Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 26, 2014
    100
    Politically provocative and visually spectacular Snowpiercer - the best action film of 2014, and probably the best film, period.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 26, 2014
    100
    Snowpiercer sucks you into its strange, brave new world so completely, it leaves you with the all-too-rare sensation that you've just witnessed something you've never seen before...and need to see again.
  3. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jun 24, 2014
    100
    Sprung from a 1982 French graphic novel and bearing its era’s trickle-down tensions, Snowpiercer is a headlong rush into conceptual lunacy — but you’ll love it anyway.
  4. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jun 23, 2014
    100
    The action sequences in the film are spectacular, and there's one in particular that I think is an all-timer, both in the way it's imagined and in the way it's accomplished on film, but this isn't a film about empty sensation. It's a richly realized science-fiction world, and the cast is just tremendous.
  5. Reviewed by: Patrick Gamble
    Jun 22, 2014
    100
    Snowpiercer evolves steadily, growing richer with every step and slowly feeding us morsels of information - enriching this ludicrous premise with enough magic and wonder to suspend our disbelief entirely.
  6. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Oct 31, 2013
    100
    A visionary, thrilling work.
  7. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jun 25, 2014
    91
    Though shocking violence and black humor run through the length of the movie, what comes through most strongly is its pessimistic political conscience; were the movie less earnest, it might seem Verhoeven-esque.
  8. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Dec 15, 2014
    90
    Snowpiercer is its own strange, special thing, a movie that seems to have been sent back to us from some distant alternate future where grandiose summer action movies can also be lovingly crafted, thematically ambitious works of art.
  9. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 2, 2014
    90
    There are surprises and plenty of action. What's good about Snowpiercer is how they all blend together; each element informs the other.
  10. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Jun 26, 2014
    90
    Though the movie is playfully postmodern in its pastiche of styles and its mingling of sincerity and self-consciousness, there is also something solidly old-fashioned about the way it tells its story.
  11. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Jul 22, 2013
    90
    Snowpiercer has been brought to the screen with the kind of solid narrative craftsmanship, carefully drawn characters and — above all — respect for the audience’s intelligence rarely encountered in high-concept genre cinema.
  12. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jun 25, 2014
    89
    Snowpiercer holds its own; it’s an unruly but rattling – and ravishing – work of art. On first watch, I wondered if there was anything to scratch beneath the surface – it seemed so straightforward, I worried there wasn’t enough there there – so I rewatched it almost right away and was surprised to find it still left me panting.
  13. Reviewed by: John Semley
    Jul 17, 2014
    88
    Without “spoiling” it, it’s a film that at least opens up a possibility for change, instead of providing another rote reshuffling of power from the Black Hats back to the White Hats.
  14. Reviewed by: Bruce Ingram
    Jul 4, 2014
    88
    Bong, above all, is a world-class visual stylist, and he proves that again here with a few dazzling flourishes, despite Snowpiercer’s dismal gray palette and train-bound claustrophobia.
  15. 88
    Swinton is delightful in a twisted turn as Wilford's enforcer, a Margaret Thatcherian dragon lady who adores watching her men torture miscreants who have defied the train's No. 1 rule: Know your place.
  16. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jul 2, 2014
    88
    Pay attention, Michael Bay: This is what thrilling summer movies look like.
  17. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jul 2, 2014
    88
    On the level of a popcorn thrill ride, Snowpiercer is a beaut.
  18. 88
    It’s more an instant cult film than a picture with any prayer of reaching millions.
  19. Reviewed by: Peter Sobczynski
    Jun 27, 2014
    88
    If the name "Gilliam" set off a little tremor of excitement when you heard it that is no accident because, with its combination of startling visuals, a head-spinning storyline and oddball characters that don't always conform to their presumed parameters, Snowpiercer is a film definitely in the vein of the works of the great Terry Gilliam, especially his 1985 landmark "Brazil."
  20. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jun 26, 2014
    88
    A rare hybrid that perfectly blends the dazzle of a futuristic action thriller with the intellectual substance of an art film.
  21. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 26, 2014
    88
    A slambam sci-fi thriller with a brain, a heart and an artful sense of purpose. You're in for a wild whoosh of a ride.
  22. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 25, 2014
    88
    Don’t miss it — this is enormously fun visionary filmmaking, with a witty script and a great international cast.
  23. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jun 25, 2014
    88
    An upscale, high-concept $40 million futuristic epic by the visionary South Korean director Bong Joon-ho. It’s too gruesome to recommend to everyone without reservation, but if you love movies, you can’t afford to miss it.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 548 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 150
  2. Negative: 41 out of 150
  1. Jul 7, 2014
    2
    I'm quite shocked seeing this movie receives such a good response from film critics-it's insanely bad, unbelievable illogical with plot holesI'm quite shocked seeing this movie receives such a good response from film critics-it's insanely bad, unbelievable illogical with plot holes appearing in almost every scene. For example main character, our hero is having some difficult time eating protein blocks made of roach (we never see growing roach department however) but later in the movie we discover that his former eating habits include cannibalism and eating little babies?! Yes the guy who once ate babies now cries like a baby because he has to eat roach and start whole revolution because of it..that's how ridiculously dumb this movie is.There is one Terminator guy that can't get killed no matter what they do to him,Tilda Swinton get stabbed in her leg just to continue walking in the next scene like nothing happened- list of errors and stupidities could go on forever.Screenwriters couldn't even decide how cold is outside:very cold at the beginning (remember how the rebel guy lost his arm?),not so cold at the end...and where on Earth little kid finds suitable fur for him? I don't give it 0 because of some fine actors work and production values but this is complete rubbish. Full Review »
  2. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    This is the best movie I've seen this year.The fact is that I didnt see the movie in theaters but on my PC and I loved it means a lot.ThisThis is the best movie I've seen this year.The fact is that I didnt see the movie in theaters but on my PC and I loved it means a lot.This sci-fi,action movie is put together with thought.It has a soul,a purpose,a style,good characters and AWESOME action.One of the best of this year.I'd like to quote what Peter Travers said in his review for this movie " Snowpiercer is everything Transformers: Age of Extinction wishes it could be: a slam-bam sci-fi thriller with a brain, a heart and an artful sense of purpose".I really hope this movie is gonna slam AOE at the box office because its entertaining and doesnt give you headache and doesnt make you dumber watching it.Snowpiercer diserves to be a succes.Go see it in theaters people. Full Review »
  3. Jun 27, 2014
    3
    Ditto on being shocked at good reviews. Snowpiercer is not worth your money. The dialogue seems to have been written by grade school children,Ditto on being shocked at good reviews. Snowpiercer is not worth your money. The dialogue seems to have been written by grade school children, which doesn't leave much room for quality acting. The characters are Brazil / Gilliam campy but not as interesting (partly due to the awful dialogue). Also, the plot is recycled from already recycled dystopias and is very predictable. Ok, are you here for action then? Well, you can basically just throw away the fighting scenes, which also seem recycled from other, better Korean films. Do we really need another axe-fight scene? Do we really need another dystopian film of this type and quality? The plot holes are mind-blowing even if you suspend disbelief, the acting is poor, the characters are random and disposable, and the plot is as dumb as a couch. The movie seems like a live action manga remake of the worst kind. Full Review »