Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: June 27, 2014
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 709 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
504
Mixed:
110
Negative:
95
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
VercodaJul 7, 2014
Without doubt, one of the worst films of 2014, as well as of recent years, Snowpiercer was a massive disappointment. Collectively, I'm a fan of several of the actors and behind-the-scenes talent involved with this film, as well as its kind ofWithout doubt, one of the worst films of 2014, as well as of recent years, Snowpiercer was a massive disappointment. Collectively, I'm a fan of several of the actors and behind-the-scenes talent involved with this film, as well as its kind of dystopian setting, so although I knew little about the film I had high hopesfor it - sadly, they were soon dashed. Where to begin?

There were just too many things wrong with it - for a train that's perpetually rocketing around the world, half the film featured zero sense of inertia or speed (even Star Trek's hams could wobble in their seats sometimes), as utterly stationary cast and equipment appeared stage-bound - apart from a few token sequences. We had a rocketing train that conveniently slowed wayyyy down at key expositional points (the Plane Below, the Frozen Exiles), as well as utterly bizarre casting decisions that were never explained (Jamie Bell's bizarre and somewhat patronising "Shoite!" 'Oirish' accent - why?!), while Hurt and Evans regularly over-emoted as though they going for an Academy award. (Just wait til the seemingly endless speech about what Evans used to eat...)

Then, once the story started rolling along into the front, better-off section of the train, it absolutely rocketed into utter silliness. Yes, we get that they're all decadent, parasitic snobs living it up at the front - but did we need slo-mo Eurodisco shots to underline this? (Send in the gimps!) Derivative and dull to sit through, ticking one clichéd box after another, this was the point where I started considering what I could be doing instead of staying on board to the ending.

The film's one - and only - saving grace is Tilda Swinton, who stole every scene with her perfidious Mason character. Half Gollum, half Northern English trade unionist, and half vintage Deirdre Barlow (Irish/British TV audiences will get that reference), her cowardly, sniping, mocking and treacherous ways were an absolute hoot to watch, with her hateful character proving unexpectedly entertaining in each and every scene she was in, while John Hurt was also a reliably engaging presence on screen.

Unfortunately, one brilliant character and an okay-ish set-up do not an entertaining film make, and the initially interesting dystopian set-up soon derails into a cheap - and dare one say, almost grubby-feeling - Eurofilmesque tale, populated with flashes of jarring, stylised uber-violence, an inconsistent narrative, lazy editing, generally cheap-looking CGI/effects and a crashing bore of an ending.

As such, it's 3 points for Tildy's turn, but a big, fat Zero for anything else...
Expand
20 of 27 users found this helpful207
All this user's reviews
3
DuvallJul 7, 2014
I am befuddled by the generous scores given by all the professional critics. This was a boring film with poor dialog, and a preposterous plot with enough holes to rival Looper, and Lake House. At no point did I find it even remotelyI am befuddled by the generous scores given by all the professional critics. This was a boring film with poor dialog, and a preposterous plot with enough holes to rival Looper, and Lake House. At no point did I find it even remotely plausible, and the 'twists' at the end were just ridiculous. Chris Evans was completely forgettable. Expand
24 of 34 users found this helpful2410
All this user's reviews
3
bananaoctopusJun 30, 2014
I was very excited by this film, and impressed by the first 10-15 minutes. As the story developed though, it just got painfully stupid. I think the idea behind the film is excellent, it's just been very poorly executed.
21 of 30 users found this helpful219
All this user's reviews
2
andreweacJun 28, 2014
No idea why this film is getting so many insanely positive reviews. Way too many plot aspects that did not tie together, the unnecessary addition of woo and supernatural elements that did nothing to advanced the story and a lot of suspectNo idea why this film is getting so many insanely positive reviews. Way too many plot aspects that did not tie together, the unnecessary addition of woo and supernatural elements that did nothing to advanced the story and a lot of suspect acting. Good idea for a film, poorly executed. Script seemed like it wasn't even edited. Strange. Expand
23 of 36 users found this helpful2313
All this user's reviews
0
heloheJul 3, 2014
It is not understandable how this movie can get such good reviews. It is almost as if those people saw a completely different movie. The one I saw was bad in almost every regard. Acting was the worst, followed by insanely bad CGI. Plot holesIt is not understandable how this movie can get such good reviews. It is almost as if those people saw a completely different movie. The one I saw was bad in almost every regard. Acting was the worst, followed by insanely bad CGI. Plot holes and predictable story from beggining to end. Don't waste your money for this. Expand
20 of 35 users found this helpful2015
All this user's reviews
3
FudlianJun 30, 2014
OK I've given this a 3 because it tried to be original and daring. It tried too hard though and it ends up as an unfortunate attempted cross between Brazil and any dumb action movie that you can name. I was disappointed because I liked TheOK I've given this a 3 because it tried to be original and daring. It tried too hard though and it ends up as an unfortunate attempted cross between Brazil and any dumb action movie that you can name. I was disappointed because I liked The Host a lot but the dialogue here is poor, there is no characterisiation and the movie swings again and again from gory action to poorly-judged surreality to the detriment of both. the problem is that action movies demand one kind of logic, quirky surrealist fantasies another, and this film has none. Expand
17 of 32 users found this helpful1715
All this user's reviews
2
listenerJul 7, 2014
I'm quite shocked seeing this movie receives such a good response from film critics-it's insanely bad, unbelievable illogical with plot holes appearing in almost every scene. For example main character, our hero is having some difficult timeI'm quite shocked seeing this movie receives such a good response from film critics-it's insanely bad, unbelievable illogical with plot holes appearing in almost every scene. For example main character, our hero is having some difficult time eating protein blocks made of roach (we never see growing roach department however) but later in the movie we discover that his former eating habits include cannibalism and eating little babies?! Yes the guy who once ate babies now cries like a baby because he has to eat roach and start whole revolution because of it..that's how ridiculously dumb this movie is.There is one Terminator guy that can't get killed no matter what they do to him,Tilda Swinton get stabbed in her leg just to continue walking in the next scene like nothing happened- list of errors and stupidities could go on forever.Screenwriters couldn't even decide how cold is outside:very cold at the beginning (remember how the rebel guy lost his arm?),not so cold at the end...and where on Earth little kid finds suitable fur for him? I don't give it 0 because of some fine actors work and production values but this is complete rubbish. Expand
26 of 49 users found this helpful2623
All this user's reviews
3
ryecaJun 27, 2014
Ditto on being shocked at good reviews. Snowpiercer is not worth your money. The dialogue seems to have been written by grade school children, which doesn't leave much room for quality acting. The characters are Brazil / Gilliam campy but notDitto on being shocked at good reviews. Snowpiercer is not worth your money. The dialogue seems to have been written by grade school children, which doesn't leave much room for quality acting. The characters are Brazil / Gilliam campy but not as interesting (partly due to the awful dialogue). Also, the plot is recycled from already recycled dystopias and is very predictable. Ok, are you here for action then? Well, you can basically just throw away the fighting scenes, which also seem recycled from other, better Korean films. Do we really need another axe-fight scene? Do we really need another dystopian film of this type and quality? The plot holes are mind-blowing even if you suspend disbelief, the acting is poor, the characters are random and disposable, and the plot is as dumb as a couch. The movie seems like a live action manga remake of the worst kind. Expand
24 of 47 users found this helpful2423
All this user's reviews
0
HwoDragonNov 21, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really, really REALLY don't want to go for the obvious pun here, but there's no way around it: This movie is a train wreck. The parts of the plot that weren't totally predictable were only so because they were so illogical, I couldn't imagine anyone being stupid enough to write them. The "BIG PLOT TWIST" at the end was so obvious, I accidentally predicted it in the first half an hour.

I honestly have no idea how this movie was conceived. Did somebody say, "Hey, let's make a dystopian, post-extinction, hunger-games-esque action movie, but on a TRAIN!", and did somebody else honestly think that was a good idea, not realizing that is the perfect way to make LITERALLY THE MOST LINEAR MOVIE EVER?

There are so many holes and inconsistencies in this movie, that the pseudo-intellectualism is brutally exposed to the icy winds of this **** metaphor. Why was a cannibal appalled at finding that he had been eating insects, which are a perfectly healthy and legitimate form of food, as opposed to **** CANNIBALISM? Who are these characters who we're expected to magically know and care about despite being told nothing about them? After the main characters suddenly found themselves cut off from the rebellion as a dozen heavily armed soldiers got behind them, why do they not seem to feel any sense of urgency? Why did the main character with a **** submachine gun stand there with no cover engaging an enemy who had a powerful assault rifle at a range of half a kilometer through a blizzard, and how the hell did he actually almost land a shot? Why does this Native American think he can survive in the frozen wastelands when the last people who tried didn't make it a mile, based on the fact that the snow has melted a little bit, yet it's still cold enough to freeze a man's arm off in seven minutes? How has this train come so close to derailing this many times in a few days, and yet it's kept on track for 18 years with no maintenance of the outside train, or the tracks it's traveling on? Why is a train superior to, say, an underground bunker? What the hell was that random scene near the end where a kid randomly disappeared into the engine with no explanation or consequences?

HOW THE **** DOES NOBODY SEE THE PROBLEM WITH AN ENDING THAT LEAVES LITERALLY EVERY SINGLE HUMAN BEING, SAVE FOR AN 18 YEAR OLD AND A 5 YEAR OLD, DEAD, AND THOSE TWO CHILDREN TOSSED INTO THE ARCTIC WILDERNESS, AND HOW THE **** IS THIS BETTER THAN THE ANTAGONIST'S ALTERNATIVE OF *NOT* COMMITTING GENOCIDE?

These are some of the many, many, questions you'll be asking during this movie. Instead, the question that it CHOOSES to answer is, "what do babies taste like?"
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
1
3ebfan511Aug 12, 2015
One of the worst films I have ever seen in my entire life. I was bored within the first 10 minutes and had to turn it off. It didn't get much better, only more stupid. The most painfully obvious metaphor in film history which is repeatedOne of the worst films I have ever seen in my entire life. I was bored within the first 10 minutes and had to turn it off. It didn't get much better, only more stupid. The most painfully obvious metaphor in film history which is repeated for about 2 hours for the most dumbed-down film going audience in world history. If you thought this film had any "deep" meaning I have true concern for your brain. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
0
dtrainFeb 19, 2015
I viewed this film based on a favorable review in The Week last summer. Never has this great magazine been so far off. This movie was shockingly horrible. I could tell in the first few minutes that something was terribly terribly wrong withI viewed this film based on a favorable review in The Week last summer. Never has this great magazine been so far off. This movie was shockingly horrible. I could tell in the first few minutes that something was terribly terribly wrong with this film, and I almost shut it off (an extremely rare response for me), but I thought that it must get better. It didn't. Just the opposite. This film does earn distinction, however: it qualifies in the top five worst movies I've ever seen (think: Plan 9 from Outer Space without the laughs). It's so bad that it isn't even "so bad it's good." It's just so bad that it's pathetic. Gratuitously violent. Insultingly inane. A cheap ripoff of the movie art form. And they even had the nerve to put some known actors into this monstrosity. I want to vomit this vile stuff from my consciousness. Ick! Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
0
theNILEAug 2, 2015
It starts off okay but I couldn't take some of the characters seriously, then it just went to **** They established the setting really well but the pathetic attempt at dramatic fights which were soooo drawn out just made me lose interest. TheIt starts off okay but I couldn't take some of the characters seriously, then it just went to **** They established the setting really well but the pathetic attempt at dramatic fights which were soooo drawn out just made me lose interest. The rest of the movie doesn't deliver after what looks like an almost promising beginning. Even ignoring the plot holes, I feel everyone should of just died. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
Marty-DCMar 1, 2015
The critics' high praise was not supported by the movie itself.

The strong points were the special effects and the acting of Chris Evans, Song Kang-ho, Octavia Spencer, and Go Ah-sung. The premise was absurd in the extreme, and the
The critics' high praise was not supported by the movie itself.

The strong points were the special effects and the acting of Chris Evans, Song Kang-ho, Octavia Spencer, and Go Ah-sung.

The premise was absurd in the extreme, and the plot had so many holes in it you could use for a colander.

The ending was just silly.

I kept looking for some redeeming point to the whole thing, perhaps an allegory on humanity, a statement on technology, anything that would tell me I had not wasted two hours and the cost of a rental, but there was nothing there.

Overall I'd put it in the same league as 1969's "The Magic Christian", except it's more depressing.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
jbrown8989Jan 7, 2016
This movie was just awful! I had high expectations because of all the positive reviews but once the movie ended I was left confused as to how the movie had achieved such a high score. This may be one of the worst movies I have seen.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
1
stoutcarrotMar 15, 2015
Snowpiercer is thrilling for the first half hour or so, until the plot starts to make less and less sense and concludes with no sort of tie in or message. Rampant plot holes, piss poor CGI, mediocre acting and a lame story that leaves youSnowpiercer is thrilling for the first half hour or so, until the plot starts to make less and less sense and concludes with no sort of tie in or message. Rampant plot holes, piss poor CGI, mediocre acting and a lame story that leaves you asking yourself "Why did I watch this movie?" Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
jibbonNov 4, 2014
My goodness, how on earth does a movie of this poor calibre rate anything but in the red? I have rarely seen a more pathetic opening sequence. The characters are the worst sort of cardboard caricatures and the dialogue is unbelievably bad.My goodness, how on earth does a movie of this poor calibre rate anything but in the red? I have rarely seen a more pathetic opening sequence. The characters are the worst sort of cardboard caricatures and the dialogue is unbelievably bad. Worst of all, the social allegory that this film has been applauded for does nothing but conjure a sort of innate permanence with respect to social 'class' - precisely the sort of 'realism' that maintains the inequalities in this world. Tragic. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
Tessara_VejganNov 10, 2014
Wow, the movie was a disaster. Granted the acting was good but the whole premise of the movie is ridiculous and not in a good way. Story sucked badly. Don't waste your time with this.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
igorviegasAug 13, 2014
You can call me crazy but the truth is that I hated every second of this movie. The idea was well though, but I don't think that the film is well enough to give, at least, four points. For me was just a waste of time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
slimbillFeb 14, 2015
A total waste of my two hours! Surprised it got such a high score on Metacritic! These overpaid critics have lost their minds. Don't waste your time seeing this movie. Its pure ****
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
reelsightJul 28, 2014
Totally improbable dystopian fable. Good scifi must contain probable or at least possible technology. This one never explains what powers the engine or how the tracks survive decades of high speed use in artic conditions with noTotally improbable dystopian fable. Good scifi must contain probable or at least possible technology. This one never explains what powers the engine or how the tracks survive decades of high speed use in artic conditions with no maintenance. Of course a really good story would allow me to forgive "magical" technology. But this one is a heavy-handed, plodding allegory of class warfare. The predictable progress from one end of the train to the other is achingly tedious. The ending of this scientifically ignorant production is perfect. It shows the majestic maritime polar bear roaming an alpine landscape. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
0
YonkimanJul 29, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I honestly don't understand all the positive reviews of this movie. (Mild spoilers ahead.) From a believability point of view, it's a failure wherever you look. The entire premise of the train is absurd. Apparently this rich evil villain built this train/track in the ~1 year between when this global warming cure was discovered/launched and when that cure backfired into a catastrophe? A bunch of rebels armed with sticks defeat enemies with automatic weapons and night vision goggles IN THE DARK (with the rebels trapped on one end of a narrow car with a narrower passageway behind them) and over and over win other similar battles against similar odds? The villain is an all-but-mustache-twirling/cat stroking condescending cliché. This train is packed to the brim with unbelievability. My suspension of disbelief muscles wore out in the first 15 minutes. It also felt like the writer/director had just read Hugh Howey's Wool and reduced it to one dimension.

So that leaves the allegory. I suppose that worked if you don't mind being repeatedly hit over the head with 500lb allegories, including the inevitable villain explaining the allegory at the end in case you missed it the first 37 times.

I suppose I'm giving this a zero in part because I'm angry about being so misled by all the high scores. On it's own, this film merits a 2 or a 3. But I feel something has to be done to counteract all the absurdly high positive reviews. I want my money back. Everyone that gave this film more than a 5 owes me a penny.
Expand
12 of 14 users found this helpful122
All this user's reviews
0
yogesh487Oct 28, 2014
I downloaded this movie after reading reviews of the critics (84 rating)
and this movie was a huge disappointment .

DON"T WATCH THIS MOVIE.
seriously 84 rating meta critic??
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
1
DemoraseAug 1, 2014
Snowpiercer is a very pretentious and dumb movie trying to pass itself for social commentary on class warfare but utterly fails at it.

What the writers and director forgot when making the movie is that at its core class warfare is about
Snowpiercer is a very pretentious and dumb movie trying to pass itself for social commentary on class warfare but utterly fails at it.

What the writers and director forgot when making the movie is that at its core class warfare is about resources: you got a small minority controlling most of the resources and a huge majority fighting for the scraps. It's a powerful topic because it's as old as humanity and echoes to one of our core flaws as human beings: greed.

But this whole concept goes out the window when there isn't any resource left to fight over anyway. Indeed the movie is about a bunch of people living in a small train in a post-apocalyptic world where there's nothing else left in the world! So what exactly is the point of having a bunch of people in that train starving to death for no reason when:

a) they have enough food for everyone. It's clearly shown when you see how well the other passengers are living.

b) those people aren't even working for the leisure of the "upper class", they aren't producing anything or working, they're literally just there to starve for no reason, simply as a plot device.

c) they all live in a freaking small train, they're all miserable anyway. There's no "good life" to be had at the expense of others, unlike in the real world.

The movie doesn't provide any answer, it's all form over substance, pure shock value with no understanding of the underlying issues that create those very real problems.

But even with that aside it's just an all-around bad movie in general, with next to no character development, bad pacing, bad dialog. The stupidity of the whole story is what pushes it into unbearable territory. A shame because Chris Evans does give a very good performance all throughout.
Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
1
SleepytimeTeaAug 4, 2014
This movie was dead on arrival. There is a palpable sense of flatness to the acting, which comes from actors not believing in the lines they are saying. Can't blame them, the dialogue was inane and the whole concept is a reheated mishmashThis movie was dead on arrival. There is a palpable sense of flatness to the acting, which comes from actors not believing in the lines they are saying. Can't blame them, the dialogue was inane and the whole concept is a reheated mishmash of dystopian tropes. Even the normally interesting Tilda Swinton is just walking through this flick. I'm guessing the only reason this movie got made was because Hunger Games has created a sub genre of "old timey people in rags vs the pompous über class" and filmmakers think audiences will just gobble up anything in this vein. Walked out, got our money back. And this is from people who enjoyed Edge of Tomorrow, Apes movies and GoT, heck we even thought Hunger Games wasn't too bad. This movie just didn't have the stuff. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
manwe7Mar 1, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This has to be one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Lets start with the plot, or lack of it. Dumbest idea ever. How could you build a train track in harsh environment like that if they couldn't even go out in it? Not only that but the train never stopped and went around the world? Land masses don't connect! There is a plot hole. Who could sit 18 years in one little cramped space such as they were in? Not only that everyone dies except 2 people at the end. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE movie.

Stupid critics the only reason why they liked it as I suppose this is supposed to be imitating life?? I guess if your a gay critic who jumps on board with everyone else or you live in a world where there is no hope, this movie is for you!
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
ZafeerSep 12, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie made no sense what so ever. At the start it's as cold as liquid nitrogen outside and at the end the two survivors and a polar bear are wandering around outside. Their lungs should be frozen in an instant. They explain nothing in the movie. What happened to the world that would only take 17 years to recover? The sun is shining throughout the movie so how did the temp drop so drastically? Any loss in atmosphere would cause a temp increase. Why a long elaborate ruse to cause a revolt when they could just shoot people without any fuss? Where are they keeping the feed for all of the cows, chickens and pork? It would take acres of farmland just to feed and house them. The train is supposed to last forever but they need small children to replace simple parts that they should be able to jury rig or replace entirely. Why have a subclass of freeloaders at all? Put them to work as servants for the upper class. Get them to do the jobs that nobody else wants to do. Where did all the bugs come from for making protein bricks? That's a lot of bricks per day. What if the tracks get damaged by falling rocks? Why is there no way to remove power from the security doors so they can't be opened? Isn't the woman survivor going to go through massive withdrawals and probably die? What was the polar bear eating in the wild all this time? The gene pool on the train isn't large enough to repopulate the world. Why would you sacrifice the electrical engineer that created the electrical systems on the train? Wouldn't he be one of the most valuable people on the train? No fire suppression system on the train? There are so many holes in this train wreck. (lol see what I did there?) Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
Adamp1916Jun 30, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is terrible. First of all, how did they build a gigantic train track that never stops if they can't even go outside to build it? Assuming they built it before everything froze in anticipation, fine, that's the least of the things that makes this movie bad.

It's not supposed to be entirely realistic, let's just put that aside as well. So, Captain America's whole plan is to get to the front of the train to help Gilliam take it over and run things again, presumably because the people in the tail end are unfairly treated. When he finally gets to the front, he learns that Gilliam and Wilfred work together to keep the train's population in check. He's all mad that they chose who to kill and how to prevent population overgrowth, but he also decides it's OK to kill EVERYBODY? No. Sorry. That's retarded.

People sustained life under harsh circumstances for 18 years, and he basically decides it's ok to just doom mankind completely? No. Sorry. That's retarded. There's like three people left alive with no food, water, or shelter. Apparently killing all of the people, including the ones you were trying to "free," is a better alternative to mankind continuing to live. The plot twist at the end and his choice to ultimately let Han blow a hole in the train is the most non-sensical load of trash ever.

Let's talk about that. Han (I think that's his name, shows how forgettable the characters were), has a hidden agenda to escape the train based on a plane he's been watching being slowly uncovered. To do this he horde's kronole, their drug of choice, which is apparently super flamable. At the end he reveals to Captain America that he's been building a bomb to blow a hole in a steel gate, which is why he decided to go with in the first place. When he shows him the bomb, it doesn't have any of the kronole chunks on it that he'd been collecting for opening the gates; the bomb is already built, AND he already had the matches. Is there a reason.... Any reason AT ALL that he needed to go all the way to the front of the train to try and blow up a steel door instead of just blowing a hole through any part of the train or even a window? The answer is No.. No there isn't.

