Space Chimps Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: When a $5 billion Space Agency probe disappears into an intergalactic wormhole, the agency recruits Hamm III, grandson of the first chimpanzee in space, to help retrieve the wayward craft. But Ham is a free-spirited circus performer more interested in zero gravity high jinks than living upWhen a $5 billion Space Agency probe disappears into an intergalactic wormhole, the agency recruits Hamm III, grandson of the first chimpanzee in space, to help retrieve the wayward craft. But Ham is a free-spirited circus performer more interested in zero gravity high jinks than living up to his illustrious heritage. The simian slacker becomes a reluctant hero and learns the true meaning of courage as he and his crewmates, the fearless Lt. Luna and their uptight commander, Titan, risk everything in an effort to save the peaceful inhabitants of a distant planet form and evil dictator. (20th Century Fox) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 18
  2. Negative: 9 out of 18
  1. If "Wall-E" pushes the boundaries of what can be done in an animated movie, Space Chimps proves that the old formula is still pretty effective when executed well.
  2. 63
    Kids might find the sight of monkeys -- sorry, apes -- wrestling in outer-space funny, but unless they're unusually sophisticated, much will probably just confuse them.
  3. 50
    Who doesn't love an animated, anthropomorphized-chimpanzee-starring, sci-fi romantic comedy?
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    38
    Short, cheap, weird, and passably diverting.
  5. While candy-colored graphics should dazzle kids, Space Chimps has little draw for audiences spoiled by the Pixar-given knowledge that CGI can entertain -- and not just stupefy -- moviegoers of any age.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    25
    Only a truly dreadful story could make 81 minutes seem like an eternity. And Space Chimps is just that leaden experience.
  7. 12
    I went in expecting to be disappointed, but even so, I was disappointed.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 35
  2. Negative: 19 out of 35
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    A really fun time, a harmless, funny, original kids movie that isn't as, well, childish as many other movies of it's type, i would highlyA really fun time, a harmless, funny, original kids movie that isn't as, well, childish as many other movies of it's type, i would highly recommend it to parents. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    An awesome kids flick, almost as good as toy story, but i might be getting ahead of myself...
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    8
    A little silly, but that's just how childrens entertainment goes, nonetheless, it is rather interesting, and exceedingly hilarious, a greatA little silly, but that's just how childrens entertainment goes, nonetheless, it is rather interesting, and exceedingly hilarious, a great film for your kids. Expand
  4. Jul 14, 2014
    3
    Too predictable, barely any plot. I didn't really like this movie. How much can we take of repetitiveness until it gets boring? Not much. ItToo predictable, barely any plot. I didn't really like this movie. How much can we take of repetitiveness until it gets boring? Not much. It was boring, but okay. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2013
    2
    Space Chimps monkeys around.
    The premise is poor, but has potential to be comical and entertaining. The movie starts well, but then gets lost
    Space Chimps monkeys around.
    The premise is poor, but has potential to be comical and entertaining. The movie starts well, but then gets lost after blast off, literally. As soon as the actual adventure begins the entire film collapses from such an empty plot line that by the time is returns to earth it is too late.
    Expand
  6. AaronN.
    Jul 19, 2008
    2
    How predictable, just when I thought actors for 20 CF movies learned from the disastrous Shrek 3, they had to bring Near-THE SEEKER bad How predictable, just when I thought actors for 20 CF movies learned from the disastrous Shrek 3, they had to bring Near-THE SEEKER bad elements to this movie. Although, I did know this was a potential failure in the first place. Expand
  7. HueH.
    Jul 19, 2008
    0
    Hands-down the worst movie I have EVER seen. It felt like a submission from a computer animation student project. Don't waste your Hands-down the worst movie I have EVER seen. It felt like a submission from a computer animation student project. Don't waste your precious money or time. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  2. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: September 22, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 21, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The Magnificent Seven, Storks, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.