Soul Surfer

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 73
  2. Negative: 13 out of 73
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 22, 2012
    3
    Great true story it is a totally inspiring story, oh this movie may just be wonderful. It isn't, this movie has uninspiring dialogue, bad acting surprising from AnnaSophia Robb and no chemistry between its stars. I give this movie 27%.
  2. Jul 10, 2011
    1
    Its the kind of movie you might watch on a sunday afternoon with Faith based commercials spanning the whole movie. The movie is weak. The acting is weak. Couldnt finish it. Can be purchased in the discount bin at your local store in a few months time.
  3. Aug 5, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers. I watched Soul Surfer with the expectation of an inspiring story of a girl overcoming a great tragedy, and i received nothing more than what seemed like a cheap, ill thought-out film about a girl who overcomes losing an arm to surf. The acting was bad. The writing and dialogue was bad. The editing and cinematography was absolutely awful. While the overall message of the movie was inspiring, I was way to distracted by the movies downfalls to care. This movie is great for anyone who doesn't care about plot or acting, or anyone under the age of 12. Collapse
  4. Aug 5, 2011
    2
    Such a shame... the real-life story is truly inspiring, but the movie is one of the poorest attempts that Hollywood as ever made to bring a true story to the big screen. The actors were good (except for Carrie Underwood, who needs to stick with singing), but that's the only positive thing I can say. The story was poorly told. It's obvious that the movie makers wanted to make a movieSuch a shame... the real-life story is truly inspiring, but the movie is one of the poorest attempts that Hollywood as ever made to bring a true story to the big screen. The actors were good (except for Carrie Underwood, who needs to stick with singing), but that's the only positive thing I can say. The story was poorly told. It's obvious that the movie makers wanted to make a movie about surfing rather than tell Bethany's story. I'm severely disappointed in this one. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2012
    3
    This film is utter garbage. From the acting, to the editing, to the dialogue, to the crap load of cliches, pretty much everything in this movie is terribly executed. It doesn't help that this movie is filled with over-the-top Christian preachiness. Ugh. Just awful.
  6. Mar 21, 2014
    1
    i saw this film to many times . i understand people who like it or the critics . Bethany Hamilton is the greatest surfer and survivor alive today . but still i saw this movie a billion times
    Grade F+
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Apr 11, 2011
    70
    Thus ends one of the most understated shark-attack sequences, ever; it's almost Bressonian, except it's not boring.
  2. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Apr 10, 2011
    75
    It's a good, solid family film.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Apr 10, 2011
    50
    Hamilton is played, blandly, by Anna Sophia Robb, and her devoted parents, less bland, are played by Dennis Quaid and Helen Hunt. The surfing footage, much of it shot off the coast of Kauai, is not bland at all.