Han's plan doesn't make sense, Captain America's choice at the end doesn't make sense, and it makes the entire movie just seem lke a bunch of filler garbage.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
jetgraphicsJul 10, 2014
+ CGI
- Audio
- Shaky Cam (unwatchable action scenes)
- Plot
Lacking a time machine to go back and restore hours lost watching this dreck compels me to warn others.
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
0
JanSoloAug 6, 2014
Why do I feel like the director of this movie watched the Hunger Games followed by Under Siege 2 (or any other train movie) and then decided to make a really bad combination of the two? It saddens me to think that people are giving this movieWhy do I feel like the director of this movie watched the Hunger Games followed by Under Siege 2 (or any other train movie) and then decided to make a really bad combination of the two? It saddens me to think that people are giving this movie any kind of positive review since it is so generic and has dialog that doesn't seem to translate over to an American audience very well. Skip this movie. Your time is worth something. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
0
RogerAngleJul 14, 2014
Plodding, linear, predictable, stupid. One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Lacks story and character development, logic, and common sense. My friend picked it, and we were both sorry. I don't understand why anyone would make this movie.Plodding, linear, predictable, stupid. One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Lacks story and character development, logic, and common sense. My friend picked it, and we were both sorry. I don't understand why anyone would make this movie. As she pointed out, the analogy between the train and planet earth makes no sense.
In a lot of the scenes, the train does not seem to be moving. They forgot to jiggle the set or wiggle the camera. Very distracting. Often the reveals are told, not shown. The last scene, with Ed Harris, is especially bad. He lectures us about the way thing are—everyone in his place, we have to kill a certain number of people, blah-blah-blah. Terrible. This movie offers nothing to recommend it: no insight into human nature or the human condition. Avoid at all costs.
Expand
14 of 20 users found this helpful146
All this user's reviews
1
ssbouJul 8, 2014
I am a bit shocked by all the great reviews for this movie. The movie promises way more than it actually delivers. Here is the good: fantastic set design and Tilda Swinton ('nuff said). And the bad: paint-by-numbers recycled premise with plotI am a bit shocked by all the great reviews for this movie. The movie promises way more than it actually delivers. Here is the good: fantastic set design and Tilda Swinton ('nuff said). And the bad: paint-by-numbers recycled premise with plot holes so big you could drive a train through them, a plethora a stereotypical characters that I could not care any less about, and dialogue so forgettable that I don't remember a single line from the movie. Probably the worst thing about the movie is the suspension of disbelief or lack thereof. I've watched a lot of sci-fi and fantasy movies, but the absurdity of a perpetually moving biosphere train (not to mention all its inhabitants and the variety of "ecospheres") was difficult even for me to swallow. And the movie's attempt at social commentary was equally lame and cliched. I think the people who gave this movie a glowing review were maybe snorting some of the same drugs that also conveniently double as C4 explosives! Give this train a miss!! Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
2
LuckyYouJul 8, 2014
Quick and dirty review. The acting is noticeably odd. Possibly due to a language / culture difference between Boon Joon-ho and the English speaking cast. The dialogue is dull and forced. The story is predictable with action obstaclesQuick and dirty review. The acting is noticeably odd. Possibly due to a language / culture difference between Boon Joon-ho and the English speaking cast. The dialogue is dull and forced. The story is predictable with action obstacles dressed in weirdness for the sake of weirdness (see: fish-axe). The lighting, camera, set production, and costume design are actually solid in my opinion, which is why the trailer makes you think it's watchable. I'm actually quite confused by the positive scores. I watched this with a group of friends of which some were irritated to the point of anger. Overall, this is a complete waste of time. Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
0
Muan142Nov 28, 2014
This is a terrible movie. I have a feeling whoever made it never said anything to any of the caste. It's like nobody had any idea what it was supposed to be about or what was going on. It starts out all right but then just moves on to sceneThis is a terrible movie. I have a feeling whoever made it never said anything to any of the caste. It's like nobody had any idea what it was supposed to be about or what was going on. It starts out all right but then just moves on to scene after scene of uncreative nonsense. It's like everyone heard a rumor they were making a movie and just started filming. I'd hate to be the guy who did the editing. He must have sat there with the footage for a week trying to figure out what the hell he was looking at. Just... don't bother. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
cptfoxOct 29, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Biggest let down since RZA's Man With the Iron Fists. CGI is a laugh for a 2014 film and the story line doesn't challenge the audience at all. A story with as much depth as a greeting card is painfully drawn out for 2 hours. This wannabe Willy Wonka tale is a sad excuse of a film with a lack of imagination.

The random Asian people, and random fish gutting was a testament that this film was begging to add depth to the film but only showed the lack of confidence the director had during the making of this film in hopes of hypnotizing a braindead audience. I cannot think of a worse film to compare this to and I've seen 300: Rise of an empire...
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
1
princepkJul 8, 2014
This movie is so bad, I left the cinema after about 60% because I've had enough. Every movie with Chris Evans doesn't mean its a Captain America movie.
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
2
VT1971Jul 15, 2014
Oh my here we go again-an awful mindless movie almost completely without qualities except for having nice visuals and few serious actors involved gets insanely positive reviews from the world most eminent film critics.Those guys are obviouslyOh my here we go again-an awful mindless movie almost completely without qualities except for having nice visuals and few serious actors involved gets insanely positive reviews from the world most eminent film critics.Those guys are obviously paid by studios and producers to write good things about bad movies-no other logical explanation-while some great pieces of cinema art passes almost totally unnoticed because there's no one to care about.So my question is:do we really need movie critics like this anymore? Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
2
ariel84Jul 12, 2014
i'm giving this a 2 because of tilda swinton. she is a wonderfully fiendish bad guy. the bad teeth and great costuming are the icing on the cake. ed harris, too, is fantastic. oh, and i liked the idea of a giant train, hurtling through thei'm giving this a 2 because of tilda swinton. she is a wonderfully fiendish bad guy. the bad teeth and great costuming are the icing on the cake. ed harris, too, is fantastic. oh, and i liked the idea of a giant train, hurtling through the frozen world. the rest of the movie is high budget crap. it careens from gorefest to quasi-surrealistic and back again. should've picked one theme and stuck with it. when i see dystopian films with the same old tropes--everyone in matching rags, starving, but not thin enough, all wearing fingerless gloves--i curse "mad max". that great film spawned so many wannabes. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
3
dave89791Jul 6, 2014
-Really predictable
-Scientifically silly - why would anyone have a train constantly in motion in a post-apocalyptic society let alone somehow maintain the ecosystem as described...on a train...
-mediocre special effects -very
-Really predictable
-Scientifically silly - why would anyone have a train constantly in motion in a post-apocalyptic society let alone somehow maintain the ecosystem as described...on a train...
-mediocre special effects
-very unimaginative plot
-the train concept is really absurd
-this was more of a phantasy movie than sci-fi, really...

