Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In Sound of My Voice, Peter and Lorna, a couple and documentary filmmaking team, infiltrate a mysterious group led by an enigmatic young woman named Maggie. Intent on exposing her as a charlatan and freeing the followers from her grip, Peter and Lorna start to question their objective and each other as they unravel the secrets of Maggie's underworld. (Fox Searchlight) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Apr 21, 2012
    90
    Sound of My Voice offers promise and pay off at the same time. Star and writer Brit Marling is having a rare double-whammy of a debut.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Apr 25, 2012
    83
    Sound of My Voice doesn't follow through on everything it sets up, yet it has a hushed and revealing psycho-intensity. It also has an oh-wow Twilight Zone ending that truly made me go, ''Oh, wow.''
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 16, 2012
    80
    Creepy, confounding and more than a little curious. It's also quietly compelling.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Apr 26, 2012
    70
    The film is thin and mannered, even though many of the mannerisms are intrinsic to its shrewd vision of cult behavior. There's no arguing, though - and who would want to? - Ms. Marling's extraordinary gift for taking the camera and weaving a spell.
  5. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Apr 27, 2012
    70
    A smart, effectively unsettling movie about the need to believe and the hard, cruel arts of persuasion.
  6. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    May 24, 2012
    63
    This visually engaging, well-acted story held me for an hour as tightly as anything I've seen this year. But as we neared the climax, I realized only a miracle could resolve the contradictions of the tale – and we didn't get one.
  7. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    Apr 24, 2012
    40
    The bland, jittery visual "realism" can't counteract overheated performances of tin-eared dialogue, which strain for pulp but often land at soap.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    I Love this film! I have done a lot of research about it's meaning and refused to settle for ambiguity". If you want to look deeper research Greenbaum Cult Manchurian Candidate /CIA Mind control. It will explain a LOT about the confusing scenes the little girl Abigail... the Police Officer searching room for bugs.
    Of course interpret how you will. But this movie is very well informed. Very chilling
    Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    My love for this movie is based on the fact that it leaves things very ambiguous, I don't need full story lines explaining every single little detail. I need my imagination to fill in the blanks. It was shot very low budget like the movie primer and it make me love indie cinema. If you like seeing the whole story, and you like having answers, this movie isn't for you. This movie is a romantic movie about what you believe in, or don't believe in. This is a perfect date movie, you will learn more about your significant other than any other movie. Expand
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    The single most overlooked film of the year. Not enough people went out to see it (i saw it 3 times in theaters) and those who saw it, could not appreciate Brit Marling's performance. After seeing Another Earth and now Sound of My Voice i know Brit Marling is one of the best actresses out there. A must see for any fans of things like twilight zone as well. Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2012
    7
    Slowly builds to a climax that flips everything you know on its head, this is a wonderfully mysterious film with understated performances and interesting messages about truth, loyalty, and honesty. Another example of Brit Marling delivering a top-notch story from her writer/actress perch. Expand
  5. Aug 25, 2013
    7
    Sound of My Voice is a decent execution to a rather intriguing premise that does have some tense, a nice pace and good acting from Brit Marling as the enigmatic Maggie. It was an enjoyable film that sadly feels like a TV-movie and could have provided a little more, but overall Sound of My Voice is good. Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    A very low key movie, but a very good movie. The concept of a cult leader from the future is interesting and the film plays it at a very serious and somber level. Expand
  7. May 29, 2012
    2
    Is Maggie (Brit Marling) a 23 year old woman from the year 2054 or is she a scam artist on the run from the FBI? Is 8 year old Abigail (Avery Pohl) her mother? And why, and with what, does her father inject her foot with every night? Does each member, of what might be a cult, really have to learn that handshake that is so complicated were the actors chosen only by those who could accomplish it?

    Peter (Christopher Denham) and Lorna (Nicole Vicius) are a young couple in California who are would be filmmakers. They are planning to join a cult and make a film exposing it to the point that Peter swallows a radio transmitter to make recordings of what is said. They, and supposedly 7-8 others are put through a ruse each time they come to the meeting of being blindfolded, driven for 20 minutes, get naked and shower and then putting on robes before they get into that handshake and taken to a room where they meet Maggie. She wears a robe with a shawl and hoodie, is attached to an oxygen machine, eats food grown by her followers and has their blood sent into her body via various tubes for protein. At other times there is no oxygen tank in sight.

    At the beginning we go through psychology 101 where she has them vomit up, literally, their problems followed by, maybe, Peter being drawn in by her and foolishly agreeing to doing something that can cause him all sorts of problems. Peter seems to be more taken in by Maggie than Lorna is which causes them problems as a couple.

    Out of nowhere the camera moves to a woman (Davenia McFadden) on an airplane coming into Los Angeles, checking into a hotel, carrying all sorts of paraphernalia and then we go back to the cult meeting. In another 10-15 minute sequence there is a woman showing Lorna how to shoot a gun which, as far as I can tell, has nothing to do with the movie just as Peter stopping his car to urinate and, as far as I can tell, uses an asthma inhaler means anything except to extend the movie to 84 minutes.

    The director, Zal Batmanglij, who wrote the screenplay with Brit Marling, doesnâ
    Collapse

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers