Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: May 28, 2004
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 140 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
120
Mixed:
2
Negative:
18
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
KadeemluvmusicJul 3, 2015
What a waste of celluloid is Soul Plane. A baffling, sometimes forgettable comedy starring a future A-list talent named Kevin Hart and a bunch of nobodys have to ride a plane. The SOULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL PLANE!!!
I never know Kevin Hart is in
What a waste of celluloid is Soul Plane. A baffling, sometimes forgettable comedy starring a future A-list talent named Kevin Hart and a bunch of nobodys have to ride a plane. The SOULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL PLANE!!!
I never know Kevin Hart is in this film, but exactly as I'm watching Tom Arnold in three minutes is so damn awful. Maybe the late Leslie Nelson should've run down the idea of some director trying to mock the living daylights out of an old school gem "Airplane!" To me, Soul Plane is one of the worst raunchy comedies since Not Another Teen Movie. Just stay away. Probably my mom should be arrested for bootlegging this mellon.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
NikkiMay 28, 2004
This movie was funny in some places but i wouldn't see it again...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlfonsoM.Jul 8, 2004
The people who acted, produce and release this piece of crap really must have been on something really bad to sign on to do this type of movie and they were trying to say is and updated or a hip hop version of airplane. Which it doesn?t even The people who acted, produce and release this piece of crap really must have been on something really bad to sign on to do this type of movie and they were trying to say is and updated or a hip hop version of airplane. Which it doesn?t even come near to be as funny or any good to begin with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarcoC.May 29, 2004
What a piece of crap is this? Don't waste your money like I did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MelissaM.Jun 4, 2004
I can sum up this movie in three (3) words: Stupid, Stupid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FredW.Jun 5, 2004
My buddy bought my ticket to this movie and I still got up and walked out. This movie was b-a-d. (And I don't mean in a hip-hop way.)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DoesanyoneWatchtheseJun 8, 2004
Just another usual peice of crap that some sucka made for suckas. Suckas can't make movies. Exception: Friday. Good sucka movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChadS.Jul 3, 2004
You don't categorically dismiss a film like "Soul Plane" because it's scatalogical and low-brow. What makes this film downright insidious and reprehensible is revealed in the presentation of the airline's low-class section. You don't categorically dismiss a film like "Soul Plane" because it's scatalogical and low-brow. What makes this film downright insidious and reprehensible is revealed in the presentation of the airline's low-class section. The film begins with an African-American being treated poorly by an airlines that seems biased towards whites. There's no meat left for Nashawn (Kevin Hart)'s stroganoff. It would've made more sense if Nashawn won his lawsuit against the airlines for discrimination, but the filmmakers wanted to kill a dog for laughs, so that's how he gets his hundred-million dollars. Nashawn launches his own airlines, and incredibly, proceeds to treat his passengers worse than they would've been on an airlines that didn't cater specifically to African-Americans. "Soul Plane" plays like an accidental satire. You have African-Americans in first-class (read: Republicans), and their counterparts huddled in an simulated ghetto, thirty-thousand feet in the air. Isn't it somewhat jaw-dropping to see a bucket of Popeye's chicken being passed around? The ghost of D.W. Griffith is chuckling to himself somewhere. Why is the reinforcement of an ugly stereotype funny? The creative team behind "Soul Plane" isn't aware, and the target demographics for this sort of film isn't aware, that this might be the sort of film a certain rapper might want to shout "Burn, Hollywood Burn!" at. Look closely, and you'll see an ugly ideology at work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ThismoviesucksMay 29, 2004
This movie was so bad it made me physically ill at points. There were several characters so irritatingly unfunny that I would probably commit violence on them if I met them on the street. Not a single moment went anywhere beyond cinematic This movie was so bad it made me physically ill at points. There were several characters so irritatingly unfunny that I would probably commit violence on them if I met them on the street. Not a single moment went anywhere beyond cinematic and racial cliches. Watching it will leave you pretty depressed that someone actually okayed this script and this film and that money was spent on making this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful