Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 31, 2011
    100
    Director Duncan Jones achieves a strange and winning amalgam, a gripping action film that also works as poetry.
  2. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Mar 31, 2011
    91
    This is hair-raising, clever and winning entertainment. Even if his protagonists aren't entirely what they seem to be or think they are, Mr. Jones is, it's increasingly clear, the real thing.
  3. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Mar 14, 2011
    91
    Showcases Jones' ability to provide ample entertainment value with sharply drawn characters in a minimalist setting.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Mar 31, 2011
    88
    An ingenious thriller that comes billed as science fiction, although its science is preposterous.
  5. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Mar 30, 2011
    83
    Among all the chess-piece players on the board, the star is the only one who really builds a solid emotional foundation for his character.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 608 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 163
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    AAtrekker
    I loved this movie. It had so many positive qualities. The Story was most interesting, the leads were charming and very
    AAtrekker
    I loved this movie. It had so many positive qualities. The Story was most interesting, the leads were charming and very ingratiating. The story was a combination of "Groundhog Day" and the TV series "Seven Days." I found it very engrossing and was on the edge of my seat during the entire film. If I have one criticism, it is the title but it's too late for that. This film shows very clearly that you don't need profanity, excessive violence or gratuitous sex to be enjoyed. The prime ingredient is a good story. But please pay very close attention to the early dialogue; it will help you to stay focused. Please more, more, and more of this type of fun, entertaining, and satisfying film.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 2, 2011
    9
    The trailer makes this film look very ordinary, but very early into the actual movie, you realize something interesting is going on. Don'tThe trailer makes this film look very ordinary, but very early into the actual movie, you realize something interesting is going on. Don't want to spoil anything by comparing it to other films or TV show, but the writing is terrific. The way layers of the onion are peeled back is artful and entertaining. One of the best "major" releases of the young year in my book. Full Review »
  3. Aug 6, 2011
    1
    Ground Hog Day without the laughs on a train. Totally unoriginal, totally silly, totally couldn't wait for it to end.
    Jake is taking anything
    Ground Hog Day without the laughs on a train. Totally unoriginal, totally silly, totally couldn't wait for it to end.
    Jake is taking anything on that seems to come along. I guess good for him but I'm out 6 bucks for the rental. Watch Groung Hog day.
    Full Review »