User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 313 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 313

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2014
    3
    Ditto on being shocked at good reviews. Snowpiercer is not worth your money. The dialogue seems to have been written by grade school children, which doesn't leave much room for quality acting. The characters are Brazil / Gilliam campy but not as interesting (partly due to the awful dialogue). Also, the plot is recycled from already recycled dystopias and is very predictable. Ok, are you here for action then? Well, you can basically just throw away the fighting scenes, which also seem recycled from other, better Korean films. Do we really need another axe-fight scene? Do we really need another dystopian film of this type and quality? The plot holes are mind-blowing even if you suspend disbelief, the acting is poor, the characters are random and disposable, and the plot is as dumb as a couch. The movie seems like a live action manga remake of the worst kind. Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2014
    2
    I'm quite shocked seeing this movie receives such a good response from film critics-it's insanely bad, unbelievable illogical with plot holes appearing in almost every scene. For example main character, our hero is having some difficult time eating protein blocks made of roach (we never see growing roach department however) but later in the movie we discover that his former eating habits include cannibalism and eating little babies?! Yes the guy who once ate babies now cries like a baby because he has to eat roach and start whole revolution because of it..that's how ridiculously dumb this movie is.There is one Terminator guy that can't get killed no matter what they do to him,Tilda Swinton get stabbed in her leg just to continue walking in the next scene like nothing happened- list of errors and stupidities could go on forever.Screenwriters couldn't even decide how cold is outside:very cold at the beginning (remember how the rebel guy lost his arm?),not so cold at the end...and where on Earth little kid finds suitable fur for him? I don't give it 0 because of some fine actors work and production values but this is complete rubbish. Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2014
    2
    No idea why this film is getting so many insanely positive reviews. Way too many plot aspects that did not tie together, the unnecessary addition of woo and supernatural elements that did nothing to advanced the story and a lot of suspect acting. Good idea for a film, poorly executed. Script seemed like it wasn't even edited. Strange.
  4. Jul 3, 2014
    0
    It is not understandable how this movie can get such good reviews. It is almost as if those people saw a completely different movie. The one I saw was bad in almost every regard. Acting was the worst, followed by insanely bad CGI. Plot holes and predictable story from beggining to end. Don't waste your money for this.
  5. Jun 30, 2014
    3
    I was very excited by this film, and impressed by the first 10-15 minutes. As the story developed though, it just got painfully stupid. I think the idea behind the film is excellent, it's just been very poorly executed.
  6. Jul 7, 2014
    3
    I am befuddled by the generous scores given by all the professional critics. This was a boring film with poor dialog, and a preposterous plot with enough holes to rival Looper, and Lake House. At no point did I find it even remotely plausible, and the 'twists' at the end were just ridiculous. Chris Evans was completely forgettable.
  7. Jun 30, 2014
    3
    OK I've given this a 3 because it tried to be original and daring. It tried too hard though and it ends up as an unfortunate attempted cross between Brazil and any dumb action movie that you can name. I was disappointed because I liked The Host a lot but the dialogue here is poor, there is no characterisiation and the movie swings again and again from gory action to poorly-judged surreality to the detriment of both. the problem is that action movies demand one kind of logic, quirky surrealist fantasies another, and this film has none. Expand
  8. Jul 7, 2014
    3
    Without doubt, one of the worst films of 2014, as well as of recent years, Snowpiercer was a massive disappointment. Collectively, I'm a fan of several of the actors and behind-the-scenes talent involved with this film, as well as its kind of dystopian setting, so although I knew little about the film I had high hopesfor it - sadly, they were soon dashed. Where to begin?

    There were just
    too many things wrong with it - for a train that's perpetually rocketing around the world, half the film featured zero sense of inertia or speed (even Star Trek's hams could wobble in their seats sometimes), as utterly stationary cast and equipment appeared stage-bound - apart from a few token sequences. We had a rocketing train that conveniently slowed wayyyy down at key expositional points (the Plane Below, the Frozen Exiles), as well as utterly bizarre casting decisions that were never explained (Jamie Bell's bizarre and somewhat patronising "Shoite!" 'Oirish' accent - why?!), while Hurt and Evans regularly over-emoted as though they going for an Academy award. (Just wait til the seemingly endless speech about what Evans used to eat...)

    Then, once the story started rolling along into the front, better-off section of the train, it absolutely rocketed into utter silliness. Yes, we get that they're all decadent, parasitic snobs living it up at the front - but did we need slo-mo Eurodisco shots to underline this? (Send in the gimps!) Derivative and dull to sit through, ticking one clichéd box after another, this was the point where I started considering what I could be doing instead of staying on board to the ending.

    The film's one - and only - saving grace is Tilda Swinton, who stole every scene with her perfidious Mason character. Half Gollum, half Northern English trade unionist, and half vintage Deirdre Barlow (Irish/British TV audiences will get that reference), her cowardly, sniping, mocking and treacherous ways were an absolute hoot to watch, with her hateful character proving unexpectedly entertaining in each and every scene she was in, while John Hurt was also a reliably engaging presence on screen.

    Unfortunately, one brilliant character and an okay-ish set-up do not an entertaining film make, and the initially interesting dystopian set-up soon derails into a cheap - and dare one say, almost grubby-feeling - Eurofilmesque tale, populated with flashes of jarring, stylised uber-violence, an inconsistent narrative, lazy editing, generally cheap-looking CGI/effects and a crashing bore of an ending.

    As such, it's 3 points for Tildy's turn, but a big, fat Zero for anything else...
    Expand
  9. Jul 14, 2014
    0
    Plodding, linear, predictable, stupid. One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Lacks story and character development, logic, and common sense. My friend picked it, and we were both sorry. I don't understand why anyone would make this movie. As she pointed out, the analogy between the train and planet earth makes no sense.
    In a lot of the scenes, the train does not seem to be moving.
    They forgot to jiggle the set or wiggle the camera. Very distracting. Often the reveals are told, not shown. The last scene, with Ed Harris, is especially bad. He lectures us about the way thing are—everyone in his place, we have to kill a certain number of people, blah-blah-blah. Terrible. This movie offers nothing to recommend it: no insight into human nature or the human condition. Avoid at all costs. Expand
  10. Jul 7, 2014
    0
    I really don't understand the critic and users high scores... this is a awful sci-fi movie, the clime is so extreme but the rails are pretty intact for 10 years and there is lots of snow in every place unless on the rails considering the train only pass for the same place after 1 year. And a train would be the worst thing to survive in these glacial era conditions it's impossible they are the last humans. Expand
  11. Jul 10, 2014
    0
    + CGI
    - Audio
    - Shaky Cam (unwatchable action scenes)
    - Plot
    Lacking a time machine to go back and restore hours lost watching this dreck compels me to warn others.
  12. Jul 8, 2014
    1
    I am a bit shocked by all the great reviews for this movie. The movie promises way more than it actually delivers. Here is the good: fantastic set design and Tilda Swinton ('nuff said). And the bad: paint-by-numbers recycled premise with plot holes so big you could drive a train through them, a plethora a stereotypical characters that I could not care any less about, and dialogue so forgettable that I don't remember a single line from the movie. Probably the worst thing about the movie is the suspension of disbelief or lack thereof. I've watched a lot of sci-fi and fantasy movies, but the absurdity of a perpetually moving biosphere train (not to mention all its inhabitants and the variety of "ecospheres") was difficult even for me to swallow. And the movie's attempt at social commentary was equally lame and cliched. I think the people who gave this movie a glowing review were maybe snorting some of the same drugs that also conveniently double as C4 explosives! Give this train a miss!! Expand
  13. Jul 8, 2014
    2
    Quick and dirty review. The acting is noticeably odd. Possibly due to a language / culture difference between Boon Joon-ho and the English speaking cast. The dialogue is dull and forced. The story is predictable with action obstacles dressed in weirdness for the sake of weirdness (see: fish-axe). The lighting, camera, set production, and costume design are actually solid in my opinion, which is why the trailer makes you think it's watchable. I'm actually quite confused by the positive scores. I watched this with a group of friends of which some were irritated to the point of anger. Overall, this is a complete waste of time. Expand
  14. Jul 29, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I honestly don't understand all the positive reviews of this movie. (Mild spoilers ahead.) From a believability point of view, it's a failure wherever you look. The entire premise of the train is absurd. Apparently this rich evil villain built this train/track in the ~1 year between when this global warming cure was discovered/launched and when that cure backfired into a catastrophe? A bunch of rebels armed with sticks defeat enemies with automatic weapons and night vision goggles IN THE DARK (with the rebels trapped on one end of a narrow car with a narrower passageway behind them) and over and over win other similar battles against similar odds? The villain is an all-but-mustache-twirling/cat stroking condescending cliché. This train is packed to the brim with unbelievability. My suspension of disbelief muscles wore out in the first 15 minutes. It also felt like the writer/director had just read Hugh Howey's Wool and reduced it to one dimension.

    So that leaves the allegory. I suppose that worked if you don't mind being repeatedly hit over the head with 500lb allegories, including the inevitable villain explaining the allegory at the end in case you missed it the first 37 times.

    I suppose I'm giving this a zero in part because I'm angry about being so misled by all the high scores. On it's own, this film merits a 2 or a 3. But I feel something has to be done to counteract all the absurdly high positive reviews. I want my money back. Everyone that gave this film more than a 5 owes me a penny.
    Expand
  15. Jul 8, 2014
    1
    This movie is so bad, I left the cinema after about 60% because I've had enough. Every movie with Chris Evans doesn't mean its a Captain America movie.
  16. Jul 28, 2014
    2
    Totally improbable dystopian fable. Good scifi must contain probable or at least possible technology. This one never explains what powers the engine or how the tracks survive decades of high speed use in artic conditions with no maintenance. Of course a really good story would allow me to forgive "magical" technology. But this one is a heavy-handed, plodding allegory of class warfare. The predictable progress from one end of the train to the other is achingly tedious. The ending of this scientifically ignorant production is perfect. It shows the majestic maritime polar bear roaming an alpine landscape. Expand
  17. Jul 6, 2014
    3
    -Really predictable -Scientifically silly - why would anyone have a train constantly in motion in a post-apocalyptic society let alone somehow maintain the ecosystem as described...on a train... -mediocre special effects -very unimaginative plot -the train concept is really absurd -this was more of a phantasy movie than sci-fi, really... +good acting especially by Chris Evans
    +good action scenes

    overall, i don't get what people see in this - it's certainly an allegory of modern/western/wealthy/wasteful life in a sense which is admirable but it doesn't need to be framed in such an inaccessible awkward way that this "sci-fi" attempts to do it
    Expand
  18. Aug 1, 2014
    1
    Snowpiercer is a very pretentious and dumb movie trying to pass itself for social commentary on class warfare but utterly fails at it.

    What the writers and director forgot when making the movie is that at its core class warfare is about resources: you got a small minority controlling most of the resources and a huge majority fighting for the scraps. It's a powerful topic because it's as
    old as humanity and echoes to one of our core flaws as human beings: greed.

    But this whole concept goes out the window when there isn't any resource left to fight over anyway. Indeed the movie is about a bunch of people living in a small train in a post-apocalyptic world where there's nothing else left in the world! So what exactly is the point of having a bunch of people in that train starving to death for no reason when:

    a) they have enough food for everyone. It's clearly shown when you see how well the other passengers are living.

    b) those people aren't even working for the leisure of the "upper class", they aren't producing anything or working, they're literally just there to starve for no reason, simply as a plot device.

    c) they all live in a freaking small train, they're all miserable anyway. There's no "good life" to be had at the expense of others, unlike in the real world.

    The movie doesn't provide any answer, it's all form over substance, pure shock value with no understanding of the underlying issues that create those very real problems.

