Sorority Row

Sorority Row Image
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 240 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: When five sorority girls inadvertently cause the murder of one of their sisters in a prank gone wrong, they agree to keep the matter to themselves and never speak of it again, so they can get on with their lives. This proves easier said than done, when after graduation a mysterious killerWhen five sorority girls inadvertently cause the murder of one of their sisters in a prank gone wrong, they agree to keep the matter to themselves and never speak of it again, so they can get on with their lives. This proves easier said than done, when after graduation a mysterious killer goes after the five of them and anyone who knows their secret...(Summit Entertainment) Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 6 out of 11
  1. 50
    An average slasher picture that meanders indecisively between gore and gags.
  2. There's little to distinguish this from the rest of the entries coming down the horror film assembly line, though the presence of Carrie Fisher as a shotgun-toting housemother who taunts the killer by shouting "Come to mama!" offers some camp value.
  3. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    40
    Even the gratuitous nudity can't quite save a Heathers-goes-to-college horror that's undermined by a silly plot and clunky dialogue.
  4. 30
    Call me the sarcastic sister, but the only things screaming in any convincing way here are the cheap look, epileptic direction and off-key, “edgy” humor. It’s all so ‘80s, I could die.
  5. An interminable mess of a film that juggles more characters and undeveloped subplots than it can handle and even manages to bungle the setup.
  6. 25
    Sorority Row might be utterly lacking in suspense, surprises, and wit, but nobody can say it doesn’t have a hero.
  7. 20
    Brings absolutely nothing new to the autopsy table that wasn't previously covered.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. B
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    Best teen slasher flick since 'Scream' and 'IKWYDLS' back in the 90's. Perfect balance of comedy and horror, lots of Best teen slasher flick since 'Scream' and 'IKWYDLS' back in the 90's. Perfect balance of comedy and horror, lots of violence, nudity and it's just pure fun. A must see for slasher fans. Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    The movie was good! Witty, scary, funny, entertaining and a must see. and a surprise ending.
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Apparently people haven't realized why this genre even exists yet, and are comparing it to other films that aren't even the same thing. ThisApparently people haven't realized why this genre even exists yet, and are comparing it to other films that aren't even the same thing. This is not a suspense flick, it's a campy slasher flick. It's not even intended to scare you. The entire point of movies like this is really, really simple: Have someone kill a bunch of teenagers for some reason, throw in some camp value, and sprinkle in some creativity in how everyone gets killed. That's the only thing that's needed. So, let's run it down: Teenagers getting killed for an actual reason, and actually makes a little sense why they would deserve to die? Check. Carrie Fisher as a fearless, badass woman firing a shotgun that somehow doesn't need reloading (she fires it ten times in succession without one reload)? Camp value, check. Creativity in kills? Well, they're nothing groundbreaking, but at least they've all got their own flavor as the girls are picked off one by one. The first one is the best, in my opinion, because the girl is offering someone sexual favors for drugs, and the killer kills the girl by jamming the beer bottle she's drinking down her throat while she's sipping it, and then breaking it so the glass destroys her esophagus. Not bad, I suppose. And a twist ending to boot that would be pretty hard to see coming, but is actually sensible. So where's the problem here? If you want a cool slasher flick, here you go. Watching Carrie Fisher chase a mass murderer through a house with a damned shotgun is worth the money alone. Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2010
    6
    It's nothing more than your regular slasher-sorority pick, but this one definitely has some extra magic going on. A decent movie, and a decent remake.
  5. Sep 25, 2012
    5
    Unoriginal. Too simple for my taste and a bit pointless. Is the typical movie of a murderer who is killing some silly girls and pampered ...
  6. May 29, 2011
    4
    This movie has enough frights & thrills to make you jump multiple times, but it's not just that that makes the movie for me. What makes thisThis movie has enough frights & thrills to make you jump multiple times, but it's not just that that makes the movie for me. What makes this film different from all of the recent mediocre horror films is that it is very much character and dialogue driven. The characters become as compelling as the plot itself and you actually find yourself starting to care about these characters. The dialogue shoots back and forth between the characters and further builds up the suspense until the final revelation. The suspense is very well drawn-out - it doesn't reveal the killer too early and it doesn't make you impatient for the end. The resulting finale is a big bang and not disappointing at all. The acting was also a cut above the rest - I didn't cringe at the lame screams or badly-acted terrified facial expressions because there weren't any. Kudos to all the girls because they gave performances beyond what I expected would be given. This movie doesn't deserve any awards, because it doesn't want any. Thinking about this movie is useless; if you want a movie that makes you think then go catch Inglorious Basterds. This film is meant to entertain, and entertain it did. It's what most horror films today should be. This movie has set a standard which all subsequent horror films (especially teen horrors) should follow. Just let yourself be drawn in instead of attempting to guess who the killer is and ruining the experience for yourself. If you just go in with a blank mind and just leave all you doubts at the door you will enjoy it as it is and not blame it for being what it's not afterwards. Collapse
  7. BenH
    Sep 11, 2009
    0
    That was almost the most horror movie cliches I'd seen in an hour and a half in my life. It's like a caricature of a real movie. I That was almost the most horror movie cliches I'd seen in an hour and a half in my life. It's like a caricature of a real movie. I feel monetarily sodomized paying 16 dollars for that. Only watchable as a softcore smut porn. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Remakes of the Past Decade

    Ranked: Best and Worst Remakes of the Past Decade Image
    Published: August 16, 2011
    This Friday brings remakes of "Conan the Barbarian" and "Fright Night" to theaters. Just how good (and bad) can a remake possibly be? We take a look at examples of both extremes released since 2000.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.