Source Code

Source Code Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 642 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: When decorated soldier Captain Colter Stevens wakes up in the body of an unknown man, he discovers he's part of a mission to find the bomber of a Chicago commuter train. In an assignment unlike any he's ever known, he learns he's part of a government experiment called the "Source Code," aWhen decorated soldier Captain Colter Stevens wakes up in the body of an unknown man, he discovers he's part of a mission to find the bomber of a Chicago commuter train. In an assignment unlike any he's ever known, he learns he's part of a government experiment called the "Source Code," a program that enables him to cross over into another man's identity in the last 8 minutes of his life. With a second, much larger target threatening to kill millions in downtown Chicago, Colter re-lives the incident over and over again, gathering clues each time, until he can solve the mystery of who is behind the bombs and prevent the next attack. (Summit Entertainment)
    Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Mar 31, 2011
    100
    Director Duncan Jones achieves a strange and winning amalgam, a gripping action film that also works as poetry.
  2. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    Mar 29, 2011
    80
    A propulsive ride worth your popcorn dollar, not for its preposterous genre tinkering but for its refreshingly humanist take on a high-concept gimmick.
  3. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: David Denby
    Apr 8, 2011
    80
    Source Code is a formally disciplined work -- a triumph of movie syntax -- made with rhythm and pace. Jones, unlike most commercial directors, accelerates the tempo without producing visual gibberish. [11 April, 2011 p. 88]
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 31, 2011
    75
    Source Code is a contraption, no doubt. But it works.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Mar 31, 2011
    75
    A high-octane mind game best enjoyed by following a key character's advice: "The Source Code is a gift. Don't squander it by thinking."
  6. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Mar 31, 2011
    70
    In crucial ways, Source Code, written by Ben Ripley, recalls "Moon," Mr. Jones's accomplished feature debut about a solitary astronaut played by Sam Rockwell. Source Code is bigger, shinier, pricier.
  7. Reviewed by: Elvis Mitchell
    Mar 31, 2011
    40
    Somewhere under all that bloat is the greatest short subject of all time.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 166
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    AAtrekker
    I loved this movie. It had so many positive qualities. The Story was most interesting, the leads were charming and very
    AAtrekker
    I loved this movie. It had so many positive qualities. The Story was most interesting, the leads were charming and very ingratiating. The story was a combination of "Groundhog Day" and the TV series "Seven Days." I found it very engrossing and was on the edge of my seat during the entire film. If I have one criticism, it is the title but it's too late for that. This film shows very clearly that you don't need profanity, excessive violence or gratuitous sex to be enjoyed. The prime ingredient is a good story. But please pay very close attention to the early dialogue; it will help you to stay focused. Please more, more, and more of this type of fun, entertaining, and satisfying film.
    Collapse
  2. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    A fantastic sci-fi film, possibly the best of the year. Thrilling, touching and with a good ending it is a must-see film for all film lovers.A fantastic sci-fi film, possibly the best of the year. Thrilling, touching and with a good ending it is a must-see film for all film lovers. Probably the best film of the year. Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    Source Code is a great movie that is thrilling and entertaining from beginning to end. Jake Gyllenhaal as always gives a superb actingSource Code is a great movie that is thrilling and entertaining from beginning to end. Jake Gyllenhaal as always gives a superb acting performance but all the other characters are good acting too. The plot is top-notch with many twists and turns and the ending just blew my mind away. There are times when the movie slows down a bit but that is insignificant compared to everything else. Overall the Source Code is a great movie that I'm 100% will entertain, especially those who liked Inception. Breakdown for Source Code: Presentaition: 9.7, Plot: 9.5, Acting: 9.8, Script: 9.5, Lasting Appeal: 9.5. Overall Score: 9.4 out of 10 "Amazing" Expand
  4. Aug 28, 2011
    8
    A+ for how it handled time and reality.
    A+ for attention to detail and reflections.
    A for the intriguing, clever, tickle me pink plot. B for
    A+ for how it handled time and reality.
    A+ for attention to detail and reflections.
    A for the intriguing, clever, tickle me pink plot.
    B for the ending.


    A train explosion in Chicago. That's about all I can say without giving anything away. I'm partial to movies like this. Very nostalgic for me, I'm just a huge fan of sci fi and time type of movies. Love it, love it! Very Deja Vu, Quantum Leap, the Jacket, Groundhogs Day, Unstoppable, Fringe. Woot :)
    Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2011
    7
    Intriguing, suspenseful story, really wonderful except for certain parts which felt like classic studio meddling - a sappy father moment, aIntriguing, suspenseful story, really wonderful except for certain parts which felt like classic studio meddling - a sappy father moment, a contrived love connection, and an ending that didn't connect with the tone of the rest of the movie. I really felt a disconnect between these aspects and what seemed to be the original intent of the film, as if a committee of writers were brought in to "hollywood-ize" the script or something. Otherwise an enjoyable film. Expand
  6. May 15, 2011
    7
    A very interesting concept with great leads. the only issue i really had with this movie is the repetitiveness. but it sort of had to beA very interesting concept with great leads. the only issue i really had with this movie is the repetitiveness. but it sort of had to be repetitive. Also the ending is kind of a slap in the face for some casual audience members. Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2011
    1
    Ground Hog Day without the laughs on a train. Totally unoriginal, totally silly, totally couldn't wait for it to end.
    Jake is taking anything
    Ground Hog Day without the laughs on a train. Totally unoriginal, totally silly, totally couldn't wait for it to end.
    Jake is taking anything on that seems to come along. I guess good for him but I'm out 6 bucks for the rental. Watch Groung Hog day.
    Expand

See all 166 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.