Soul Surfer

Soul Surfer Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Soul Surfer is the true story of teen surfer Bethany Hamilton, who lost her arm in a shark attack and courageously overcame all odds to become a champion again, through her sheer determination and unwavering faith. (Sony Pictures)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Apr 6, 2011
    88
    The best faith-based film ever made, an uplifting, entertaining and wonderfully-acted account of surfer Bethany Hamilton's life before and after a shark bit her arm off in the waters off her favorite Hawaiian beach.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Apr 7, 2011
    75
    Soul Surfer, while formulaic in design, is an authentic and heartfelt movie.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Apr 6, 2011
    67
    The sermons are subtle, raising the film's chances of crossing over to secular audiences. Soul Surfer is so clean that it squeaks, but sometimes that's a nice change of pace.
  4. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Apr 7, 2011
    58
    Unique as an inspirational personal-achievement film in the way it focuses on the protagonist not merely as a bastion of strength, but as part of a supportive community and family.
  5. 50
    Soul Surfer is a true story that plays like bad fiction.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrea Gronvall
    Apr 7, 2011
    50
    AnnaSophia Robb (Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) is too subdued as the teenage heroine; one might expect more affect from a young woman fighting to overcome disability and return to competitive surfing.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Apr 7, 2011
    38
    The aquatic and surf scenes are spectacular. The story, a clichéed climb to inspiration. Soul Surfer is more parable than plot.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 39
  2. Negative: 6 out of 39
  1. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    One of the best movies ever watched loved it very good movie. Great story that goes along with it Its a must watch. But at the end of theOne of the best movies ever watched loved it very good movie. Great story that goes along with it Its a must watch. But at the end of the movie it gets a little long and drags on but other than that great movie Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    Overall the movie was disappointing given that it was based on such an inspirational true story. Intolerably slow until the shark attack,Overall the movie was disappointing given that it was based on such an inspirational true story. Intolerably slow until the shark attack, then only limped along for the rest of the story. OK, we get that her family is religious, but does the audience need to feel like we're at a youth outreach revival. To say this movie was bland is critically too generous. Unfortunately, the folks behind this production wanted the G rating and faith-based crowd so badly that they sold the movie's creative soul to the Christian value police. What's left proves about as exciting as a cream colored Burqa. Expand
  3. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    I'm not a christian or a country fan. But that doesn't prevent me from from enjoying this film. I'm not a professional movie reviwer either,I'm not a christian or a country fan. But that doesn't prevent me from from enjoying this film. I'm not a professional movie reviwer either, but I don't understand the critics dislike. I've seen much, much worse films shoehorning religion and "feel good" messages into some real life plot. This film told a good story without being preachy or boring. I'm a huge fan of the ocean, so perhaps I'm biased but, this film is worth a watch. I've seen it twice at two seperate screenings and loved it each time. Anytime I felt it might start being to message heavy, the scene would change before it was lost due to overexposure. Plus there is a lot of great surfing scenes, competition and recreation. Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2016
    8
    A well-meaning, handsomely staged biopic of the top Hawaii-based surfing star Bethany Hamilton who lost her arm to a shark in 2003 at the ageA well-meaning, handsomely staged biopic of the top Hawaii-based surfing star Bethany Hamilton who lost her arm to a shark in 2003 at the age of 13...

    Watch this movie for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-284361-Soul-Surfer-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
    Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    A motivational/inspirational film that reeks with Hollywood but the true story of Bethany is one to remember which carried the movie fromA motivational/inspirational film that reeks with Hollywood but the true story of Bethany is one to remember which carried the movie from utter failure. Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2012
    6
    The story of Bethany Hamilton is a good one, and makes for a good movie, and it also helps that the cast is fantastic and has fantasticThe story of Bethany Hamilton is a good one, and makes for a good movie, and it also helps that the cast is fantastic and has fantastic acting. While it is good there is one big flaw throughout the entire film, predictability, turns out if you've seen one faith-based movie about someone into competitive sports recovering from horrible accident, learning a valuable lesson, returning to the sport to be only better, and becoming a huge inspiration you've seen them all. Despite that flaw Soul Surfer manages to be a sweet, emotional, and inspirational film, but if your like me and have seen so many of these films you lost count ages ago this might be one you can pass on, as for the other people enjoy it for it's heart. Collapse
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    1
    i saw this film to many times . i understand people who like it or the critics . Bethany Hamilton is the greatest surfer and survivor alivei saw this film to many times . i understand people who like it or the critics . Bethany Hamilton is the greatest surfer and survivor alive today . but still i saw this movie a billion times
    Grade F+
    Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.