Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Soul Surfer is the true story of teen surfer Bethany Hamilton, who lost her arm in a shark attack and courageously overcame all odds to become a champion again, through her sheer determination and unwavering faith. (Sony Pictures)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Apr 6, 2011
    88
    The best faith-based film ever made, an uplifting, entertaining and wonderfully-acted account of surfer Bethany Hamilton's life before and after a shark bit her arm off in the waters off her favorite Hawaiian beach.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Apr 7, 2011
    75
    Soul Surfer, while formulaic in design, is an authentic and heartfelt movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 6, 2011
    67
    The sermons are subtle, raising the film's chances of crossing over to secular audiences. Soul Surfer is so clean that it squeaks, but sometimes that's a nice change of pace.
  4. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Apr 7, 2011
    58
    Unique as an inspirational personal-achievement film in the way it focuses on the protagonist not merely as a bastion of strength, but as part of a supportive community and family.
  5. 50
    Soul Surfer is a true story that plays like bad fiction.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrea Gronvall
    Apr 7, 2011
    50
    AnnaSophia Robb (Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) is too subdued as the teenage heroine; one might expect more affect from a young woman fighting to overcome disability and return to competitive surfing.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Apr 7, 2011
    38
    The aquatic and surf scenes are spectacular. The story, a clichéed climb to inspiration. Soul Surfer is more parable than plot.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35
  1. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    One of the best movies ever watched loved it very good movie. Great story that goes along with it Its a must watch. But at the end of the movie it gets a little long and drags on but other than that great movie Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    Overall the movie was disappointing given that it was based on such an inspirational true story. Intolerably slow until the shark attack, then only limped along for the rest of the story. OK, we get that her family is religious, but does the audience need to feel like we're at a youth outreach revival. To say this movie was bland is critically too generous. Unfortunately, the folks behind this production wanted the G rating and faith-based crowd so badly that they sold the movie's creative soul to the Christian value police. What's left proves about as exciting as a cream colored Burqa. Expand
  3. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    I'm not a christian or a country fan. But that doesn't prevent me from from enjoying this film. I'm not a professional movie reviwer either, but I don't understand the critics dislike. I've seen much, much worse films shoehorning religion and "feel good" messages into some real life plot. This film told a good story without being preachy or boring. I'm a huge fan of the ocean, so perhaps I'm biased but, this film is worth a watch. I've seen it twice at two seperate screenings and loved it each time. Anytime I felt it might start being to message heavy, the scene would change before it was lost due to overexposure. Plus there is a lot of great surfing scenes, competition and recreation. Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    WOW! This movie is great and very intimate. I'm gonna be very quick here, come with an open heart and mind so you can cry as much as the 90% in my movie theater cried. It is truly spectacular! Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    A motivational/inspirational film that reeks with Hollywood but the true story of Bethany is one to remember which carried the movie from utter failure. Collapse
  6. Jul 18, 2011
    5
    Soul Surfer is the story of a young surfer girl that was bitten by a shark and lost her harm. The most exciting part of this film was watching and waiting for that scene to happen. After her arm was gone this film turned into one of those mellow drama stories of faith and prayer. Sometimes I felt like this movie was trying to be what it is not; A motivational disney sports story. Lets just say this story is great but when you don't have the right script or people behind it (Disney) then even a story like this can fail on many levels. Expand
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    1
    i saw this film to many times . i understand people who like it or the critics . Bethany Hamilton is the greatest surfer and survivor alive today . but still i saw this movie a billion times
    Grade F+
    Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers