User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 80
  2. Negative: 16 out of 80

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    2
    This is boring and lifeless, is a very empty movie, i can't identify the point of the movie, only Elle Faning was ok, but really what is this movie about?
  2. Jul 19, 2011
    2
    The long still shots, of him doing nothing, are boring and complete fast forward material. Lots of hot girls and that's the most interesting thing about this story. Dudes life is so boring that I am not bored of this movie, and I am only 45 minutes into it.
  3. Lyn
    Jun 4, 2011
    4
    Johnny Marco's life has hit a dull, boring patch -- so much so that despite the fact that he's living the lush life at Chateau Marmont, I feel sorry for him. Gave this one an extra point for Elle Fanning's luminous performance, but felt that the film did not compare very well to the similar "Lost in Translation." Another disconnected celebrity, yes, and another aggravating ending, but Dorff's character simply is nowhere near as interesting as Bill Murray's was. Expand
  4. May 28, 2011
    1
    It will be hard to find a duller picture. Agonizingly long, silent scenes that only bad, self-important, independent films can produce (the opening is a car going in a circle for what seems to be 3-5 minutes; a scene watching the young girl figure skating for the duration of an entire song; and later a scene literally watching plaster dry). If you're interesting in watching a film star wallow in self-pity without much substance or story, this may be your film. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2011
    3
    The only good thing about Somewhere was the irony of the title: This film was nowhere.

    We are invited into a star's empty existence. I get it. This particular look at such a life was drawn, prolonged agony. The main character may have been suffering emptiness, even depression, but in no way was the pain and suffering of that particular affliction even explored, let alone the character's
    inner experience. We are not invited to like him or dislike him, we remain ambiguous, which is story suicide. Character and story are one and the same. Watching this film I was frustrated, as I felt I was offered neither. Yes there were subtleties. Indeed there were beautiful shots. The settings were sound, the support cast middling to good, Dorf himself wasn't so bad considering he had so much silence to undertake. There was even artistic merit to the whole thing - I liked the idea! And that's what disappointed me the most - seeing that great idea, those characters, those settings and watching it go nowhere. There was no story. A European look at an American life, sure. However, did Johnny Marco change? We don't know. A classic American film might see him change somehow. A European tale might see him be invited to but not. Thus each side of the pond look at the human condition slightly differently, if you can excuse the generalisation. At no point is Johnny under any real pressure, though. And that is the problem and the reason why Johnny cannot change. Why should he? He's not being challenged. Neither, unfortunately, is the viewer. Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2011
    0
    Thank God for fast forward. This movie lacks it all. Plot, first of all. Empathy for the protagonist. An editor. A compelling ending.

    There were scenes so insufferably long (putting on a mask) that I literally went to the bathrom, returned, and found the scene still going. What's the point? I get it, the guy has a somewhat empty life. But while he drives a Maserati and has every
    need attended to and obviously is at the top of his career, I was hard pressed to sympathize. The film could have been literally 1/10 as long and then made another movie with a plot.

    The only decent thing was Elle Fanning, who is quite credible and empathetic.

    Don't waste your time.
    Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2011
    3
    Long, long shots do not a masterpiece make. The movie is short on character, plot and dialogue, but long on pretension. It's very hard to care about the lead, although Elle Fanning was very good.
  8. Jan 6, 2011
    4
    Boring. Sofia tried to use the silence to make you think about the character's life, but all she accomplished was to successfully make you sleep. And she's completely delusional if she thinks Stephen Dorff is a good actor. Sofia, darling, I have some news for you: he is not.
  9. Jan 3, 2011
    0
    Loved lost in translation, did not like marie antionette ( how could you?) but had high hopes for Somewhere after i saw it had won the golden lion and had gotten a glowing review in the times. and i must say, the Venice FIlm Festival and the New York Times, you have utterly disappointed me. whoever said this movie was good clearly just doesnt want to be the one to point out that this movie is awful and impossible to enjoy for fear that they may be thought of as too dumb to "understand" the film, when really the case is that there is nothing to understand because there is nothing in this film. no emotion, dialogue, character development. there is simply no way you can sit through this and enjoy yourself. i barely fought the urge to leave the theater myself. so for all of you bankrolling ms.coppola, (Francis im looking at you) PLEASE STOP. i simply cannot go through this again. when you lack the ability to write a linear story and simply film locations that are pretty, you are no longer a filmmaker, and it is no longer a film, and anyone who disagrees well they are just a poser and a snob and i suggest they take their bloated heads out of their buttocks. Expand
  10. Jan 1, 2011
    1
    maybe in the privileged world of the Coppola's the trials tribulations of a hollywood father might seem amusing, and maybe if he was remotely likeable. i really wanted to like the film, however i'd rather stick pins in my eyes than watch it again. not sure what the venice jury was thinking, black swan is a far superiour film.
  11. Dec 29, 2010
    0
    Lliked Virgin Suicides and Lost in Translation (though it did not deserve an oscar...can we get that back please). I did not like Marie A - which seemed like a spread for 18th century Vogue. Though pretty sometimes, SOMEWHERE is an aggressively bad movie - save yourself the $15 ticket and buy an issue of Venice magazine and put your indie rock band of choice on your iPod and you will be more entertained. Also, does S. Coppola have a perpetual hard-on for over-privileged people? Lost in Translation, Marie A and then Somewhere....what you have here is a off-putting pattern toward tilting the camera at the blase rich and just watching them whine their own special whine. Okay, we get it....she loved The Leopard. But redoing The Leopard set in Hollywood is not really all that interesting. Collapse
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Feb 25, 2011
    75
    Slowly becomes a thoughtful and interesting deconstruction and demythologizing of American celebrity.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jan 21, 2011
    40
    Oh, the ennui. In Somewhere, it's so thick you could cut it with Stephen Dorff's chiseled cheekbones.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jan 20, 2011
    88
    This is an intentionally fanciful, gossamer movie, extremely personal and heartfelt, influenced in equal parts by Michelangelo Antonioni (although never so elusive) and Gus Van Sant (just not quite so self-conscious).