Somewhere

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 88
  2. Negative: 16 out of 88

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 30, 2010
    6
    Sometimes empty is just empty. What Gertrude Stein said about Oakland can also apply to Somewhere: "There is no there there."Lliked Virgin Suicides and Lost in Translation (though it did not deserve an oscar...can we get that back please). I did not like Marie A - which seemed like a spread for 18th century Vogue. Though pretty sometimes, SOMEWHERE is an aggressively bad movie - saveSometimes empty is just empty. What Gertrude Stein said about Oakland can also apply to Somewhere: "There is no there there."Lliked Virgin Suicides and Lost in Translation (though it did not deserve an oscar...can we get that back please). I did not like Marie A - which seemed like a spread for 18th century Vogue. Though pretty sometimes, SOMEWHERE is an aggressively bad movie - save yourself the $15 ticket and buy an issue of Venice magazine and put your indie rock band of choice on your iPod and you will bâ Expand
  2. Lyn
    Jun 4, 2011
    4
    Johnny Marco's life has hit a dull, boring patch -- so much so that despite the fact that he's living the lush life at Chateau Marmont, I feel sorry for him. Gave this one an extra point for Elle Fanning's luminous performance, but felt that the film did not compare very well to the similar "Lost in Translation." Another disconnected celebrity, yes, and another aggravating ending, butJohnny Marco's life has hit a dull, boring patch -- so much so that despite the fact that he's living the lush life at Chateau Marmont, I feel sorry for him. Gave this one an extra point for Elle Fanning's luminous performance, but felt that the film did not compare very well to the similar "Lost in Translation." Another disconnected celebrity, yes, and another aggravating ending, but Dorff's character simply is nowhere near as interesting as Bill Murray's was. Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2012
    6
    Somewhere is an entertaining movie that features a lot of static camera work. It's beautiful to look at and survives with minimal plot or dialogue. It's wispy nature makes for a slight experience but that actually adds to the film's charm. One negative note to mention is that the whole movie is a retread of Lost In Translation. Stephen Dorff is Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansen is theSomewhere is an entertaining movie that features a lot of static camera work. It's beautiful to look at and survives with minimal plot or dialogue. It's wispy nature makes for a slight experience but that actually adds to the film's charm. One negative note to mention is that the whole movie is a retread of Lost In Translation. Stephen Dorff is Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansen is the daughter. It's a different kind of love but still the same premise. Somewhere is a good movie but not a great one. Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2011
    4
    Boring. Sofia tried to use the silence to make you think about the character's life, but all she accomplished was to successfully make you sleep. And she's completely delusional if she thinks Stephen Dorff is a good actor. Sofia, darling, I have some news for you: he is not.
  5. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    6
    Not the best movie in the world, but definitely not horrible. Stephen Dorff does a good job as a conflicted Hollywood star who re-examines his life when his daughter drops into his life. It's heartfelt and compelling in some of it's scenes and a bit too slow.in others.
  6. Dec 30, 2011
    5
    This movie didn't have a plot. Very strange story, didn't happend something special. You really have to like this genre, long shots, much too long, really. It could have been a very cheap picture, but for some reason they had to chose ferrari's, mercedesses, and a chopper... The acting was great, and in someway, I really liked the cinematography. Elle Fanning is an up-comping talent -This movie didn't have a plot. Very strange story, didn't happend something special. You really have to like this genre, long shots, much too long, really. It could have been a very cheap picture, but for some reason they had to chose ferrari's, mercedesses, and a chopper... The acting was great, and in someway, I really liked the cinematography. Elle Fanning is an up-comping talent - we'll see more from her in the future, guaranteed. About Stephen Dorff, well done playing a famous father, who takes care of his daughter and feels lonely. Somehow this movie touched me, with its simplicity. It shows that a movie doesn't always need a very interesting plot. Even though, I really dislike the 'long-long-long shot' thing, and maybe it could have been a less "boring" story, I think this film is worth a 5. It gives me mixed feelings. Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Feb 25, 2011
    75
    Slowly becomes a thoughtful and interesting deconstruction and demythologizing of American celebrity.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jan 21, 2011
    40
    Oh, the ennui. In Somewhere, it's so thick you could cut it with Stephen Dorff's chiseled cheekbones.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jan 20, 2011
    88
    This is an intentionally fanciful, gossamer movie, extremely personal and heartfelt, influenced in equal parts by Michelangelo Antonioni (although never so elusive) and Gus Van Sant (just not quite so self-conscious).