User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 475 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 475

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 2, 2012
    3
    Very predictable and slow moving plot. I felt like I was there for 4 hours. The movie had some beautiful scenery but the acting was shockingly poor (I was going in expecting it to be one of the better parts of the movie) and I think its because of the directing and the writing because there were some pretty good actors in here. Don't waste your money this is the kind of movie you put on when you want to take a nap. Expand
  2. Jul 2, 2012
    4
    Looks fantastic but this film is a complete borefest. Stewart is a terrible lead and gives the audience no reason to care about her what so ever. Whether happy or sad, her face doesn't move from that surly grimmace. Although Hemsworth is let down by a bad character his performance is quite good. Theron starts well but her antics are same ol same ol and there is little else to her character. The story itself doesn't seem to know what it is doing with itself, is it an action flick, fantasy or romance? It tries to focus on each so hard in certain places that it backfires and none of them gel together. I also feel a good 20-30mins of 'nothingness' could have cut out, it consistently drags between the odd scene which actually catch your attention. The only saving grace is the CGI, coustumes and setting which are all excellent. 4/10 Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    "An Amazing Movie Experience! It has the full-scale charm of many other epic fantasies like the Lord of the Rings or The Chronicles of Narnia even if it mimics them too deeply..." I've always wanted to see a different version of Snow White. I've seen Disney' version countless times already and for the most part, I'd admired the artwork and the sing-a-long songs that made that experience so 'lively.' However, I knew the Grimm' had a different perspective, one of darker and meaningful aspects...more lets just say 'grim.' When I watched in my childhood, I never looked into it really. All I really cared about was of that red-looking apple whom was eaten by Snow White and it made me really hungry for an apple. However, as I look back on it now; the Snow White legend really came off as a creepy and cautionary tale just like that of the Little Red Riding Hood. We each have our own interpretation which is undeniable but we all can agree that the story of Snow White isn't always the most jolly out of all the other Grimm stories that our 'mother' (oddly enough) used to read to us. In fact, the Little Red Riding Hood was meant to scare little children. I mean come on! A little girl with a red coat walking straight through the dark forest is kind of creepy in itself just like that of a little white girl swinging on the swings at the hours of midnight. Its even more scary when she meets a talking wolf who then eats her grandmother and dresses up to be like her....that to me is very strange. Anyways, the storyline for this movie is still the same. However, it felt like the characters were just trying to find a way which is entirely understandable and it made the experience feel human, so it wasn't so predictable in that sense. The performances were memorable and I really loved that each actor went deep into their roles even though sometimes that's not always the case for the many other films they played in. Charlize Theron' Ravenna is now one of my favorite villains. In the film, she has a good back story; its touching, sad and tragic so it does explain why she's the way she is. I felt a little sympathetic because not only is she the many Kings tool (not to mentioned curse), she's just like any other human. She fears death and growing older. She also feels (like I mentioned) used and replaced. However, I can't sympathize with her too long because sooner or later her cold eyes pop out and her character turns like the prophetic Evil Queen. This movie was meant to be played by Kristen Stewart. Although many complain that she isn't the fairest of them all, let alone Charlize Theron. Just to put it out there; I think Kristen Stewart is one of Hollywood's most unique actresses because she is shy and she does want to keep her personal life to herself. I have to say too is that she is gorgeous-attractive even hot when she wants to be and many others will agree (her fans mostly). Snow White has been imprisoned in her room for 10 years so her voice is raspy and she is 'shy.' However, (when you're watching this film) her character has this sort of drive-determination and power especially when she's in the Dark Forest; always pushing and moving forward...I mean I would though if my life depended on it but that's not the case here, she even says the Lords Prayer: 'forgive the sins of others.' She even goes to battle with shining armor and faces (in the end) the Queen. I mean doesn't Snow White sound at all familiar to Kristen Stewart' publicity and their hate campaign. Kristen Stewart conveys a lot of emotions in this one and in many of the scenes, lets out a couple of tears. Chris Hemsworth is completely watchable as the drunken huntsman. When he's battling it with Finn, couple times I wanted to shout out 'COME ON WHERE'S YOUR HAMMER!?!!'
    Overall, he's noticeable and has a good screen presence. The Dwarves are what made the movie experience more lighter and happy (?). They took off the heavy load of the first hour and brought us to the Sanctuary. One of my favorite scenes. The visuals are impressive as can be. I mean clearly you can see it through the trailers and clips. The cinematography balances out, changing from dark to light. The camerawork is also impressive and less shakier than that of The Hunger Games (loved that film btw). I'd also liked the many battle scenes and the grand scale of it all. It was truly a unique experience. The visuals and the script made most of the scenes memorable. The disappointing factor is sort of the end. They build so much tension in the first hour and a half that the second half is a let down. I loved every scene until the last 5 minutes. The most dramatic and emotional scene came from the two main actresses and the showdown. The music was what made it so compelling and I have to give props to Mr. James Newton Howard because he really does capture that epic fairy-tale action. So a sold 5 on his part.
    Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2012
    6
    this movie has some many good points and some bad. good: the hunter (Chris Hemsworth), this fantastic along with William and Queen, but I have to say that Kristen Stewart is horrible, because she never changes her face, she is always the same, but in compensation she does not ta rubbing their hands in the body of nobody
  5. Jun 27, 2012
    7
    Snow White & the Huntsman. Although this Snow White in nothing like the Snow White we know, (such as Walt Disney's original classic) An imaginative and darker story of its own lies within this Snow White tell - similar, in some ways, to Tim Burton's "Alice in Wonderland." My guess is you'll either think one of two ways about this film, you'll either like it or you won't. Though, it's no where near perfect, I'll say that I did enjoy this Darker tale of Snow White, be it nothing like the one I know and love. "Lips red as blood. Hair black as night. Bring me your heart my dear, dear Snow White." Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2012
    4
    The movie in a nutshell is a paper thin, almost-barely-there plotline hidden under a veil of drop-dead gorgeous visuals. When the simplistic plotline is present, it is nebulous at best, and it leads the viewer to question why is this here? what is the purpose of this? and most importantly, why do I care? It's very frustrating and infuriating. There is seriously so much random **** all over the place that while watching the film, I pictured it as a 10,000 piece jigsaw puzzle opened by the film crew that was only partially put together and then submitted as complete. All the parts that should clearly be focused on aren't (what is the purpose behind the forest deer) and all the parts that shouldn't be focused on are (there is no need to show a campfire scene for like 10 minutes, much less at all). The big WTF moment is when a romantic plotline materializes out of thin air. The acting was flat, except for Charlize Theron, whose sinister performance I believed to an extent. Now on the other side, the visuals might have been the most spectacular I have seen since Avatar, and the set design and costumes were flawless. Is that enough to hold up a film when so much else is lacking? I'm not sure. It depends on the viewer. As for me, I was completely underwhelmed by a movie that could have and should have been more. Done right, this film could have been amazing. Is the film bad? No, but it isn't great either. And that's a big shame because I was rooting for it. Expand
  7. Jun 22, 2012
    7
    Snow White and the Huntsman brings a good and dark point of view to the famous and lovable tale. Charlize Theron totally makes the movie with her evilness and great acting. Although Kristen Stewart's performance is just barely up to par, audiences will enjoy the movie.
  8. Jun 21, 2012
    5
    While a far better film than Mirror Mirror (which I had to walk out of), Snow White fails to live up to the very stylish and cool initial 30 minutes or so. Slogging through the Forrest gets a little old, and the 2nd half of the movie in general is little bloated. And I hated the ending.
  9. Jun 20, 2012
    4
    Out of all the live-action Snow White adaptions, I don't think i've watched any that are nearly as good as this one. You'll get great performances from most of the lead actors and the cgi is nice too. Even if there is occasionally unintentional humor, the story really works.
  10. Jun 17, 2012
    7
    My wife had eagerly awaited this movie for months, being a huge fan of the Twilight and Thor movies, and so, on opening day, I was drug to see it on the big screen. After the viewing, I'm going to go with a "not bad". It was an interesting twist on an old classic set within an alluring world of magic. Some of the movie lasted a little too long for my taste and the queen's past motivations were not truly needed, but, that said, one could do a lot worst with a summer blockbuster. Expand
  11. Jun 17, 2012
    1
    I had zero expectation going into Snow White and the Huntsman and yet it failed to even meet basic expectations like making any sense or being just entertaining. The script is just incredibly clumsy with characters teleporting from one place to another instantaneously for the convenience of the plot, the dialog is very basic, the characters are also very bland, and the pacing is particularly atrocious (what's up with movies nowadays lasting 2 hours and there's nothing going on for half an hour often time?). And what about the acting, oh my... Theron starts off great, her character seems vicious and menacing, but she quickly falls apart as she starts yelling in every scene she's in; yelling isn't scary it shows the character is powerless, the most scary villains are the ones that don't need to say a word to inspire fear (like Vader in ep IV during the duel with Luke). Stewart is equally terrible but unlike Theron it's because she's so amazingly stiff, she has absolutely no range in this movie, when her character is happy, or scared, or sad, she always has the same freaking face; it's so ridiculous that they had to put fake tears in her eyes in some scenes to show that yes she is indeed sad or you wouldn't know based on her face, just ridiculous. Hemsworth isn't any better either, his character is very shallow, the best I can think of to describe him would be a failed Han Solo, a kind of scoundrel that gets better as the movie progresses, only done much more clumsily. All I can say is congratulation to the people who worked on the costumes and the CGI, because that's the only good thing you can say about this movie, yes it looks absolutely gorgeous, but it's not enough to carry a bad movie anymore and I'm not sure it ever was to begin with. Expand
  12. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. to tell you the truth, i actually really liked the movie it had great acting and visual presentation , but idiotic logic like a horse appearing out of no where for her to ride, but kristen stewart impressed me and so did charlize theron they really should get nominated for a best actress award in THIS movie because kristen impressed me as she showed some emotion which gave me a smile, but the dwarfs could have been a little more entertaining and kristen lost her emotion at the end of the movie as she looked like she was having an orgasm as the crown lay on her head. Expand
  13. Jun 12, 2012
    5
    In all honesty this movie was a let down, though the strange plot may keep you watching and Kristen Stewart's well done change of roles leaving you stunned. You will without doubt notice the huge plot holes which ruin the whole movie experience. Most adults will notice these flaws, kids will without doubt miss them. Which means only kids can truly enjoy this movie, which is a shame seeing how dark it can be. All together I'd recommend it to the small minded. Expand
  14. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    The problem of Snow White for me it was Snow White. I mean, if you get an average actress and put it her with over-the-top actors, all her flaws will come to be evident. That's what happen with Kirsten.
  15. Jun 10, 2012
    6
    I have to give this film a pass. Charlize Theron and Chris Hemsworth were very good. Kristen Stewart was passable, but she does tend to have a pouty, mean look on her face most of the movie. I'm trying to remember if I ever saw her smile. I liked that the film kept a very dark, violent tone throughout. There weren't any slow moments for me, but the movie is very predictable from scene to scene. The CGI throughout was very good. The Troll, Dwarfs, and Pixies in particular looked great. The mirror had the voice of Darth Vader which was pretty jarring. The dwarfs were apparently played by average sized people as I recognized Ian McShane and Bob Hoskins, but they did a great job of making them look the part. I would have rated the film higher, but it did have two of my biggest pet peeves. 1. Many characters have a heavy accent making them hard to understand. 2. Every battle scene had the dreaded moving camera so you couldn't see what was happening. I have gotten to the point where I don't even watch when they apply this technique. This film was much better than the dreadful "Mirror Mirror" from earlier this year. Expand
  16. Jun 10, 2012
    7
    Despite the uneven pacing, which was quite significant, this film is actually very good. It is dark and menacing - but that's what it's supposed to be. Considering the feature length animation around the 30's or 40's was not supposed to be a blissful fairytale, the recreation of this famous tale is exquisitely well acted and accurately portrayed. Some elements of the film were quite disturbing, but the light-heartedness of the dwarves helped to provide a few laughs and the sweetness of the music and especially the scenery of the Sanctuary added a bit more spirit to the mixture. Also, Kristen Stewart has a very notable role in this film despite her criticism for her role in the Twilight films. Expand
  17. Jun 10, 2012
    0
    Just not very good, really do not understand all the hype. It appears to me that the reason that you have all the advertising etc is to attempt to make up the money speant on the development of this film.
  18. Jun 10, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great gothic scenes in the mysterious, dark forest mix up with some dull moments in a cartoonish, Narnia-style Sanctuary and literally epitomize the movie's positive and negative aspects. A great idea of bringing to the cinema an adult representation of the classic fairy tale is marred by indecisions about whether this film should appeal more to the adults or to the younger audience. It has some very good elements, above all a stunning Charlize Theron as bad queen Ravenna, some music and atmospheric special effects (the forest, the mirror). At the same time, the acting of other characters (except for the dwarves) is unconvincing, marred by the same undecision, while many scenes are literally copied from other movies: the final charge on the beach (Ridley Scott's Robin Hood), the Sanctuary (Narnia), gothic villages (Solomon Kane), the representation of the dwarves (Lord of the Rings) or even the troll (Pan's Labyrinth). Finally, the plot lacks some deeper insights, offering only some generic explanation of the motivations of the protagonists (why is the huntsman drinking so much? why is Snow White not surprised at all by the charm she has suffered? why everyone wants to go to a war after her speech, if no one wanted to do that for the past 20 years? why is Ravenna's motivation to kill and destroy so badly explained and neglected?), as well as mixing very nice action scenes with lengthy, dull and unconvincing moments that force you to put matches into your eyes to keep them open.. Expand
  19. Jun 9, 2012
    5
    Overall, Chris Hemsworth and Charlize Theron do an excellent job with their roles, and the CGI is exceptional. Sadly, Kristen Stewart's acting (contrary to a lot of the claims here), is nothign short of disinteresting. A good test of fantasy works is suspension of disbelief: during all of Ms. Stewarts scenes, I found myself exposed to the flaws in both the plot and the structure of the scenes. Wooden and unconvincing is only the gateway to describing her: however, the scenes are gorgeous and both Hemsworth and Theron are exceptional in their roles, and really do nail each moment of them. I look at this as a scene that is several well respected actors trying to lend some credibility to a younger cast and see if they can ascend to a higher pantheon of acting. For Kristen Stewart and the actor who plays the son of a duke, I found myself utterly disappointed. For Chris Hemsworth, I hope he continues to get more roles from his performance Expand
  20. Jun 9, 2012
    4
    A hokey, boring, unnecessary film. The story is nothing new but told for a vis-effects generation, which sacrifices any clever plot devices. In a summer where board games are getting big screen adaptations, it's no surprise to see not 1, but 2 Snow White adaptations - both taken any polar directions - but neither adding anything worthy of a 2-hour time investment. To know that a sequel is in the works is almost as no surprise as the its ending. Don't eat the apple. Expand
  21. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    I enjoyed this movie. It was a little bit dark, a bit fantasy and had good actors in it. The story line was nice and it kept my attention the whole movie. Not boring at all. A lot of action and some weird interesting effects. My husband thought it looked boring from the previews and dumb but when we saw it he admitted he was wrong and he liked it as well. I definitely recommend this movie to everyone. Expand
  22. Jun 9, 2012
    5
    i think this movie is just running a typical hollywood formula, and they twisted everything to fit into it. the pace of this movie is very odd. and i dont know if it is the director trying to give some room for the viewers to think or feel for charactors, but it really gets boring. all actors in this movie did deliver their work. buut if u do not care about the raising stars, dont buy tickets. and there is one thing i typically doesnt like about this movie is they use 3/4 of time to emphasize how snow white has a pure heart, but ends up with a sword start killing people with a lots of hate. Expand
  23. Jun 8, 2012
    4
    I started out thinking I could get into it if it kept getting better, but by the third act this movie becomes so boring that I didn't even care what would happen anymore.
  24. Jun 8, 2012
    6
    Just back from "Snow White And The Huntsmen". It was fine and I did enjoy it as it surprised me how dark it was for a 12a. Great special effects and a really beautiful movie and I mean "Middle Earth" beautiful, even without 3D. Charlize Theron, Chris Hemsworth and the brilliantly cast dwarves are all great. However the one downside (and its a big one) is Kristen Stewart. She just has one expression and isn't believable in the action scenes. Worth a watch but not for young kids. Expand
  25. Jun 8, 2012
    5
    Great cinematography, great scenes, set, casting, battle scenes, special effects.... all spoilt by one thing: Kirsten Stewart!
    OK, there are a few flaw in the plot, like how someone who has been imprisoned between the age of about 10 to 18 can ride and fight, but I suppose it does explain some of her complete lack of ability to act and speak like a normal person. What a shame from an
    otherwise excellent movie. Expand
  26. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    I just saw this movie and I loved it!!!!! I was not a fan of Kristen Stewarts before but I have to admit I was completely wrong!!! She has a lot of acting talent and I was very impressed with her here.
  27. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Overall a very good adaptation. I was surprised at how much they did with a limited story. They could perhaps have pushed it a little further but I was happy with the result.
  28. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Chris Hemsworth, Kristen Stewart and Charlize Theron were all fantastic in this movie! They played their roles perfectly. I love that they had slight twists and tweeks to the story without completely changing it.
  29. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Snow White was recommended to me by a friend as I was not going to see it. I am so glad she talked some sense in to me as I was completely entertained and enjoyed it very much!
  30. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Very good movie with solid performance from the main cast. They did a lot more with the limited story than I thought they could actually. I've got to give credit where it is due and it certainly is here.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Tal Rosenberg
    Jun 2, 2012
    60
    The CGI effects are so slick that they undercut the movie's shock value, and the action moves too quickly to instill a real sense of fear, but this is still visually impressive, with spectacular make-up, costumes, and cinematography.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 1, 2012
    75
    Attempts to inject a little humor via the antics of the dwarves don't work, especially since one of the little people is killed early in the proceedings. No one's going to be singing "Hi ho! Hi ho! It's off to work we go!" after that happens.
  3. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 1, 2012
    60
    It's Theron who owns this film, imbuing her deliciously depraved Queen with furious pain and deep-seated fear.