no real humour to break things up. The dwarfs may have provided that but they are such a small part they're not really worth a mention. With a bit more effort and thought this could have been a nice franchise along the lines of Pirates but I cant see the point in a sequel. Expand
  35. Jul 21, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film felt like it wasn't sure what kind of story it wanted to tell. All the scenes meant to pull at our emotions fell flat because there was no substance behind them. I cared more for the parents of Snow White than I did any other character in the film, despite excellent acting all round. Saying this, I'm not sure if Kristen Stewart was really suited to a leader role for the final battle, which did feel like it was shoved in for the sake of having some 'epic war ride'. It was however, entertaining to a point. The CGI and score were outstanding, as were all the cast. I was disappointed the magic mirror as a cloaked figure wasn't taken further than the original appearance - it was an interesting design choice which was wasted. The other major annoyance was that there was no romantic conclusion, this is just a personal preference though. Expand
  36. Nov 11, 2012
    4
    This movie was shot beautifully, if you have the opportunity to watch this with the sound off and some music on I recommend it. Most of the characters ranged from generic to flat out boring and unlikable with few exceptions. The story was unmemorable, the dialogue dull and the character arcs non-existent. The pacing though is what really killed it, you'd occasionally be drawn into theThis movie was shot beautifully, if you have the opportunity to watch this with the sound off and some music on I recommend it. Most of the characters ranged from generic to flat out boring and unlikable with few exceptions. The story was unmemorable, the dialogue dull and the character arcs non-existent. The pacing though is what really killed it, you'd occasionally be drawn into the movie by some scene or a bit of interaction only to be left there waiting for something else to happen, and waiting and waiting. Again, cool effects, sets and costumes, watch it for that. Expand
  37. Feb 4, 2013
    3
    It was pretty, but not good. I can't decide if it was the director not caring that he didn't let the actors give a solid or meaningful performance or if it was the actors who weren't giving. I'm ready to blame the director, though. I saw interesting choices on Ms. Theron's part and the promise of a very dark story at the beginning, but then the camera work wasted inordinate amounts ofIt was pretty, but not good. I can't decide if it was the director not caring that he didn't let the actors give a solid or meaningful performance or if it was the actors who weren't giving. I'm ready to blame the director, though. I saw interesting choices on Ms. Theron's part and the promise of a very dark story at the beginning, but then the camera work wasted inordinate amounts of time on the forests and the shiny glass things. I wish they could retract the movie and try over because I kept on hoping to see real relationships develop and real characters form, and I'm certain that at least the female leads are capable of those things. Expand
  38. Aug 5, 2013
    4
    No es una pelicula clara puedo llegar que fue tiempo perdido pero almenos tiene trayectoria y es entendible, las cosas salen mas o menos pero no es mala
  39. Jun 17, 2013
    4
    Great visuals Charlize Theron stole the show
    the story as we know it is so fresh and timeless Kristen Stewart is so talentless she can't even fake a smile Chris Hemsworth was good
  40. Jul 25, 2014
    3
    We finally see this classic story with an edgy version. However ,it lacks the twist, adds absolute nothing to the original story and it turns into a long slow paced mess. Kristen Steward is miscast and I cannot see her as Snow White.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Tal Rosenberg
    Jun 2, 2012
    60
    The CGI effects are so slick that they undercut the movie's shock value, and the action moves too quickly to instill a real sense of fear, but this is still visually impressive, with spectacular make-up, costumes, and cinematography.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 1, 2012
    75
    Attempts to inject a little humor via the antics of the dwarves don't work, especially since one of the little people is killed early in the proceedings. No one's going to be singing "Hi ho! Hi ho! It's off to work we go!" after that happens.
  3. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 1, 2012
    60
    It's Theron who owns this film, imbuing her deliciously depraved Queen with furious pain and deep-seated fear.