+good acting especially by Chris Evans
+good action scenes

overall, i don't get what people see in this - it's certainly an allegory of modern/western/wealthy/wasteful life in a sense which is admirable but it doesn't need to be framed in such an inaccessible awkward way that this "sci-fi" attempts to do it
Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
0
xjun1or3Jul 7, 2014
I really don't understand the critic and users high scores... this is a awful sci-fi movie, the clime is so extreme but the rails are pretty intact for 10 years and there is lots of snow in every place unless on the rails considering theI really don't understand the critic and users high scores... this is a awful sci-fi movie, the clime is so extreme but the rails are pretty intact for 10 years and there is lots of snow in every place unless on the rails considering the train only pass for the same place after 1 year. And a train would be the worst thing to survive in these glacial era conditions it's impossible they are the last humans. Expand
9 of 18 users found this helpful99
All this user's reviews
1
judahjsnJul 13, 2014
This was a silly movie and frustrating to sit through. I felt like I was sold a thoughtful sci-fi movie in the style of great dystopian classics like Bladerunner or The Matrix but instead got a comic book story for gamers. Snowpiercer is of aThis was a silly movie and frustrating to sit through. I felt like I was sold a thoughtful sci-fi movie in the style of great dystopian classics like Bladerunner or The Matrix but instead got a comic book story for gamers. Snowpiercer is of a dreary, cartoony martial arts film with bad cgi and an embarrassing, behind-the-curtain climax that just kept getting dumber and dumber. I can understand appreciating this as a Luc Besson/John Woo kind of splat-tastic, opera-of-violence thing, but even in those terms it doesn't leave an impression. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
3
TheMetacritiqerJul 15, 2014
Snowpiercer is simply one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Allow me to be honest, This film was made as global warming propaganda. It ends with a close up of a Polar Bear. I kid you not. The plot is simply a familiar idea on a a train. ISnowpiercer is simply one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Allow me to be honest, This film was made as global warming propaganda. It ends with a close up of a Polar Bear. I kid you not. The plot is simply a familiar idea on a a train. I didn't care about the characters at all and some were quite annoying. The main fight scene was simply actors hacking at each other with rubber axes making unconvincing foley. What a waste of time. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
0
chipposMar 30, 2016
Cannot believe anyone give this even a positive score. One of the worst movies I have ever seen, watched this because of the good reviews, the good reviews must be for some other movie. The movie I suffered through, is unbelievablyCannot believe anyone give this even a positive score. One of the worst movies I have ever seen, watched this because of the good reviews, the good reviews must be for some other movie. The movie I suffered through, is unbelievably bad. The movie is supposed to symbolize something, more like bludgeon you over the head repeatedly with inane 12 year old level social commentary. The plot makes absolutely zero sense, its just plain stupid. The story goes something like this , the good guys go from the back of the train to the front. Every car, they engage in a drawn out slo-mo ax , knife or gun battle, with some bad guys. The main characters get axed, knived, shot etc. but keep going . Till finally they get to the end, where they are treated to long speech by ed harris explaining the social commentary. They then destroy the train and leave it, which is supposed to be instant death, but suddenly no problem. Overall, absolute pretentious , stupid unbearable dreck. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
CountryPetInnJul 11, 2014
First off, I love scifi and I love apocalyptic, but this is almost unwatchable. I was looking forward to seeing this since my satellite provider made it available on the same day as theaters. Fortunately I was out only $8 instead of $20. IFirst off, I love scifi and I love apocalyptic, but this is almost unwatchable. I was looking forward to seeing this since my satellite provider made it available on the same day as theaters. Fortunately I was out only $8 instead of $20. I give the acting an A, the set design is an A, the cinematography a B+, the script a C+, the story itself is only a C- and the directing a D. Overall, it was the A list actors that carries this garbage through. Those that gave it 10s were either paid to do it or have absolutely no concept of a good film. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
0
metamomOct 27, 2014
Snowpiercer was slow, boring and brutal. Most of the "action" consisted of knife and hatchet battles as the protagonists fought their way car by car through an interminably long train, only to reach an end that was both trite and pedantic.
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
3
gameofthrones95Jul 1, 2014
If this video wasn't talking to me about global warming every 10 minutes, I would have given it a 5/10 but it is! It can't help itself! I am sick of the message, and sick of the fact that every critic and news channel LOVES global warmingIf this video wasn't talking to me about global warming every 10 minutes, I would have given it a 5/10 but it is! It can't help itself! I am sick of the message, and sick of the fact that every critic and news channel LOVES global warming dogma. Get real, there is very little people can do to slow global warming. Expand
4 of 17 users found this helpful413
All this user's reviews
1
dollarsignMay 9, 2016
*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Bobo5Sep 22, 2015
I tried to watch this movie a good 5 times but kept shutting it off after 15 minutes or so. Just not compelling in the least. While Tilda Swinton did a good, if "Hunger Games" inspired job, the rest of the cast sucked, the plot sucked, theI tried to watch this movie a good 5 times but kept shutting it off after 15 minutes or so. Just not compelling in the least. While Tilda Swinton did a good, if "Hunger Games" inspired job, the rest of the cast sucked, the plot sucked, the movie sucked, point blank. There were good special effects but everything else was ponderous, over-important and just plain did not work. I love movies of all kinds but I surely hated this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MowhaughJan 18, 2016
I really can't understand the praises for this film. I was really looking forward watching this movie, people talking about a magnificent metaphor of our world, with so much good positive feedback. I was really disappointed. First of all, itI really can't understand the praises for this film. I was really looking forward watching this movie, people talking about a magnificent metaphor of our world, with so much good positive feedback. I was really disappointed. First of all, it takes so much time to introduce what this is all about, what we're talking about. Then we understand so easily what it's going to be, a path through different stages of the train. The movie doesn't surprise us even once. What a script. The characters express nothing, we can't show any empathy. There are inconsistencies everywhere you can't focus on the story. But above all, this film is a compilation of all the clichés and stereotypes of the cinema. I had the feel that i was watching like a b movie sometime. The storyline itself is predictable, some action and supposed "tragic" scenes are scenes we have seen over and over again in so much movies it's sometime laughable. Finally, we get some "explanation", some kind of moral lesson about our society. It wants us to realize through this moral metaphor that there are different social class in this world, what a surprise. Sadly, despite all the willingness i had to tell myself it can't be that dull, it has to have a deeper reflection, they just leave you with a botched ending. More than disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews