Snow White and the Huntsman

Snow White and the Huntsman Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 498 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Snow White and the Huntsman is a new take on the classic fairy tale which features an expanded role for the Huntsman. In the fairy tale, he is ordered to take Snow White into the woods and kill her, but instead lets her go. In the new take, the Huntsman is not a love interest but acts moreSnow White and the Huntsman is a new take on the classic fairy tale which features an expanded role for the Huntsman. In the fairy tale, he is ordered to take Snow White into the woods and kill her, but instead lets her go. In the new take, the Huntsman is not a love interest but acts more as a mentor, teaching Snow White to fight and survive. (Universal Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    May 30, 2012
    88
    Snow White and the Huntsman reinvents the legendary story in a film of astonishing beauty and imagination.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    May 31, 2012
    75
    Yes, there are many splendid reasons to see Snow White and the Huntsman – enough, maybe, not to care that neither Snow White nor the Huntsman rank high among them.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    May 31, 2012
    70
    An evil spell nearly does Snow White in, but it's lifted in the nick of time. The strangest spell afflicts Kristen Stewart; she can't seem to imbue Snow White with anything more than a semblance of feeling. That spell never lifts, but it doesn't make much difference in the end because the forces of good manage to work around it.
  4. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    May 28, 2012
    60
    A strong visual style tussles with flaccid storytelling in this ambitious retelling of Grimm. It won't exactly have Walt Disney spinning in his secret ice chamber, but you may wish they spent more time worrying about what exactly the film is than who it's for.
  5. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 1, 2012
    60
    It's Theron who owns this film, imbuing her deliciously depraved Queen with furious pain and deep-seated fear.
  6. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    May 31, 2012
    50
    I spent several minutes not caring what was happening with the story but just observing the patchwork illusion of oversized props, short stunt doubles and computer grafting of big faces on small bodies. Nice work.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    May 31, 2012
    25
    Overlong, overcrowded, overstimulating and with an over-the-top performance by Charlize Theron as the evil queen Ravenna, the movie is a virtual orchard of toxic excess, starting with the unnecessarily sprawling cast of characters.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 189
  2. Negative: 17 out of 189
  1. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Beautifully shot and very convincingly acted! Really enjoyed this take on the tale......so much better than previous attempts at adaptingBeautifully shot and very convincingly acted! Really enjoyed this take on the tale......so much better than previous attempts at adapting fairytales! I highly commend and recommend! Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    I just saw this movie and I loved it!!!!! I was not a fan of Kristen Stewarts before but I have to admit I was completely wrong!!! She has aI just saw this movie and I loved it!!!!! I was not a fan of Kristen Stewarts before but I have to admit I was completely wrong!!! She has a lot of acting talent and I was very impressed with her here. Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    Surprisingly good! I was expecting a lame story remake but I was so wrong. Loved the story, the characters and the amazing visuals. Very wellSurprisingly good! I was expecting a lame story remake but I was so wrong. Loved the story, the characters and the amazing visuals. Very well done indeed. Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2012
    7
    Is there anyone out there who doesn't know this story? No. The enchanted forest of fairies and the evil dark woods are easily my favoriteIs there anyone out there who doesn't know this story? No. The enchanted forest of fairies and the evil dark woods are easily my favorite parts of this film ... that and (sniff) wait... (snifffff!) wait.... TROLL! Kristen Stewart is forever the Twilight girl, and Charlize is really wicked. Ending a bit lame, movie a bit long in spots, but otherwise a fun interpretation of Snow White and the Seven... uh, wait a minute, let me recount... Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2012
    5
    This was an uneven film. It generated wonder and boredom. The story telling was clunky. The CGI and imagination of many of the scenes wereThis was an uneven film. It generated wonder and boredom. The story telling was clunky. The CGI and imagination of many of the scenes were incredible. A movie has lost me as a viewer when I no longer can suspend my disbelief and begin to question the logic and rationale of the storytelling; that's what happened here. There were some great parts and I loved the re-imagining of the old story. Brilliant what they did with the 7 dwarfs. The scenery was great. By the last 10 minutes I was so disinterested in the story itself that I walked out, which about 5 people had done before me throughout the movie. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2012
    5
    He could come out a good movie because it is technically well done. Too bad that Stewart as Snow White (character who was supposed to carryHe could come out a good movie because it is technically well done. Too bad that Stewart as Snow White (character who was supposed to carry the good, the sweetness, innocence) has almost ruined everything with his expressionless. Thank goodness there was Charlize Theron that saved the movie with his incredible performance at the Queen. Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2013
    0
    More of 2 hs missed in this boring crap, also the main character is a skinny ugly one, thumbs down, don't waste your precious time...if youMore of 2 hs missed in this boring crap, also the main character is a skinny ugly one, thumbs down, don't waste your precious time...if you want to see a fantasie movie go to Red Riding Hood Expand

See all 189 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.