User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 102
  2. Negative: 18 out of 102

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    5
    Sorority Row is a throwback to the 70's and 80's slasher flicks, although not matching the same quality, it is a fun but pointless horror movie. Is Sorority Row worth watching in theaters? Maybe if with friends. The acting is mediocre, but what can we say, it is a B movie. Sorority Row delivers outdated ideas, and maybe ridiculous plot, although it is fun, it is predictable and a really BSorority Row is a throwback to the 70's and 80's slasher flicks, although not matching the same quality, it is a fun but pointless horror movie. Is Sorority Row worth watching in theaters? Maybe if with friends. The acting is mediocre, but what can we say, it is a B movie. Sorority Row delivers outdated ideas, and maybe ridiculous plot, although it is fun, it is predictable and a really B movie, you can see it through the acting, the not over all good twist, and the plot. It is a cool women horror movie, albeit predictable and average, it can be so bad it is fun/good. Expand
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    6
    Not a masterpiece but one of the most enjoyable films my friends and I've sat through. Brianna Evigan was amazing as always. Jamie Chung was again great. The blonde was good all of them. The filming was really top nouch. The music was B-. Acting A-. Filming A+. The reason behind the killings was a little pointless and stupid. The death scenes were original and clever. Escpecially ChugsNot a masterpiece but one of the most enjoyable films my friends and I've sat through. Brianna Evigan was amazing as always. Jamie Chung was again great. The blonde was good all of them. The filming was really top nouch. The music was B-. Acting A-. Filming A+. The reason behind the killings was a little pointless and stupid. The death scenes were original and clever. Escpecially Chugs death with the bottle everyone I know thought that was clever. The weapon itself is to me better then Michael, Jason, Freddy, and all these other killers. Tricked out tire iron. Suspenful when It doesn't try but when it does like with the bathroom scene, it doesnt work. The killer killing people for no envolvement was dumb. I say watch at home on DVD, Its worth a couple of minutes of your life. See It Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2012
    5
    Unoriginal. Too simple for my taste and a bit pointless. Is the typical movie of a murderer who is killing some silly girls and pampered ...
  4. May 25, 2012
    0
    A terribly-made film that has a plot that went nowhere, cheap acting, lack of suspense/surprise and a pointless ending..............
  5. Apr 15, 2012
    1
    Sorority Row quite astoundingly manages to pull off insulting men and women in equal measure. As a film it's morally bereft, utterly shallow, dumb, predictable, badly acted and really quite boring to boot. It doesn't really work on any level, not as a horror, comedy or even as a distraction for randy teenagers (it would have to at least be a little bit sexy to satisfy the latter, and itSorority Row quite astoundingly manages to pull off insulting men and women in equal measure. As a film it's morally bereft, utterly shallow, dumb, predictable, badly acted and really quite boring to boot. It doesn't really work on any level, not as a horror, comedy or even as a distraction for randy teenagers (it would have to at least be a little bit sexy to satisfy the latter, and it just isn't). I honestly found myself chewing through my own hand in order to summon the willpower to make it through to the end of this dire movie. It's complete durge, and what's even worse is that the film's conclusion leaves open the possibility of something utterly terrifying - a sequel. The only redeeming feature of the whole thing is Carrie Fisher, who is stupendously entertaining when she is briefly on screen as the stern but maternal, shotgun-wielding sorority mother. Thank you Miss Fisher, you at least made your scenes bearable through sheer ballsiness. Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2011
    6
    SORORITY ROW is a fun and entertaining film that, although cliched, it's an enjoyable slasher film.
  7. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Apparently people haven't realized why this genre even exists yet, and are comparing it to other films that aren't even the same thing. This is not a suspense flick, it's a campy slasher flick. It's not even intended to scare you. The entire point of movies like this is really, really simple: Have someone kill a bunch of teenagers for some reason, throw in some camp value, and sprinkle inApparently people haven't realized why this genre even exists yet, and are comparing it to other films that aren't even the same thing. This is not a suspense flick, it's a campy slasher flick. It's not even intended to scare you. The entire point of movies like this is really, really simple: Have someone kill a bunch of teenagers for some reason, throw in some camp value, and sprinkle in some creativity in how everyone gets killed. That's the only thing that's needed. So, let's run it down: Teenagers getting killed for an actual reason, and actually makes a little sense why they would deserve to die? Check. Carrie Fisher as a fearless, badass woman firing a shotgun that somehow doesn't need reloading (she fires it ten times in succession without one reload)? Camp value, check. Creativity in kills? Well, they're nothing groundbreaking, but at least they've all got their own flavor as the girls are picked off one by one. The first one is the best, in my opinion, because the girl is offering someone sexual favors for drugs, and the killer kills the girl by jamming the beer bottle she's drinking down her throat while she's sipping it, and then breaking it so the glass destroys her esophagus. Not bad, I suppose. And a twist ending to boot that would be pretty hard to see coming, but is actually sensible. So where's the problem here? If you want a cool slasher flick, here you go. Watching Carrie Fisher chase a mass murderer through a house with a damned shotgun is worth the money alone. Expand
  8. Jun 20, 2011
    5
    To the delight of some, and the behest of others, the slasher genre is slowly disappearing. These movies still exist, but for every one of them that emerges, it seems like there are at least three ambitious "reality" horror movies, and more than a few ambitious indie horror movies.

    What we have to take into consideration, though, is that there are some horror fans who don't want ambition.
    To the delight of some, and the behest of others, the slasher genre is slowly disappearing. These movies still exist, but for every one of them that emerges, it seems like there are at least three ambitious "reality" horror movies, and more than a few ambitious indie horror movies.

    What we have to take into consideration, though, is that there are some horror fans who don't want ambition. There are some who don't even mind whether the movie is actually scary, as long as it's gory, sexy, and mildly suspenseful. Some people want trash, and have no shame in admitting it.

    If this is your aim, then Sorority Row delivers.

    **** slutty coeds who honestly have it coming? Check. Creative death scenes? Check. Gratuitous nudity? Check. Long scenes of said girls walking around calling someone's name before they finally get their well deserved tire-iron impalement? Check. Exploitive humor? Check. It's all here.

    Like most slashers, Sorority Row is not scary. It may at some times be suspenseful, but that isn't the goal. We're here to see some **** sluts get knifed after oogling their boobs. And in that sense, the movie is executed well. There's no real clumsiness, other than in the beginning or the end. The villain has enough "coolness" appeal with his unique murder weapon---a tire iron. And he treats us to some old school gorn with it.

    The only thing missing is an ill-fated sex scene. But oh well, we can live without. And it might not be gory enough for some. But If you're going to like Sorority Row, you know who you are, and I'm just going to tell you: yes. Yes, you will like it.
    Expand
  9. May 29, 2011
    4
    This movie has enough frights & thrills to make you jump multiple times, but it's not just that that makes the movie for me. What makes this film different from all of the recent mediocre horror films is that it is very much character and dialogue driven. The characters become as compelling as the plot itself and you actually find yourself starting to care about these characters. TheThis movie has enough frights & thrills to make you jump multiple times, but it's not just that that makes the movie for me. What makes this film different from all of the recent mediocre horror films is that it is very much character and dialogue driven. The characters become as compelling as the plot itself and you actually find yourself starting to care about these characters. The dialogue shoots back and forth between the characters and further builds up the suspense until the final revelation. The suspense is very well drawn-out - it doesn't reveal the killer too early and it doesn't make you impatient for the end. The resulting finale is a big bang and not disappointing at all. The acting was also a cut above the rest - I didn't cringe at the lame screams or badly-acted terrified facial expressions because there weren't any. Kudos to all the girls because they gave performances beyond what I expected would be given. This movie doesn't deserve any awards, because it doesn't want any. Thinking about this movie is useless; if you want a movie that makes you think then go catch Inglorious Basterds. This film is meant to entertain, and entertain it did. It's what most horror films today should be. This movie has set a standard which all subsequent horror films (especially teen horrors) should follow. Just let yourself be drawn in instead of attempting to guess who the killer is and ruining the experience for yourself. If you just go in with a blank mind and just leave all you doubts at the door you will enjoy it as it is and not blame it for being what it's not afterwards. Expand
  10. May 13, 2011
    0
    I am not sure what kills this movie, I think a big part is the cast. The actresses all look really trashy, you kind of wish for them to be ripped to pieces. The slashing itself doesn't make any sense, since anybody, even people who have nothing to do with the disappearance of the girl, get cut down. The shaky camera, bad lighting, bad sound and overall bad acting, as well as the completeI am not sure what kills this movie, I think a big part is the cast. The actresses all look really trashy, you kind of wish for them to be ripped to pieces. The slashing itself doesn't make any sense, since anybody, even people who have nothing to do with the disappearance of the girl, get cut down. The shaky camera, bad lighting, bad sound and overall bad acting, as well as the complete lack of a storyline and of character development do not add to the quality of the movie either. Expand
  11. Apr 11, 2011
    2
    The story line to this movie was realy horrible. I did watch this movie all the way, i regret it. The acting isn't good. The directing wasnt good. It seem like a blind person directed this. I don't know who came up with this horrible story line. One scene could turn a movie from okay to horrible. They story made sense and at the same time it didn't . I would not recommend this movie to anyone.
  12. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    this may deserve 10 stars but it deserves some credit, it is better than alot of remakes and some orginal horrors anyway. it is gory, exciting fun and you dont get tired of watching it there is always something happening!
  13. Sep 24, 2010
    6
    It's nothing more than your regular slasher-sorority pick, but this one definitely has some extra magic going on. A decent movie, and a decent remake.
  14. Sep 20, 2010
    4
    I think the director and writer had an obsession witht he girls dying by getting sharp objects in their mouths. This movie made me cringe an my mouth drop.....This could have been great but only came up short
  15. Sep 17, 2010
    3
    Sorority Row was a pointless, dull slasher flick that made me laugh more than actually scared. The film is clichéd and flawed that it really kills the focus of the film. Even the killing scenes were pathetic and the nudity wasn't remotely flattering. It was like watching a really corny 80's soft-core porn video. I did like how it was shot and Leah Pipes' **** Jessica had someSorority Row was a pointless, dull slasher flick that made me laugh more than actually scared. The film is clichéd and flawed that it really kills the focus of the film. Even the killing scenes were pathetic and the nudity wasn't remotely flattering. It was like watching a really corny 80's soft-core porn video. I did like how it was shot and Leah Pipes' **** Jessica had some funny lines. But even Carrie Fisher with a shotgun can't save this travesty. Expand
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 6 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Russell Edwards
    50
    An average slasher picture that meanders indecisively between gore and gags.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    40
    Even the gratuitous nudity can't quite save a Heathers-goes-to-college horror that's undermined by a silly plot and clunky dialogue.
  3. There's little to distinguish this from the rest of the entries coming down the horror film assembly line, though the presence of Carrie Fisher as a shotgun-toting housemother who taunts the killer by shouting "Come to mama!" offers some camp value.