    But even with that aside it's just an all-around bad movie in general, with next to no character development, bad pacing, bad dialog. The stupidity of the whole story is what pushes it into unbearable territory. A shame because Chris Evans does give a very good performance all throughout.
    Expand
  19. Jul 15, 2014
    2
    Oh my here we go again-an awful mindless movie almost completely without qualities except for having nice visuals and few serious actors involved gets insanely positive reviews from the world most eminent film critics.Those guys are obviously paid by studios and producers to write good things about bad movies-no other logical explanation-while some great pieces of cinema art passes almost totally unnoticed because there's no one to care about.So my question is:do we really need movie critics like this anymore? Expand
  20. Jul 13, 2014
    1
    This was a silly movie and frustrating to sit through. I felt like I was sold a thoughtful sci-fi movie in the style of great dystopian classics like Bladerunner or The Matrix but instead got a comic book story for gamers. Snowpiercer is of a dreary, cartoony martial arts film with bad cgi and an embarrassing, behind-the-curtain climax that just kept getting dumber and dumber. I can understand appreciating this as a Luc Besson/John Woo kind of splat-tastic, opera-of-violence thing, but even in those terms it doesn't leave an impression. Expand
  21. Jul 1, 2014
    3
    If this video wasn't talking to me about global warming every 10 minutes, I would have given it a 5/10 but it is! It can't help itself! I am sick of the message, and sick of the fact that every critic and news channel LOVES global warming dogma. Get real, there is very little people can do to slow global warming.
  22. Aug 6, 2014
    0
    Why do I feel like the director of this movie watched the Hunger Games followed by Under Siege 2 (or any other train movie) and then decided to make a really bad combination of the two? It saddens me to think that people are giving this movie any kind of positive review since it is so generic and has dialog that doesn't seem to translate over to an American audience very well. Skip this movie. Your time is worth something. Expand
  23. Jul 11, 2014
    3
    First off, I love scifi and I love apocalyptic, but this is almost unwatchable. I was looking forward to seeing this since my satellite provider made it available on the same day as theaters. Fortunately I was out only $8 instead of $20. I give the acting an A, the set design is an A, the cinematography a B+, the script a C+, the story itself is only a C- and the directing a D. Overall, it was the A list actors that carries this garbage through. Those that gave it 10s were either paid to do it or have absolutely no concept of a good film. Expand
  24. Jul 12, 2014
    2
    i'm giving this a 2 because of tilda swinton. she is a wonderfully fiendish bad guy. the bad teeth and great costuming are the icing on the cake. ed harris, too, is fantastic. oh, and i liked the idea of a giant train, hurtling through the frozen world. the rest of the movie is high budget crap. it careens from gorefest to quasi-surrealistic and back again. should've picked one theme and stuck with it. when i see dystopian films with the same old tropes--everyone in matching rags, starving, but not thin enough, all wearing fingerless gloves--i curse "mad max". that great film spawned so many wannabes. Expand
  25. Aug 4, 2014
    1
    This movie was dead on arrival. There is a palpable sense of flatness to the acting, which comes from actors not believing in the lines they are saying. Can't blame them, the dialogue was inane and the whole concept is a reheated mishmash of dystopian tropes. Even the normally interesting Tilda Swinton is just walking through this flick. I'm guessing the only reason this movie got made was because Hunger Games has created a sub genre of "old timey people in rags vs the pompous über class" and filmmakers think audiences will just gobble up anything in this vein. Walked out, got our money back. And this is from people who enjoyed Edge of Tomorrow, Apes movies and GoT, heck we even thought Hunger Games wasn't too bad. This movie just didn't have the stuff. Expand
  26. Jul 15, 2014
    3
    Snowpiercer is simply one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Allow me to be honest, This film was made as global warming propaganda. It ends with a close up of a Polar Bear. I kid you not. The plot is simply a familiar idea on a a train. I didn't care about the characters at all and some were quite annoying. The main fight scene was simply actors hacking at each other with rubber axes making unconvincing foley. What a waste of time. Expand
  27. Aug 13, 2014
    3
    You can call me crazy but the truth is that I hated every second of this movie. The idea was well though, but I don't think that the film is well enough to give, at least, four points. For me was just a waste of time.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: John Semley
    Jul 17, 2014
    88
    Without “spoiling” it, it’s a film that at least opens up a possibility for change, instead of providing another rote reshuffling of power from the Black Hats back to the White Hats.
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jul 5, 2014
    80
    If you don't mind the gore, you can enjoy Snowpiercer as a brutal and imaginative piece of science-fiction filmmaking. [7 & 14 July 2014, p.94]
  3. Reviewed by: Bruce Ingram
    Jul 4, 2014
    88
    Bong, above all, is a world-class visual stylist, and he proves that again here with a few dazzling flourishes, despite Snowpiercer’s dismal gray palette and train-bound claustrophobia.