Summit Distribution | Release Date: September 11, 2009
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 246 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
202
Mixed:
23
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
RikiegeSep 25, 2012
Unoriginal. Too simple for my taste and a bit pointless. Is the typical movie of a murderer who is killing some silly girls and pampered ...
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
This movie has enough frights & thrills to make you jump multiple times, but it's not just that that makes the movie for me. What makes this film different from all of the recent mediocre horror films is that it is very much character andThis movie has enough frights & thrills to make you jump multiple times, but it's not just that that makes the movie for me. What makes this film different from all of the recent mediocre horror films is that it is very much character and dialogue driven. The characters become as compelling as the plot itself and you actually find yourself starting to care about these characters. The dialogue shoots back and forth between the characters and further builds up the suspense until the final revelation. The suspense is very well drawn-out - it doesn't reveal the killer too early and it doesn't make you impatient for the end. The resulting finale is a big bang and not disappointing at all. The acting was also a cut above the rest - I didn't cringe at the lame screams or badly-acted terrified facial expressions because there weren't any. Kudos to all the girls because they gave performances beyond what I expected would be given. This movie doesn't deserve any awards, because it doesn't want any. Thinking about this movie is useless; if you want a movie that makes you think then go catch Inglorious Basterds. This film is meant to entertain, and entertain it did. It's what most horror films today should be. This movie has set a standard which all subsequent horror films (especially teen horrors) should follow. Just let yourself be drawn in instead of attempting to guess who the killer is and ruining the experience for yourself. If you just go in with a blank mind and just leave all you doubts at the door you will enjoy it as it is and not blame it for being what it's not afterwards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MarkMusicMar 25, 2013
Not a masterpiece but one of the most enjoyable films my friends and I've sat through. Brianna Evigan was amazing as always. Jamie Chung was again great. The blonde was good all of them. The filming was really top nouch. The music was B-.Not a masterpiece but one of the most enjoyable films my friends and I've sat through. Brianna Evigan was amazing as always. Jamie Chung was again great. The blonde was good all of them. The filming was really top nouch. The music was B-. Acting A-. Filming A+. The reason behind the killings was a little pointless and stupid. The death scenes were original and clever. Escpecially Chugs death with the bottle everyone I know thought that was clever. The weapon itself is to me better then Michael, Jason, Freddy, and all these other killers. Tricked out tire iron. Suspenful when It doesn't try but when it does like with the bathroom scene, it doesnt work. The killer killing people for no envolvement was dumb. I say watch at home on DVD, Its worth a couple of minutes of your life. See It Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGoer14Aug 30, 2013
Sorority Row is a throwback to the 70's and 80's slasher flicks, although not matching the same quality, it is a fun but pointless horror movie. Is Sorority Row worth watching in theaters? Maybe if with friends. The acting is mediocre, butSorority Row is a throwback to the 70's and 80's slasher flicks, although not matching the same quality, it is a fun but pointless horror movie. Is Sorority Row worth watching in theaters? Maybe if with friends. The acting is mediocre, but what can we say, it is a B movie. Sorority Row delivers outdated ideas, and maybe ridiculous plot, although it is fun, it is predictable and a really B movie, you can see it through the acting, the not over all good twist, and the plot. It is a cool women horror movie, albeit predictable and average, it can be so bad it is fun/good. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
gagaforeverSep 20, 2010
I think the director and writer had an obsession witht he girls dying by getting sharp objects in their mouths. This movie made me cringe an my mouth drop.....This could have been great but only came up short
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
mrcriticSep 24, 2010
It's nothing more than your regular slasher-sorority pick, but this one definitely has some extra magic going on. A decent movie, and a decent remake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
AquamantorJun 20, 2011
To the delight of some, and the behest of others, the slasher genre is slowly disappearing. These movies still exist, but for every one of them that emerges, it seems like there are at least three ambitious "reality" horror movies, and moreTo the delight of some, and the behest of others, the slasher genre is slowly disappearing. These movies still exist, but for every one of them that emerges, it seems like there are at least three ambitious "reality" horror movies, and more than a few ambitious indie horror movies.

What we have to take into consideration, though, is that there are some horror fans who don't want ambition. There are some who don't even mind whether the movie is actually scary, as long as it's gory, sexy, and mildly suspenseful. Some people want trash, and have no shame in admitting it.

If this is your aim, then Sorority Row delivers.

**** slutty coeds who honestly have it coming? Check. Creative death scenes? Check. Gratuitous nudity? Check. Long scenes of said girls walking around calling someone's name before they finally get their well deserved tire-iron impalement? Check. Exploitive humor? Check. It's all here.

Like most slashers, Sorority Row is not scary. It may at some times be suspenseful, but that isn't the goal. We're here to see some **** sluts get knifed after oogling their boobs. And in that sense, the movie is executed well. There's no real clumsiness, other than in the beginning or the end. The villain has enough "coolness" appeal with his unique murder weapon---a tire iron. And he treats us to some old school gorn with it.

The only thing missing is an ill-fated sex scene. But oh well, we can live without. And it might not be gory enough for some. But If you're going to like Sorority Row, you know who you are, and I'm just going to tell you: yes. Yes, you will like it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews