Something's Gotta Give Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. The moments between the characters are absolutely full. It's a pleasure to watch such consummate professionals.
  2. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    80
    Diane Keaton has the crucial role, and she makes the most of it.
  3. Doesn't always sizzle, but its stars do.
  4. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    70
    The movie, which ricochets between farce and poignancy, casts just enough romantic pixie dust to leave you smiling. It's certainly not the last word on the subject, but it's an amiable start.
  5. 63
    It's a glossy, somewhat condescending comedy, with all the substance of a cone of soft vanilla ice cream.
  6. 63
    Keaton's overamped girlishness, and the adolescent shenanigans she engages in, make a mockery of this overlong romantic comedy's stance as a celebration of mature love.
  7. Something does have to give, and that's the nine-figure public patronage of this kind of anemic, wit-free entertainment. Meyers's shakin' moneymaker isn't the worst film of 2003 -- no cat suits, for one thing -- but something scarier: a standard-issue bog of glossy idiocy and audience disrespect.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Sam
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    Fantastic, hilarious, and moving, it's quite simply a great movie.
  2. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    There's something about Diane Keaton and Jack Nicholson together in this film. It's as if they are truly feeding off of each other's energies.There's something about Diane Keaton and Jack Nicholson together in this film. It's as if they are truly feeding off of each other's energies. Jack & Diane are the perfect mix for Nancy Meyers' finest work to date. It's really, really special. Expand
  3. MaddieS.
    Sep 28, 2005
    8
    I thought this was a pretty cool movie (plus Keanu Reeves is so HOT!) and also very funny at times.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Oct 6, 2005
    7
    A movie for older people, but me, a teen, found it entertaining from time to time, thanks to good performances.
  5. Dec 9, 2012
    4
    If Nicholson and Keaton weren't in this, no one would care one whit about the movie. The acting is good (though not their best), theIf Nicholson and Keaton weren't in this, no one would care one whit about the movie. The acting is good (though not their best), the cinematography is excellent, but the story is cliche, boring, and the dialogue is stilted and predictable. Expand
  6. Nik
    Mar 29, 2004
    0
    Sorry, i loved the cast, jack is great, but this movie is utterly boring. predictable from the first second till the end. ok. i didn't Sorry, i loved the cast, jack is great, but this movie is utterly boring. predictable from the first second till the end. ok. i didn't saw the end cause i fell asleep, but anyone could have guessed. besides this movie has no music. even my wife couldn't watch this house of pure boredom. Collapse

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.